Hotel Palia Don Pedro

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

6  / 10
(35 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
4
Good
15
Average
5
Poor
4
Awful
7

Rating by feature

Room: 6.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 6/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Hotel Palia Don Pedro

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
Best Holiday

"This hotel was clean and tidy throughout. I enjoyed the holiday, as it was relaxing with entertainment throughout the day. The staff were friendly, and easy to ask questions. I would recommend this hotel, and i would return again."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2013, booked with On the Beach
  • Advice: It may be cheap but good holiday for families
by Kayleigh W
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Don't mock it unless you have tried it.....

"Just got back from our hols and after reading the reviews on here before we left we was a little bit concerned its fare to say!! But OMG we have had the best holiday in a long time...the staff, hotel, food and entertainment were all brilliant. Keeping in mind that you are only paying for a 2 star hotel, the place is kept spotless. You pay for what you get normally but you get a lot more for your money here. Yes you only get plastic cups, but what about the bottles of wine you get with your meals?? The food is outstanding, i never had a bad meal, there's a little english place just down the road if you fancy a break called "OUR PLACE" brill kareaoke and football, if u want a relaxing holiday with fun when you want it, then this is for you. There was a lot of French there as it is very french orientated, but they were very friendly and althou there was a language barrier, we had a fab laugh!! Has the saying goes, don't mock it unless you've tried it......Bring it on for next year, or even sooner if we get the chance, thank you for making our holiday what it was :-)"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2012, booked with On the beach
by Tracey T
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Dont believe all you read

"4 of us stayed for a week at the end of november 2010 on arival were given a choice of rooms ,map to find our way around ,by the very efficient reception staff, you do have to pay for your a/i bracelet but get it back on leaving, we found the food at all times good and impressed with the wine at all meals. Only small fault was the lack of clean towells and the annimation team being unable to converse in very good english will definitly return"

  • Holiday details: Nov 2010, All Inclusive, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Yes
by cornish boy
8 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Pros and Cons

"Just returned from the Palia Don Pedro and it was not as bad as reviews led us to believe. HOWEVER-on the bad side when you book into reception as Brits, the chances are you will be given rooms round the pool. Unless you are a party animal who likes being drunk 24/7 and enjoy being near the daily/evening entertainment you MUST ask to change rooms before you get the keys. We did not and after 2 days when we asked to change were told the hotel was full and could not move us. Any time in the room was spoiled by 10am,2-3pm, 4-6.30pm entertainment and then 9.30-11.30pm noise AS THE BAR IS RIGHT BESIDE THE ROOMS-French rep insisted on techno crap even though the average age in the hotel must have been 60! If I hear Barbie Girl again I will scream! This was only blocked by having to wear headphones on mp3 players. And yes there is a leaning towards the French. Their impression of us Brits is in part based on facts - most rooms around the the pool were full of Eng/Scots/Welsh intent on 24/7 parties. Siesta or undisturbed sleep is impossible. Also ground floor rooms around pool do not get ANY sun as covered with high plants/trees. ON THE GOOD SIDE - rooms away from the pool are quiet and fine. ALL rooms and the entire complex is cleaned daily and towels changed. Staff are very nice.Food is very good and plentiful-all day long. Other reviews mentioned small drinks etc but return to the bar often and it's ok. Not a bad holiday for what we paid overall £520 for 2 of us for a week AI. Costa Del Silencio is a nice quiet resort, but no beach. Las Galletas nearby has a couple of nice black beaches and buses go into Los Chritianos and Playa Las Americas often and are only 1.3 euro each way. A bus pass is 12 euro and can be used on any journy until the cash balance on it runs out.Beer most places is 1 or 1.5 euro for a large one and most places do a 3 course lunch for under 8 euros if going out and about. Overall a nice, cheap break at a quiet time of year and good weather. Would go again but NOT anywhere near the pool!"

by Judith Gray
7 / 10

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Get What You Pay For!

"We have just returned from a relaxing break at the Palia Don Pedro. When we arrived we found the reception staff to be pleasant and curtious. If you are staying at the hotel in the all inclusive option, they do ask for a ten euro deposit each on the wrist band you recieve, which you then get back when you leave. We were then given a map to our room, which we found straight away. We were pleasantly surprised upon arrival at the room, it had a spacious living area with a sofa bed and then a seperate room with a double bed. The maid service was excellent, provided a service every day and changed the towels three times during the week. The food was basic, my boyfriend is a massive food lover, but he tended to live on salad and steak every night! However I can be quite choosy, but I found something to eat every night. The entertainment staff were very friendly, activities during the day were ok and they tried their best to get everyone involved. The entertainment in the evening was dyer, it was that bad I found that I wanted to stay and watch it most nights as it was hilariously funny to watch! I do agree with previous comments that the entertainment staff tended to cater for the french in terms of speaking and interacting. What I would say is the bar closes too early on an evening if you are in the all inclusive option, it closed at 22.30, however the entertainment ran on to 23.00 which we found to be very annoying as were then having to pay for drinks past that point! We are a young couple of nineteen and twenty one, of which we booked a last minute deal and we found the area of Costa Del Silencio too quiet for our liking, we werent looking for a clubbing holiday but somewhere where the entertainment carried on past eleven o clock! Bars in and around the hotel were very quiet, so we found ourselves making the trip to Los Cristianos and Las Americas on a night.

Overall I would definately say you get what you pay for with the Palia Don Pedro, it wasnt what what we were looking for in terms of location but we made it what we could with the rest of the Brits at the hotel!
"

  • Holiday details: Jan 2010, All Inclusive, booked with A1 Travel
by Dfox24
7 / 10

18 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

You get what u pay for!!!!

"Hello me and my fiance went away for a week for my 21st and i thought the hotel was basic but clean and although the food wasnt much to be desired there was plenty selection... In a quiet area but 5 minute walk to bus stop and cheap buses to where ever you wanna go... Would recomend to an older couple or family... Entertainment was ok although alot of the people on holiday were french or german but they tried there best to cater for all..."

  • Holiday details: Nov 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by carriedoyle88
8 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Stop moaning! Good value for what you pay

"A friend and I have just returned from a week here and we certainly got what we paid for. The place was spotless with maid service every day, staff very friendly and although other comments have said they only speak French that simply isn't true - all the staff tried very hard to communicate and although the bar service was sometimes a little slow it was all done with good humour.

For a cheap, quiet holiday you could do a lot worse than this (we certainly have on other occasions). The food tended to be a bit "samey" but there was always something you could eat and occasionally it was actually very good. If you want your full English Breakfast there are cafes along the "strip" which are very cheap, run by a variety of nationalities - try Scooters - a lovely Scots couple who are very friendly and work their fingers to the bone, despite charging rock bottom prices.

We had a really good week and although we ate out a couple of times this was our choice and not because the hotel was awful. Probably not a great deal of choice for children, better for couples. There was a real mixture of age groups and nationalities, but plenty of Brits for those of you who can't be bothered to make the effort to improve international relations.

Well done Don Pedro.
"

  • Holiday details: Nov 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Try it, you might like it! We did.
  • Activities: Loro Parque in the north was great, Sofia Restaurant for a special meal.
  • Good For: Beach
by galaxy2045
8 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

my opinion

"room clean.basic,friendly staff,food variety,bus stop 10 mins walk,los gallatas 25 mins walk few shops, cafs,beach in gallatas. ok if u want pool relax. entertainment during day activities good if u want it. night whatever they put on there is nowhere else to go .Los christianos 1 euro by bus if u buy ticket, 12 euros,20 mins"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: pool hol
  • Activities: none
by petra137
6 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Hotel From Hell

"HOLIDAY NIGHTMARE

My partner an I travelled to this hotel for a much needed break much to our dissapointment.

: Room this must be the worst room ever to be classed as a hotel room, we were met with a ceiling falling in due to flood damaged, in both bathroom and bedroom.

dusty with no clean sheets or towels, we were told we could pay 1 euro a day to have towels changed.

: Food, always cold the restaurant even had a microwave to heat the food up... complete health hazard!! Cats often ran around the restaurant..

: Entertainment great if your French, because they only cater fro French and any one else is invisable. They can speak English but prefer to talj in french.

: Pool always frozen,

Hotel is part residential complex so dogs run around fouling the grounds and barking all night.

Bar snacks if the staff can be bothered to give you snacks then you are lucky, as they often replied no they were too busy.. unless you have a french tongue then dont even ask..

The manager is a rude man and has no skills at all.. he agreed to allow us a late check out then put us out the room at 12noon .. he insisted we delete the photographic proof we had and we refused..

Pls for a stress free and healthy holiday avoid this hotel....
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Avoid
  • Activities: None
by Calderss
1 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Avoid like the plague!!!!

"The hotel looked more like a 1 Star compared to the 3 Star advertised, and it badly needed updating. The hotel room had a musky smell with untidy wires hanging. The curtains were tread bear and had no lining on them. The cable TV was just 1 English speaking station of euro sport. No English rep ever came on site, and staff had little or no English. Breakfast was poor, everything was cold and tasted terrible plus there was a horrible odour from the whole dining area. The hotel was more like a retirement home than a hotel. Drinks at the bar were served in tiny plastic cups, understandable at the pool area, but in the bar area it was ridiculous. Burgers served at the bar were raw! Staff were either rude, could not understand and were not interested - this was extremely frustrating. We had won a cocktail voucher for participating in a game, but when we went to cash it in, we were told there was no cocktail menu available… pointless really! We were told the pool was heated, but it was absolutely freezing, and we were unable to use it for the duration of the holiday.

There was no menus whatsoever for any drinks or food, so we unable to identify what we were drinking or eating. All meals were cold and tasted foul. There were flies all over the lettuce. And there were cats running all about the hotel including in the dining are…which really turned us off our food. Most of the people there were English speaking but are not catered for. Numerous people were sick and had got food poisoning. The resort was a run down deprived part of a residential street, with one hotel with nowhere to go… a lot of places in the area were boarded up and run down. We ended up spending more than we planned, as we had to buy food and eat out a lot, we also left the resort on the bus everyday and booked into another hotel! This does not end up being good value holiday…. You get less than you paid for
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2009, All Inclusive, booked with sun4u
  • Advice: Its horrible
  • Activities: None
by amohare
1 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Palia Don Pedro

"We have just returned from an all inclusive week's break. It was lovely, the beautiful coast is just around the corner. The rooms serve their purpose, they are clean and tidy. There was a good selection of food. I would have preferred to have fruit juice on offer at all meal times not just at breakfast.

The entertainment staff were very friendly and encouraging. We would definitely go back.
"

  • Holiday details: Nov 2008, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
by D Norris
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

After reading the comments from other...

"After reading the comments from other people about this hotel. I found there were a few contradictory comments. So I thought I would add my opinion to the list.

We were a group of 4 adults looking for a relaxing week in the sun. We stayed on a Half Board basis.

Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised by what we found. We arrived in the early hours and were directed towards a spacious, clean room. We had opted for a 4 share room but were pleased to find their was a communal living area and 2 adjoining bedrooms. There was a balcony with plenty of space and the bathroom was well designed and equipped.

Throughout our week we found the reception desk to be very helpful in their demenour and they always aimed to help where they could.

However that is more or less where the positive experiences ended. The food was well prepared but was specifically designed for a French pallett. The majority of the hotel guests were French and the entertainment and food were aimed at their tastes.

Being a vegetarian, I was left choosing salad dishes every evening as the main dishes all contained meat (such as baby whole octopus, oysters, rabbit and varying forms of unknown seafood). Even some of the rice and vegetable dishes had hidden quantities of meat without any mention above the dish. If you are a meat eater and like to try new meats then maybe the menu will be to your tastes.

Breakfast was ok with cooked breakfasts, cereal, fruit and bread on offer.

For us the evening entertainment was a big disappointment. The entertainment team were mostly French themselves and although they spoke English, they seemed to prefer to speak to the French guests rather than speak their less competent language.

I constantly got the impression that they were only speaking to us reluctantly out of a sense of obligation. Obviously to say that all the entertainment team were such would be incorrect as there were a few more welcoming entertainers but on the whole we felt unwelcomed.

The evening entertainment program began most evening with an hour or two of slow dance French music up until about 10pm when the main attraction would commence. Most evenings we found ourselves unable to last this long. French guests were constantly talking about us and pointing in plain sight. There was a distinct atmosphere of being unwelcome foreigners.

Friday night was Karaoke night and was a long list of unknown French songs. Had there been even one of us that could hold a note we would have attemted to even the balance. The entertainers tried an English song but throughout most of it the other guests talked and laughed amoungst themselves in ignorance and even yawned in protest.

I was glad to find out whilst awaiting our trasfers out of the hotel on the last night, that we were not imagining the atmosphere, as another British couple had had similar poblems and were glad to be leaving.

Outside of the hotel there were a few amenities within a 10 minute walk and we found ourselves wandering out most evenings.

At least 2 of the major roads surrounding the hotel were in the process of being dug up and new pipework laid. The work started at 7.30 most mornings with the inclusion of earthmoving machinery.

The beach was a 20 minute walk but was too rocky to sit on.

The bust stop is a 10 minute walk and it cost us 1.15 euro each for a single to Las Americas.

Once in Las Americas I couldn't help feeling we should have paid the extra and stayed there.

To summarise, I would not recommend this Hotel unless you can speak French and like a very quiet holiday.
"

by A Anon
3 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 »

Explore area

Map for Hotel Palia Don Pedro Closest airport: Tenerife South Reina Sofia (TFS) 5.6 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Hotel Palia Don Pedro
  • by D Norris

    " Whale and dolphin tour at Los Gigantes "

  • by carriedoyle88

    " Market at los cristianos on sundays "

  • by Dfox24

    " If you are an older couple wanting a quiet break, Costa Del Silencio is for you! "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " Its quiet and not much to do but a short walk to next town or short bus ride to main resorts "

Similar hotels around Costa Del Silencio

Hotels near Hotel Palia Don Pedro

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Hotel Palia Don Pedro?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Hotel Palia Don Pedro? Share your insight.

Hotel Palia Don Pedro is also called:

  • palia don pedro
  • palia don pedro hotel
  • palia don pedro hotel club

Address: C/ Hercules 3, Tenerife 38630, Spain