Sol De Alcudia Apartments

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

6.5  / 10
(108 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
38
Good
24
Average
13
Poor
18
Awful
15

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 8/10
Food: 6.5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 8/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Sol De Alcudia Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 39 »
Loved it!

"We stayed for 2 weeks in July;we were a bit put off by some of the reviews but we loved it.The apartments were spacious and we paid 100 euros for air con when we arrived.Te staff were all lovely,there were plenty of sunbeds and the pool was great.Loads os good restaurants on the main strip,and lots of entertainment.We loved Luna's;the tribute acts were great!Lovely place to go if you just want sun,sea,sand and relaxation.Would definitely recommend it."

by catbob
9 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

if you have kids then yes, if you dont go elsewhere

"Having just returned after spending 11 days here thought would give you my opinion and thats all it is my opinion but hope it helps you. Its a vibrant bustling hotel which can be quite noisey and very hot if your not in the part that has air conditioning, one moan is you have to hire any extras you may require and the lift was only just big enough to get my wifes wheelchair in, but that said there is always stuff to do for the younger kids although teenagers might find the entertainment a bit childish. Its our second visit and can honestly say the entertainment provided this year was ten times better than last year and in Rene and Aaron they have people who genuinly try to keep everyone involved.The pool area was as popular as ever and you still have to put up with people dashing out at 9 to reserve the sunbeds and dissapearing till much later lol, O and if you dont want to get wet dont sit by the pool, could not belive that some people moaned about the kids splashing and shooting water out of their water guns.The appartments are basic but clean and during our stay we had 3 visits from the maids.There are plenty of places to eat both cheap or expensive according to your budget, we found Woody Wood Peckers,The White Rose and Pacos funny bunnys middle of the road price wise but food good in all of them but if you have drinks with your meals you will double the cost. For a quiet drink try the New Inns over the canal and tell the owner you support Barcellona and you will be well in lol.The area is beautifull and the beach is truely a sight for sore eyes, your only 2mins from the main shopping street but unfortunately you will be harrased by both street vendors or people trying to get you to eat in places, we found it easier just to take the menus and keep saying no to the street sellers.This place is good if you have kids but wouldnt recomend it if you dont, you get a good mix of people stay here and we found most to be friendly.One warning if your with someone who is disabled and in a wheelchair, as my wife is, Spains idea of disabled friendly is not the same as ours and the person pushing the wheelchair needs to be of a strong constitution and built like arnie as some of the ramps are more like the north face of the Eiger. more pluses than minuses so all in all we had a very good holiday."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, Self Catering, Booked Independently
by baz
7 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great for families

"We have just returnd from holiday and foung this place agreat place to holiday.Friendly staff and Maria the reception lady gave us some great ideas of where to visit.Entertainment staff Arran and Renie where graet with the kids.One member of staff the pool maintenance man was very miserable and rude although when he started grunting we just totally ignored him.The only downside to our holiday was down to thomsons the tour operator.We boarded our transfer coach and where told that there would be no rep on our coach but the driver had exstensive knowledge the hotels and island.An hour transfer took us 2 hours 40 mins.After the coach driver dropped several people off at the wrong hotels he doubled back on himself many times.We were the last to be dropped off at the wrong hotel the driver dumped our bags on the floor and said you no listen that is your hotel.Which wasnt the man in the wrong hotel showed us where our hotel was.Having to carry our luggage and a 4 year old wasnt that much fun.recomend you do not travel with thomsons."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: dont eat champions or lunars.beach great
  • Good For: Beach
by squidge
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant.

"July/August 2011.

After having spent two weeks at the Sol De Alcudia apartments I have to say that my daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Maria on reception is very warm and welcoming as are the rest of the staff. Maria behind the bar was great, teaching me some Spanish to add to my limited knowledge of the language. They all helped to make the holiday relaxing and fun.

Rene and Aaron did a great job keeping the kids entertained and their version of Grease was fantastic and funny at the same time.

The food their was good and of reasonable value.

The noise of the music did not bother me at all nor did the noise from other surrounding hotels.

We ate out quite a few nights at Funny Bunny's where Paco, Martha and Jan made us feel very welcome.

Would we go back? YES.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Self-catering, booked with First Choice
  • Good For: Beach
by Chez
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not the best.

"Just got back from a 2 week stay at the apartments and wouldn't stay again. Although the apartments were very clean and the staff were quite friendly (except for one of the maintenance men who was a bit miserable to say the least). The entertainers were friendly and did what the job intended, but they played VERY loud and VERY repetitive music from 11am to just after 12 at night and really put us of going to the pool. After 2 weeks of hearing Lady Gaga's Poker face at least 8 times a day, I never want to hear the song again.

Alcudia itself is lovely! The main street is very close to the hotel and is great for taking the family out for the evening meal. The harbour is a bit of a walk from the hotel, it’s nice for the odd night out, but is very expensive. The beach is lovely, although you have to pay for the sun beds.

All in all, very good trip! Would definatly return to Alcudia again, but would definatly stay clear of the 'Sol de Alcudia'
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by Emma.
4 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

location location location

"As in the title the location of the de sol is fantastic, 5 minutes from 8km of sandy beach, 3 mins fromm Bellvue strip with all the shops and 1 minutes from restaurants and bars. the hotel itself was spotlessly clean, Maria in reception helpful but Maria Jose in the bar and restaurant was lovely and gave us spanish lessons. Downside no air con cos of this there is a lot of noise. The drinks package good value for money, the snack bar good choice of food and reasonably priced. The 2 entertainers gave us home made entertainment which was suitable for the whole family and the professional shows were good value. Best places for eating outside hotel which we highly recommend is Billy Bunters and The white Rose, my kids ranged from 9-16 so some of the places they were too old, the peach pit after 11pm was ideal. the only thing to waste your holiday is no air con....please please get it installed!"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, self catering, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: take measuring jug with you!...go to billy bunters
by murraymints
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

everything crap

"this was the worst holiday we had there was no air con, the staff was as miserable as sin apart from the reception lady maria. the man who sorted the pool out was miserable and rude he would start moving all the sunbeds b4 the pool was suppose 2 shut, he never smiled he even nearly made 1 little girl cry by takin her lilo off of her. and while people was still sitting near the pool he started cutting all the bushes with a petrol hedgecutter which was dangerous. the hotel was noisy and the kettlewe had in our apartment was like something out of the arc it wasent even electric. after this holiday it makes me think twice about comin abroad again.score 0 out of 10"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: knock itdown and start again
  • Good For: Beach
by carey and wayne
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

kaz mike 2011

"i have just got back with my family and i read a lot of the reviews before i went and it really put me of well take no notice what so every we loved the hoilday and i would go again in the morning staff very nice the rooms very nice food very nice everything about the place was brill we also met some very nice people when we were over there and the beach is great woody wood peckers go there thats brill the white rose lovely meals there everything about the place is brill go and dont let people put you of i also read about money going missing well my older kids had a room of ther own left there money on the side when going out cleaners had been in and nothing ever got taken so take no notice its up to each pearson for them self we loved it well its up to you and also i would really say go for the deal all in for yor drinks well worth it saves you loads very good deal 10.95 aday ."

  • Holiday details: May 2011, All Inclusive, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: beach the port
  • Good For: Beach
by micky
10 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

noisy

"just arrived home from the sol de alcudia and as other people have said if you have a pool facing room it is very noisy from 10am until past midnight.the entertainment was from 10-11pm and was good but then nonstop loud music.also fellow guests were loud and police had to be called on one ocassion due to english fighting..not brilliant when you have children!!the apartments are basic but clean.alcudia in general very expensive."

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: take earplugs and lots of cash
by helen9110
4 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Review

"If you have a family or just want to sleep between 11 pm and 8 am DONT STAY HERE. the hotel is clean and tidy the resord is lush the hotel staff are nice and helpfull , pool is good but the noise is really bad all night long you just cant sleep the on site music goes on till 12.30 at night. i will not be going back. I WOULD FIND A NICE LITTLE VILLA ELSWHERE."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, S/C, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Dont Stay at the Sol De Alcudia
  • Good For: Beach
by GINGE
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Basic and noisy

"i have just come back from stayin at these apartments and i wouldnt go again. Granted they are clean and the staff are helpful but if you have a pool view apartment dont expect to get any sleep until 1-2am if your lucky. The entertainment is held outside by the pool and its extremley noisy you also have the entertainment blaring from the hotel nxt door as if their both in competition of who can be the loudest. The music does go off at midnight but then you have the added noise of the other people staying there either going back their rooms or shouting and playing their own music from their balconys also there is a bar across the road called Good Fellas and this does not shut till 4am and it can be extremley busy with all the drunken yobs out the street. Once you have finally managed to get to sleep you get woken up at 8.30 by the staff sortin out the pool area ready to be opened at 9am and they are not respectable and will be very noisy themselves, the music then starts up again and thats how it goes every day, we have come back off this holiday knackered and not relaxed due to lack of sleep. That is the only bad side of these apartments everthning else is perfect the food and drinks are resonable and tasty, the pool is clean and reasonably a good size but is a lot smaller than the pics make it look. The beach is about a 10 min walk and is gorgeous the sea is very warm and the beach in general is very nice all the restaurants are very good value never had any problems from any of the restaurants, the best place to go for a good fry up is either the cheers bar at the end of the road of the apartments or The White Rose which is across the road. All in all Alcudia is a lovely resort perfect for families who have young children as they go all out for childrens entertainment just dont stay at sol de alcudia"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: perfect for families
  • Good For: Beach
by chocolate
6 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We made the best of it

"I booked up to go to these apartments in Alcudia with my daughter and young grandson 20 months. On reading some of the reviews we were nervous particularly when we noticed there was no AC in the building. When we arrived we found the hotel looked very nice and the room was surprisingly well equipped however thanks to reviews I had brought along a travel kettle. We were pleased to see that the balcony was stone (safer for the baby) and we had a wonderful view from our balcony across to the Viva Sunrise Hotel which was pretty during the day and all lit up at night. After one uncomfortable night I went to see the Thomson Rep about hiring a mobile AC unit as we did not want fans as they're useless. Hired a unit for 80 euro for the week and it was delivered and uplifted. Holiday was transformed. We did NOT like the resort tourist tat everywhere and very repetitive like being in a fairground with grim food on offer so we resolved this by taking taxis to the old towns of Alcudia & Pollensa.A different world & far better.The beach however is nice. Staff & reps in the hotel seemed very helpful. Some of the guests, though, were noisy and inconsiderate. The noise from the street at night was considerable but hiring the AC unit solved this as well as the noise of it drowned out the music racket. We discovered the food, play area and childrens entertainment at the Viva Sunrise was really good and used that a lot. All in all, we made the best of it, but would not return to Alcudia as a holiday destination."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, booked with Skytours
  • Advice: Get out of the resort as much as you can
  • Good For: Beach
by Ethemasus
7 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 39 »

Explore area

Map for Sol De Alcudia Apartments Closest airport: Palma de Mallorca (PMI) 28.2 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Sol De Alcudia Apartments
  • by gazzax1x

    " The Port and old town is great for sightseeing and bugs bunny's for good food "

  • by veryunhappythomsoncustomer

    " nice beach, hassled by resturant owners for you to go in there premises "

  • by sexynel

    " woody woodpeckers serve great meals "

  • by ashleym1986

    " Lovely beach the best ive been to gr8 for kids, friendly family orientated place. "

  • by

    " luna bar, the white rose, bugs bunnys!! xx "

  • by Chloe Liverpool

    " Go to inca market, the old town and get around the place "

  • by HollyJL

    " A good base hotel for families who want to explore, swim and be close to the sea "

Similar hotels around Puerto Alcudia

Hotels near Sol De Alcudia Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Sol De Alcudia Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Sol De Alcudia Apartments? Share your insight.

Sol De Alcudia Apartments is also called:

  • js sol de alcudia hotel
  • sol de alcudia

Address: Via Venecia, 3, Majorca 07408, Spain