Apartments Portonova

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7  / 10
(44 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
15
Good
15
Average
5
Poor
4
Awful
4

Rating by feature

Room: 6.5/10
Service: 8/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 7/10
Location: 9/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
Fab holiday

"Just arrived home from a weeks holiday @ Roc Portonova, Lovely lovely holiday! I was dreading it to be honest after reading some of the reviews, yes the rooms were dated but aboslutely SPOTLESS!!!! Entertainment was very basic but there is so much near to the apartments it did not affect us at all! It is in the perfect location about a 5 minute walk and you are in the middle of some lovely resturants any type of food is offered! Would definately go back! David on reception always friendly and so helpful! There were six of us including 2 children. Thankyou Roc Portonova!"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Self Catering, booked with Travel Republic
  • Good For: Beach
by Lmort
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Cannot fault it

"We had booked a family holiday for May / June for a month for 2 kids, 2 adults and granny and granddad ( granddad has restricted mobility).

After booking, I was a bit worried as the reviews were mixed so I was not sure what to expect to be honest....

I was v. pleasantly surprised I must say. In fairness it is slightly worn at the edges but overall I found the Roc Portanova v clean, spacious and the staff were so helpful, professional and so accommodating that it made our holiday.

David (Hotel Manager) was as all the reports have stated - v. helpful and most obliging.

I will return to Palmanova next year and would I stay in the Roc again?. Most definitely.

We loved the little port outside. We loved that we were outside the resort but close enough to stroll everywhere.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Breakfast Included, Booked Independently
  • Advice: 1st floor and upwards - As the view is amazing
  • Good For: Beach
by LucyLou2011
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A Great Place to Stay

"We have just returned from a two week stay at the apartments and all I can say is that its a great place to stay. Okay the rooms are a little dated and could do with a lick of paint but how much time do you want to be in the rooms. We had maid service every other day, the staff both in reception and in the poolside bar were extremely helpful and always smiling and a particular mention to Martina who spends nearly all day trying to keep the kids entertained with aqua volley, kids mini-disco, bingo etc with sometimes a less than enthusiastic audience. The location is great as it is not in the middle of Palma Nova with excessive noise and the beach is just across the road. The views over the bat twoards Magaluf are great both night and day. The supermarket around the corner from the apartments is quite reasonable and has a lot of selection. All in all it was a great two weeks!"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: That its a great place to stay if you want to experience Palma Nova/Magaluf
  • Good For: Beach
by The Harrisons
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

very welcoming

"We were a family of 5 who after a weeks holiday in El Arenal :-( found when we arrived for departure at Palma airport our plane was cancelled due to the Ash cloud. We phoned Sunmaster (our travel Co.) desparate to find accommodation for a few more days. They booked us an s/c apartment at Roc Portonova. The price they (Sunmaster ) quoted was extortionate for 3 nights & no help with transport, but we were stuck ! It was only after we needed to stay a further 3 nights that we found out Sunmaster had ( taken advantage of our situation)and almost trebled the price ! So our advice is to book with Roc Portonova direct and speak to reception, especally David who is a great guy very helpful and genuine. The service and cleanliness was heartwarming, just a shame the pool was out of bounds because of repair, but my grandson and I made full use of indoor heated pool, as did a group of Irish (lovely) students. The harbour and beach are a stone throw away, a joy to all age groups and all on the flat making the holiday enjoyable for the elderly or disabled. Highly recommend and would definately very much like to return."

  • Holiday details: Apr 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Welcoming helpful staff, clean apartments. Lovely beach, harbour & view.
  • Good For: Beach
by Hilary & family
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant Place to Stay

"We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Portanova, What a brilliant place. The hotel staff was fantastic including the reception, bar staff and maids. I cannot fault the place. I was traveling with my 6 year old son, my mother and father so a good mix of ages. My mother is also registered disabled. The hotel had ramps everywhere so this was not a problem. The beach and plenty of restaurants is a 2 min walk. There was plenty of children entertainment including a kids disco at 8:30 pm. From about 10:30 the hotel was very quiet so you and your kids can get to sleep. If you want a great holiday book this place you will not be disappointed.

Note you can get a taxi from the airport for 37 Euros
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by kevt2000
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great holiday, shame apartments are dated

"we have just come back from a weeks stay at roc portonova apartments, palma nova is a lovely place, we have been a few times now, we did notice that the price of everything is the same as at home, so it did cost us alot more this year. the apartments are very basic and the whole hotel could do with updating, the staff are friendly, and the rooms where clean and tidy, i was worried all holiday, as the patio doors and other doors in the rooms where thin paines of glass, very dangerous when you have a 3year old running around. another problem was we were not told we had a gate on our patio as we were on the ground floor, so while we all unpacking my 3year old son decided to open the little gate and jump straight into the deep end off the pool which is 8ft, my daughter who is 16years old, ran out and jumped straight in to save her brother, not realising how deep it was, then i jumped in to save them both, only 1 young man came to help us. also in the baby pool there are tiles that are coming up and when little ones where in there, they where all taking chunks out of their knees, we reported it but nothing was done. i would go back to palma nova but not back to those apartments until it was brought up to date."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by jmears
5 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

CRACKING APARTMENTS!

"Well we have just got back from these apartments and i must say these are one of the best apartments you can go to in palma nova!

The staff was absolutely brilliant (including the reception people, so helpful!) The maids came in practically everyday to change the towels and cleaned the floors, bedrooms etc..

It is in a absolutely brilliant spot, all you need to do is walk out and the sea is just there with a harbour! As for the beach, this is even better, you can walk out for miles and the water is warm and clear!

Overall, such a brilliant holiday and would reccommend this to anyone!

Hoping to go back here (if we can) in a couple of weeks because it is that good!

Karen's bar (like so many of you have said) is just round the corner and this is brilliant, the best food, best staff! You can even have a good laugh with them all!

Best wishes,

Jane & Rob.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, booked with Cosmos
  • Good For: Beach
by Jane & Rob.
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic

"we have just returned from the roc portonova apartments and they are lovely,the views over the marina and palma nova bay are fantastic we saw loads of liners passing by also lovely yatchs moored and coming in and out of the bay also lots of other boats the partments are very nice and big with lots of clean towels every other day also cleaned every other day bed linen changed 3 times a week, the reteraunts we ate at a lot was the porto royal italian and karens bar both excellant also the eroski supermarked was great for all our shopping needs we neverf saw people waiting for the doors to open and very few put their towels out at all we were very close to the lovely beach it was a bit noisy one night but stopped abruptely so presumed they had been told of we are booking again shortly for next year so i urge people not to be put of and book these excellent appartments."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: yes dffinately
  • Activities: porto rayal iatlian
  • Good For: Beach
by carolrileys
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Place - Book it & enjoy !!

"Roc Portonova is a great, very friendly, clean, well run place, ideal for families. The staff are all very welcoming and accommodating, in particular David (An englishman who works at reception)!!

The Majorcans are a friendly group of island people with a nice laid-back way - particularly seem to like children !! Apartments had a good mix of nationalities - Irish, lots of English & Germans, with a number of Dutch, Scaninavians & Spaniards !!

It is located in the quietest part of Palmanova on the Palma city side off a minor road in a safe location facing the beautiful beach (200m) and yacht club (50m).

There is also a kids park on the wide beachside boulevard (150m).

We got a Resortahoppa transfer through Travel republic for £64 which was very straight forward - 25 minutes direct from the airport !! Apartments also offer taxis to the airport from E34-37 each way !! Taxi rank 200m away on the waterfront road offering taxis to Santa Ponsa for E8-10 and cheaper to magalluf !!

We went for a week at the end of May with our 3yr old twins and had a lovely time - we stayed in a poolside ground-floor 2 bedroom apartment which was very big and although not overly modern, was clean, functional and more than adequate !! The 2 bed room apts have 4 single beds (2 per bedroom), a sofa that converted into a bed and a pull out bed under the sofa in the living room !!

The one bedroom apartments faced onto minor side roads meaning more noise and no view !!

The apartment has a balcony with a table & 4 seats offering nice views of the sea and pool area !! The kitchen was fine, it included enough utensils to cook with, a microwave, kettle, gas cooker, oven etc and a large fridge /freezer !! Good bathroom with a shower/bath !! Living room had a sofa and a seat and small TV showing German, Spanish and British(ITV,BBC & CBeebies etc) satellite channels for free !! Living room doubles as your dining area with a large wooden table with 4 chairs !!

Apartments also offer a breakfast buffet for E6 each morning (under 4s free) which is fine !!

Safe available for E18 for a week and rooms cleaned/ towels changed every 2nd day - cleaners were very nice and we had no issue with security !!

The Eroski supermarket 200m around the corner is great for all your basics and is reasonably priced - much cheaper than the Spar shops!!

Pool is fine with a small separate kids area that is shallow and safe (just watch for kids cutting feet around pool /poolside tiles) !! Beside the pool is the stage / focus of the kids club / entertainment which was energetic but a bit loud at times (however did stop at night by 11)!! Opposite the pool is the poolside bar which served decent reasonable food (also had a happy hour = buy 1, get 1 free: Pints E3.10)!!

Indoor pool was closed when we were there but good option for trips October-April !!

There are a number of decent restaurants nearby along the beachfront including the two Pizza places /Italians next door,the Mocubar(Cuban style)and Natalies for home-style food !! For something different there is a tasty crepe restarant along the waterfront and an amazing Italian style ice-cream shop beyond Eroski supermarket !! The Chinese next door is not good (pure grease)but otherwise all other places are decent and you can't go that far wrong !!

Generally, Eating out is not cheap, with the Euro so strong against the £ but otherwise, costs are reasonable and what the hell - you're on holiday - ENJOY & HOPE UR WEATHER IS GOOD!!

There are loads of £-Euro money changing places and a bank with an ATM 100m past beside Eroski supermarket on the opposite side of the road !! It accepts Nationwide cards and gives up to E300 per transaction !!
"

  • Holiday details: May 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Tir na n
9 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Week at the Roc portonova Apts

"My family and I have just got back from a weeks trip to Palma Nova staying at the Roc Porto Nova Apts. We had a fantastic week and did not want to come home. Firstly I'd like to point out that some of the reviews made me very apprehensive yet I was very pleasantly surprised.

Ok the hotel was a little dated but the apartments were massive, 2 double bedrooms, a nice sized kitchen and quite a large living space with balcony leading to the pool. We had sea views which was very pleasant first thing in the morning and last thing at night. The pool wasn't the biggest but adequate for the young ones, there was even daily entertainment which we didn't expect and the kids loved it, so many thanks to Lotti and her hard work. The evening entertainment wasn't bad either and they had a superb magician/hypnotist, had the kids in stitches and had the adults amazed.

The hotel itself is situated in the quiet part of Palma nova, you are 20 meters from a small harbor and 30 meters from a lovely beach, which was clean and had a fantastic kids play area. There are lots of shops and restaurants to pick from and i would highly recommend the Italian which is located next door.

Although you are situated in the quiet part of Palma nova everything is within reach, including Magalluf which is 5 minutes in a taxi. I highly recommend the pirates show, it is out of this world. The hotel is ideally situated and we had a great time and would definitely go back.

I will say though that some of the reviews mention the bad security of the hotel. I'll admit that the balcony doors aren't great as the locks are pretty flimsy, but we always shut the outdoor shutters as well which made a big difference, no one was breaking in. We spoke to a few people and none of them had any complaints. There were people there for the 6th time and they haven't had any problems. I would say for peace of mind just hire a safe. I certainly wouldn't say people have broken into these apartments, but if you leave your valuables around then it's quite possible cleaners could take them but this is the same anywhere you go.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Beutiful beaches, loads of bars and restaurants and a never ending supply of entertainment.
  • Good For: Beach
by Silly Daddy
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Really good Value

"

Really enjoyed our week here, staff very friendly, hotel really nice and well appointed for the beach. Was warm enough to use pool which was well supplied with sun loungers and pool bar which did not rip you off for prices. Cant fault at all and will be returning later on in the summer
"

  • Holiday details: May 2009, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by stuart50
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

these apartments were fantastic the...

"these apartments were fantastic the view was amazing and the staff were very friendly we were on a hen week with 10 of us 5 in each apartment which were very clean and great value for the amount we paid we were even given a free room for the last day as our flight wasnt until 11 at night palma nova was very quiet but magaluf itself was a 20 min walk and a taxi wasnt even 5 euros the main strip is very lively and is good for gettin plastered but wouldnt recommend palma nova or magaluf for families but we had a great time."

by E Williams
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Explore area

Map for Apartments Portonova Closest airport: Palma de Mallorca (PMI) 10.1 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Apartments Portonova
  • by stuart50

    " fantastic indian restaurant within walking and good tapas bar and mexican "

  • by Tir na n

    " Mocubar Restaurant 350 m along the seafront is nice with good kids meals but expensive enough !! "

  • by Jane & Rob.

    " Karen's bar and taste of india! Golf Fantasia is a cracking little fun day out! "

  • by jmears

    " best restaurant was tobu, great food bit exspensive but worth it "

  • by kevt2000

    " 2 hour boat trip is well worth the money "

Similar hotels around Palma Nova

Hotels near Apartments Portonova

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Apartments Portonova?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Apartments Portonova? Share your insight.

Apartments Portonova is also called:

  • apartments portonova hotel palma nova
  • apartments portonova palma nova

Address: 2 Paseo del Mar, Majorca 07181, Spain