Capital Coast Resort & Spa

4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(38 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
20
Good
10
Average
4
Poor
2
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 9/10
Service: 8/10
Food: 7.5/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 7.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Capital Coast Resort & Spa

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
a wonderful hotel

"Just come back from a week at hotel can't praise it enough. The staff were very helpful even down to sorting my I pad for me. The food was of a good standard good selection always fresh. Rooms lovely and clean hairdrier kettle fridge free toiletries every day"

  • Holiday details: Jan 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: the pool and spa
  • Good For: Beach
by Anne C
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Relaxing Holiday

"We travelled with our 3 children and stayed in an Executive 3 bedroom suite - it was fantastic (Suite 120). All rooms, including the living room had their own TV, the kithcen was fully equipped, we each had our own bathroom which is a god send when you have teenagers trying to get ready on an evening. We stayed on a Half Board basis and have no complaints about the food, even the kids ate something every night. The entertainment on an evening is not great however this was fine if you just wanted a relaxing evening in the hotel. Paphos is only 10 mins away on the bus if you would prefer something livlier. The staff work extremely hard and very long hours, they were all pleasant and helpful. Plenty of sun loungers so no need to be up at the crack of dawn. The hotel grounds are beautiful,a very relaxing enjoyable holiday."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Relax and enjoy. If you are looking for entertainment this hotel is not for you
by Jo
9 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great get away.....

"Just returned from a week in the Capital coast resort and spa in Paphos. The apartment we stayed in was amazing, we are a family of 2 adults and 3 children, and we had plenty of space which is a nice change from some of the 2 bedroom apartments we have been squashed into before. The apartment had everything you could need on holidays, the washing machine and iron were an added bonus!! The pool area is fantastic, great for children, and plenty of sun bed! There is no beach, just rocks...the hotel next door has a small beach. The hotel itself is beautiful, but it really lacks soul. There is no kids club and no evening entertainment, and you are quiet abit away from everything. There are afew bars and resturants outside the hotel on the main road. We stayed half board, the breakfast was great, pleny of choice, the dinner was not so good, we are not fussy eaters but we did struggle afew nights. Check out Fat Mammas on the way back into the habour, its great, they had enterintment, and the food was great, huge meals, well worth the money. A trip into the habour is great in the evening, there is plenty of bars and resturants and a market selling the ususal tatt. The bus runs from just outside the hotel and only costs 1 euro, the habour is about 15-20 minutes drive away. Price wise i thought it was a touch expensive in the hotel.... ice-creams 3 euro, tea/coffee 3 euro, and the famous slush puppies 3 euro a pop!!! Overall from start to finish we had a fantasic holday, we booked with ulookubook (Martin) and had no problems. Hope to get back there again later in the year."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Half board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: This is a very relaxed place, lie back and enjoy!!!
by Well tanned
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic hotel and staff

"Had wonderful 3 weeks holiday at this hotel.The hotel was great and the staff were very friendly and hard working. The staff in the restaurant especially were so considerate and helpful. We will certainly come back here and would recommend this hotel. I would rate this a 5 star hotel."

  • Holiday details: Jan 2011, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Yes
by John
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Amazing hotel, let down by staff & location

"We arrived at the hotel just after 10.30pm and our first impressions were amazing, the hotel is absolutely beautiful, and the room was the best we had ever stayed in. We booked a superior suite (one of the cheaper options within the complex) so I wasn’t expecting the room to be anything like the pictures on the internet, however it was well decorated and furnished, had an amazing bathroom and we had a terrace with its own hot tub which we weren’t expecting, so a lovely surprise! I don’t know if we just got lucky though because when we looked around the site there weren’t many other rooms with the hot tub or the views we had.

We were a little disappointed however that there was nothing in the room for us to eat or drink on arrival and when we enquired at reception about where we could at least get a bottle of water from she sent us on a wild goose chase in the dark for a supermarket miles away as the on-site shop closes at 8pm. So the start wasn't great for us as we were tired, hot, hungry and very thirsty, so just be more prepared than us with your own food and water on arrival!

The pool area is fantastic, so picturesque with plenty of sun beds and well laid out (you do have to be up at the crack of dawn to get a sun bed round the pool though, otherwise you will be on the grass facing the sea, which I think was just as nice, so we never rushed out of bed!) The pool bar is fairly expensive, as was everything to be fair (€3.65 for a pint of local beer - Keo, €2.75 for 1/2 a coke etc) the exchange rate in the hotel is terrible also (€1 = £1) the shop is also fairly expensive; you are better going off-site for your supplies. There is a small beach in front of the hotel, however it is only a small cove, and you do risk your own life climbing down the rock face to get to it, however totally worth it when you’re down there, white sand and clear water.

You get complimentary beach towels which you can have changed every other day so this is handy to know to cut down on your luggage (wish we had known that before we packed)! You do get charged €25 per towel if you don’t take them back when you check out at the end of your holiday so guard them with your life!!

We went B&B so sampled breakfast which was fab, loads and loads of choice (cereal, toast, full English, continental, pancakes, waffles, fresh fruit and yoghurts as well as hot and cold drinks), although it’s the same every day. We never ate in the restaurant on an evening so cannot comment but ate at the pool bar some lunch times which was extortionate (€8 for sandwich!) you are better off buying something in and eating in your room for lunches.

Make sure you go down to the harbour for an evening; it has some amazing restaurants and was so beautiful. You do have to get a taxi (€10 each way from the hotel) but it was a lovely night out and definitely worth it.

My only 2 gripes with the place were:

1. The staff. Yes most of them are smiley and polite enough when they have to be, but you can tell they absolutely do not want to be there and you almost feel guilty asking for things from them, in particular the lady on reception who was quite rude when we asked if there was an on-site doctor (there isn't) and was quite annoyed when I asked for directions to the nearest pharmacy. Also the woman on reception in the gym/spa is very abrupt.

2. Location. Unless you want a 45 minute trek into Paphos centre every day or to hire out a car, don’t go here. It really is quite far out and you risk your life walking along the main road into the town as the drivers over there are lunatics. There are a number of bars and restaurants close by, but you get a little stuck for choice after a few days. A lot are now derelict and you can tell the area has really been affected by the credit crunch, with about 1 in every 4 restaurants and hotels along the main road closed down.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday and I would go back, although next time we would most definitely hire a car to get around more easily and hopefully they may have employed a few more staff by then who actually want to be there!!
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Breakfast Included, Booked Independently
by LeedsReviewer
8 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Hotel in lovely, Lion Resorts are awful

"Lion Resorts is one of the worst companies I have ever had to deal with. The staff were rude, patronising, unhelpful and completely ruined our holiday, which was our wedding and honeymoon. The Capital Coast Hotel and Spa itself was lovely, nice clean rooms with good facilities, although not the facilities Lion Resorts had promised us when we booked. We decided to get married in Cyprus and arranged for us and our 25 guests to stay in the hotel. From the moment we arrived, Lion Resorts treated us appallingly, refusing to help us with anything from carrying our luggage up flights of stairs (as there was no lift to the floor we were staying on and my finance has a bad back), to not giving us a list of the room numbers our guests would be staying in. We were there for a week before our guests were due to arrive, but unfortunately, due to the volcanic ash cloud, they never made it. We decided to move the wedding to later in the year and asked Lion Resorts if they could either move the booking for us or give us a full or partial refund, which we would use to rebook. They wouldn’t do either. One of our guests did make it to Cyprus and we asked if he could be put in the best of the rooms we had booked, but they would only give us the key to the small apartment he was booked into. So Lion Resorts refused to let us have the keys, despite the fact that we had booked and paid for all of the rooms ourselves and they also refused to refund us for the rooms they wouldn’t let us use. This seemed very unfair, and when we asked to speak to a Director they again refused, saying the Directors didn’t want to speak to us and had nothing more to say. Lion Resorts caused me so much pain and grief, far more than the ash cloud, at a time when a little bit of sympathy would have gone a long way."

  • Holiday details: Apr 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Lots to see and do in Paphos, something for everyone
by Sally
3 / 10

15 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Clean, modern, spacious hotel on the waterfront but no accessible beach area - fabulous sunsets.

"I can fully recommend taking your "free" holiday from your scratch card win, especially if you do not normally holiday in 4* or 5* accommodation. We have recently come back from a week at Capital Coast Resort and it was great. The suite was very modern and spacious and huge compared to the type of accommodation we normally stay in. A big bonus was the fully fitted kitchen with washing machine, dish washer and fridge freezer. (We are used to a small fridge, with tiny freezer box and a two ring cooker). We had a lovely large balcony, with access from the bedroom and the living room, with side sea views and it was wonderful sitting out there watching the sunset each evening. You are expected to meet the rep on your first morning for a chat and free breakfast (which is superb) and a meeting is arranged for later in the week. This is a bit of a nuisance especially when you will have already done the full tour before you "won the free holiday" but worth putting up with for the holiday experience.

The hotel is a bit out of the way and there is not much happening in the immediate vicinity, especially as you have to take your "free holiday" out of season. The bus does not seem to run late evenings out of season. We did a lot of walking into Kato Paphos and back each evening. Taxis expensive and you cannot enjoy drinks with your meal, cocktails etc. if you are having to drive.

A great coastal walk from the hotel to the harbour, with a couple of places to grab a drink or a bite to eat along route. Can recommend the omlettes at the Beach Tavern at Kefalos Beach Hotel.

If you wish to hire a car, can recommend the car hire place next door to Karlina Restaurant which is called something like Chris & Mirandas. Very friendly, very helpful, and gave us a great deal. Can recommend a drive out to Latchi and Polis and a day out in the Troodos Mountains is a must.

A visit to San Marino Restaurant in Kato Paphos is a must too. Extremely friendly service with superb food. The set menu is excellent value for money and the portion sizes are not reduced as they are in some places. Can also recommend Thomas's Jungle for excellent seafood and fish meals - also very friendly service here.

If you can get yourself some cheap flights with Easyjet, I'd say "go for it". Taxi transfer approx E27 from airport.
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by southern comfort
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Perfect in every way

"I signed up at Xmas 2008 in Egypt and like a lot of other people was very sceptical on the overall deal.

As soon as we got back in January we booked for Capital Coast for two free weeks as promised, My initial thoughts where if I can get this at least I would not feel as bad.

Since the day we booked Lions Resorts have been in constant touch ensuring we had given all the correct flights details etc so we could be picked up on time.

We arrived safely and where greeted by a pleasant driver who then took our bags and we proceeded to the resort.

Previous reviews had mentioned bad customer service at reception…WRONG.. The receptionist was pleasant polite and answered all our questions, and throughout our stay when we had to visit reception everything was perfect

Accommodation, we stayed in a one bedroom apartment which had everything. TV’s in main room and bedroom, touch control cooker, Fridge freezer, Washing Machine, Dishwasher, Blenders and ample cutlery and utensils. Two well sized bathrooms with the main bedroom having access to the balcony as to not disturb anyone sleeping on the sofa bed. Large dining table with four chairs and loads of storage space.

Pool & Sunbeds.. 1st day we rushed like most brits to get the best Sun beds, what a mistake.

There are loads of sun beds, there a good amount that have thick foam mattresses which of course are very comfy but if you do miss out on one of these there are ample comfortable sunbeds and they can easily be moved to your preferred location . The pool location is superb and you overlook the ocean no matter where your sun bed is. Pool was cleaned every single day by a very nice guy who also looked after the sun beds.

If I had one small problem it was with the round stepping stones in between the shallow and deep pools, all the kids used these regularly for games which could easily lead to an accident ( maybe this was me being over-protective as my son was one of the kids using them??)

Staff - Superb, that is all I can say. No bad words no small issues everything was perfect. Anne-Marie who was one of the Pool Bar staff was 1st Class but everyone did all they could to make you comfortable.

Location - This if anything was the only small issue, the complex was approx 10mins by Car/Bus to Paphos Harbour and 15 mins to Coral Bay. You could walk to Paphos and if you used the ample bars along the way to stop for refreshments this would be a nice walk on a cooler evening. There are some good bars near the hotel and just on the main road you have Joannes ( very friendly and good for football/Sport) and Chloes Chinese is very good

The Tomb Bar has just opened and I spent a bit of time in there over the last few days and If they can continue with the prices and food they are offering this will be a very popular bar and I would recommend this to anyone staying at the Capital Coast.

For some fun and good food also try Fat Mama’s which is further up Kings road towards Paphos and I will not spoil it too much but the entertainment is brilliant

Kahalinas ( just before Fat Mamas) is also very nice for food and again I would recommend this

Overall I would recommend Capital coast to all ages with or without families, it is a good quality 4* hotel and its location is a good base to cover the island.

We have already booked our flights back to Capital coast for next year and have already had a call from Lions asking us to confirm our details so they can arrange our transfers.

Special thanks to Viv, Peter & Ian from Lions and also all the staff from the resorts who made our stay very very good
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by stevedhgs
9 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Amazing.....!!!!!

"I am not long back from my first hoilday out the uk which was too the lion resort. i was very pleased with my hoilday and have absouletly no complaints.if you are looking for a relaxing hoilday i would defiently advise you to go here. the staff are very friendly and the maids are always very cheery no matter what time they come.i had a hot tub on my balcony and it was amazing jst sitting there relaxing enjoying the view. the entertainment in th apartments was very good although it wasnt every night sometimes you jst want a quiet drink......DO NOT LISTEN TO THE BAD COMMENTS.....if you are looking for relaxing friendly hoilday i would defo advise you to go here."

  • Holiday details: May 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by GemmaPemma
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Scratch card holiday

"For those of you worrying about taking your "free" holiday from your win on a scratch card, don't worry. We have just returned from a week in the Capital Coast Resort and it was fabulous. The suite was amazing and everyone was really friendly. No hard sell, honestly. We met Angie on our first morning for a chat and free breakfast, and we agreed to meet her later in the week for a coffee and confirmed that joining a holiday club was not for us, she was fine and just wanted us to enjoy our holiday. We ate in the restaurant on our last night and it was very nice, but if you go to Zaffrons just at the top of the road leading to the hotel,you will love it. Looked as tho it might be a bit pricey from the outside but wasn't, and the quality was excellent. Other nights we tried out Joannas down the road, good Cypriot home-cooking.

Not much happening where the hotel is situate and we did end up walking for miles back and forth to the harbour and town, which did us good. Only thing I'd say is we found it a bit quiet, but it was March, and although there were a mix of people at the hotel, the majority were old (as my other half nicknamed it "The 80-130 Club"!!)

One old chap told us the week would have cost us £400 each at the hotel, so at least we saved that amount, but with transfers and flights we spent about £250 each, plus eating out each night, so wasn't exactly a "free" holiday after all, but hey it was worth it, so bite the bullet and go.

Paula - North Wales
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Activities: Zaffron (see web site "weddingsatZaffrons)
  • Good For: Beach
by sammylammy
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Whats all the fuss?

"Hello, Ive just returned from the capital coast resort and spa where my wife and I enjoyed a great holiday. We paid just 200 pounds for the deal and I just cant believe some of the comments made by these people. What on earth did they expect for their money? The rooms were superb, the views second to none and service was tremendous. A very enjoyable experience. Whilst there we were given a presentation by one of the reps and although we didnt purchase at this time because of financial difficulties, would certainly consider in future. I suppose the people that complained are born to be negative and if they only paid 200 pounds for the trip they should be ashamed of themselves for writing these comments."

by stewyenfield
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Capital Coast Hotel and Spa

"We have just got back from our 'free' holiday at Capital Coast Hotel and Spa in Paphos Cyprus, from the first phone call from Liz we thought it must be a con of some sort but Liz assured us it wasn't, so we booked the cheepest flights we could, Easyjet, when we arrived it was WOW, the hotel is very impressive and very new.

The appartment was very modern and fully equiped, fully kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 1 en suit bathroom 1 family bathroom and 1 toilet. (en-suit toliet had no seat at all and wasn't replaced even though i had commented on this).

Large flat screen TV in living roon and smaller ones in both bedrooms. Ballcony with table and 4 chairs accessable via living room or bedroom, nothing missing from the homely image.

Restaurant very clean and service excellent, food very nice, however we ate out most nights, did cook twice and found everything i needed.

The pool area and the spa area with the indoor pool and jacuzzi, steam and sauna rooms were all fab along with the gym, clean towel for everyone, however they do need to hire a tiler to replace some of the tiles in the steamroom and on the posts in indoor pool, but this in no way affected the use of anything.

Harbour was short taxi ride away and found two really great restaurants, The Pelican, and the Moorings, food and service were excellent and you really should try them.

Went to the Salsa club next to The Pelican as daughter loves Salsa and she had a great time dancing with two very nice blokes,one really experienced dancer, nice club drinks a little dear but cocktails nice at 5 Euro's a go.

Met up with Angie for our 'Talk' about the holiday club, very nice lady and although she fought her corner she wasn't over pushy. The price to join the 'Club' was £16,000 odd for 32 years including the extra club and you could holiday any were in the world for £149pp/pw

which sounds really good and i suppose is, but at this time was not suitable for us so she offered us a 4years dels for £3,000 odd but again at this time was not suitable for us.

Angie did need an answer by the next day, which was a bit pushy if you like but we had decided by that night it was not suitable for us.

We did however find that our beds were not made the next morning, ?? was that cause we didn't sign?? who knows.

We had a fantastic time at Capital Coast Hotel and Spa and would recommend it to anyone.

Thanks to all the staff and to Angie for Breakfast and to Liz for the holiday.

Paphos town was lovely as well and we found a great little sandwich bar that made the most amazing chicken salad toasted baps, have forgotten the name of the place but they know who they are and they are really friendly, Thanks to them as well.
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2009, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: yes
  • Activities: Harbour
by maxlee
8 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Explore area

Map for Capital Coast Resort & Spa Closest airport: Pafos (PFO) 5.7 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Capital Coast Resort & Spa
  • by Fionas

    " Popadums indian restaurant, Olivetos and Phuket are all great places to eat "

  • by dijom

    " besr local food is at Seven St Georges Tavern, near the hospital "

  • by sammylammy

    " Harbour is lovely, but March is a bit too early to go. "

  • by GemmaPemma

    " fat mamas and the harbour "

  • by stevedhgs

    " Go to the Tomb Bar for Great Food and cheap prices and Fat Mamas for a great night of entertainment "

  • by LeedsReviewer

    " Make sure you hire a car, and be prepared for stroppy staff! "

Similar hotels around Paphos

Hotels near Capital Coast Resort & Spa

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Capital Coast Resort & Spa?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Capital Coast Resort & Spa? Share your insight.

Capital Coast Resort & Spa is also called:

  • capital coast hotel
  • capital coast resort

Address: Tombs of the Kings Road P.O. Box 62066, Paphos 8060, Cyprus