Playa Ferrera Apartments

Calle d'es Forn 78/Na Pont 79 near Cala d'Or, Majorca 07669, Spain
2.5 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

5  / 10
(6 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
1
Good
2
Average
0
Poor
1
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 6.5/10
Service: 6.5/10
Value: 6/10
Cleanliness: 6.5/10
Location: 7.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Playa Ferrera Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

Holiday hell

"This place is terrible its advertised as self catering ,no kettle toaster or anything to cook with ,furniture looks like it has been taken from the local dump!! Staff extremely rude."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Dont book here
  • Good For: Beach
by Oonagh
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic week away in a fab location

"My partner and i recently stayed at the Playa Ferrera apartments in Cala D'or. We flew out on 31st August for 1 week. I have been here before in my younger days but this was my patners first time.

As soon as we were drpped off at our apartments, we checked in and was shown to our room by the man on reception, it was quite late when we arrived about one in the morning so it was very quiet around the area. I must tell you now that we had booked a cheap supersaver room so wasn't expecting anything fancy. However, we got a 1 bedroom apartment with a balcony, with a fully equipped kitchen a kettle, toaster, coffee machine, juicer, pots and pans 4 of all cutlery and plates etc but also extra utensils chopping bords and iron and ironing board a hairdryer in the bathroom plenty of towels blankets an pillows. Bathroon also had a very powerful shower. Obviously we were well impressed especially as some reviews have suggested there weren't enough equipment. We even had a built in oven with an electric hob (4 burners) We wanted to eat out every night so we only used the kitchen for breakfast and to make some lunch. The room was very clean and the maids came in every other day, the room was simple but we had a tv (didn't use at all) and air con which went down a treat as it was 33 degrees most days and nights.

Cala D'or it self is very pretty, relaxed and i would say the best place to go if you want to try a different place to eat everynight. I love Cala D'or and so does my partner now. There are plenty of beaches to go to which you can walk to all and the harbour is also a must about 45 min stroll from cala ferrera. There are steps down to cala ferrera beach, but there is a choice of the ones at the back of the beach which there are about 80 or the ones in the middle which are not as steep and less. Im in my 30's and quite fit so it didn't bother me at all.

We found eating out cheaper than expected. We struggled to spend 100 euros per night and most nights we had a starter each and a main course and ususally one or 2 drinks with the meal, we would also have a drink before the meal in a bar and some places offered 2 for 1, and we would definately have a drink after our meal usually a cocktail at papaya (in cala ferrera) Our meals usally came to about 38 euros but some were cheaper than this. If you included wine and one night we had one and a half litre of house wine we paid about 48 euros. The harbour meal was more expensive with a stater, main course, drink each and a bailieys coffee at the end was about 80 euors, but we were expecting to pay more that night as its very lavish.

We are going back to cala d'or next yr and will be going back to playa ferrera too as its out of the town but such a nice walk in and out every night. Hope this helps people, i have been very honest about everything.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Go self catering and eat out as much as possible its too good to miss out, also visit papaya for cocktails
  • Good For: Beach
by coll
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great, basic holiday

"Had a fantastic holiday. Only one draw back. Very noisy with people walking past late night/early morning. Bins being emptied at mid-night (every night). (only noisy because we had to have windows and doors open because weather was so great therefore hot at night.

We had a wide range of children aged from 6 - 17. They all had a great time so very relaxing for us parents.

A fantastic supermarket about 15mins walk from hotel made eating in very cheap and much cheaper than the local spars.

All of the beaches are coves, small but beautiful.

The better restaurants are about 15mins away in the centre of Cala d'or but well worth the effort. Our children enjoyed the walk all past the gift shops on the way.

Are seriously thinking of booking again for next year.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Room Only, booked with cheap holidays.com
  • Advice: Dont expect too much. It is only 2* after all, you get what you pay for.
by majorcaholiday
7 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Too quiet in April

"The hotel was of reasonabe standard however the pool was being renovated and nothing as open. The hotel bar was closed as was all other bars and supermarkets. The hotel opened for business too early. They were painting all the public areas and doing repairs to play areas and the pool which I feel should of been done prior to opening. There was no entertainment and nothing to do for families. we did not have brilliant weather which made it difficult to entertain the children. On our arrival we were 1st at the hotel but could still not get into our room and we had to have a 6 euro taxi ride to get some water as there were no supermarkets or bars open to even get a drink.

The beach was beautiful and an ideal place for couples and I imagine in the summer the place is better for families once it is open but I would not recommend you visit the resort in April.

The hotel food was basic and a little cold.
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2009, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Nice beach quiet resort suitable for couples
  • Activities: No where was open I would recommend you go later in the season
  • Good For: Beach
by j sharratt
3 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

It was the first time we visited Cala...

"It was the first time we visited Cala D ´or as well as this apartments so we were a little nervous. We booked the upgraded apartments and it was the right choice!!!!! These have just been refurbished and it was great: flat TV, air conditioning as well as all the basics. The aprtments were really clean and close to the beach (50m). Friendly staff. We really had a fab time, in fact we will repeat..:)"

by  K Smith
8 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

have just returned from player...

"have just returned from player ferrera apartments wouldnt recommend to anyone apartments were split up also my familys appartment was broken into staff wernt bothered at all so easy to gain access theres no security or anything noticed there was a lot of families with young children very basic kettles had no lids on them half of the eqipment didnt work it was our worst holiday ever"

by T Preston
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Read more reviews of Playa Ferrera Apartments at TripAdvisor

Explore area

Map for Playa Ferrera Apartments Closest airport: Palma de Mallorca (PMI) 29.7 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Cala D'Or

Hotels near Playa Ferrera Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Playa Ferrera Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Playa Ferrera Apartments? Share your insight.

Playa Ferrera Apartments is also called:

  • playa ferrera
  • playa ferrera cala
  • playa ferrera hotel cala

Address: Calle d'es Forn 78/Na Pont 79 near Cala d'Or, Majorca 07669, Spain