Vitors Plaza Apartments

Vale de Franca, Praia Do Vau 8501-905, Portugal
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

9  / 10
(69 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
53
Good
14
Average
1
Poor
1
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 9/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 8.5/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 7/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Vitors Plaza Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 36 »
excellent holiday had by all

"we are a family of 4. 2 children aged 10 and 12. when we 1st arrived at 12pm we were a bit dissapointed as we were told we couldn't have our room till 6pm as the people before us had kept there room on. we had been up since 4am so u can imagine how tired we all were, not a good start. That was the only bad part of holiday. Food was very nice but could have been a bit more choice for kids in restaurant as our youngest is a fussy eater (thank heavens 4 the fries)Beautiful hotel, wasn't dissapointed with the appartment when we got in, very clean n staff were very nice. there is a courtesy bus to a beautiful beach and to get a taxi into Alvour costs only £3.85. They have entertainment every night, not brilliant but good.There is entertaintment during the day for adults and kids. Look out for entertainment manager Rui absolutely brill. I would recomend this place to anyone."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, All Inclusive, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Better value for money if you have kids to go all inclusive.
by clare1267
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

vitors ( my second home )

"we have been twice there and going again this year.

our first time was 2007 when me my wife and her dear sister, stayed for 5 weeks from ( jan 4th-feb 8th)

has everyone says the apartments were very clean , all the staff where excerlant. the enterainment staff ie nuno or as we knew chico and pedro and there was a barmen named carlos.we fell in love with the place from day one , we also went back in 2009 but could get into vitors , so we went just down the road to terrorcos apartments , it was ok there but a bit to quiet for our liking , but we spent most of our time at vitors anyway.

we are going back in may 2011 to vitors carnt wait to see our old friends and get some of that firewater down my neck....... lol,if i could i would live there. we are taking my brother and his wife with us, there first time they wont be disapointed ...FANTASTIC.........
"

  • Holiday details: May 2009, SELF CATERING, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: great place to visit
  • Good For: Beach
by firewater
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

My home in Portugal.

"Vitors Plaza is such a wonderful place. We have been there four time since 2004 and love the staff that are still there from those early days. Always friendly, always helpful. Unfortunately the reception area staff has changed completely and so has the service there. You do feel as though you are bothering them. That did not detract from the lovely surroundings of the pool, veranda which was a haven when the sun became just too hot. The apartments are beautifully clean and the last one we stayed in on the outside looking down towards Alvor was by far the best being peaceful and having the afternoon sun if we didn't fancy the pool.

It was unfortunate that we did find it more expensive the last time, which was 2009 last two weeks in September, which resulted in us using the clapped out hotplates or having cold food more often than our other visits. Being a couple in our 50's we did not mind the 20 walk to Alvor, Praia de Roche or a cab to Portimao and it was interesting to see how things changed and progressed over the six years.

We are on a tighter budget now so would probably not go back but I would recommend this complex any day as the the good far outways the bad. Everyone we meet there loves it except those that want a Allgarve equivelant of Butlins.

Lastly, the First Choice Reps were lovely. One was very new and another had been with the company for several years and they were so helpful, friendly and available.
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2009, Room Only, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Vitors Plaza is a very friendly special place to stay - I love it
  • Good For: Beach
by suelovesvitors
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

loved it

"Booked with r-travel and that was the only down fall to this holiday who were rubbish once we had paid. We have just returned from one of the best holidays ever. Very clean. If you were thinking of booking Vitors, just book it, defo won't be disappointed. Everything was perfect. Ideal for families and couples who are looking for peace and quiet. All staff are brilliant and friendly and go out of their way to help, especially Bruno on reception, he speaks very good English and nothing was too much trouble. Pool great. Jacuzzi and indoor pool.Not a lot to do in the evenings within the complex but there is the hotel entertainment which is currently 3 times a week.But all bus routes are only 1.50 euros, taxis roughly 4 euro. Reception will book the taxi for you.We went all inclusive. The meals were very good,sometimes the same things appeared but this is the same with all inclusives everywhere. They do have a snack bar round the pool though which offers plenty of variety if you fancy a change from the dining room. Selected food from there is included with the all inclusive.Very relaxing holiday, loved it. We will be returning later in the year without a doubt."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: excellent value for money, go and see for yourself
by d, t & n
9 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

THE BEST IN ALVOR

"We are abig family with 5 we enjoyed vitors in a big room

and we enjoyed to la bagattella restaurant speciel for good food and nice for my kids 10 yards from vitors
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2009, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks
by EURCO
8 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

I LOVE U VITORS PLAZA

"I just returned from a week away in the vitors plaza. It was by far one of the best and most enjoyable holidays ever.

The only down side is its location but hop in a taxi and it will bring u to alvor or praia de rochia for about 10 euro which is cheap enough.

The pool is brilliant and there is crazy golf located on the complex which is enjoyable every now and again.

The night time entertainment is BRILLIANT expecially the music quiz.chico de entertainer and the bar men are very funny and made the evenings.

As i said i love the vitors plaza and if your looking at reviews because your thinking about this holiday BOOK it because you will not be dissapointed.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Room Only, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: have a good holiday
by marko--polo
10 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

amazing

"Just returned from a two week stay in vitors with my husband and 3 children age 6/2/1 it was great also it was my second year at vitors i would highly recomend it for familys as for the enterainmet very good cheeko is amazing he is so good with children and the reps from the travel company were really helpful also the kids reps were brilliant silly sam and krazy katie,the cleaness of the apatments are amazing also they have a washing machine and dryer so all the washing done before you go home,and carla in the shop was very helpful thanks to everyone at vitors for a great holiday we will be back"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: It is a lovely part and quiet part of portugal
  • Activities: There is a little indian just as you go up the hill in alvor it is amazing and they have great time
  • Good For: Beach
by fastfit
10 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

First Choice

"Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Vitors Plaza apartments.I was travelling with my husband and 14 year old son. Apartments are very clean,had read about the prices in the hotel shop and they wern't kidding extortionate prices but a 10 minute walk gets you to a small mini mart-much cheaper.Sun bed situation- if you are not out by 7.30 then you wont get a sunbed one day we counted 152 towels on beds and only 12 people around pool.Hotel need to sort this out. Free hotel bus takes you down to the beach, this is where we spent many days- 10 euros for 2 beds and a parasol.Hotel has bar that is open until 1.30 in the morning and we were woken up not by the adults returning to their rooms but by their children screamimg and shouting in the corridors.Travelling by bus can be made much cheaper by purchasing a bus pass in Portimao(travel shop)-reduces cost of travelling to Alvor or Portimao by half, normal fare 1.40 with card 0.70"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Lovely beach
  • Activities: The Taj in Alvor- Indian and Italian(very nice food and waiters are very pleasant)
  • Good For: Beach
by HMH
9 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic holiday

"Just returned on the 25th June 2009 from a week's stay at the Vitors Plaza Apartments with my husband and fourteen year old son. This holiday was booked late on the internet early hours of Wednesday the 17th June and flying out 6.00 am on the 18th. As it was a late booking we were a bit anxious about what to expect. Having reviewed the apartments and area before booking the reviews were very good. From the start of our holiday at 3.00 am at Bristol Aiport to the end we were looked after very well by Thomson. Having never been to Portugal before we were impressed before even getting off the plane. As you fly into Faro you view the Algarve coastline, it is beautiful. After an hour's bus drive to the Apartments, with a rep on board, we arrived at Vitors. There was a Thomson rep there at reception and was checked in within minutes. We could tell from the start it was a lovely place to stay. We had a poolside apartment which was huge, very clean and there were even tea towels and a tablecloth, along with a well equipped kitchen. We ate at the Apartments on two occasions, the first was a take away service from the restaurant, food very good. Supermarket reasonably priced and drinks at the bar two euros ninety for a pint of Tagus (very nice). Pool and surrounding areas were clean and there was no towel reserving of the sun loungers. We witnessed people who had placed their towels there at night having them removed and had to then collect them from reception. So there was no need to get up in the early hours to reserve your place. We always had a lounger. Courtesy bus runs to beach at Praia Do Vau (beautiful little beach) and Praia Da Rocha (also very nice but a lot bigger). The staff are very helpful and speak very good english. Chico was mad (one of the entertainers). There was a barbecue every Friday evening. The food was excellent and we were entertained by Brazilian dancers after, (lots of sangria on the menu). The weather was absolutely gorgeous 44 degrees on the Saturday, so the air con was a godsent. We had a fantastic time and would definitely recommend Vitors, well we already have. We are returning next year with friends. It was such a relaxing holiday, which is exactly what we wanted. If you wanted the hustle it was only a short taxi drive away, about three euros each way. Our only groan was that the reception would not transfer travellers cheques, so we had to taxi in to Alvor and exchange them in the Alisuper supermarket. Almost forgot, visited Zoomarine, fantastic, make sure you go to the dolphin show. Can't wait to go back."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomson
  • Activities: Ate at the Restaurant twice, next year will be going back half board
by vitors
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best holiday so far...

"Vitors Plaza is a very very good place to stay if you are staying in Portugal...

The rooms are very spacious and very very clean...

I would most definatly go back there again with out a dought...

And the indoor pool is very very clean...

The outdoor pool is very very clean too and low in clorine...

The entertainment was very good with all sorts of things to be doin and keeping the children ocupied during the day...

I would 100% go back there again any time of the year...!!!
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2009, Self Catering, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Most certainly would...
  • Activities: Big reds across the road from the apartments...
by S O'Connor
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We vistited Portugal in the last week...

"We vistited Portugal in the last week in September and despite bad weather reports had a fantastic week of weather bar one day. The hotel is clean and spacious will very well stocked rooms. We actually had breakfast everyday and even cooked an evening meal very comfortably. As a warning the one bed apartments are only 2 singles, so if you have got a romantic break planned it does dampen the atmosphere a little and sea views are not possible. The pool and garden areas are all very clean and tidy and the snack bar and shop provide all the essentials. There is a Continental shopping centre a 5 minute drive from the resort (5 euro taxi) which I would recommend for stocking up on basic groceries as it is much cheaper. For evening entertainment we went to Praia da Rocha ( more noisy nightlife but beware of drug pushers, the weren't a hassle but you will get approached) and Alvor, a more traditional fishing village much more suited to couples etc. The Cocktail Academy is a must, along with Portabello Italian.Give the Portimao shopping trip a miss as it is an absolute dump with a very whiffy drainage problem (maybe because of the previous days rain) but mostly little junk shops, we were not impressed! A 5 minute walk from the hotel (leave the entrance and turn right up to the roundabout) is Big Reds, really nice food, the hotel evening food is reasonable too but very little or no entertainment in the evenings, it may have been the time of year we were there but still.

The hotel staff are very friendly but our Thomas Cook rep was terrible. We were greeted at the airport by our rep,a larger lady wearing a pair of very small shorts several sizes too small (!) before being loaded onto a coach with an eastern european driver that could barely speak a word of english, told our hotel and then she promptly left. We arrived for the welcome meeting 10 minutes earlier than the schedule advised and she was finishing up the meeting. She gave us our welcome pack with no details and said to contact her if we needed. Not great service at all!

I would stay at the hotel again despite it being a little out of the way. The hotel does run a courtesy bus to Praia da Rocha and Praia da Vau and Alvor in high season 3 times a day which is very handy.
"

by L J Hendry
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Me and my family (husband and two...

"Me and my family (husband and two children, aged 12 & 4) just returned from Vitors last night and we had a very memorable week. I have read most of the reviews on this hotel and considering most of them were quite good I can say that you will not be disappointed. The location is not really close to any shops but that didn't dampen our holiday as we quite enjoyed the peace and quiet rather than being in a noisy town.

The flight to Portugal went so effortlessly and without any glitches so travelling with First Choice was a real good deal. We arrived at Vitors around 12.00 in the afternoon which was really good as we didn't miss out on the first day of our holiday by arriving there in the middle of the night. Once we had checked in we were given room B109, this room has to be the most spacious apartment I have ever seen. Apart from a large lounge/kitchen and one separate bedroom we also had a massive veranda on the room all to ourselves. There was so much space the kids didn't know what to do with it! The rooms were cleaned more or less every day and the maids done a really good job. We found the staff really nice and friendly who spoke good English which helped.

As we booked on a self catering basis, which we normally do when we travel to Europe, we ended up eating out in the evenings, either at Vitors restaurant or going to Alvor harbour in a taxi, which as most reviewers have already confirmed, it should cost no more than 5 euros. Our First Choice rep recommended that we go to the Captain's Table restaurant in Alvor harbour as they do the best fish and she wasn't lying. Their sea bass is to die for and their tasty fresh soup, my partner couldn't stop raving about his fish soup all night. In the evenings the entertainment at Vitors was just right for the kids. They enjoyed the disco and magic show which were pretty good.

We brought all our food items from the supermarket located on site, the prices I thought were pretty average and you get the basics which you need. The weather was lovely and hot, just what we all wanted.

If you are travelling with First Choice I would recommend that you do the Family Cruise as this trip was heavenly. We sailed across to a little secluded beach and had a delicious bbq lunch of sardines. Again, the Portugese crew were so helpful I gave them a 5 euro tip at the end of it.

I would recommend Vitors to anyone planning to visit Portugal and hopefully you'll be given room B109 like us!
"

by D Douglas
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 36 »

Explore area

Map for Vitors Plaza Apartments Closest airport: Faro (FAO) 33.2 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Praia Do Vau

Hotels near Vitors Plaza Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Vitors Plaza Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Vitors Plaza Apartments? Share your insight.

Vitors Plaza Apartments is also called:

  • vitors plaza

Address: Vale de Franca, Praia Do Vau 8501-905, Portugal