Hotel Haiti

Carretera Alcudia-Arta, km 27, Majorca 07458, Spain
3 star
hotel photo

Average Rating

7.5  / 10
(135 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
58
Good
39
Average
15
Poor
10
Awful
13

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 8/10
Food: 7/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 8/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 312 »
Bad as it gets by jabbathecree
1 / 10

My wife and I have just returned today ,after a week at this dreadful hotel.This was our sixth holiday in Majorca,and was honestly the worst place we've ever stayed in.Firstly it is extremely grubby,and very much in need of a total revamp.The carpets on the landings are in very poor condition,being stained, and threadbare in patches.There was a dirty old rug lying at the top of the 1st floor stairs,which had obviously been thrown there to cover something up,'thrown' being the operative word ,as it was bunched up near the top stair causing a trip hazard to guests.

The pool area was very dirty and in need of a general overhaul,and as was said in a previous review, I didn't see it being cleaned at any time during our stay, and we noticed the same pieces of flotsam circulating the whole week.

The food ,at all meal times was quite tasty ,if not a bit repetitive,although the best meal of the day was breakfast ,before the restaurant had a chance to heat up,as the air con was either not on or totally inadequate.

The room we were given was apparently one which had been updated,although this was only the bathroom,and not the rest of the room.The furniture was very tatty, but adequate.However the beds and pillows are absolutely rock hard,and are extremely uncomfortable.

The rooms were 'cleaned' daily ,and towels replaced if required. The word 'cleaned' ,I use very loosely,as the floor of the room or the balcony were never swept ,while we were there . In fact there was cigarette ash on the balcony floor when we arrived,and it was still there when we left.

The only floor which was mopped was the bathroom,but unfortunately,depending on when or whether the cleaner changed the water in her bucket, depended on whether your floor was washed with a 'hairy soup' or not.

The hotel is located on a very busy main road,around 5-10 minutes walk from the beach and promenade. The Ca'n Picafort Express stops just along from the hotel,which takes you on a 45 minute round trip ,and costs only 3 Euros ,and you can disembark anywhere en route, or do the full trip, and see the more desirable places to stay in Ca'n Picafort.

To sum up , I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Having read the 'good' and 'bad' reviews myself before I booked, I unfortunately believed the good ones ,and was willing to give this place the benefit of the doubt, because we are the type of people who normally believe a holiday is what you make it. I know everything is all about personal opinions, and everyone has different standards,but honestly, whoever thinks this is a good 3* hotel,need to have a good look at themselves.I mean really - What are you comparing it to?We almost always stay in 3* hotels,and every one so far until now has been excellent, but in my opinion, and quite a few guests we spoke to during our week stay, the Haiti struggles to be a 2* However you have to make your own mind up,but I would think very carefully about booking a holiday at this hotel.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Stay Elsewhere
  • Good For: Beach

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

my week by blackjack
6 / 10

lovely clean hotel but floors are very slippery what ever foot wear you have on. staff happy to help as are the bar staff, but what i did find odd is that for all inclusive they do not provide a packed lunch if you go out for the day nor do they have bottled water.the beds are hard as are the pillows, bathroom good size and clean.good location to the bars and beach.not good enough on the kids activity and poor for night time entertainment. food is repetitive and mainly pork and chips, so we found a nice bar called neil and annes which was lovely.

  • Holiday details: May 2012, booked with First Choice
  • Good For: Beach

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

T L C by the sleepers
4 / 10

Food good,staffgood,pool grating needs cleaning grass needs cutting also someone should try picking rubbish up from around pool,rooms could be updated,And just hope people in next room do not snore? all in all hotel ok just needs TLC

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Skytours
  • Advice: Cose to beach
  • Good For: Beach

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

nice hotel by kayla hull
9 / 10

went aug 11

hotel haiti was very nice very clean, food was scrummy overall really enjoyed this hotel, the only downside to this hotel was the entertainment leaves a lot to be desired, especially kids entertainment but we had a laugh at the entertainers expense, he and she didnt have a clue, but kids enjoyed it made there own entertainment in the park n games room, really good holida for the money.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, All Inclusive, booked with First Choice
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Disgraceful Hotel Avoid it!! by Avtech
1 / 10

The room was small but seemed adequate but on entering the bathroom we were APALLED at the condition it was in.

The bath had lost all its smooth surface and was very rough to the touch.

The handrails had more rust than chrome. Touching them left marks on our hands.

The supports for the suspended ceiling were even rustier.

we were told that rooms higher up the hotel had bathrooms that had been renovated but we could not be moved until “later in the week” (very vague) but this was no use to us due to my wife’s vertigo. We later learned that these renovations had started some years ago but had ceased 2 years ago leaving floors 1 and 2 untouched.

As I was aware there were no tea/coffee making facilities I had taken a kettle with us, when I turned on the kettle THE LIGHTS DIMMED!!! Obviously the electrical system in the room is inadequate.

While it appeared that the room was serviced regularly, when we pulled our cases back out from under the beds at the end of our holiday their bases were covered in white dust and fluff indicating that the under-bed area was not cleaned for some time before our arrival.

On first sight the hotel seems clean but closer inspection reveals:-

Filthy, stained carpets in corridors. Badly worn and threadbare in places.

Leather sofas in reception dirty and sticky.

Handrails on stairs were consistently greasy with sun tan oil/lotions not being cleaned off.

Away from reception there is a general look of neglect and disrepair.

As we knew that there were no TVs in rooms we took a laptop computer with a view to buying some WiFi airtime as and when we required.

The area was hit with a bad thunderstorm in the first days of our holiday so as we were unable to get out and about I went to reception to ask about WiFi.

I WAS TOLD THAT THE HOTEL HAS NO WiFi !!!!!

I find in shocking that in 2011 a hotel is not able to offer WiFi even when I offered to pay for it. There were many WLAN’s available within the hotel but they were not willing to allow access.

A pub round the corner was happy to provide FREE WiFi when I asked a few days later.

The Hotel needs to be dragged into the 21st century and provide the technology which is seen as a standard requirement today.

Having previously been on holidays on an all-inclusive basis I was extremely disappointed at what is considered all-inclusive here.IT IS ONLY FULL BOARD WITH A DRINKS PACKAGE!!!

Thebrochure and website state snacks and afternoon tea. This actually consists of, in mid afternoon, a plate of prewrapped, unidentified sandwiches being placed in a chiller by the bar, afternoon tea is a cake cut into 1 inch squares being placed on the bar, evening snack at 10:30 is 2 plates of sandwiches by then dried out and curling up (obviously made hours earlier) appearing in the chiller.

While I found the bar staff to be very attentive, fast and efficient, while also keeping the bar area clean and tidy we were shocked to find we could not purchase any “nibbles” (crisps, nuts etc) at the bar.

The A.I. package is advertised as until 12pm, the fact is service stops at 11:45 PROMPT even children are refused soft drinks at 11:46, by 12pm your drinks are removed from your tables and the bar staff are walking round, sometimes ringing cowbells ushering people to their rooms like naughty children. The entire public area is emptied by midnight.

Breakfasts are reasonably good, but my wife’s first comment on seeing lunch and Dinner (SHE IS A CHEF) was that she felt sorry for the catering staff having to work with such poor quality ingredients, the cheapest possible cuts of pork, chicken wings and thighs which she assures us she would have rejected at the door and returned to suppliers, along with pre-prepared “Iceland quality frozen meals”

The choice was abysmal, only 2 options for main course and were either all aimed at children e.g. chicken nuggets/fish fingers or they ignored children (one night when we asked about children’s menu we were told “there is chicken”… it was in a wine sauce).

There were many meals when we just could not face the horrible mess presented and so went without.

There are insufficient sunbeds for the number of people in the hotel.

There is plenty of room for more and there is also a large grassed area at the other side of the hotel which could be a sun bathing garden, but rather than get more or even put out some plastic chairs the hotel has invented rules to deflect the problem onto their guests instead of acknowledging their failure and taking action.

The only way to get a sunbed is to be down at poolside before 7am. The hotel has therefore invented a rule that sunbeds cannot be reserved before 9am. This means that if you want a sunbed you must stay with it otherwise your towels will be removed and dumped on a couch in reception. So families who wish sunbeds are forced to go for breakfast in shifts.

Another rule is that if sunbeds are unattended for 30 minutes at any time, towels are removed, again this means that families cannot enjoy a leisurely lunch together for fear that if they take to long their belongings are removed and dumped in reception.

Some people were complaining that some towels and other items had been stolen from this unattended pile.

The whole situation could be resolved if the hotel supplied more sunbeds,

As with sunbeds there is insufficient seating in the lounge area, if you wish to see the “entertainment” (our subjective view … extremely poor) you need to be round a table by mid afternoon as we reckon there are only around 170 seats available.

This means again families cannot enjoy a meal together at dinnertime, as someone has to stay with the seats in the lounge.

The chance of getting a table or chair on the terrace is no better as there are only about 120 seats here (and you cannot see or here the entertainment from here) a lot of evenings we therefore ended up sitting out by the pool on sunbeds chatting to other guests to make our own entertainment.

Sitting on these sunbeds at night has resulted in some of our evening clothes (2 pairs of trousers and 3 tops) being stained by suntan oil/lotion

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Skytours
  • Advice: Go to another hotel
  • Good For: Beach

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great hotel, friendly staff & brilliant entertainment. by demi.
9 / 10

Me and my family went to Hotel Haiti.. a Nan and Grandad(50-60yrs), their daughter and her husband(20-30yrs) and two grandchildren (ages 3 and 15) for two weeks.

We all loved this hotel and couldn't of gone anywhere nicer, the staff were incredibly friendly and couldn't of done any more for us or any other family.

The holiday reps were really nice and friendly too and helped alot organizing the trips which were for us.. marineland; great shows of parrots and dolphins and other nice things.. but the one we went on for the 3 years old's third birthday was the pirates show, it was absolutely fanstatic! i highly recommend this as a trip. The entertainment at night was great and there were alot of great bands/shows on.. we really really enjoyed Shoultown Swingers (Westlife tribute band) and also Robbie and The Angels (Robbie Williams tribute) there was also a gret magician show.. and a Elvis tribute! The kids entertainment was really good by Karen and Mark, they were really really friendly and great with the children. We really enjoyed all entertainment BUT you have to get to the place by 6:30 atleast to get a seat as there isn't alot of seating area.

There is two computers in the lounge(incase of facebook;) haha) and also two phones downstairs that are available and very cheap to use, which was a bonus!

The food was great there, alot of choice although it did repeat a little bit after the first week but there was alot of choice(even fussy eaters found something!).The waiters never stopped and did a great job.

There was a bar not far down the road called 'Trotters Bar' and that was a really good laugh, the staff there were so friendly and made everyone welcome:).

The pool area was nice and the lifeguards were always there to watch, you do have to get down there about half 7 in the morning to get sunbeds but you have to do that wherever you go, there was a afternoon quiz for the adults some days and also a little game/quiz for the children, there was a park on the complex which the children loved.

The beach was just less than a 5minute walk down the road and it was a lovely beach.

Alot of reviews say that the beds are too close to the wardrobe.. but hey! just move the bed a little, there is plently of room and also the rooms are cleaned daily and to a very good standard! I

highly recommend this Hotel and it's great for a family with children especially! We all said that we would definitely go back again.

  • Holiday details: May 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Trotters Bar;) and the Pirate trip!
  • Good For: Beach

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Nice enough hotel by geordie sun gods
4 / 10

Just arrived back from haiti hotel july 2011. overall hotel is nice. Rooms clean,quite basic.Food was nice most days,there was always something you could eat.Breakfasts were very nice,pleanty of variety.Lunches were nice especially the fresh salads.Plea nty of fresh fruit at every meal time.The only downfall was the lack of sunbeds and seating in the evening.You had to be up at 7 am every day if you wanted to get a sunbed.There were no where near enough beds to go around.In the evening you had to be in the bar by at least 6 30 pm to get a seat for the entertainment.Evening entertainment not very good only a couple of good shows.Can Picafort is very nice but would not return to this hotel.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: get up early to get a sun bed.
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great holiday by natalie
8 / 10

we stayed at the haiti hotel 6/6/11 for a week and we had a great time rooms very clean, food good and staff were great, i went with my family and two grandaughters who also loved it. we did have a bad thunderstorm while we were there but can`t do anything about the weather. would i go back yes i would.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, All Inclusive, booked with First Choice
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic for kids by Deedee
10 / 10

just came back from hotel Haiti after a fantastic week of sun sand and fantastic food.I set off not looking forward to my holiday at all after reading so many reviews but me and my husband ,daughter and three grandchildren had a great time some people were moaning about it being too hopt and the food but there was always a choice yes lots of different salads but hey it was 30 degrees who wants stew? therer was always hot food available as well and we all came back a few pounds heavier.The beach wasnt far away and yes rooms were a little on small side when 3 in but they were clean and all drinks were inclusive not like at some resorts were only local beers.entertainment was good too so we are thinking of returning

  • Holiday details: May 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: dont bother going to market in port alcudia bus t too packed go to one at son baolo on fridays instead.
  • Good For: Beach

16 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

standard n basic by leah
6 / 10

had a week in haiti. was nice, clean frindly hotel. situated in a good area, loved the walk to beach n walking the shops. rooms in the hotel were very small, beds were squashed up against patio doors and the other bed against the wardrobe. hard wen we had 2 suitcases, pram n 2 yr old. at night there are many times i wanted 2 tell people 2 be quiet, there is constant noise till around half 1 in mornin. the food was basic, mainly the same everday. but always something for even fussy eaters. alcohol was brill, loads of choice. was very hard 2 get a table at night 2 enjoy entertainment would have 2 rush tea 2 get in ther quick. westlife tribute by soultown wingers was amazing. thomson reps heather n jess can b quite decieving wiv prices, make sure dont get ripped off they make alot of xcuses before u recieve your money back.

  • Holiday details: May 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: get drunk to get decent sleep. beach is amazing

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

just dont do it by stevio
2 / 10

what an awful hotel,

i never saw a waiter smile,

rooms to small,

entertainment rubbish,

hotel right on main road,

pool freezing & to small,

and the food rubbish.

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: not to go
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Hotel by Madge
10 / 10

Just returned from 10 days at the Haiti Hotel in Can Picafort Majorca and can't fault it. The hotel spotlessly clean, staff friendly and food good. I am a vegetarian and although not a huge choice, what there was i found tasty and enjoyable. some reviews are very critical of this hotel and i really don't know why. i suppose you can't please some people !! thoroughly recommend this hotel and take no notice of those reviews !!

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: very good for couples and families
  • Good For: Beach

14 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 312 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Hotel Haiti? Share your insight.

Hotel Haiti also called

  • haiti hotel ca n picafort
  • Address: Carretera Alcudia-Arta, km 27, Majorca 07458, Spain

Explore area

Map for Hotel Haiti Closest airport: Palma de Mallorca (PMI) 26.7 miles

Travellers also viewed

Hotel Haiti photos (3 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Hotel Haiti
  • by lyndsay b

    " mo,s bar ,williams bar and anne and niels bar are all god places to visit. "

  • by borg

    " Lovely for families "

  • by tilleymint

    " the red lion great place and a hugh welcome. also trotters bar on the beach. "

  • by sudab

    " good location for bars, shops,cafes and beach "

  • by Leeds family of 3

    " Good for all inclusive families,entertainment lets it down though "

  • by Charlotte/Lee/Sophie

    " Good beach, but hotel confused and surrounded by dog poo!!!! "

  • by blackjack

    " be prepared to eat out "

Similar hotels around Can Picafort

Hotels near Hotel Haiti

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Hotel Haiti?