Flora Maria Apartments

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7  / 10
(100 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
48
Good
21
Average
4
Poor
9
Awful
18

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 7/10
Food: 6.5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 8.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 39 »
Fit's the purpose.

"From outside the hotel looks poor but when you go inside and get settled in you realize how convenient it is. I went with 15 lads on a clubbing holiday and we couldn't have chose a better hotel. It is placed bang on the strip just up a side road which is brilliant. The hotel has letter-box safes with a big large vault door in front of the safes so NOBODY can steal anything. It is only a small hotel so it is fairly relaxing and you can do what you want. Owners are nice, always around to help. Pool is cleaned daily and the location of the hotel couldn't be better. Near everything! I loved it! Coming back to Ayia Napa again this year!"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2013
  • Advice: The pool, small but convenient.
  • Good For: Beach
by aariddle
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Ideal for a clubbing holiday

"The reviews of this hotel do not do it justice at all! We went on a girls holiday and it could not have been more suitable. The room was simple but had everything we needed including cooking facilities and the room also included 3 beds instead of 2 beds and a sofa bed which is rumoured in past reviews. The caretaker was very helpful everytime we had a problem, the room was cleaned about 4 times in one week and the apartments are literally a 2 minute walk from the strip which was absolutley perfect for us! Everybody in the hotel was friendly and the pool was much better than expected with a lot of sunbeds and a relatively clean pool which was tidied each morning befofe it opened. The hotel was full of younger people also on clubbing holidays so as mentioned in other reviews there was loud noise until early hours of the morning, therefore I would recommend this accommodation only to those looking for a similar holiday. Overall, this hotel was perfect for our holiday due to its ideal location, great facilities, helpful rep and amazing nightlife, we would definitely book here again!!"

by Sarah H
7 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

AWFUL!

"The hotel owners were extremely rude, unfriendly and unapproachable, it was impossible to communicate with them. The accommodation consisted of 2 single beds and a sofa bed crammed together ...the sofa bed was broken and impossible to sleep on. The room walls and ceiling were smeared with old food ...the hotel towels were shabby and filthy ...the plastic chair on the balcony was broken and collapsed when sat on. The hotel was full of out-of-control young guests - running up and down the corridors shouting, swearing, banging on doors and fighting!! Corridors were a constant mess of vomit, broken glass, condoms and rubbish!

Olympic holidays Via Thomas Cook ....'Shame on You'!!!
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Health Insurance
by AV03CAD
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Hitler meets Basil Faulty. avoid

"Allocation on arrival and dropped into this hell hole. Rude woman on reception on arrival threw key at us and pointed to stairs.Loud music until early hours followed by screaming drunk young people coming in throughout the night. Owner/maintenance man rude and really should make friends with a block of soap. Bed linen had *** burns in, towels I wouldn't clean my kitchen floor with and they were only changed weekly. as mentioned air con 70 euros. young people bragging about sexual exploits around the pool. The pool area shocking, ripped sunbeds, non residents have to pay 10 euros to use. They should pay us."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Move to other accomodation a.s.a.p.
  • Good For: Beach
by Pavarotti Yorkshire
1 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Avoid

"How they can call this a hotel. We arrived early evening and got dumped by the transfer coach the rep pointed to the general direction of the hotel, which non of us could find at first. The lady on reception was very sweet but very old and really didn't appear to know what was going on. The layout of the room was ok there were 3 of us and had 2 single beds and an old sofa bed that was not fit to sleep on. During our first night there were people in the pool all night screaming and shouting there were people running up and down the bedroom corridors banging on everyone's doors, girls were crying and screaming and then the police arrived we got no sleep at all that night. When we spoke to the rep and the receptionist all they could say was well it is Ayai Napa. They didn't even know the police had been in the hotel We left the hotel the next morning and moved to another with no help from the rep we were just left to sort our selves out. The music from the clubs is loud but not a major problem it was the organization and security of the hotel that was shocking. I would never go there again even if it was a free holiday."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, booked with Cyprus cancellations
  • Advice: Decent beds for all guests and proper security and reception staff
by Ellen123
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

you get what you pay for

"be prepared to pay 140 euros for air conditioning when get there.Very basic hotel with a boss who is prepared to bill anyone for anything ie cups, glasses, bedding and if you dont pay you dont get electricity in your room.i have just returned from a two week stay with my wife and daughter and many guests had many problems, but have to say we didnt. Rooms basic and dont expect exellent facilities cos there aint any but as time went on and as we looked round the area most apartments were similar.It is an ideal place for younger groups, but many other guests were our age group 30s annd 40s and becouse we had all arrived at the same time, as time went on becouse the pool area was small we had a good laugh. ideal location for main strip of clubs only 30 metres away and local transpot is only 1 euro to main nissy beach and protaras (kids travel free and buses every 15mins)etc so in all with a little disire the owners have a little gold mine but not much interest. We had a good time and my wife wouldnt stop there if it was filthy but ourselves and others all found rooms clean enough the fist 10 days were great after the initial dissapointment buts the last couple we found were hard work as the hotel became swarmed by younger groups who wanted to party till 1am in rooms so i think its a hotel were with the wrong guests it could be a nightmare all in all its a 2 star we were allocation on arrival and left saying it wasnt a bad stay for the price and everyone else we talked to said the same.We were going to hire a car dont local transport cheap as chips"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: protaras and nissy beach
  • Good For: Beach
by harvey park
5 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Avoid!

"My friends and I got placed in the Flora Maria. My first thoughts walking into the foyer - the bar (if you can call it a bar) was completely covered in dust with no glasses or alcohol behind it, it looked like it had never been used for 20 years which came as quite a surprise as we were supposed to receive a free welcome drink. It is a family run hotel, they were not polite or friendly and they charge 70 euros for air conditioning for a week! On entering the room it was sooo out dated, dirty and the balcony has trees spilling over cutting off the view of the street. After one night I left and paid extra to stay elsewhere."

by Cassy D
1 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Prepare Yourself

"My friends and I arrived at this hotel on Saturday 2nd July 2011, we went up to our room after getting the keys rom recption, the room was completely trashed with left over pizza thrown all up the walls and alcohol bottles everywhere, a complete state! we waited 2 hours for our room to be an acceptable state before we went in it, but even then the been linen had dried blood and stains all over it.

If you were considering a stay at this hotel just prepare yourself its basic and definatly not a luxury hotel, its basic!! you have to pay for everything including the A/C !!

Do not leave anything valuable lying around your room, and lock everything in your suitcase, you cant trust anyone espcially the maids!!

If you want anything you have to ask as otherwise your towels wont be changed all week.

The hotel is full of large groups of young people so if you were looking for a good nights sleep stay somwhere else. most nights didnt get quiet until about 7am.

The hotel is in a great location its jsut off the main strip and only 15 mins walk from a beautiful beach Sandy Bay.

In conclusion the hotel is no luxury but it was cheap and good location, just keep your valuables locked away at all times and be prepared before you go there its going to be basic.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: Lock away your valuables
by Chlo
3 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Value for money

"Value for money. Perfect Location. Pool bigger than I thought. Would go back. Great Hoilday. better than I thought. Clean Rooms :)"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Open the bar
  • Good For: Beach
by Welsh legend
6 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Oh Lord

"What can i say about Takkas. It was the perfect place to stay if you enjoy raving into the early hours and having a place to crash, either alone or with a special lady friend. No one in the hotel who i met takes life too seriously and therefore everybody had more fun, great atmosphere around the pool as everybody there is there for the same experience. Decent food, a 24 hour shop attatched to the hotel, a bar at the pool always ready to serve. Takkas is literally a 2 minute walk from the main square, so it is a stumble back or if your not quite ready to go bed you can stumble up the road 30 seconds yto River Reggae!! 30 second walk to hire a quad which is a must, and right next door to that is ''jerk jerk'' unbelievable west indian food. 5 minute on the quad to Nissi and 5 minute walk to another more quiet beach. Takkas is a must for 'party atmosphere, place to crash, good pool, hot women'. Everything you could ask for. Going back june 28th 2011 and cant actually wait, 12 strong group of man ready for Napa! Also had air conditioning on all day every day and it only cost about 10 euros!!! x"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: 1 word, unbelievable.
  • Good For: Beach
by Big Lew 6'2
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

not to bad good if you want to party hard

"hi i stayed here august 2010 with three other friends and we honestly thought it was ok don't get me wrong it is basic and there's ant's every were but you find the ant's all over napa the reason we thought it was ok is because the main strip is about 15 meters down the hill and we go on with every one else who stayed there.

were thinking about going there again this august
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by m j masters
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Honest review, ins and outs

"6 of us stayed here on the 15th july 2010 for 10 nights. When we got there it was around 2 in the morning, we went to the desk and give out pasports in and the receptionist told us how to get to our rooms. We were in 2 separate rooms one was spacious and overloooking the pool but the other one was across the road and was smaller and had views of other apartments. We couldnt get aircon the night we got there which made us struggle to sleep becauce of the clammy heat, however the next day we payed for our aircon which was around 10 euroes a day per room but becuase it was that hot we didnt think about the money. The staff did not show us how to use the aircon and so we had it on the lowest temprature which after 3 days gave us bad chests and coughs (next time we would get fans instead that you can hrie from the 24hour shop next door). There was a 24 hour shop next door to Takkas which sold everything, alcohol was realy cheap, WKD's were 1.65 and 2 litre bottle of vodka for around 19 euros.

Takkas pool was a livley and fun place, people from nearby hotels came for the party atmosphere, there were always drinking games barbaques, kareoke and pool partys for entertainment. You need to get there early tho to get a sunbed.

The food at the hotel was cheap but realy nice with loads to choose from, breakfast was 5.20 euros and was delicious. The drinks at the hotel bar were resonably priced and there was 2 happy hours each day one in the afternoon and one at night were any cocktails and 2.50, there are loads to choose from (about 50).

The maids were also fantastic, our room got cleaned everyday to perfection despite how messy and dirty it was, we got fresh towels and our bins emptyed to.

Nightlife was around 10 min walk away but with some bars on the way. Tommys pub was excellent, great atmosphere with kareoke, 5 litre cocktails to share for only 20 euroes and sheesha for 10 euroes we even dropped ours and they gave us a new one.

Cristiano beach was 10 min walk away and was a full but quite beach (better if you want to relax). Nissi beach however was about half hour walk but there is a bus straight there for 1 euro or a taxi for 2 euros each. However we hired quad bikes to get around the area on which were 40 euros each for 24hours (however you can haggle them down) but you need a drivers licence for 150cc plus bikes and provisions for 50cc bikes. Definatly recomend you get quads at elast once!

Takkas is a an exstremely clean and well kept hotel with excellent staff and friendly guests (we made friends easily)the atmosphere is great. If you want to go for a party holiday to ayia napa takkas is definatly the place the stay, amazing hotel, will definatly be staying there next year!
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: amazing place planning to go again next year!
  • Good For: Beach
by pnom
9 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 39 »

Explore area

Map for Flora Maria Apartments Closest airport: Larnaca International (LCA) 21.9 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Flora Maria Apartments
  • by stew/fran

    " Pizza hut lol The boat trip (nt yellow submarien) was very gud n njoyed a swim in the blue logoon "

  • by lornyporny19

    " Its great!! Avoid the pervy rico suaves at foam parties however "

  • by taureanstar

    " japanese restaurant... yum yum well worth a visit "

  • by workingpikey

    " avoid it if you like cleanliness and politeness "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " Visit the river regge club abd hollywood boulivard dance bar in ayia nappa square. "

Similar hotels around Ayia Napa

Hotels near Flora Maria Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Flora Maria Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Flora Maria Apartments? Share your insight.

Flora Maria Apartments is also called:

  • takkas apartments
  • takkas hotel ayia napa

Address: 4 Misiaouli & Kavazoglou, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus