MS Grand Preziosa

, Nile Cruises
hotel photo
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
Nile Cruise MS Grand Preziosa

"All I can say is this was the best holiday I have ever had. Travelled as a group of 4 ladies. Service and food was second to none. Would highly recommend this cruise."

  • Holiday details: May 2013, booked with Red Sea Holidays
  • Advice: Take a good supply of english £1 coins
by Angelina1957
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

A really good Holiday

"Having been on a Nile cruise before and passed through a few boats, we were not dissapointed. The boat may need a bit of sprucing up, but dont they all after a bit of service. The cabin was comfortable,the staff were first rate, friendly, willing and polite. The food was good, great salads and a reasonable selection of other things.The Egyption night food was special and we would not have objected to a bit more of it during the week.

Our tour Guide, Fawzey, was spot on, enough information to keep you interested but not so much that you thought that you were on a degree course.

If there is anything to to be negative about it certainly was not to do with the Egyption side but travelling Sardine Class with Monarch. The seats are ok for short haul but cramped for 5 to 6 hours
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2013, booked with Jasmin Jade ( Red Sea Holidays)
  • Advice: Be respectful of the staff and it will pay dividends
by A Nonymouse
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Great value, great food, outstanding service.

"Just had a week all inclusive on board through red sea holidays and we were stunned by the whole holiday experience. As others say, the ship is a little dated, but spotlessly clean and has THE most helpful and friendly staff. Food was fantastic and I could have been converted to a veggie as these were so good. Girlfriend had her 40th on board and was serenaded and given a special birthday cake. Our guide Assem was the most professional and knowledgable chap, with encyclopaedic knowledge of local history. I'd recommend this any time but go AI.

One tip, beware the usual euro-suspects and their early morning towel-laying activities! :-)
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2012, booked with Red sea holidays
by Paul B
10 / 10

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fab holiday on the preziosa

"just returned from a nile cruise aboard the grand preziosa. It has been one of the best holidays we have been on, The boat was realy good relaxing and comfortable, food was great, basically the holiday consists of getting up really early taking a short trip to the sites which are one of those do before you die things, after wondering at the ancient monuments you get back have a shower, have a great dinner and lounge the afternoon away, sometimes in port sometimes drifting along the nile. its like two holidays in one and definately the only way to visit all the sites as you have a great base with which to explore. The only problem we encountered was the cabin we were given was near the engine which actualy vibrated it was so loud, but after i mentioned it we were moved straight away with no fuss. Just a final mention to our guide who was a genuinly nice bloke who came back in his own time to say goodbuy to his group,"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, All Inclusive, booked with red sea holidays
  • Advice: dont engage with the street sellers,
by philsk
9 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant.

"Just returned from a Nile Cruise on the MS PREZIOSA (17/10/11 ). from the very moment we landed at Luxor Airport everthing was so smooth. Our Rep Fawzy was very proffesional, and we later found out a superb guide, he was friendly and could not do enough to help. On board the Preziosa the crew were superb they also could not do enough to help. The meals were good and plentiful, we booked all inclusive. Some reviews have said that the boat is a little tired and in some respect i agree but it is Egypt and the boat is not the QE2 but i can assure you it does not affect the enjoyment. Cleanliness onboard is high no one suffered any upset Stomach. I my wife and two teenage children had a really good time, the only critism we have is that we had to come home. We will go back next year to the same boat and highly recomend Red Sea Holidays."

  • Holiday details: Oct 2011, All Inclusive, booked with RED SEA HOLIDAYS
by John.
10 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

You must do this in your life!

"My daughter and I have just returned home from a week on the Grand Preziosa. Normally I wouldn't put a review on here but felt that our experience on this ship was so special it would warrant some effort on my part! As others have written, the ship could do with a bit of a face left. It was immaculately clean, every morning the astra turf on the deck was scrubbed down, our cabin was looked after to a great standard by Ahmed. He was a delight, and his origamy skills with the towels and pillows was a daily treat. David our guide was very knowledgeable and could answer all our questions. His tours were delivered in such a way that we were all totally absorbed, we also had lots of giggles. The food was fine, only a couple of tummy wobbles - possibly caused by handling currency rather than eating food. All the waiters, bar staff and reception could not do enough to make our holiday perfect.

The Sound and Light tour turned out was an expensive option for those that did it, my daughter (aged 19) and others did not subscribe to the organised tour and walked to the temple saved a lot of money and beat the coach back!

The holiday was one that we will both remember as special one, my daughter said on our return it was the best holiday we have ever had (two years ago it was Los Angeles, Las Vegas etc).

I do hope to do a re run of this holiday in a few years and will recommend it to others.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Do all the tours
by caro
10 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Cruise

"We have just returned from a fantastic cruise on the MS Grand Preziosa. The staff and crew onboard were all very friendly, helpful, and enjoyed having a laugh and joke with us. The food was amazing, loads of choice at every meal, and the desert table a work of art! Our guide, David, was very knowledgeable, had a genuine passion for his work, and was always happy to answer any questions both on board and on excursions. There wasn’t anything we didn’t enjoy from beginning to end. Considering we nearly cancelled because of the recent trouble in Egypt, we didn’t see any trouble and never felt under threat of any danger whatsoever. A thoroughly great holiday, which totally succeeded our expectations - we would highly recommend it!"

  • Holiday details: May 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Abu Simbel optional excursion is a must!
by Jo
10 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

best holiday ever

"The ship its self could a revamp but the service and the staff were fantastic, the food was 5* i ate everything, never when hungry and lots of choose from.

Only down side there wasnt enough Diet coke!!

Our Rep was awesome, we had Reda and he was cool and knew everything.

One more down side its so hot that the trips were all at around 6.00am lol so you have to be up early!!!

Going down the Nile was a special hoilday and i will remember it forever.. and going on the MS Grand Preziosa made it awesome to... great staff, great food and great service...excellent.

Would go again for sure..

If i had the money i would live in Egypt....

So different like another worldd...

Loved it

Rose
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, booked with red sea holidays
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by Medusa
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Value, excellent service.

"We have just returned from a week on the Grand Preziosa.

We booked last minute, paid peanuts and were impressed.

Ok it could do with some work, and don't expect 5* luxury by UK or US standards, but...

All of the staff on the ship and our tour guide were fantastic. The ship is kept very clean.

The food was excellent, and the inclusive drinks saved us a fortune. Beer was good the wine ok and the spirits had a bit of an aftertaste!

To help avoid some of the health issues caused by rapid moves from hot to cold and cold to hot, the temperatures in the ship are controlled so you travel through the zones. Many took Imodium, but a decent daily Probiotic worked much better.

Some advice:

At the airport buy your visa from one of the desks at the back of the arrival hall, don't go straight to the tour rep. Visas are priced at USD15 but the reps charge GBP13 and will not accept payment in USD.

Take 20GBP/EUR per person to cover the tips on the boat, good value really given the staff are fantastic. Suggested tip for the tour guide is about half this each.

Cabins have only one power point in the room (the TV is plugged into this), and one in the shower room. Take a small extension lead and adaptor if you want to use chargers, laptops etc. There are hairdryers in the shower rooms, but at only 800w they are next to useless.

There is a safe in the room, loads of coat hangers and six drawers for storage.

Towels and beach towels are provided, take your own shower gel and shampoo etc.

The beds and pillows are very hard.

It can be noisy in the early hours as people leave for tours, and the ships grind together when tied up together there are normally 4 to 5 ships. Take some earplugs if you don't sleep well.

If you have them, take small EUR notes and use small euro coins for the obligatory tips.

There is an ATM as you exit the baggage hall in Luxor airport, and also where the ship docks in Luxor behind and to the right of the duty free shop. Take out what you only what you need, and if you don't have a Metro Bank debit card or another card that does not charge for cash withdrawals, you may find it better to use GBP or EUR or USD (they always have EUR coins that they want changed for notes, so with Euros, change is never a problem.

You will get used to haggling, but it gets annoying when constantly being swarmed by locals doing their best to sell whatever they can, remember this is a country with many living below the poverty line so rather than feeling ripped off consider your bad deals as charity! In The Valley of the Kings they were most persistent. Spices including saffron were very cheap. If you shop in the Nubian markets, there is less hassle and they just ask for a fair price, much easier.

At Luxor airport the duty free shops price in USD and will not accept EGP. There is a small shop that will help you spend local currency with water at about 12 EGP. You can carry water through security at the airport.

Well worth doing, and enjoy the trips. The balloon flight from Luxor is a must!
"

  • Holiday details: May 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Red Sea Holidays
  • Advice: Take some fly killer spray and insect repellant, that way you can open your windows and not get eaten later!
by Peter
9 / 10

29 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

'Magic' Holiday

"Just returned from a wonderful week on the ms Grand Preziosa and can only confirm the postive comments which have been made in previous reviews. In fact, in our view, the whole experience exceeded all our expectations. The ship was very pleasing and comfortable; the food was delicious and we did not experience any tummy-upsets at all; the various excusions were awe-inspiring and the ship's staff were polite, helpful and could not do enough for us. Our guide 'Magic' was outstanding and, along with his great knowledge of Egyptian history, he had a wonderful sense of humour, which made every excursion with him an absolute delight.

We also chose to go on some optional excursions too, namely Abu Simbel, Philae Light and Sound Show and The Aswan City Tour, all of which we enjoyed very much. The city tour allowed us some free time for shopping which resulted in being harassed to buy but, on the whole,a firm 'No thank you' did the trick. Having had similar experiences in Tunisia and Turkey we were aware that this would happen but just accept it as part of the culture of the country.

This was our first trip to Egypt and we could not have experienced it in a nicer way. To sum up we actually feel it was one of our best holidays ever and we would have no hesitation in recommending a cruise on the ms Grand Preziosa to anyone.
"

by Chrissie
10 / 10

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fabulous holiday. Highly recommended!

"Just come back from a brilliant holiday! The Preziosa was a lovely ship with fantastic crew. Everyone very friendly. Standard of hygene on board was very high. Every one eating salad, unpeeled fruit and having ice cubes in drinks quite happily. Food was super. I am a veggie and had a plentiful choice.

Boat was roughly half Brits and half Germans. Only about 100 on board so you quickly get to know the other passengers.

A few travel tips:

- you only need Egyptian currency for Luxor museum and Tuts tomb. about £30 in total. Certainly don't change more or you will be spending the week trying to get rid of it! Sterling and / or euros work every where!

- Take loo paper with you on the trips. Do you really want some attendant ripping you off a couple of sheets of a roll he keeps on the floor?

- Our guide suggested not paying the extra for king Tuts tomb - because all the treasure is in Cairo. Well the treasure might be absent but you do come face to face with Tut himself! well worth seeing.

-We arranged an extra trip through the guide to see the sound and light show at Karnak temple, Luxor. As the boat was moored not 20ft away from the temple we could have walked there and bought a ticket for £10 !!!

- Regarding the Egyptian visa needed. A red seas holiday rep handed those out at the airport and we simply paid him on the coach in £££s (take lots of £ coins they are useful.

- The gabalias for the Egyptian party are probably cheaper in the markets, but a few of us took a few each from the ship shop and tried them on in our cabin. Lots of fun and no hassle!!

- The high street in Aswan is certainly worth a stroll through.

-The swimming pool on board isn't quite as big as it appears in the brochure!!!!!!

Hope that helps. Can't wait to go again.
"

  • Holiday details: Jan 2011, All Inclusive, booked with red sea holidays
  • Advice: Go !!!!
by Sim Sim follower
10 / 10

19 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Absolutely brilliant!

"As others have said the ship is a little tired in places, but is kept spotlessly clean.

Bear in mind this is not an Ocean liner so will not have the space on board for multiple restuarants, bars etc:

The crew cannot do enough for you including nice touches like the towels!

When you came back to your cabin, you would find your towels folded into origami-like animal shapes- monkeys, crocs. etc:

The cabins benefit from a large opening window as well as aircon.

The excurtions were just the right mix of historical Imformation and free time from our very knoledgeable and enthusiastic guide Sim Sim! I would have liked the chance of a camel ride though! The "optional extra" Balloon ride was excellent!

The ship is well laid out with a lower rear deck and an upper sun deck, so there was somewhere a bit sheltered (from the sun or cool night breezes) to sit, unlike most of the other ships that had only an upper sun deck.

There is only one lounge / bar and the night time entertainment is not every night of the week, but that suited us as you had evenings where you could just sit with a drink and chat with you new found friends.

Don't be put off by the street vendors that constantly offer you "Asda price!" and badger you to look around their wares. If you don't want it, firmly say no and walk on ignoring enything else they say. On the other hand, bartering can be fun!

Just be very clear of what you are getting before paying, ie, make sure that necklace comes with the chain and it's not 40 Egyptian pounds more after you have paid!! Also check your change (if they can find any). Most will accept GB Pounds & Euro's. The trick is to carry low denomination notes & coins so you don't need change.

Above all, you will have a wonderful time!
"

  • Holiday details: Jan 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Red sea
  • Advice: Luxort has a huge contrast between resort and town. Would like to visit other parts.
by Cap
9 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Average rating

9.5 / 10
(20 reviews)
Write A Review

Ratings summary

Brilliant
20
Good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 8/10
Service: 10/10
Food: 9/10
Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own MS Grand Preziosa?

Stayed on MS Grand Preziosa? Share your insight.