Delfin Azul Hotel

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(165 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
83
Good
46
Average
20
Poor
11
Awful
5

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 7.5/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Delfin Azul Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 314 »
First hotel holiday

"This was our first hotel holiday and our first visit to Alcdua so wasn't sure what to expect.Having booked our holiday very last minute by booking on the Saturday morning and flying by Saturday night we arrived at the hotel at 4am.We we're sorted quickly on reception and went to our room, was a bit disappointed with the size of it but it was clean and cool.We found the breakfast and evening meal choice plenty full and there was a different theme every night,serving foods we wouldn't normally eat ,many different fish options which my husband enjoyed, if you left the dinning hall hungry it was your own fault.we did find it noisy at night as we were situated over the entertainment area, and also people leave and arrive at different times of the night.The staff were all very friendly every where was spotlessly clean and only a 5 minute walk from a very nice stretch of beach all in all was very nice place."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2014, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Juke
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Good for Price

"We stayed for 14 nights during May 2013, not the greatest weather but enjoyed a good holiday.

The holiday was by far the cheapest Thomsons had on offer, other than self catering in Magaluf there was nothing else even close on a half board basis (in fact on a self catering basis).

The rooms are basic, no fridge and the balcony didn't get any sun after 9AM (we are still well asleep well hopefully) and prior to 8PM (as the sunsets)but they are big enough and are cleaned daily.

We found the hotel staff to be efficient and knowledgeable, and always smiled (unlike many a majorcan receptionist), the bar staff and restaurant staff were also good.

The pool was okay although we didn't spend long there due to weather.

Evening entertainment was generally good with tribute bands (Queen, the Beatles, Abba, a bit of comedy too)( and a bit bad just the once, George Micheal, Cher, Celine Dion pair!neither sang well or attempted to look like the star in question) on till just after 11PM then bar open til 1ish, before music is bingo (not our scene) and entertainment for kids.

We were on halfboard and found the food to be good. previous hotels tended to have tough as leather meat and veg boiled to death with no taste. Most dishes were well cooked and tasty with a reasonable variation through our two weeks. Breakfasts weren't great but okay and better than most 3star hotels I have visited in Majorca.

Our only major problem with the hotel was that every morning we were woken by people slamming doors and noisy people in the corridor anytime from 6AM onwards, the sound insulation between corridor and room is such that you think the people are in there with you. You would hope most people would be decent enough to stay quiet and keep kids quiet in a place that has couples old and young, as well as families, but obviously not, would help if hotel insisted and maintained silence from 11pm to at least 8AM.

The hotel is towards the north end of the Alcudia beach which stretch's for miles to the south, this puts you close to Port of Alcudia and Acludia itself for visiting, Alcudia is a fantastic city with its old walled section and huge market. and just a 15 minute walk from the hotel, or 5minute bus ride (if there is space)

The hotel has some bars close by, Bagdera Balear(SP) is Spainish offering glass of red wine for 1Euro a glass and its okay wine, spainish beer 2euro's and gets the sun all afternoon into the evening. Epcot across the road which is cheap and good for watching sport. About a 10minute walk is a centre with shops, bars and restaurants (with a few bars in between) we visited Los Palmitos alot it was cheaper than most and wine, sangria and beer were all good, their evening singers (generally Spainish, and some Irish occasionally) were nice to listen too also.

Night life was not big, the resort is generally full of mum's dad's and the tots. But there are clubs open to 5 - 6AM, one place played Spainish Music which was a nice change.

The bus No.21 travels from Ca'n Picafort to Pollenca port, both these towns are nice to visit (especially Ca'n which has a nice beach with lots of bars/restaurants some do Meal with salad, Garlic bread, chips and half litre of wine for 10E95, really nice meals) and a bus ticket is between 1-2 euro's so good value. There were also buses to Palma, Cala D'or, Cala Miller, Inca, Porto Cristo and more so you can really get out and explore without having to drive.

Finally found the thomson crew to be helpful (they arranged a hire car for me, just had to pick it up and sign a couple of forms) and knowledgable.

Over all good, would have been great if we were allowed to sleep in till 8 or 9 in the morning. Think the hotel (and area) is more of a Young family place than for couples and older teens.

PS: Hire and car and drive through the mountains to Soller, or a bike (cheap from hotel and not messing on desposits etc.) and cycle to Formentor hard work but the views are so worth it.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Get out and explore don't just sit on that big beach or by the pool, the mountains are a beauty to behold
  • Good For: Beach
by madbutch75
7 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Delfin Azul Alcudia

"Just returned from Delfin Azul on 27/10/12 and we had a Great holiday, the food was good with plenty of choice and very clean the entertainment was also good would definatley return"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2012, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Dont exspect 5star when you only pay 3star prices
  • Good For: Beach
by ToneAlly
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best ever!!!!!

"We went to the delfin azul last week, the photos on the Websites don't do it justice, it's fabulous, staff are amazing and so friendly, and even when the brochures say it's a 10 min walk, its actually more like 2 as its through the next street.

There is full entertainment on every night and also something for the kids too, not only in the even ending but all through the day as well. It doesn't matter how young the children are there's something for everyone. The resort Is lovely, very picturesque and everybody is so so friendly. I can safely say its the best holiday I have ever had and will be booking up again for next year! :-)
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Watch the entertainment, you may not like the look of whats on but give it a go as you will be pleasantly surprised. Drinking out in the resort can be quite expensive.
by Milau1288
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Amazing!

"This hotel is the only 1 that i have been staying in for just over the last 4 years! Affordable, clean, full of friendly staff, quality food & the entertainment is just the best on the island... Some of the acts i have seen there i never would have expected. Jay the entertainment manager gets some great people in (genius)

Only a few mins walk to the beach beach aswell or 10 mins to the main port. If anyone has any questions about the hotel or resort it's self feel free to drop me a E-Mail stuartwwfc@yahoo.co.uk & i'll be happy to help. Regards Stuart
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Stuart L
10 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

top holiday

"returned home today 3\10\2011....great stay,food good ,entertainment excellant,,didnt get robbed>>> if ya dont trust it put your belongings in a SAFE!!!"

by lou lou
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

very happy

"i would recommend staying at the delfin azul in alcudia i just got back from there on the 9th sept and enjoyed it very much its a great place for kids and families the hotel is very close to the beach and local shops the hotel rooms are very small but are kept clean everyday night shows are very good to watch enjoyed it each night food there is very nice and plenty of food to choose from the only problem i had with my holiday is the excursions are very expensive unless you like staying around the hotel who will keep you entertained day and night"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: just have fun
  • Good For: Beach
by lee
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Love this hotel!

"Just got back from this hotel after a fabulous 2 week stay . We had two rooms on the top floor with excellent views. They were very clean as was all of the hotel.

The food was great and varied.

The staff and reps were all very frienly and helpful.

Kizzy, Bryon and Stacey.

We hired a fridge and a safety deposit box .

The pool was very clean and there is plenty of sunbeds so no need to reserve them but people allways do! They also store any left inflatables, buckets , spades, fishing rods, books & magazines etc and run a swap and borrow service for free which is great.

Its about a ten min walk to the beach and is central to many other things to do.

We met lots of people who visit this hotel regularly and everyone had posotive comments.

Great hotel this was our 2nd visit and we will return again in the near future.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Half board., booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Just enjoy all it has to offer.
  • Good For: Beach
by Bee
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent hotel good value for money

"Have just returned on 4th August from an 11 night stay and had a fantastic holiday!! We had 2 spacious rooms which were always cleaned to a high standard every day. We even had the room cleaned on our last day when we booked it until 6pm complete with lots of extra clean towels. Lovely outdoor area with a large swimming pool and lots of grass area. The pool was always very clean.

The food was excellent, always piping hot, continually refilled. Good selection everyday and kids had there own food bar with a different selection of food. This is by far the best hotel we have stayed in for food choice!

The hotel is in a good location between the main shopping street/resort centre and the port. Only a 5 minute walk to the lovely beach.

Would definately go back to this hotel and would recommend it.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Half board, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by Chains
9 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

recent holiday - room nightmare

"We returned from the Delfin Azul on the 21 July 2011. I can honestly say it was a great place for kids, the entertainment was good, kids disco, bingo and tribute bands, the price of the drinks let this down slightly! 3.50 for a fruit shoot!

Our room was very disappointing, no balcony even though the website did not mention this at all. Room was full of wet clothes all the time, a big health and safety issue as my little boy could climb out the window if he stood on the bed so we had to rearrange the room. The reps were pretty useless a 19 year old that had only been a rep for 5 weeks, no complaint training what so ever she just keep saying sorry.. not very useful, obviously no kids herself!

We over heard they were 13 rooms over booked and were putting guests in the staff quarter to the right of the pool. Guess we got slightly lucky!!

One play area was closed off as dangerous, bits were falling of the climbing area. Other play area was fine just not much in there.

Pool was always clean and it was always busy.

Now down to the food, don’t get me wrong it was ok, however we ate out two nights as we found it very boring, same thing every night. My little boy loved having cake for breakfast and dinner but hey it was edible. The Brussels and mayo were a bit to be desired for.

We didn’t experience a break in thank goodness.

We would return if we had a decent room and a well trained rep!

It was a fab resort nice and clean and the beach was only a 5 min walk. Would advise a pushchair for smaller children and there is a busy road to cross to get to the beach.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Half Board, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Clean up the play areas so they are safe
by Sarah, Neil and Oliver
8 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

robbed on wedding day

"just got back we were one of the many that got robbed no signe of forced entry wallet and cash allso visas in which £600 was taken, over £2000 total wish i had read reviews hotel keeping quiet about it. no police came just fill out form thats it! silly me trusted this hotel been 5 times before happened between 2-7-11 and morning of 4-7-11 was renewing wedding vows after 25 marrage and to be on wifes 50th birthday 2 years planning and saving and this happens asked thomson rep why they are not warnig people and she replied PEOPLE DONT WANT TO HEAR THAT ,"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, half board, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: keep all valluables close to you
  • Good For: Beach
by jim
5 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Nice place nice pool shame about the food

"Just come back from spending a week at the Delfin Azul.

liked the hotel it was clean enough and the bed was comfy. Loved the pool, but was disappointed in the fact that you couldn't have an early morning swim... only open between 9.00am and 8.00 pm.

The safes were very ancient and not securely fastened down. The food was very bland in taste and tepid. not much variety and everything looked and tasted as if it was supermarket seconds. I like bland food, but even I struggled to name the jelly flavours. (so subtle it was very hard to tell) and as for the fruit it all tasted like it was out of a tin. I also object to having to pay for a drink with my evening dinner(not even water or a cup of tea free)
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Half Board, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Use the pool as much as you can and enjoy the beach
  • Good For: Beach
by Dragonmad
3 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 314 »

Explore area

Map for Delfin Azul Hotel Closest airport: Palma de Mallorca (PMI) 28.6 miles

Travellers also viewed

Delfin Azul Hotel photos (3 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Delfin Azul Hotel
  • by TONIANDPHIL

    " no need to eat out-came back half a stone heavier! caves of drach,porto cristo and old town alcudia "

  • by donna raynor

    " must try the beach, and go to the big supermarket near waterpark rather then spar shops.cheaper!! "

  • by 6alan9

    " a visit to the old town is a must "

  • by edwina fleming

    " Great Family Beach "

  • by elvis77

    " ideal family resort "

  • by Stuart Langford

    " Dont be afraid to venture out! Make the most of you hols & see as much as possible as there is so many wonderfull things to do near by "

Similar hotels around Puerto Alcudia

Hotels near Delfin Azul Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Delfin Azul Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Delfin Azul Hotel? Share your insight.

Delfin Azul Hotel is also called:

  • delfin azul alcudia
  • hotel stil delfin azul
  • stil delfin azul puerto alcudia

Address: C/ Sa Fotja 1, Majorca 07410, Spain