Perran View Holiday Park

Trevellas, Newquay TR5 0XS, United Kingdom
hotel photo

Average Rating

5  / 10
(20 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
1
Good
7
Average
4
Poor
1
Awful
7

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 8/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 7/10
Location: 8/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
october heatwave weekend 30th september -3rd october

"We booked this weekend as late availability and it seemed a bargain.I would have gone mad had i paid the full price. On arrival to the site i thought oh my god what have i done. We stayed in number 36, couldn't park near the place and there is so much wasted space, why not make car parking spaces. The place looked like an old ministry of defence estate, or as my son said a ho,liday camp in Afganistan. Thankfully we only used the place for somewhere to sleep. Initial inspection the place looked clean, but close up there is much need for improvement. The villa(thats a joke) needs totally updating. The bathroom was terrible, the loo was so close to the wall you had to sit sideways, god knows who fitted the bath. The double room looked like a time warp, the dressing table was a bit of rough chipboard, the twin downstairs wasn't much better. It is a shame because it could really be a nice place if some money was spent. The double glazing was fantastic, so very quiet. The furniture looked like it came from a jumble sale. We didnt use the facilities as we spent as much time out of the place as possible. The positives are that is is a good location with a car, near to everywhere. Great pub in Perranporth The Green Parrot, good cheap food and drink and really nice. Perranporth is lovely. After 4 days you kind of get used to the place, i wouldn't not go there again but i would book a private place as the holiday camp bit doesn't bother us as we are all adult. We stayed in a Haven caravan a month ago and i had some moans about it but compared to John Fowler it was like a bloody palace. The weather more than made up for it and we had some great days out. Come on get your act together and spend some money on the place, your claim in the brochure that you properties are maintained, furnished and equipped to a high standard is crap!!!!!"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: go out ALOT
by ferret
5 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Second year and still just as enjoyable

"This is the second time at perran view holiday park and we have had a great time. The house (no 53) is privately owned and can be found on the owners direct site which we found quite by chance last year. It is decorated beautifully and tastefully with a very light and airy feel and very spacious with 2 double bedrooms one downstairs and a built in bunk bedroom for the children and as one on our children is 16 it is plenty big enough. The site itself is very clean and tidy and the staff very helpful and friendly. Some areas need a little updating ie the clubhouse but we don't tend to use this as we like to explore local area. My only criticism is that it is a short drive to the nearest beach. we would definetly go again and recommend it our friends and family."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Stay at no 53
by flor1der
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic Holiday

"We stayed on the Perrin View holiday park in a private house (no 53, which we found on Owners Direct) . Yes, the holiday park looks a little out dated and a little grey but the house we stayed in was amazing inside with a lovely beachy hut type feel but clean and actually surprisingly spacious for a holiday home.

The location of the holiday park is perfect for exploring the local area - Newquay, local beaches, St Ives to name a few. We were also pleasantly surprised by the swimming pool which was heated and had a little kids pool, which they loved. The staff were helpful and polite.

I would definitely go back and have already recommended to friends!
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2011, Private House, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by YumMum
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Friendly, clean, small site with a family feel!

"We booked a privately owned house on this John Fowler site and would certainly recommend it. The accommodation was outstanding with a lovely kitchen and bathroom with walk in shower. The owners have made it a real home from home. The site itself is a small family site and therefore does not have all the amenities of a large site which was an added bonus for us as it was much quieter than a large site. Perran View, although dated, is clean and well maintained and ideally situated for exploring Cornwall. The staff were always warm and friendly and put on a full programme of entertainment no matter how many families were in the clubhouse. If you are looking for a large, lively site with lots of amenities this is not the place for you but if you want a small friendly site with a family atmosphere I would definitely recommend Perran View."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Holiday Home, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Book independently to get more high spec property at a better rate
by essex48
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fab holiday had by all !

"We are a typical average family of 4 and just returnt from a weeks break. Having read the reviews we were rather anxious and debate cancelling.

We were unsure where to actually go to collect our keys and staff seemed to have gone into hiding but once we had engaged our brains we found our way into the club house and the small reception area which also acts as the front side of the bar. (no big deal imo either). It would have perhaps been nicer to have been greeted by someone outside the building although upon hindsight it is pretty clear where you had to go.

There was a kettle, fridge freezer, iron , ironing board , cooker etc all the essentials that you need - remember its a holiday NOT home.

Staff were extremely friendly and happy and as the days went by they recognised us and went out of their way to check all was fine and we were having a good time etc.

Our accomdation was the perrenwell villa and it was very clean, ok so as others say could do with redecorating (hence only an 8 score) but hey ho no big deal you dont go on holiday to sit and look at walls do ya !. There was no smell of damp and no sign of damp. The carpets were a bit faded but thats not a big deal and I didnt feel so guilty when lil one took his shoes off and shook sand - no hoover but we swept it up with the dustpan and brush that was provided.

The swimming pool was manned at all times when open by a "lifeguard" although it was James or another member of the entertainment team. At the end of the day its my duty as a parent to keep an eye on my child whilst they are in pool anyway.

James and Spongebob in particular was extremely good and compassionate with my youngest child who refused point blank to acknowledge them due to his autism. It was quite obvious who was dressing up as the characters each night to the adults but I suspect the kids were really not too phased by this. The staff were pretty much the same throughout the week but then it is a small holiday park and that is to be expected it also helps and is nice to see familiar faces and kudos to the staff for working such long shifts. When my son spilt a drink they were straight at the table to clean it up as well - no fuss made , no problem.

Kids entertainment was just that - for kids which both my children thoroughly enjoyed !. A bit perplexed by the bingo and open the box each night but cash prizes so dont know why adults are complaining your there to have fun so have fun and smile and if you win hey its a free round of drinks at the bar aint it :). By the time you have explored Cornwall throughout the day your to tired to even want to get up and dance anyway - and if you go to Cornwall just to stay at the holiday camp and do nothing else then shame on you as it is a lovely place with lots to see and do.

The little on site shop was lovely and the gentleman who was staffing it very pleasant. We ordered breakfast from there the night before to collect the next day which my daughter thought was fantastic !. We ate from the chefs corner a couple of times and food was always freshly cooked and appetising, large portions for the prices and cost just under £15 to feed us all !!!. No complaints on that one :). Would have been nice to have more choice on the menu though maybe if I was to be picky.

We did not use the launderette so cant comment on that.

My only true gripe would have to be as a smoker it would have been nice to have some sort of shelter to go outside for a cigarette rather then just having to sit on the bench but once again thats really not the parks problem as smoking is my choice.

We were all pretty sad to wake up Friday morning to see the cleaning bags outside the door signalling it was time for us to leave but there is always next year ! We are returning again August this year but cant book into the park as the accomodation we want is FULLY booked - I can see why !.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Explore the surrounding areas !
  • Good For: Beach
by vdavy80
8 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

john folwers

"pleasant staff and jolly entertainment staff. nice quiet park with close driving distance to newquay, st ives etc for driving trips. nice to have a house and not a tent or caravan. nice size pool. manager very helpful."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: nice for stop off and tour around and enjoy evening entertainment.
  • Good For: Beach
by cornishbound
7 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Bored staff, boring nightlife, daylight robbery

"had a week in a 6-8 berth villa

Staff....... all seemed disinterested and suicidal with the exception of an older chap who seemed to do all the work and was brilliant.

Entertainment ...... on the whole, half hearted and disappointing. Foxy club did not engage interest of our children who may have been too young....cabaret was mostly weak, karioke was spectacularly lame....magic act was quite good and the singer on the friday night was the best. The club was ok but the chairs were uncomfy and nobody seemed to bother clearing dirty glasses from the tables, the beer was expensive £3.20 for a pint of guiness

Facilities....... Pool and Sauna good but disappointed with very limited opening hours, changing rooms were dirty and too small.......Crazy Golf course looked like it had been built by council workers in the 1960s and not touched since. an adjoining block wall that was about 6 foot high was damaged on the corner and in a dangerous state. Tennis courts looked ok but would have been better suited to car parking. Childrens play area good.WiFi - Good, Shop was good and not too pricey. Laundrette was absolute daylight robbery - to wash and dry 2 standard loads of washing cost me £14.00!

Site and accomodation.......site good, not too many vehicles driving roung so kids can play safely.....the site looks like a big (well kept) council estate or army barracks and the houses are basic as you would expect. The grounds are always clean and tidy. One bad point was that our house was next to some very rough looking garages with a pile of broken ovens and fridges etc next to them! (maybe this was in keeping with the council estate theme?) also the staff were allowed to park there (we had to park a fair way away) and they all took no notice of the one way system on site etc! It was slightly annoying that the staff could park next to our house, when we, as paying guests were forced to park miles away ( however, it was nice not to have loads of traffic on site so I guess we couldn't have had it both ways!)

Accomodation........

Paid £10 for a cot for the week, wasn't erected when we got there and missing bolts anyway, paid £10 for a highchair for the week - was not in the house when we arrived ..... in fairness the chap sorted both these things out cheerfully, after we complained. No cooking trays, half the lightbulbs needed changing, clock not working, no bathplug, shower was poor, bed was really uncomfy, radiator fell off the wall, sink plug was too small, property was generally dusty and cobwebby, windows were dirty.

However, house was quite spacious, well heated and reasonably well equipped and also had big windows all the way round.

location.....

Nothing to see in the immediate vicinity of the holiday park but Perranporth itself (about 2 miles away) has a lovely - no, fantastic beach and a nice high street.
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by fatcoachdriver
3 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Nice clean site perfect for exploring Cornwall

"Visited this site for a short break from 2nd October to 5th October 2009 - Never been to cornwall before so a little tricky to find following sat nav - should have followed directions provided on the booking confirmation. Anyway, arrived at around 5.00pm to a quiet park although car park was pretty full. Had a little drive around, and as others have mentioned it probably was an army barracks back in the 60s or something, but we didnt mind this. Our Perranporth Villa (Number 5) was of a good size for me, my wife and 20 month old daughter. Much bigger than caravans and "villas" we've stayed in before, but did have that musty smell (after 30 mins I didnt even notice it any more - only when you go out and come back) plenty of storage space and only other gripe was the double bed was very lumpy, and noisy, slept with a spring/s in my back for the whole weekend and made one hell of a noise when we moved during the night, we just made a joke of it eventually! Swimming pool was basic but Baby loved it, unfortunately I had to have a cold shower when changing as I couldnt get hot water through it (other shower was in use and I didnt feel like waiting around) We didnt use the entertainment facilities, mainly because of the baby's age, if she were 5-10 yrs old she probably would have loved it, while waiting for some food in the clubhouse, I noticed another family's kids seemed to be having a great time playing games etc.

Location was ideal for exploring cornwall, you need a car though, Eden project was 30-40 mins away and Newquay was just 15 mins up the road. Perranporth is lovely with a nice big beach.

We didnt mind the small niggles we found with this place as we only paid £100 for the weekend away and we felt it was good value for money. I'd certainly be very disappointed if I'd paid £700 (full summer price for a week) to go here. So for end/start of season short breaks we would recommend this place to families with children/ couples. Probably wouldnt recommend to youngsters looking for some nightlife - go to Newquay for that.
"

by GHigginsSouthWales
6 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

PLEASANTLY SURPRISED

"We booked holiday back in febuary and didn't really look into the details too much as trusted the company name we booked with.....we checked out reviews two weeks prior and was shocked to see quite a few very bad reviews and was very worried that we'd made a huge mistake but hey we'd paid up and it was too late to cancel!!! when we arrived both myself and my husband fought to enter apartment to see if it was a bad choice and surprise surprise it was great!! clean,tidy,fully furnished and had all the necessary amenities ie; microvewave,fridge freezer,cooker,and tv with built in dvd player!!! bedrooms were big enough for us and thought it was very comfortable....we were only a ten minute drive from perranporth town and beach which was very handy for kids and spent most our time there as plenty of shops and restaurants to suit all tastes....all in all a good holiday definately would book again!!!"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: BE WILLING TO DRIVE TO SEE EVERYTHING
  • Activities: EDEN PROJECT AND DEL MAR (ITALIAN RESTAURANT)
  • Good For: Beach
by oakleyoakley
8 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

unwarming doom and gloom smelly dated family park

"travelled 7hrs 2 find a dirty musky smelly accomadation,food in the microwave and on floor still, kettle impossible 2 drink out off,sofa was riped feathers and dust from it on the floor continues musky smell all the time, no fire alarms,bedroom door shuts stuck in the room,real shabby park not 4 kids,pool was tiny,did not spend the day there horrible.go and stay somewhere else ,perranporth is fab and views and walks stunning beaches are breath taking,just dont waste your money going 2 this park it needs knocking down dont b mislead that they r giving u a fantastic reduction on price its not a good deal."

by icecreamNewquay
2 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Very basic accommodation, but good location for exploring Cornwall.

"We booked this holiday 1 week before we went for less than half the listed brochure price. First impressions on seeing the accommodation was that it was very drab looking grey pebble-dashed accommodation. On entering the apartment things didn't really improve, with a mismatch of furniture and a cleaning product smell that makes you wonder what it's masking. After getting over the initial 'shock' of the basicness of the accommodaton, it was actually quite good - it was clean, spacious, recently double glazed and well stocked with furniture and appliances (microwave, cooker, toaster, fridge/freezer, digital tv).

The location of the site was very good and we were able to visit several places in Cornwall (Falmouth, Newquay, Penzance) without getting caught in traffic. The entertainment venue was a bit dated, but the late entertainment was good (we didn't see any of the earlier kiddie entertainment), although the drinks prices were high. Free wi-fi in the entertainment venue was good to have.

Overall not a bad site, especially for the price we paid, but it could do with further updating.
"

by cobbia
6 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Seriously in need of gutting and remodernising

"This was our third visit to Perran View Holiday Park in 6 years and definately won't be returning. The smell when entering the house was an awful musty smell as though the place had been empty for years, the couch was very old and tatty and looked like it was crawling with all sorts and the carpet just needed ripping up, there were cobwebs in every corner of the room, overall just very grubbby. The whole place including the pool area just needs gutting and remodernising. On a positive note staff were nice and helpful."

by jomo70
2 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Perran View Holiday Park Closest airport: Newquay (NQY) 11.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Perran View Holiday Park
  • by fatcoachdriver

    " Rick Steins chippy "

Similar hotels around Newquay

Hotels near Perran View Holiday Park

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Perran View Holiday Park?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Perran View Holiday Park? Share your insight.

Perran View Holiday Park is also called:

  • john fowler holiday park

Address: Trevellas, Newquay TR5 0XS, United Kingdom