Pearly Grey Ocean Club

Calle de la Lava, 4, Tenerife 38678, Spain
3 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(20 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
9
Good
6
Average
3
Poor
2
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8.5/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 7.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Pearly Grey Ocean Club

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
Perfect

"Having just returned from 2 weeks at the PG I can honestly say the staff do everything they can to give people what they expect, the establishment is under going refurbishment and they try to do it with minimum disruption to the guests, we did not encounter any problems that could not be dealt with including a lost suitcase and broken spectacles !!

Larcen on reception, Gemma, Debbie, Jimmy and Toni-Lee made us so very welcome we will definitely be back again soon, as stated its a very quiet resort great for rest and relaxation, if you want lively stay in Las Americas.

The views from our very well equipped andupgraded room were spectacular, the sunbeds are not allowed to be reserved now but some people did do this and it pissed people off, please take notice!!!
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Relax and take it slow.
by publican
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Never again

"We stayed at this hotel on a special offer on the hope nwe would buy there , We got a warm and friendly greeting and given a key for apartment on the 5th floor 515 the apartment was tired and in need of refurbishment and the mod cons were not very mod .We did have a nice sea view. the menu looked very mundane and it was not as costly as eating at some of the many restaurants. So we cant say if the food was good or bad.The area as a lot of ex pats living there ,it seemed more of them than holiday makers ,they are noticeable as they are the ones with one or two or three dogs. we are dog people so it didn't matter to us that at the pubs and cafes that we was surrounded by dogs.

Entertainment is geared up for 65 year olds plus at the Pearly Grey ,although we are 60 year old we found it to be boring and slow and can see why every body was in bed by 10pm. It was also mirrored in the pubs around the area ,very few customers in each one and some closed . We walked to the bus stop a quarter of a mile up the hill and went into Americas and had a better and entertaining night, A taxi back only cost 12 euro. The weather was fantastic ,but I would feel sorry if your week was hit by wet weather a possibility though minor. The apartment we clean although we never so a cleaner as we was not in the apartment long enough to make a mess. Pool side sun beds were in a poor state sat on 3 and each one was broken and collapse so didn't go to the pool anymore . If you like quiet holidays in the sun and you don't expect anything above the average then it will suit you. We had 5 holidays in 2012 and 7 in 2011 and the Pearly Grey was the worst ,we would not stay there again even if it was free
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, Booked Independently
by David B
5 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

LOVE PEARLY GREY

"We have owned at Pearly Grey for nearly 8 years now, and always look forward to going back we have visited other resorts in the RCI broshure, and always compare them to our own, for standard. We have seen many changes happen and investment made in the Resort over the last 8 years and all for the good the standard just gets better and better, Its the best. And the staff always remain their friendly and cheeful selves, its like visiting old friends. Keep up the good work Pearly Grey."

  • Holiday details: May 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: just relax
by olive
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Most balconies so not recieve sun

"Lets face it. Most of us like to have sunshine on our balcony at some point during the daytime, even if it is only for a few hours. This hotel building does not get much sunshine due to it's orientation and because there is a huge building obscuring the evening sun. This big building has a derelict appearance as so a lot of the buildings in the Pearly Grey area. That is the main reason why I wouldn't recommend it for a holiday. There is a sense of decay all around. Bus takes a good 40 mins to get to Los Chris. if you have no transport I would give this place a miss."

by Christina
4 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic Holiday!!!!!!!!!!

"What can I say..........FANTASTIC!!!!!

I have been to many timeshare resorts but this was the best by far!!

The sales reps were not at all pushy, very conciderate and willing to do anything to make our holiday one of the most enjoyable!!!

Justine and Dougie are a credit as managers and dougie is very entertaining at the weekly welcome meeting.

I managed to talk my hubby into wearing a pink shirt for the famous Pearly Grey BBQ.

Entertainment is great of an evening and I highly recommend the A La Carte Restaurant-Adrian and his team of bar staff and waiters and waitresses are fab too!!!

Thank you so much PG and we look forward to coming back soon.

For anyone reading this, I highly recommend you take a holiday here..............BRAVO PG!!!!! Jean and bob ' LONDON
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, Half board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Great for family and couples
by unitedgirl93
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Time

"Went to pearly grey in february of this year. Had an excellent holiday with my wife. Had to endure a three hour time share sales pitch which became a little uncomfartable when they realised i wasn,t interested, but this apart we had a great time. Staff are very friendly as were the guests both owners and not. Food in the resteraunt was excellent and entertainment at night varied from good to brilliant. A very quiet resort which is perfect for a relaxing week. We hired a car which i reccomend as this helps due to relieve the boredom at night. Hired car on line before we went as this was cheaper than pearly greys price. All in all a very enjoyable, friendly, relaxing week."

  • Holiday details: Feb 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Quiet but nice
  • Activities: Little italy in los christianos
by kennyws
9 / 10

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Place To Holiday

"Spent two weeks in the mosy friendly resort ever visited. Staff & reps couldn't do enough to make our holiday more enjoyable than it was. Excellent food in on site restaurant as well as several very good restaurants within easy walking distance. On site entertainment 6 nights mostly very good & all free. Poolside activity daily for those wanting to take part, seperate sun terrace if you just want to chill. Missus reckons Sunday culture tour a must. Will definitely return."

  • Holiday details: Mar 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
by Peter Rogers
10 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Pearly Grey

"I went to pearly grey with famlily in october, i found that the holiday was great. The holiday reps were lovely and we was all greated on arrival with a glass of champagne, we all enjoyed are time there and whilst there we got more points for the time share. If you want to go away to just relax and unwind then this is totally the right place to go, its so relaxing and your able to just do what you want.

If you want to go on holiday to go out clubbing or to go for a lively holiday, then this isnt the place to go .. there isnt a beach that is close that you can go to and there isnt really anywere to go if your young and you want to go to clubs, but there is a lovely pool that spotless and is always cleaned, there is also a few bars down an ally that are quite entertaining. If you want your holiday to be good then hire a car so you can go to other places, we had a fantastic holiday without one but if you feel the need then it will proberly be worth it .. im going back to tenerife this june/july and cant wait!
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2008, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Its a wonderful place to go if you just want to relax and unwind
by EmmaMarie
10 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Pearly Grey

"Have to say Pearly Grey is a fab resort despite what has been said already on other reviews. I holidayed there with my autistic son and the staff coud not be more helpful and accomodating to both his and our family needs. The facilities at the resort are plentiful and the menu in the restaurant varied.

In relation to timeshare touts (What timeshare touts) We were allocated a Rep who offered to discuss hotel timeshare promotions but were obliging when we said that we were not interested and we were left to enjoy our holiday. The reps are not only timeshare sales individuals but act as a key source of information on the resort and wider parts of tenerife. The reps are also part of the entertainment programme and were very accomodating. Timeshare touts are those on the street not in the resort which we found to be friendly and more than accomodating. Admittedly we did not have to undertake a compulsory timeshare tour and can only say that if you are going to be cheap skates in relation to holidays and accept a free holiday then more fool you. As timeshare users we are treated to the best accomodation which we expect as owners and are at Pearly Grey made to feel special. Many thanks Pearly Grey...
"

  • Holiday details: Dec 2008, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Small, safe and friendly resrt
  • Activities: Teide, Siam Park
  • Good For: Beach
by GloriaMiller3
8 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Lovely, friendly resort

"The Pearly Grey is a very pleasant, friendly place to stay and the staff are always very helpful. We didn’t stay in the main part which covered a few floors but just went down some steps by the side of the pool.which led to a few other apartments and we stayed in a large two-bedroom apartment with two bathrooms. We could manage to see the sea from the balcony but there was a large sun terrance with sun loungers between our balcony and the sea. We had a Welcome Party with lots of Sangria supplied and a Farewell Party with ‘Champagne’. However Callao Salvaje is only a small place so anyone who likes a lot of nightlife would be very disappointed and also not the place to stay if you like a nice beach as there is only a small black sand one. However, there are a variety of different restaurants nearby – Chinese, Indian, Italian, French, English, Spanish and there is a supermarket just across the road with a larger one a few minutes walk away. If you don’t want to hire a car you can catch a bus to Los Gigantes in one direction and Los Christianos in the other direction.

Tracy was very good and organised the usual type of daytime activities like darts, bowling, pool, aquafit, quizzes etc and we enjoyed relaxing round the pool and joining in these as it was a chance to get to know other guests.

We had a Chinese buffet one evening, went to the Indian restaurant and one of the other restaurants but we dined four evenings at the Pearly Grey – they had a barbecue evening which was 12 Euros and a Canarian evening at 13 Euros but only 22 Euros if you booked both at the same time. The food was very good and you got a large plateful, just the one course, but you had a drink included at both of them. We also treated ourselves to two other evenings there, a four course Sunday Roast at 17.50 Euros which included soup, a large selection of salads, main course and a selection of sweets, all of which you could help yourselves to. It was 18.50 Euros for the four course International Evening with soup, again a lovely selection of salads, and seven different International dishes and you could help yourself to a bit of each, and then sweets. No drink was included with these meals but I could recommend all the meals we had there. They also have an al a carte menu.

There was never any problem in getting a sun lounger no matter what time you arrived at the pool.

Evening entertainment started at 9 pm with a quiz and perhaps some audience participation and then there was an artist on, mostly at 10 pm but a couple of nights it did get later. We left after the artist but I understand there was some dancing and karaoke until 12.

If you want to book any trips then look around before booking at the Welcome Meeting as there are tours available a lot cheaper. One company gave leaflets out at the airport – I think they were called something like Direct Tours. A friend went with them to La Gomera for 42 euros instead of over 60 euros and was very happy with the trip.

We felt a week had been long enough for us to stay there, although there were people staying for three weeks, but we enjoyed our stay very much.
"

by vivEngland
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

lovely and friendly

"Arrived at Pearly Grey Ocean Club at 6.30pm after a long day running around the island of Tenerife after being disappointed with The Harbour Club facilities in Los gigantes We are with R.C.I exchange points and the Pearly Grey was the 4th place on our list. On arrival at the reception " Carine" made us really welcome. So did Gemma the following day .The rooms have lovely views over the sea and the swimming pool( which is cleaned and tested every morning.) The rooms do need upgrading, and double glazing installed, because you can hear everything that goes on outside the room. .Heather who organizes the evening entertainment is very good and tries to include everyone in quizzes and the dreadful (karaoke,) before the main acts .The professional entertainers are really good and enjoyable.The only problem is they start to late in the evening so there is no way you could have an early night even if you wanted one . The entertainment finishes at about 12 midnight but you get guests sitting outside the bar area drinking and talking till the early hours. We were on the 5th floor and could hear everything even with the doors closed. That,s another problem,, the main door into the room cannot be closed quietly from the outside they don,t have a handle that can be turned, so it has to be pulled shut with a bang. The restaurant food is very good and there are plenty of other restaurants close by as well. We ate at the EL DELFIN a couple of times the food is very good and they are very reasonable with the prices .Overall we had a lovely time at the Pearly Grey. If you go self catering you need transport to go to the Hypermarket about 10 minutes drive away , the small supermarkets locally are a bit pricey but are very handy"

by daveskeggy
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Great Accomodation, Quiet resort, 2 hours more than quoted for timeshare meeting

"Me & my partner found the hotel/accomodation through Letsgocanaries.com. Great offer, but on one condition,that we attend a meeting that was to last for 2 hours - Wrong! it was booked to start at 1pm on weds 1st Sept, and ended at 5.15pm on that same afternoon, teatime! Not Impressed!

I had no complaints about the apartment itself or the bar, just the resort was a little too quiet for us. We are at a "funny age" being 33 & 34, we don't want to be clubbing till 5am, but we want a little more life than was there. I prob won't go again, but glad i went as me & my partner had a great time. Where we were sun bathing, on the lower sundeck, we had a great view, and even saw a couple of dolphins. How lovely!

I wanted to warn anyone who was going, that if they were due to attend a timeshare meeting, that when they say a couple of hours, they mean 4+!
"

by foxylady33
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Pearly Grey Ocean Club Closest airport: Tenerife South Reina Sofia (TFS) 14.4 miles

Travellers also viewed

Pearly Grey Ocean Club photos (2 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Pearly Grey Ocean Club
  • by Peter Rogers

    " Several good restaurants within easy walking distance (minutes). Great on site restaurant. "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " Not for nightclubbers but a great relaxing stay "

  • by David Boughen

    " Have a taxi waiting every morning to take you into Americas or los Christianos use just as a place to sleep "

Similar hotels around Callao Salvaje

Hotels near Pearly Grey Ocean Club

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Pearly Grey Ocean Club?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Pearly Grey Ocean Club? Share your insight.