MareBlue Village & Aqua Park

4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

5.5  / 10
(33 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
5
Good
9
Average
6
Poor
4
Awful
9

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 6.5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 6.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for MareBlue Village & Aqua Park

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
terrible by gziou
1 / 10

not 4* nothing is 4* room up a mountain side. no bath. bad cheap drinks. watery horrible coffee all in all rubbish. don't go terrible place hills and more hills

  • Holiday details: Jun 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: dont go

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

CHIPS FOR BREAKFAST AT 7AM!! by klgl
1 / 10

This hotel is not a four star.

The day started with chips for btreakfast ,pushing and shoving at the counters and the hotel unning out of juice and water from the self service machines.

The All inclusive package was not all inclusive with charges been added for the childrens club 5 euros for 2 hours , and even 10 euros for the evening sugar fest which was all can eat sweets with loads of E numbers.

The Bar area could not seat all the guest with may guests sitting on sun loungers and that was of course after you had waited between 20- 40 minutes to get any drink including water or soft drinks ,let alone alchol from the bar.

water slides -over 10 years old , not stated in the brochure this left a lot of boad children including ours who were not allowed on the slides.

entertainment - paper airoplanes in the pool , catch the stick and bingo for 5 euros, with the amazing , spectular prize of a 5 euro cocktail or 10% off a massage costing 30 euros +

no evening entertainment , we were in bed by 10.00pm

It was like a holiday camp from hell with fights between the English and germans , football shirts and tatoos .In all not what we experiencedin any other 4 star hotel.If you like holiday camos you will love this if you think you are paying for something extra , sadly you will be very much mistaken

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: do not go find a better hotel

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

family fun by young at heart
8 / 10

we went to the resort in august and had a great 9 days where we met some lovley families who like us had read some of the reviews and knew about the hill. this in no way spoilt our time there and with the very helpful staff making sure we had all requests met without fuss made it a relaxing time. food first class and the only drawback was the entertainment crew who did not cater for the british unless pushed.

all in all we loved it and would return

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: go with an open mind

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

2 Hotels for the price of one by Bean
10 / 10

This hotel was fantatic good for couples and familys very clean food amazing I would go back for 2 weeks. Weather excellant 35- 40 degrees every day.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: beautiful
  • Good For: Beach

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE by JONAH
3 / 10

We transferred her from the sister htel in Amourdara, it is much much better " cannot possibly be any worse"" but oh my god ! if you are a hill walker or mountaineer this is for you ! if not stay away. I cannot fault the food ,service, or staff, BUT... The accomodation is all villas built into the mountain! if you are at the top it is at least 1 in 10 hill to climb to bed!! There are 2 pools one very large and with lots of animation for the most lively of us ,and a Relax pool half way up the mountain"believe me you needed to relax when you reached it" which was really brilliant , no music, no mobile phones , just peace and quiet , with its own bar this was a little bit of heaven! Buses into town were good , and there was much more places to visit easiliy. Although we will not go back again it is much nicer than there sister Hotel were I would never reccomend to anyone.

  • Holiday details: May 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Nice by Frequent Traveller...
5 / 10

I have just returned fom a week at this hotel...Was nice here accomadation was comfortable and minimalist,and was cleaned daily....Staff nice but thought it was more aimed at German visitors than British. If you are staying in any room at top of village which we were then it can be tiring, extremely steep... Nothing for teenagers to do and no entertainment for the adults at all, I was bored to be honest and felt a week was enough. We ate out a lot because although food was nice it was a bit repetative..There was shows at the ampitheatre put on by animation staff the grease show was the best other shows were boring to me anyway but some of the little ones seemed to enjoy them...Would not return to this hotel but did like Greece...Airport when leaving was an experience I wouldn't want to repeat though...another tip is check out transfer prices on line as we paid £80 return for myself and 14 year old and people we met there had paid £35 per couple return others paid £45 eack way in taxi so I would shop around if I were you...

  • Holiday details: May 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: wouldn't go if you have any difficulties in walking

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Holiday by Peter Forsyth
8 / 10

We've just returned from a 1 week all inclusive holiday at the Mareblue. It was great. Unfortunately we picked up a wrong suitcase at the airport. As soon as we noticed I contacted reception who were very helpful. They contacted the out of hours Thomas Cook rep who started the ball rolling. The resort rep spoke to us the next morning and we got our bag back that afternoon. The rep and the hotel staff were excellent. My only grumble is that the bed sheets only just fitted the bed, so they rolled up during the night - hardly a big problem!. The food was good, hotel clean and tidy, pools were clean & warm and all the staff were very pleasant. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Better than reviews had described by a mile! by kayjayrly
8 / 10

I have just returned from a week away with a girlfriend. We were very worried about the bad reviews and I can gladly say that the hotel is no where near as bad as people are stating.

The hotel is clean and bright.

Fresh towels most days and on last day they brought freshly tumbled dried towels at 9pm for us.

We stayed at the top and yes it is steep but if you have heavy bags or just can not be bothered they take you up in a golf buggy.

Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff at any time.

The food we were dreading but it was lovely. Fresh salads a really wide selection of greek food, pastas, fish, meats and a daily roast.

The puddings were fabulous!

The hotel entertainment wasn't too great but hey...the sun shone, the relax pool was great and star beach on the door step.

I would go back to the Mareblue again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Good holiday but not 4 star by Manjamutd
6 / 10

We have just returned from the Mareblue hotel,Crete.I was very worried when after i had booked i read all those terrible reviews.Hoping to find that the majority of people were wrong.Alas not all of there coments were unfounded.

The accomodation was spot on,we were lucky with sea views.The layout of the buildings was great with little alleyways with pretty gardens all around.Apart from the steep climb which was the only downside.

We found the food good,with some lovely greek salads on offer.Not so great for kids,not to much for them apart from chips.The snack bar was dreadful,with chips on offer and some bland pasta dishes which looked like they were leftovers.Very dissapointed with that.The bar was ok apart from the small plastic glasses which when having beer was half froth.

The entertainment was ok during the day,our kids were just happy to play buy the pool.At night time it was rubbish,kids disco which lasted about 30 mins but was on the same time as the evening dinner.Not much in the way of parent entertainment either.

All in all we had a great holiday as we had not been for acouple of years.But be prepared to make your own entertainment.We have been to other all inclusive hotels and this was not up to there standard,and we are not ones to complain much about our holidays.

I would reccomend for a day out Water City if your a big kid like me which has some great slides,and a couple of area's for smaller children.Also Crystels which is down in Hersonissos.It has a enclosed park & you can it & have a drink/food in a relaxed sports bar.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

AMAZING by shyner70
10 / 10

had the best week of our lives.could not complain about anything.service,food,accom,drinks all absolute amazing. Nikos the barman, a complete star.please, if you are in two minds about booking,DO IT.just wish we could have stayed a month.any questions dont hesitate to contact me. joeshyne1@ntlworld.com

  • Holiday details: May 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: can not talk highly enough
  • Activities: the whole area was amazing
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks, Skiing

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Mareblue - A great experience May 2009. by NedandLola
8 / 10

Our experience. We are a family of 5 with children aged 9,7,5. We stopped at the Mare blue during May half term and went with another family of five.

Here are some facts:

Rooms were spacious, we had two balconies in our room with amazing views. Double glazing ensured that we slept well on amazingly comfortable beds. The rooms were cleaned well every day except Sunday. (So well we left a big tip to the cleaning staff)

We were amazed by the variety and quality of the food offered and all 10 of us eat a little too well. The restaurant staff were unbelievably helpful and regularly went beyond the call of duty to ensure our needs were met.

The location on the outskirts of Hersonissos means that the location is peaceful.

We hired cars (via internet before we left for best prices) and found beautiful beaches and 'Star beach - Water Park' within 5 Mins drive time, perfect for our age of children.

On a slightly negative note the resort nestles into a hillside and has a path network which is quite steep, particularly for more elderly guests, we had no problem.

The entertainment in the Amphitheatre was a little repetitious.

Overall though we had a better holiday here than Egypt last year. Well done Mare Blue you have clearly made some big changes. Weather was perfect 28-32 every day.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Mixed Blessings by mermaid150
6 / 10

We have just returned from Mareblue Village. Our room was right at the top of the complex and when reviewers says it's a steep incline - it's actually horrendous. Do not go if you have any breathing or heart problems! We managed to limit it to twice a day and we are a reasonably fit couple. Too many people there with bad behaved children running wild in the evenings, although that is not the hotel's fault. Hire car is essential as there is very little to do at the hotel. Food is usually cold and re heated leftovers plentiful. This is definately not a 4*, 2/3 at best. Weather was fantastic. Drinks are watered down - 15 vodkas and still stone cold sober!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

1 2 3 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at MareBlue Village & Aqua Park? Share your insight.

MareBlue Village & Aqua Park also called

  • Hotel Mare Blue Village
  • MareBlue Village
  • mareblue village hersonissos
  • mareblue village hotel hersonissos

Explore area

Map for MareBlue Village & Aqua Park Closest airport: Nikos Kazantzakis (HER) 13.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for MareBlue Village & Aqua Park
  • by JONAH

    " Not for anyone with walking or breathing problems, All the guests call this place Carrdiac Hotel "

Similar hotels around Hersonissos

Hotels near MareBlue Village & Aqua Park

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own MareBlue Village & Aqua Park?