Residencial Vila Bela Hotel

Rua Coronel Aguas 32-34, Albufeira 8200-111, Portugal
2 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

6  / 10
(39 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
9
Good
14
Average
3
Poor
4
Awful
9

Rating by feature

Room: 6/10
Service: 7.5/10
Value: 7/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 8.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Residencial Vila Bela Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
Basic but in a beautiful location

"My partner and I took my mother here last week and overall we really liked the place. In fact we loved it. We found it great value for money and it suited our needs for a variety of reasons. It is situated in Old Town and the building is in keeping with the old town look and feel. i would say that it hasn't been renovated since the sixties. It has a very simple and authentic feel as a result. You feel like you are in a beautiful interesting Portuguese town overlooking the sea, not a man-made touristy hotel, where you can look out of the window and could be in any of the major resorts over the world. The staff were all very helpful. Demishe the manager, is amazing. he is so friendly and there is always a smile on his face, very welcoming. He works around the clock. The owners are around during the day to help settle you in and help you with any queries if any. Now the downsides: the steps. Mum was given a top floor room,next to ours. She has a walking stick so when I booked (last minute) i asked the tour operator to put her in the ground floor (as i knew that there is at least twenty steps to that floor from the street). However, when we arrived this message had not been passed on to the owners who refused to move her as they were full. Mum really struggled the whole week. All up over 80 steps to her room. The views up there are amazing but it didn't weigh up for mum like it did for us.

Tips if you choose to stay: if you have a walking problem this is probably not the place for you.

The room is basic so if you like spending time inside, this is probably not the place either. No fridge, no air con, no kettle.

Take beach towels. The rooms get serviced daily but sheets and towels only get changed once every two days. You need a second towel for the pool and beach.

A portable fan might be an idea as there isn't any air con.

Take a radio or laptop with movies as there isn't any TV etc (this was great for mum on a day she couldn't face the stairs)

Take a travel kettle if you like a hot drink regularly

Don't bother with high heels... The streets are cobbled and you won't get a chance to wear them. Wedges and flip flops are all you need.

Def eat at the surrounding restaurants, they are fab authentic, and cheap. You are so close to it all.

You are 5 mins from the beach and about 10 from the main touristy area. The location is great.

The views are amazing.

If i was to rate it for myself I'd give it an 8/10. Mum would give it. 4/10 due to the stairs and no fridge and kettle.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2013, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by Irish kiwi
6 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

ideal short stay

"after one week in this hotel fell in love with portugal. basic hotel rooms but very clean and friendly. who needs a telly kettle fan air con etc your on hols in portugal for g.ds sake! breakfast did get boring after a week but was always fresh and served with a smile courtesy of dimas..situ of hotel was ideal for sightseeing old and new towns and taxis cheaper than local buses. massive choice of restaurants. we enjoyed lil sombrero mexican,and typical portuguese rest 5 mins away, stuffed with delicious food and a nice wine@4euros a litre. not plagued by shopkeepers or looky looky men, a very relaxed and peaceful area. we had 78 steps up to our room we are able bodied but be aware if you struggle with steps and hills this area or hotel is not for you. we would go back. yes its basic outdated and needs a few tweaks but otherwise no issues."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by vic chris wilson
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

honest opinion

"having read the reviews below i would like to say me my husband and another couple (friends) have just come back from a week in vila bela the hotel is basic rooms are clean daily fresh towels there is no tea/coffee or tv but if you read about the hotel it tells you that so im baffled why ppl are complaining about it after they have been . also we took small table top fan with us as again it states no air condintioning and we passed it on to other guests when we left . the breakfast is ham cheese rolls cornflakes and orange juice tea/coffee yes does get boring every morning but again there is loads of places that do english breakfast if you wanted one .the staff are very friendly carlos the owner was lovely as well he spent time talking away to us in the bar the bar staff are lovely as well i wouldnt go thinking you are getting top service you get what they state .but i would recommend it basic but friendly we enjoyed our stay there we had a fantastic view from our balcony so if you are looking for basic clean place then vila bela does what it says it does"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by val
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

basic

"We stayed at Villa Bella for one week and that was enough.It is very basic but clean.It would be be more plesant if there wes a fridge and a fan in the rooms. the towels are clean but grey (not white), and there are'nt enough sun umbrellas to go around.

The tall young man who seem's to be the jack of all trades there was loverly,he always had a smile.The owners were hardly ever there and reception was closed in the evening so if you wanted to get money from the safe you were stuck.

We had a room with a loverly veiw but had to walk 98steps for the privilage.

We wont be going back.

We went 57 resurant the first night and boy oh boy how rude they were when I told Them my fish was bad ,then I found a hair in my chips and they good as said Id put it there , it is disgusting in there DONT GO IN .
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: fridges an fans in rooms , change of breakfast, more umbrellas. clean bedding, and nicer towels.
by 98 steps
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Worst hotel i ever stayed in

"I have just returned from a week at vila bela albufeira,what a let down,for a start the lady owner is the most rude person i have ever met,when we complained about the dirt of our room also as to why the air vents were covered up she said they were not,she also said it is not a hotel witch surprised the rep,the pool is very small and this is the first time i see a pool close at six o clock,as for breakfast i had it once that was enough.the place is still in the sixties nothing has been done to it in years,we asked to move us to another hotel she said it would cost us 400euro we could not afford it.one couple paid the money and got moved lucky them i will never be back."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Breakfast Included, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Advice: dont go there
  • Good For: Beach
by bonny
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Small and friendly

"We had a great stay at the Vila Bela. The hotel was just a nice size. Both our rooms had marvelous views and were very clean and comfortable.The only thing missing was tea making facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful espcially Dimitri,Georgio and Ray. The whole Hotel was spotless.We will certainly visit again."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Breakfast Included, booked with Skytours
  • Good For: Beach
by Dave H
6 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Definately one to recommend

"We stayed here for 10 days and I must say we were very impressed.

It is situated in a great location so you have easy and quick access to all the bars, restaurants and beach. Its very quiet and peaceful so you don't have to worry about loads of noise at night.

The whole property is cleaned every day (even the steps outside are washed!). The rooms are very basic but always clean and the shower we had was fantastic. Hot water and fresh towels every day too.

The only minor complaint (and I mean very very minor) is the breakfast provided is the same everyday. It would have been nice to have a slight variation.
"

by Sun Tan
8 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good value for money

"Having read previous reviews,(rather foolishly AFTER having already booked the holiday), we were somewhat concerned as to what to expect when we got there. I had visions of a horrendous, ramshackle hovel in the middle of nowhere which might boast lurch-like characters peering menacingly along darkened corridors.

What we actually encountered was an extremely pleasant, clean, traditional Portugese establishment. The staff were all very friendly and approachable and the room, although basic,(no tv or tea making facilities), was spotless and a good size.

Breakfast was typically continental (rolls and tea/coffee, ham and cheese etc) and again fairly basic but lets be realistic here - the hotel is 2 star so is not likely to offer you 5 star choice!! I think you take your chances when booking 2 star B&B abroad and this hotel was d**n good value for money in my opinion.

It is situated 5 minutes from a beautiful sandy beach and the main square of the Old Town which offers hundreds of lovely restaurants, bars and gift shops (ok it is fairly hilly and lots of steps so not ideal for the older age group). Only things that let the hotel down are the pool which was pretty grotty but hey, the beach is close by so no tears shed in that respect and the lack of air conditioning in the room which would be somewhat problematic in the height of the peak season weather wise. I would definately go back again September time ish. P.S. my wife left her mobile phone at the hotel and they offered to post it to us free of charge - excellent customer care!!
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by big cliff
7 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

unbeatable

"A very friendly and pleasant place to stay Carlos the owner knows were the best exchange rates are also the best restaurants.Susan his wife is very pleasant and helpful.Georgio the barman is very amiable some of the reviews are nothing like what we experienced we foundas it should be, Clean, good position,very friendly.2mins frombeach lift.5mins from The Square,where there are loads restaurants and bars lots of live music,the beaches are among the finest with bars along them.Wewill definately be back next year.Obrigado,Carlos,Susan,Georgio."

  • Holiday details: Oct 2009, Bed & Breakfast, Booked Independently
  • Advice: certainly the best holiday we`ve had
  • Activities: too many good one`s to choose from
  • Good For: Beach
by Brian Cannon
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

unbeatable

"my wife Pat and I had the best holiday whilst staying at VilaBela,Carlos the owner told us where toget the best exchange rates and best restaurants,Susan his wife was on hand and very helpful too, Georgio the barman was very warm and amiable.Our stay was very enjoyable some reviews we read were nothing like what we expected it`s a very nice place with a warm friendly feeling to it.2mins from beach lift and 5mins from`The Square`where there`s hundreds of bars and restaurants most with`live music`.We`ll definately be going back to Vila Bela.Obrigado Carlos.Susan.Georgio."

  • Holiday details: Oct 2009, Bed & Breakfast, Booked Independently
  • Advice: it`s the best resort in Portugal
  • Activities: there are too tomany list all verygood
  • Good For: Beach
by Brian Cannon
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

I Still Have Nightmares

"If there was a zero rating this is what I would have given this hotel. We arrived the same time as the flies First thing I had to do was go out to buy fly spray, the room was full of them, we complained to management who could not give a damn, we had paid our money and that was it. We did not see a rep all the time we were there. The next morning all the flies lay dead around the room, and on our beds, we went for breakfast which was a roll and bread and butter, I think they give more out to prisoners, when we arrived back in our room the cleaners had been in, instead of brushing the dead flies up and then mopping, she had mopped the room, thus transfering the flies from one part of the room to another, the bed cover was still full of them. As for the room it was okay, no tea or coffee facilities, I do like my cup of tea before going to bed, the room was on a busy street, but ours was not so bad as an Irish lady who had been complaining about her room from the off, and she was now about to go home, her room was in the cellar with a small window above head height, told you it was worse than a prison. Stay there again not in a cat in hell`s chance, even if it was free. You have been warned!!!"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2007, Bed & Breakfast, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Albufeira is a beautiful place we have been there many times
  • Activities: Got to try Piri Piri Chicken hot and spicy
by touchofclass
1 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Hotel is supposed 3-stars, to us it...

"Hotel is supposed 3-stars, to us it was below that compared to price and standard.

Room was clean, towels and linnen changed all 3 days, but bathroom quite moldy in corners, balcony was big and good view. we dropped down towels one day and they were picked up again, we were not very happy about that.

We requested for double bed far ahead with tour operator and bottle of wine for our first day, but got only single beds which are not very comfortable to sleep in for 2 people and no bottle of wine in room. Poorly we thought!

Ukrainian guy was very friendly and helpful and seemed to run place 24 hours as one-man show (nearly). The worst we could say about hotel was breakfast as it was very basic, 1 look through slice of ham and cheese for every person, and packet of marmelade and sardine pate with 2 rolls each person. Orange juice was lemonade.

We are a British and German couple, age 48 and 44 and stayed with other British elderly couples, but everybody was complaining about breakfast and some of us went into old town to get a nice breakfast with some choice for good price. so maybe owner should really think about it and skip breakfast from his service if he is not at all interested in. And for all British people going there in future bring your own kettle, as there is none in room, and also no telly, if you would need it.

But we spent our first holiday absolutely happy in loved up in Alburfeira, and had a fantastic time together because hotel is nicely situated in old town, very close to beach and loads of yummy fish restaurants. So this beated it all for us

All in all it was a great holiday, but hotel did not much to do for it.

We would not stay there again, as you could getter much better hotels, 3 stars for less.

For example the Rocamar hotel!
"

by CK Klotz
4 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Explore area

Map for Residencial Vila Bela Hotel Closest airport: Faro (FAO) 16.5 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Residencial Vila Bela Hotel
  • by Dave H

    " Don't let the hill put you off. There is a frequent bus service from opposite the Hotel "

  • by vic chris wilson

    " a taxi to sardinhia bar and beach. lovely cove with bar and shower cubicles. 4 euro taxi ride. "

Similar hotels around Albufeira

Hotels near Residencial Vila Bela Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Residencial Vila Bela Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Residencial Vila Bela Hotel? Share your insight.

Residencial Vila Bela Hotel is also called:

  • hotel vila bela
  • vila bela albufeira
  • Vila Bela Residencial Hotel

Address: Rua Coronel Aguas 32-34, Albufeira 8200-111, Portugal