Skipsea Sands Holiday Park

Mill Lane, Skipsea YO25 8TZ, United Kingdom
hotel photo

Average Rating

6.5  / 10
(40 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
17
Good
6
Average
3
Poor
5
Awful
9

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 5.5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 7/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
BAR STAFF DISGRACE by clairex
4 / 10

I have just returned from the skip sea caravan holiday parks with 5 of my family members, we shared a bronze caravan which we were very pleasuently surprised with. 3 Bedrooms which were decent in size for all and 2 bathrooms and a large kitchen and dining area. I enjoyed the holiday overall however there were a few things that i found very poor. The entertainment was the same every night, the same acts and the same songs, and the music was ridiculously loud we had to take our 2 year old son home because he had a bad ear ache. The one thing that got me about this holiday, is the bar staff were absolutely disgusting. On several occasions we had waited at least 15 minutes for a pint. the first occasion we waited 10 minutes for a drink while the staff decided to go away in the back, while there was a massive Que. The second time was appalling. I waited with my husband for 15 minutes while 2 of the bar staff stood there and giggled at their mobiles. It got to the point where my husband has to ask them if they were serving us, to their response "in a minute" we were disgusted so we walked into a different bar where we then told the bar manager and instead of apologizing on their behalf, he told us that we were being unreasonable. I do NOT find this acceptable and they need to get some GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE!

  • Holiday details: Jul 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: DONT GO TO THE BAR IN THE COMPLEX!
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

SKIPSEA SANDS HOLIDAY PARK by Sue G
9 / 10

the platinum caravan was clean modern and comfortable the bed very comfortable WE werein BEMPTOM MEADOWS Grass was cut could park car next to caravan and it had outside lighting WONDERFUL but WHILST CARAVAN PARK AND STAFF WERE GREAT . Bar staff use one cloth for all tables , this made the tables sticky, THE Childrens entertainment was great BUT THE ADULT ENTERTAINMENT WAS FROM POOR TO AVERAGE , offset by a good variety to drink in the barmade up for this. Rating 9/10 and will go again . the fishing on site is terrible possible cause young pond needs a couple of years to mature and the ducks are a nuisence but we found a great site in ulrome one mile a way so was very happy. husband was happy too

  • Holiday details: Jul 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: better cleaning bar tables and better evening entertainment for adults

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Skipsea Sands Short Break by LinilinT
8 / 10

We booked this break via the Sun newspaper £9.50 holidays. We had a lovely caravan, very clean, and found the park itself to be well kept and clean. Admittedly, there probably isn't a lot for families with children, but it is a small park, and we weren't expecting it to be an all singing all dancing park, like some of the bigger ones are. The staff were all pleasant, very helpful, particularly when my daughter realised she had dropped her purse in the club, and we had to go back after the club had closed, and the entertainment was pretty good for a small park in October, something was put on each night, unlike some, where the entertainment out of season consists of a couple of staff members doing alternate Karaoke songs. Definitely good value for money. The only downside was that, and this has been mentioned by previous reviews and not the fault of the park, due to the awful coastal erosion taking place, you are unable to go on any little walks along the coast from the park, or get access to the beach. All in all, a good break and a good park

  • Holiday details: Oct 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: You need a car

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fab long weekend break in static caravan for me and my daughter by csta
9 / 10

Unsure what to expect, as with reading reviews but each to their own. My toddler and I had a lovely break in a spacious caravan and although I was ill, we made the most of it. Prior to check in we called at the Chip shop just next to the resort and near the eroded cliff. We had a nosey at the road closure and got some lovely chips and took them back to our caravan. Staff upon arrival and departure were friendly and helpful. Went to Bridlington for trip out one day, had walk along sea front, ride on Pirate Ship, ride on Puffa Train and tea and scone in local cafe. We had a lovely day and the journey by car wasn't too far. The next day we went into Hornsea and had Sunday dinner in a pub and a walk around the town, didn't really see much as everything was closed. We only used the swimming pool facilities on site, due to being ill, so didn't see any bars, restaurants, kids clubs, arcades etc, plus I had brought everything apart from the kitchen sink with us, as I like to be prepared. The swimming pool was lovely and hardly anyone in when we went in on Sunday afternoon, it wasn't particulary cold like reviews had specified, all very clean and an enjoyable experience. We had a drive around the site and all appeared very clean and the touring field looked impressive and had a play area and park for children and a pond. Would recommend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

skip sea sands by louvain
1 / 10

worst holiday we have had in years the toilets a disgrace shower blocks human crap smeared on walls nothing for kids to do during the day apart from spending loads of money on bandits clubhouse beer overpriced and not that good flat pint lets just hope the coastel errosion hurrys up and take the place with it

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: go somewhere else

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

touring holliday by popps
10 / 10

I would recomend this site 100%,on arrival we were greeted by warm helpfull staff, pitch size GREAT ,the toilets,washing

area and showers were the cleanest i have been in,and kept that way by a cleaner 2 to 3 times daily,

After reading some negative reviews befor deciding to go here

we where very suprised by what we found ,WE COULD FIND NOTHING TO COMPLAIN ABOUT,the site was clean,quiet,all the staff from reception down to the rangers were helpfull and polite

A GREAT 10 DAYS WAS HAD

paul/babs & rita

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, TOURER, Booked Independently
  • Advice: None
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Bit of a dissapointment. by Dazza
4 / 10

Caravan it self was in good order! Beds quite uncomfortable.

The reason for the low score is for the lack of things do do for younger children (0-5 yrs).

My child is 18 months old and there was very little for her to do, the ONLY child's play area (Wacky Warehouse style) you had to PAY for and it was £2.50 for 2 hours.

Not bad you may think but anyone with younger children will know they would not play in there for that length of time!

The only other entertainment was a kind of kids club in the morning but very few people went (3 of us in fact) and that was a few toys on the dance floor.

The over all resort could do with a face lift, some areas where looking very run down. The bowling machines where not working and had been out of order for about a week. (still out of order when we left).

My wife and I tried the Archery (£4 each) and they only had 1 bow and 3 arrows, was not bad because there where only the 2 of us but any more than that and it would NOT of been worth the money....

Food in the sports man bar was GOOD value. The NIGHT entertainment was typical "holiday" entertainment so some may like some may NOT.

Would I go to Skipsea again! maybe if it had a refurb. If not then NO.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: travel to Bridlington
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

To Our Expectations by chewie648
8 / 10

We have just returned from our Sun holiday booked trip to Skipsea Sands. We wanted a nice little break in a pleasant caravan, and got this. It was nice accomodation, in a clean well maintained park. Yes, it is dated, and the staff there whilst polite, could do with some customer service training. Felt at times like the Reception team needed to grow up and be more professional.

The erosion has clearly affected this park, though the walk to the beach was not far, and essentially it's September so were glad to be on the move. The bar was nice, and very pleasant staff. A could pint and meal. Arcades were fun. Did not use the pool as ran out of time.

Over all have returned home having had a great break. The caravan was clean, well maintained, and though cold, this is all part of a caravan holiday for me. I do think if this had been full price for us, and not a Sun holiday, i may have been disappointed. But would return with the same deal.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: plan your holiday and what you want to do before you go

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

average some parts need upgrading by beverley
6 / 10

just come back from from skipsea not a bad site most of staff very helpful, some areas in need of upgrading shower blocks not great could do with a clean more often entertaintment areas rather dated, think it would be alot better if these areas were improved

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Give this site a miss !!!!!!!!! by stu
1 / 10

just returned back from a weeks break @ skipsea sands holiday park the word SKIP being a good clue.firstly after reading alot of reviews i was expecting much better ,me and my family of 2 x adults 2 x kids (9 & 4)have been on a few site in this part of the world ,and most times get the vouchers out of the national paper but this time we payed full price .on arrival the park looks normal but the caravan (gold plus ) was dirty and had light covers missing / beading on the walls where hanging off not what you expect from a gold standard caravan.The facilitys on the site are very dated /dirty and run down .all toilets in the bar and entertainment area where a disgrace .what i will say is that the staff at the site are very good from bar staff to security and children entertainment team .Do not go this site until it gets revamped ..........

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Superb holiday! by CarolJohnson
9 / 10

Earlier today we arrived home after a week holiday at skipsea sands in East yorkshire and we will definatly be returing again. This is one of the best family holiday's we have had it had it down points but these were dramtically over shadowed by the good.

We arrived and stayed in a bronze caravan which was the cleanest caravan we had ever stopped in supplied with tea and suger etc for our arrival. We were also a short walk from the clubhouse so wasnt far to walk home late at night. Also the grass around out caravan was well maintained and the wildlife made a lovely extra, waking up to see baby rabbits and ducks was a pleasure.

Unfortunatly there is no direct beach access due to the cliff erosion, which is unfortunate but is something that is unavoidable.

The complex itself despite looking slightly dated offered a wide variety of facilities although three out of four bowling lanes were broken, but the arcade and pool were all well maintained, stocked regular with prizes and a clean and tidy pool.

One of the big negative sides was the food in the restaurant we only ate in there once (which was one time too many) the food was cold and we found a hair in one of the children's meals which when we mentioned it to a waitress we were responded with a very dry almost rude remark.

The other downside to our holiday was a very rude lifeguard we happened to encounter in the leisure centre, we awoke him from his afternoon nap on the desk to ask him a question regarding the bowling to receive a short and some what rude response.

This was dramatically flipped round by the entertainment provided in the family room. The teamstars were always fun and full of energy. The best time for me to give an example of this, was on our 1st night where there was a 2 hour power cut and the teamstars managed to keep the children entertained whilst the problem was being resolved. The professionalism that day great to see. Teamstar Josie and Ash were both always smiling and making conversation with us. Ash was great with the kids while the bingo was on. and Josey sang in the shows and she has a beautiful voice. but the team as a whole were super.

Our holiday as a whole was lots of fun with lots of things around to do but you do need a car!

We are returning in October the kids are that eager to get back.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: have a car

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant Site by Kays review
10 / 10

it was fantastic. Highly reccomended only back a few hours ago 2 day. having going through it looked small and crowded, we then got upgraded to the top caravan (from Gold plus) at no charge! at the night club we got speaking to a teamstar called jennie (realy friendly) and offered to help us and asked what we were up to. darren (the entertainment manager got us a drink and was also friendly then i'm not going through all the list they were all friendly and we would be here all day with a list longer than my arm. arcade was great machines robbed sometimes but all in order good swimming pool bowling got used to it and deffinetly will go again!

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: nope
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Skipsea Sands Holiday Park? Share your insight.

Explore area

Map for Skipsea Sands Holiday Park Closest airport: Robin Hood Doncaster Sheffield (DSA) 47.8 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Skipsea Sands Holiday Park
  • by amy2849

    " Ellies maes bistro "

  • by willow

    " you need a car as it is out in the countryside "

  • by **@**

    " Take a bath mat with you as there is no grip on the bath "

Similar hotels around Skipsea

Hotels near Skipsea Sands Holiday Park

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Skipsea Sands Holiday Park?