Mariner Club

Calle Atenas 1, Majorca 07410, Spain
3 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7.5  / 10
(130 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
71
Good
29
Average
5
Poor
12
Awful
13

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 8.5/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 7.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 311 »
holiday at the mariners club alcudia

"this is a lovely hotel friendly staff at all times it was the first time we had been there you read reviews from other people but ignore them we were there for two weeks and loved every minute of the holiday the rep was always on time if you ever needed her the only downfall for us was we couldn't always get a seat around the pool or when we went to get a table at night-time to see the entertainment we had to pay for a kettle which were 10 euros but you get it back at the end of your holiday amender is very good with the entertainment both threw the day and night the apartment was very clean and roomy enjoyed it that much have already booked for next year"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2013, booked with Skytours
  • Advice: make sure you get air conditioning
  • Good For: Beach
by Julie W
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Perfect for relaxing

"After a really stressful year running a business, my best friend and I decided to book a holiday. I couldn't have picked a better place if i'd tried. We were welcomed with a complimentary glass of wine and a friendly smile. Everything was very clean and organised, Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Food at the Mariners is good value for money and the snack menu is perfect when enjoying a nice relaxing day around the pool. There's no shortage of sunbeds and with only 100 rooms in the complex there's never too many people in the pool. We went just to relax and it was perfect! Mozzies are a problem as in most hot countries so definitely recommend the air con. Basic souvenir shops and many restaurants (including kfc, burger king and mcdonalds) can be found about 10 mins walk away, and beach isn't much further either, although we preferred to stay around the pool. Trips are available depending on who you book with, we enjoyed a nice stroll around the market and browsed the leather factory. Entertainment at nights in the complex is good, with childrens disco followed by adult entertainment. pretty much all you could ask for..and the best bit.. no high rise buildings! pretty, clean, friendly, nice pool and not crowded and views of mountains.. what more could you want from a holiday! pure bliss! we've already booked up to go back this year! happy holidays everyone! :)"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: the pool, its never crowded and perfect for cooling off in the sun! :)
by dinkydonna84
9 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We had a fabulous time!

"Just returned from our first visit to Mariners. We always go to Mallorca and but stay in different hotels each time.

However next year we will be going back to Mariners!! We loved it!

We have 2 kids aged 9 & 14. We always have a car so we are not ones just to stay in the hotel each day. The pool was lovely, nice and green surroundings. The 2 rooms we had were massive, loads of storage space.Powerful shower, big mirrors, kitchen and bathroom a little on the old side but it all worked really well. Air conditioning was an extra charge but it was so cool while drying your hair.

The wow factor about this place is the people, they are amazing, so friendly and helpful. I have to mention Amanda, she really is so nice. My kids and us loved her. She got my son joining in pool games which he wouldn't normally do and wearing silly hats, with no pressure at all. The bar staff, reception, maids, waiters and waitresses were all happy all of the time.

We watched a couple of the shows and they were really good fun. One of the acts were so good we watched them again in another bigger hotel. It did have an air conditioned show lounge but we much prefered watching on the stage by the pool area at Mariners!

We were self catering so ate out a lot but we found the food in the hotel restaurant excellent and so much cheaper than other restaurants outside.

There is a local Eroski supermarket to get your supplies, but the hotel have a swap box to put bits in that you don't want to take home and new joins can take them, brilliant idea!

Our reps changed half way but were both great and the hotel are only too pleased to help with any queries.

We were worried about mozzies but took our repellents and didn't get bitten once.

Alcudia is lovely and there are loads of restaurants and souvenir shops at the bell view area, 10 min stroll away.

Thank you Mariners for a great holiday, see you next year!!

PS go to see Pirates at Magaluf, unbelievable! Been 7 times!
"

by suntanned!
9 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Mariners is the best

"Just read a few reviews and was shocked by some, we are a family of 3 and stayed here in 2008 & 2009 and had the most fantastic holiday, since we have tried other places as like to go different places but have booked here for next year.as got just what we want, I agree with everyone about amanda she is fantasic and my son loved her, it was sad we when left saying goodbye, glad she is still there and hope she still is when we return next year.

As for mozzies you cant give the hotel a bad name for that loads of places have them, although we have never been bit but do have spray on and in rooms.

Waterpark is just a short walk and if fab, beach is the best i have been on.

looking forward to next year already (24/8/2011)
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Room Only, booked with Thomson
by Boozy & Co
10 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

8th time at the Mariners

"Just returned from the Mariner's. This was our eighth visit there. We first visited in 1997 and many of the staff still are working there now. They remember us every time we return.

The Mariners is an excellent place to spend your holiday if you are looking for a well earned rest whilst the kids are kept occupied.

We always go self-catering there as the restaurant food on site is well presented, delicious and well priced.

The appartments are clean and tidy and receive regular cleaning from the maids.

The pool is excellent and cleaned daily.

I really cannot say enough good things about the Mariners and every time we go back, we always meet other families that have also been previously and returned.

The main reason for returning though is the staff, they are always welcoming and friendly and they really do everything to make sure your holiday is one to remember.

We have already rebooked for 2012
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Use the on site restaurant, food is excellent and about two thirds the price as elsewhere in the resort.
  • Good For: Beach
by The Tuffts
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

mariners 2011

"Went to the Mariners first week in july, apartment clean and spacious, drinks at the bar were reasonable and the entertainment was ok, food wasnt fantastic but we were self catering so ate elsewhere, mozzies were a problem as a lot of foliage was round the apartments, so you need a spray for the rooms, when i tried to change scottish notes they couldnt do it, so i went to the apartments across the road and they did it.It is ideal for small children as it is enclosed and the gates are locked in the evening, so you can only get out through the main reception, would i go back, no."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Alcudia is a lovely place, there is the port with shops and marina,the water park and the old town with market
  • Good For: Beach
by summer blues
5 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent, great people.

"Out first time at Mariners club. We spent 2 weeks here and loved it. The people make a place and the people here are excellent. The bar staff were very friendly and were happy to spend time (whilst working) to chat and were excellent with our little boy. Amanda who ran the entertainment was great with the kids, seemed to know all their names, and kept the whole time fun. This really helped on the few days we had bad weather. The nightly entertainment was pretty good for a resort of this size. Recommended.

p.s I've not been to a place when the rep is around so much, even on her time off -dedication.
"

by wobbles
8 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic holiday!

"we arrived at the mariners on our 1st holiday abroad worried about understanding the language to be greeted with mostly english people, they were all VERY friendly. the rooms were very clean and the maids cleaned more than we expected which was nice. Amanda is lovely she makes an effort to be friendly with everyone, she could almost be classed as running a kids club, as she does occupy them alot of the time. my kids adored her and i took 5 of my own and my neighbours daughter. katie the thomson rep was also there anytime for us and is very friendly, the bar staff were lovely too kirsty always had a chat with us. the only thing that lets it down for me was there was no launderette? with having such a big family i needed it. the pool was gorgeous and the weather was really hot reaching 32 most days. thankyou to all at the mariners we had a great holiday. x"

  • Holiday details: May 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: explore both old and new town alcudia there fab with arcades for kids too. markets also great but buses get dangerously packed!
  • Good For: Beach
by jonesy
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

been twice will be returning again

"mariner club is a friendly, relaxed place ideal for family holidays, rooms are basic but clean pool and play areas are clean and nice to relax all day by the pool Amanda who does entertaining is really lovely friendly fun girl who makes everyone young and old have fun, all bar staff are really friendly and helpfull so are the staff on reception who helped us alot with reading ingredients as my daughter has nut allergy. Alcudia it self is a lovely peaceful place to stay but only 10min from bars etc. we have been twice now and plan to go again next year. some reviews have been bit poor that i read first time we went and was abit put off but they where no justified as i am rather fussy and i think it is brillaint place to visit"

  • Holiday details: May 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: if do trips book with local firm just up road from mariner much cheaper than rep.
  • Good For: Beach
by nettie
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Exceeded our expectations!

"My husband and I along with our 2 children, my two brothers, their other halves and their children (13 of us in total) had booked our first family holiday away together. Our expectations weren't high as we felt that the cost of the holiday put it in the budget category. However, we were all extremely impressed with the cleanliness and spaciousness of the apartments. The kitchen area was fully equipped with a microwave, fridge/freezer, 2 ring hob, kettle, toaster, pots, pans, cutlery, cooking utensils, tea towels, dishcloth, mozzie spray, air freshener etc - much more than we'd anticipated in fact. The beds were firm, but we like them like that and every night we slept like a log!

Our maid, Malen, personally greeted us at the apartment with a kiss on the cheek and a hug, she was absolutely lovely. The rooms were changed twice during our weeks stay with Malen leaving quirky little 'bow towels' on the bed, or our hats on our pillows, a nice little touch. Manolo was really lovely and I can personally recommend their Sangria! The pool was really cold but again, it didn't stop us all from enjoying a swim or a game of volleyball. The slides/park area kept our little ones entertained most evenings too. The pool was cleaned every morning.

The local waterpark was good value for money, we obeyed the rules and didn't take our own food in but there were lots of people openly eating their own snacks, just a tip for those who may wish to visit!

The weather was mostly beautiful, a couple of showers but nothing that stopped us from doing anything. We went at the very beginning of the season and it had been raining for the 2 weeks before we went so we were pleased with our lot.

Food-wise we ate regularly at the Mariner club as the food was gorgeous and really good value for money. The peppered chicken was to die for, as was the kebab (not donner! big chunks of meat on a skewer, cooked to perfection!). The half chicken and chips was delicious and even down to the simple toasties, all was very tasty. The Dallas steak house on the main road was brilliant, in fact, I had one of the best steaks of my life there! We also visited an all you can eat Chinese, my memory of the name is a little hazy but I'm pretty sure it was called something like the 'High wok', further down towards the port.

The port was about a 20 minute walk away at a leisurely pace, the beach about 10 minutes and the water park was about 4 minutes!!

We felt a little bit spoiled as we were there at the very beginning of the season so we pretty much had the place to ourselves. By day 4 the apartments were 70% full but it still didn't feel overly busy and the service standards didn't drop.

The magic show was ok, a little cheesy but aren't they all. The mini disco each night kept the kids happy but the music was a little repetitive for our adult ears! I was expecting a little bit of entertainment during the day for the kids club but there was nothing. I'm not a bingo fan so didn't indulge but again, it was something for families to do in the evenings. We preferred to pull our balcony tables and chairs down to the grass area and have an evening of natter, drinking our own drinks and generally just having a laugh. Alcohol from the shops there is VERY cheap! 50 cents for a pint can of San Miguel isn't bad at all, neither is 5 euros for a litre bottle of gin and vodka! The Aldi shop (not Aldi as we know it) down in the port was where we got our best bargains, including cheap replica aftershave which smelt exactly like the real thing for 8 euros (an impulse buy!).

There is a big market on Tuesday and Sundays at the old town, well worth a visit. A lot of stalls sell similar things but there are some real bargains to be had - get your bartering head on!

All in all, we loved it, in fact we loved it so much we're already looking at going back next year!
"

  • Holiday details: May 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by CH
9 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Disappointing!

"I booked this holiday for my mum and i after being told by the rep over the phone her colleague had just returned from there with her mum and they had a fantastic time, i then read the reviews and was pleased with what i'd read for the most part, the apartment was spotless and spacious...good start, my mum is 71 and has breathing difficulties so the long walk to the beach was painstaking for her, it took us 45 minutes, but we did it, we had to as there wasn't much else to do! this is not a holiday for couples or people without children, there is very little to do and we were bored most of the time, there were only a few bars nearby which were deserted day and night, the hotel had entertainment for adults twice a week for an hour in the evening, the rest of the time it was kids disco at 8.30pm until about 9.15pm with the odd magic show thrown in and that was it! the bar was mostly empty too, all of the guests we spoke to complained of boredom and the never ending mosquito bites we all had, this is a very disappointing holiday and i'm very surprised at thompson for not explaining how quiet this resort is to customers first! and how far you have to walk for anything especially the elderly and less abled people, definately never again!"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, self catering, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Unless you want to stay beside the pool all day dont go!
by Pammie
3 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

firrst time at the mariners

"this was our first time at the Mariners club,apart from the Mozzies we still had a good time overall,one tip i would give is buy a mozzie plug in, it did help but the mozzie candles were totally hopeless.however the staff at the Mariners were very friendly and helpfull.Sole, Alain, Ana, and Manolo behind the bar were all great fun, and Amanda was brilliant, the food is also very good cooked by the lovley Beatriz ably assited by Clara,

all in all we had a very good time at the Mariners.
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, self catering, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: take plenty mozzie repellant
by the Selz
7 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 311 »

Explore area

Map for Mariner Club Closest airport: Palma de Mallorca (PMI) 28.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Mariner Club photos (5 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Mariner Club
  • by Miss N Stephenson

    " The local water park is an ideal place for a day out and it is within walking distance! "

  • by pagie1975

    " best restaurant was the taste of india,a very good clean beach "

  • by Holmsey Boy

    " Horse riding at Ranxo Des Roques 18 euros for an hour "

  • by Gemma mawhinnie

    " pirate show and the western water park which we booked through thomsons "

  • by irish123

    " the beach was lovely - very clean etc. Roma the pizzera is lovely.. make class pizza's. "

  • by jmajo

    " Try the Britannie pub and Woodywood Peckers for meals very nice "

  • by arlene.s

    " gavins at the port does a good breakfast and the tex mex is fab "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " mosquitos are a nightmare and baby change facilities are non existant. "

Similar hotels around Puerto Alcudia

Hotels near Mariner Club

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Mariner Club?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Mariner Club? Share your insight.

Mariner Club is also called:

  • mariner hotel puerto alcudia

Address: Calle Atenas 1, Majorca 07410, Spain