Barcelo Varadero Hotel

3.5 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7.5  / 10
(30 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
11
Good
10
Average
5
Poor
1
Awful
3

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 8/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 7/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Barcelo Varadero Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
Rat

"Stayed here 1st week of June 2013 with my husband in one room & my son & his family in another room. On the second day of our stay my son woke to find a RAT in his 5 year old daughter's bed!!!!. On reporting it they were moved to another room. It took a couple of days before the manger spoke to them, & then he offered free wine & fruit has compensation, bearing in mind we were staying on an all basic. They got no compensation at all, if it had happened in my room I would have demanded a flight home. Good luck to all staying here in the future & check your beds.

mrs b

Worcs
"

by faybates
2 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Robbery

"We had been robbed in this hotel on October 13, 2012 and the administration we're simply hiding instead of helping. How is it possible even with the surveillance camera to be robbed in the middle of the day. No security at all. Still waiting for the solution, notebooks, phones, cameras with the value of more than 4 thousand euros disappeared and no reimbursement. Will be writing about this Hotel every where I can to caution people. Stay away from this hotel."

  • Holiday details: Oct 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: avoid it
  • Good For: Beach
by Vasyl R
1 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Staff Great - Hotel Tired in the Extreme

"We assumed that the standard of Barcelo's would be the same or similar in all countries! Entirely wrong assumption! The Varadero is tired and in urgent need of refurbishment. The equipment in the apartment was sadly lacking both in quality and quantity - and the cleanliness of the room left quite a lot to be desired. Having said that, the staff were helpful and friendly and quick to dispatch the ants and cockroaches we found in the apartment, to provide us with more than the one spoon we found in the cutlery tray and to provide electric kettle, toaster, clothes hangers when we requested them. We certainly should have taken more notice of the hotel reviews before we booked, but assumed that there are always some people who would complain, however good the accommodation! Wrong again - I'm certain now that their complaints were well founded! This was the first time we had a holiday abroad in a couple of years as my husband has been extremely ill - and were not best pleased by the standard of this particular Barcelo. I hope they take note of this review - and try to achieve the standards set in, for instance, the Barcelo in Fuerteventura (Caleta) which is immaculate and well equipped. We would certainly not return to the Varadero!"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Definitely need a car
by Frances
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

if you want run down place to stay stay here

"Sorry folks we have just got back from one of the worst holidays ever

the bedroom was like a cell two single beds and small sheets

no room ?

the bathroom clean but very old an in need of a make over

tiles and all woodwork need replacing

kitchen old two ring electric hob from the 70s oven we never used

work top was old white melamine and had been painted in white gloss about 4 years ago

lounge well what can i say furniture filthy the material was filthy curtains shabby nothing like the photos

Sorry but this is what it is like don't go

The good things the entertainment was o.k the staff where friendly and helpful but please take my advise

DON'T GO
"

  • Holiday details: Feb 2010, Room Only, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Advice: Dont go
by cheeky che
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A week 'All Inclusive'

"We booked our weeks holiday late and picked the Barcelo as we had stayed in one before, with first class service. The hotel communal areas are well kept and very clean as are the pool areas. We had a room on the top floor in D block and we found it adequate as we did not anticipate staying in it for long. It was in need of a refurb as we noticed that the bottom of the door frames and doors were in need of a coat of paint. However, the room was again, very clean with a nice balcony. The only negative thing about the room was that the air conditioning unit was far away from the bedroom and it was unbearably hot at night. The sheets were put directly on to the mattress and as soon as you turned over they would move with you. Fitted sheets would be more comfortable. For security purposes we didn't feel safe opening the window - so had several sleepless nights. We did hear the cockerel and a turkey every morning but this was not a problem for us.

We had a TV which had programmes in several languages but unfortunately not in English. Our rep tried to rectify this but was told it was to do with the sat dish and that some rooms did not receive English channels, ours being one of them. As we were in the minority it would have been nice to have been put in a room with Sky News!

The food was reasonable with a few choices, although I had the salads most of the time. There was plenty of it and if you wanted to be a pig you could! We weren't so happy about the drinks as it was all self service. Not so bad in the restaurant and pool bar but at night it would have been nicer to have been waited on. My husband tried twice to get me a cocktail,( which he had to pay for as it was not local drink) and each time he was told it was too late and given a free juice with alcohol and a straw!! We never did find out what this meant! Other people seemed to have 'proper' cocktails. Anyway it was all a bit of a free for all in the evening, which was a shame. On the plus side there was virtually any drink you could imagine on the bar, even the coffee, chocolate etc was rhere from a machine.

We walked to the beach on 3 days and found that it was the best beach on the island and very clean. However, the tide is very strong - not for the fainthearted! It was funny seeing people coming out of the sea looking like an old fashioned coleman. It is hilly in this area but if you take it easy it shouldn't be a problem. We walked to Los Gigantes one day which was a pleasant walk with good views of the area. A bus to Los Christianos etc cost under 8 Euros each, each way but be warned it takes about an hour and a half as it calls at all the villages and resorts along the way. On the rep's recommendation we took a half day trip to Teide rather than a full day excursion. She warned us that because we were so far away from the main areas we would be picked up at 7.15am before going on to the other resorts. She was right it took nearly 2 hours before the trip got underway and we didn't stop till 11.30 at the cable car station. We got back at 2.00pm which was a long half day, but also worth it to see Teide up close.

On the whole we enjoyed our week but preferred our stay in the Barcelo Lanzarote, which was a 4* and miles better for food and service. I don't think we would return to this Hotel or this area of Tenerife.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Palmair/ Bath Travel
  • Good For: Beach
by Mrs Watson
10 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We reached the airport and got into a...

"We reached the airport and got into a cab that went round the houses. Following that, we were transferred into a minibus with no explanation. We thought we were being abducted. Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted with a grunt. Breakfast at the hotel was very peculiar. There was a variety of gruel and sludge. we had to take the ceramic plate off the toilet to flush the chain. The hotels pools were really nice and the area was very clean. It is worth going to Loro park to see the Orca show. The chimps are funny! The hotel entertainment was strange to say the least. I wondered what the purpose of it was. Despite the minor criticisms, we had a very enjoyable holiday and I would recommend it to couples and families. There is not much to offer for single people looking for shananigans. However, there are plenty of chicks sunbathing with their baps out. Remember the sunglasses though fellas so that you can have a goosey gander without detection!"

by C J Simm
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The place is absoloutely brilliant...

"The place is absoloutely brilliant and i would recomend it to anyone. i'm a teenager and i went all inclusive and the food and drinks that were provided throughout the whole day was excellent. the staff were really helpful as i don't speak any spanish and they were all really nice. we had a great room in block c with a view looking down on two of the pools and the mountains in the distance which was magnificent. the rooms were reall cosy and comfy. what i enjoyed the most was the entertainment throughout the day, there were a variety of activities provided throughput the whole day and in the evenings there was a mini-disco and different shows on everynight, (my compliments to Alex, Justin, Marianne and Lauranne who were the entertainment staff, you were fab!) i would definately come back again!"

by AC Clarke
9 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good hotel,loved the food and the...

"Good hotel,loved the food and the staff are great. The single beds were the only negative part to our week. It is a fantastic holiday for families."

by Lisa Richardson
10 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

FANTASTIC! great For the money we...

"FANTASTIC! great For the money we will be going back this year. good holiday.the maids came nearly everyday apart from wednesday and sundays but they do need a break they clean up and even leave mints everywhere as a gift! freindly staff aswell no problems. I will be going back we loved it the only down side is on a night because most shows was in german but we played cards and after a busy day it was nice. They is a open bar which opens at 10am and closes at 11pm. u chould walk up anytime and pull ur slef any drink u can think of. IF UR THINKING OF GOING I WHOULD!!!!!!!"

by Josh Atkinson
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

the hotel itself was very good the...

"the hotel itself was very good the apartments were very spacious and very clean,maid service was every day apart from a wednesday and sunday clean sheets and towels on every visit. the only downfall was there were 2 single beds pushed together instead of a double which proved a bit of a pain .the staff were very friendly and helpful.we had a problem with our patio doors which kept getting jammed it was fixed within minuits of it being reported which we thought was excellent.the weather was very hot ,plenty of sunbeds for every one ,the pools could have been cleaned a little more often as only done once on our week stay.resturant was very clean food was ok but nothing for childrens tastes at all,plenty of drinks all day and evening for all inclusive guests.

entertainment was ok although the childrens entertainment was aimed at german guests only my children felt very left out!approx 95 % of the hotel guests were of german origin and we did feel a little intimidated as none of this was mentioned when we booked our holiday.the surrounding areas were quite poor very hilly and hardly any shops,or places we were able to go suitable for chidren.although there was a taxi office directly opposite the hotel which was good.overall we did enjoy but wouldnt recommend it to british people with children .
"

by L H Lewis
7 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Basic accommodation but value for...

"Basic accommodation but value for money

Good position for local amenities,transport and walks

Did not eat in the hotel but others satisfied

Good efforts from the staff to entertain during the day

One of the hotplates kept tripping the fuse, despite efforts to fix the problem,not good for S/C

TV poor for English Speakers SKY news only worked for 4 Days in 20 days supposedly an antenna problem.
"

by T Healey
6 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic value for money,.great...

"Fantastic value for money,.great service, very friendly. Best supply of drinks on an all inclusive I have seen.

Great big apartments, entertainment great -could hardly notice - all very tranquil and relaxed, if you didn’t want to join in there was no pressure. Kids entertainment very separate so no noise from that either.

Food was fantastic selection and again all the staff very attentive and lovely outside eating area.

Only bit of advice was take earplugs as there is a noisy cockerel if you are in block D but not a problem!

Really had a fantastic holiday and hope they keep up the good work as would definitely go back.
"

by L Holmes
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 »

Explore area

Map for Barcelo Varadero Hotel Closest airport: Tenerife South Reina Sofia (TFS) 20.4 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Los Gigantes

Hotels near Barcelo Varadero Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Barcelo Varadero Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Barcelo Varadero Hotel? Share your insight.

Barcelo Varadero Hotel is also called:

  • barcelo guia de isora
  • barcelo hotel varadero
  • barcelo varadero

Address: Avda La Gaviota 1 Playa de la Arena, Tenerife 38680, Spain