Macronissos Village

148 Nissi Avenue, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(64 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
37
Good
13
Average
6
Poor
2
Awful
6

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 8/10
Food: 6/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 7.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Macronissos Village

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 36 »
not bad;)

"I went there at the beginning of October 2013 by Olympic holidays.Of course is not four star resort but is not bad.I read a few review of this resort and I agree and disagree with something.I been to Cyprus many times and many hotels and I can compare accommodation, food, entertainment or night life. I was happy there, the apartment was very clean, and I had cleaner in my room every day.The maid Greek cleaner lady was very polite.Just be aware to bar staff and the restaurants by the pool.Do not pay for all exclusive is not worthy. Probably you could find better resort for holiday if you want;)"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2013, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks
by Wallace W
6 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Avoid!

"Avoid! Avoid! Avoid !

We went on a holiday in October half term as a group of nine. We made up about 50% of the hotel occupation, great for a sunbeds, but no atmosphere. Hotel packed up around us, moving beds out of rooms and packing up the bar etc. We booked all inclusive but the all inclusive buffet was non existent, just a repetitive menu. No kids activities as not enough people and no rep. Absolute rubbish!!! We complained and were told that is normal for low season! Ridiculous excuse, never ever had a problem before,
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2013, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: Stay 'inseason' and have a coach transfer
  • Good For: Beach
by Sarah H
3 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

never again!

"Me and my boyfriend stayed here August 2013...worst apartment I've ever been in! Not much food to choose from and never enjoyed a meal there, breakfast, lunch or dinner. Would definitely recommend self catering if you do stay here. The entertainment is shocking! They had acts organized and 2 never showed up! The only thing we enjoyed was bingo ha ha. To top it all off you had to pay for air conditioning, which we didn't, there was a lot of condensation everywhere and no bath mats. I slipped in the bathroom and fractured my back in 3 places! The cleaners only came twice during the week we was there so the towels was only changed them 2 times. It's supposed to be a 4 star and it wouldn't get rated no more than a 3 from me! I've been to Cyprus before it is a lovely place but this just shows the place up and is embarrassing!"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2013, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: nothing!
  • Good For: Beach
by sarah louise smith
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

You get what you pay for.

"Just returned from a great, relaxing, fun holiday with my daughter (30/6/12). The pool area, excellent with plenty of sun beds & brollies. Food not brilliant but always a choice so should be able to find something. We stayed in a bungalow, which was lovely. We paid the 6 euros a day for air-con, which is only in the bedroom, if there had been 4 of us staying there i would have been disappointed as there was no air-con facility in the other sleeping area (lounge). Shop on site very competitively priced with a wide range of goods, no need to walk down the road to the supermarket. Gym doesn't open until 9.30am which was a shame as we would have liked to have used it first thing before breakfast & before it got too hot, as it's away form any rooms, ie under the reception area, we couldn't see the reason for this. Nissi beach is great, with lots to do, about a 20min walk or 10 euro taxi or catch the bus just outside the resort. We were all-inclusive & whilst perhaps those paying (self catering) got quicker/better service, it just meant we walked up to the bar to get our 'free drinks'. I feel the holiday was well worth the money we paid. Definitely would go back!!"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: Nissi beach was lovely
  • Good For: Beach
by Jacqui O
8 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

dissapointed holiday maker

"spent a week in Macronissos was very dissapointed, we had to ask for our room to be cleaned which was cleaned 3 times out of the week. When we asked for a change of towels we were told they would only be changed once or maybe twice during the week. I always thought all inclusive included pool towels, which there wasnt had to go out and buy towels. We thought the apartments resembled Butlin chalets. The food was the worst i have ever had on an all inclusive holiday, evening meal deserts were a joke a choice of 2 cakes and a bit of melon, there was no fruit for breakfast apart from oranges which had been cut up and looked very dry. Cyprus is such a beautiful place but Macronissos needs to modernise their apartments and change their menu. would certainly not reccomend this place to anyone"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, All Inclusive, booked with relative booked
  • Advice: dont go all inclusive
by jc
1 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 week just not enough

"Just back from a week at Macronissos Village 17-24th July 2011. Booked a bungalow on self catering basis with the option to upgrade to AI on arrival. There was the option to upgrade for either 3,5 or 7 days which was good and very reasonably priced too. Our room was cleaned 6 days out of the seven (maids day off)and the towels were lovely and soft, not like u usually get, when they take the first layer of your skin off when your drying yourself.... Pool area and grounds were kept spotlessly clean and staff were friendly apart from most of the reception staff for some reason.Food wasnt very good in my opinion and not much choice so really glad we didnt opt for AI. The Rep was ther every day we except for her day off and was very approachable. We didnt have kids with us but you could see the entertainment team put a lot of time out with them. Entertainment wise, we went out and about most nights but when we were there it seemed ok. Cocktails were only 2.5 euros and 2 euros at happy hour mmmmm. We were told in all the surrounding bars and restuarants that this has been the quietest summer season in years, maybe thats why price wise we found it really reasonable for meals and drinks out. MAJOR DOWNSIDE- we stayed in Bungalow 206 which was fab, three different terraces but 5 days into our holiday we were burgled, as the safe deposit boxes (which we did hire) were situated at the other end of the complex we didnt lock things like i-pods, mobile phones, after shave etc away every night and yeh, you guessed it , thats what they nicked. So although that happened believe it or not it would not put us off staying there again, just not in room 206 as your at the furthest point out and only couple of yards away from a wall that backs onto an outside road. Beautiful beaches and coves, one of which about a 15min walk from the hotel. Best place to eat was deffo Captains Sword, you must try the Seabass!!! Amazing, best iv'e had anywhere in the world. All in all a fab hol, just not long enough."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Bungalow, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: weekly bus pass only 10 euros, you can use as often each day as you want or 2 euros for all day pass. Go the the small coves, they're much better than big beaches
  • Good For: Beach
by Shirl
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

very clean enjoyable appartments

"the hotel was clean and tidy, the staff were very good at their job, good evening entertainment, food was good although not much choice, and they do watch how many drinks you are having, but on the whole it was very good, and would return, but would not fly with sky wings again, the plane was tatty and stank."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Olympic Holidays
by tony
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great holiday

"Just back from macronissos,was there self catering for 1 week.The appts are basic but are very clean,we had a maid in everyday except the thursday changed the beds and clean towels,theres a fridge and toaster and small hobs which is all you need as most of the time your out.Its what you make of it yourself really.We ate in the restruant and the bar and the food was lovely we didnt have one bad meal or snack it was delicious.We hired bikes for 5 days which cost us 30 euros for 2 mountain bikes and we went to diffrent beaches every day and cycled to ayia napa a few days.You get a bus just outside the hotel every 15 minutes for 1 euro each,the only thing i wasnt happy about was the village shop it was very expensive.Apart from that it was great."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Good For: Beach
by baz n kate
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Random but fun!

"People like to complain, its too hot, no chips, they don't speak English??? So why bother going abroad please????

The hotel is exceptionally clean, even if the decor in the rooms is a touch outdated - but again really who sits in their room on holiday??? The rooms are very spacious and again exceptionally clean.

If you have children the entairtainment staff Lauren adn Charlotte are outstanding!

A fun holiday its not the Ritz but if that is what you expect then pay more!
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Local bus to Protarus
by Margaret
9 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

shocking,,,,,

"me and my girlfriend stayed in macronisos village room 316 for 7 nights...we totaly upset with the cleaning service....the maid was terribly rude we asked her 2 bath towels and she started moaning in greek..she looked at us and said something in her language,,,,surely she was swearing....she throw 2 towels on the sofa and she slummed the door...and walked off....reception and pool area was very nice people were friendly...we tried to locate our reb to make a complain abt the maid but she was never there when we needed her...all the time they told us she had airport duties....and the most shocking thing happend to us on the last day of our departure..my girlfriend forgot her sunglasses as we check out of the room and when she went back to get them the same maid was mopping the floor as my girfriend entered in the kitchen to get her sunglasses from the kitchen table,,the maid went histerical and stated shouting at her pointing on the floor that she made footprints as it was freshly mopped....she took her broom and pointed at her to get out...shouting " you out you out now" and as a guest i ask the management ot this hotel how can they allow a maid to behave like this??"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: dont rquest room 316
by matt
2 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Macronissos :o)

"I have just got back from Macronissos village, in Ayia napa, It was absolutely brilliant. We were self catering, but the facilities for cooking the food was adequate and the room were a very reasonable size. The balcony was fairly big and the maids cleaned the rooms every day but 2 in the week that we were there. We did not get a safety deposit box, nothing went missing, and the maids themselves were very friendly. The food and snack bar was a lot nicer than i expected and the prizes were very reasonable too. The drinks were a little pricey at the hotel bar, but we mainly went out into town during the evenings anyway so this was not much of a problem for us. Ayia Napa town is a fair way away if you were to walk but it only cost 1.50 euros to get a bus into the center, and between 8-10 euros if you get a taxi. The entertainment at the hotel was a little bit lacking for our tastes (we are in our early 20's) but as i said we were going to the centre most nights anyway. The rep Sami was amazing, so helpful and not at all pushy in selling excursions. Always around if you needed help, and always came for a chat when we were sitting around the pool. I would definately recommend people to come to this hotel!"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, self catering, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Good For: Beach
by furbs2
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Absolutly Brilliant!!!

"Got back last night from staying at the Macronissis Village for 1 week, already looking at going back again in August! Was absolutly brilliant! Travelled with Olympic Holidays, our rep Sami was brilliant, sorted us out on bar crawls, beach party and other stuff, and gave us good advice on what prices the taxis should be back from town. Cannot complain about the hotel, pool was gorgeous, rooms were clean, food was really really nice, was worried as i am a fussy eater, and as other all inclusive holidays i have stayed in there was nothing for me, but on this one there was a variety of stuff plus the snacks were really nice! All the staff were nice and friendly and had plenty of activitys to do by the entertainers. we only stayed in the hotel till about 11 and then went out but they had good acts on and was entertaining! The centre is brilliant! even though you do get mithered a bit, its only there job, me and my friend became good friends with some of the pr's! wouold definatly recommend Ayia Napa and would definatly recommend the Macronissis Village, it is out of the centre but thats what we wanted, could chill out in the day and then get the bus into the town which was only 1.50. Had a brilliant holiday!!!"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: Absolutly Brilliant!!!
  • Good For: Beach
by Loz
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 36 »

Explore area

Map for Macronissos Village Closest airport: Larnaca International (LCA) 21.5 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Macronissos Village
  • by daveanddoreen

    " Fiji polynesian restauant a must - brilliant "

  • by Shirl

    " weekly bus pass only 10 euros, you can use as often each day as you want or 2 euros for all day pass. Go the the small coves, they're much better than big beaches "

  • by jc

    " dont go all inclusive "

  • by Jacqui O

    " Nissi beach was lovely "

Similar hotels around Ayia Napa

Hotels near Macronissos Village

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Macronissos Village?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Macronissos Village? Share your insight.

Macronissos Village is also called:

  • macronissos village ayia napa
  • macronissos village hotel

Address: 148 Nissi Avenue, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus