Perkes Hotel

Zante 29092, Greece
hotel photo

Average Rating

6  / 10
(68 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
19
Good
17
Average
4
Poor
6
Awful
22

Rating by feature

Room: 5/10
Service: 6/10
Food: 6.5/10
Value: 6/10
Cleanliness: 5.5/10
Location: 5.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Perkes Hotel

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 36 »
Amazing holiday by lizk94
9 / 10

Stayed here last year and going again this year , had an amazing time! Staff are all lovely and food is great! Only a few minutes away from a shop. The food and drinks are cheap at the hotel and on a night time they do a 2 hour bar for 12 euros! We had a problem with our shower and they fixed it within 5 minutes. Me and my friend were worried when we were going last year from the reviews but can definitely say dont listen to them as we had an amazing time! Takes about 10-15 minutes to walk down to all the clubs but doesnt bother you when your drunk!! Only thing that we didnt have was a fridge but that didnt cause any bother.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Amazing!! by Lyndseyash
8 / 10

Me and my friend came to this hotel unsure down to reading bad reviews off here but to anyone who is going don't listen to them! I couldn't of asked for a better holiday and a better place to stay. The hotel is family run and they are all really lovely people if you are to them and if you have any problems are there to sort them out, the atmosphere around the pool is nice and lively just what you want when your on a mortal holiday. It's about a 15/20 min walk down to the strip which is always fine when walking back drunk. Or if you can't be fussed with walking you can always get a taxi for 6 euros which if split is cheap. The food is relatively cheap, the bar is good on a night time 12 euro for 2 hours free bar which is always a good idea when heading out to the strip if you like a pre drink but to be honest you get what you pay for when you come here and all in all I can say I would defiantly come here again, would not reccommend it to couples or families as it is a bit to lively of a place.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

basic by lisa
1 / 10

Hi i stayed here with my 19 year old daughter and do not consider myself to be old, but this was definately not the place for me to holiday. The write up to Perkes looks great but is so far from the truth. The Perkes has air con and fridges only if you are prepared to pay through the nose for them. Air con is 10 euros a Night, fridge is not free either. This holiday was the most basic i have ever stayed in, you even have to share the balcony with the next room.If you are lucky the shower when run may not stink of rotten eggs. No phone in the rooms No tele No fridge NO nothing. a wooden bed hard mattress and ripped sheets.If you are looking for a family break with children this has nothing for them, only a lengths pool with no standable shallow end.Shallow end is to the chest of an adult.Perkes does also get very busy with large groups of party age there for late nights out, this does not help when you are trying to sleep. Alot of late night music and shouting from rooms and balconies, very intimidating if you are sharing the balcony. Best thing about this holiday was the food great chef cannot fault this at all. freindly i thought not, tried to talk to the head man about loud music was very rude. Would i go back, never not even if it was a freebie.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: none other than to pop in to eat by the pool
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

hostel not hotel by Sandy B
2 / 10

this is an awful hotel to stay at. me and 2 other friends arrived to a group of lads being kicked out.

the breakfast is what i would call prison fodder, a couple of slices of bread and some reformed ham and cheese, and what they call orange juice is nasty cheap squash. the only good thing was the tea.

the staff were very rude and unhelpfull, and took any opportunity to make money out of you.

there was constant noise throughout the night even though there were notices to keep the noise down.

the saftey deposit box was only availible a couple of hours a day, and if you missed the slots you had to go without!!

the room was unsatisfactory as the shower was broken and we had to squat under the tap to wash. the sheets weren't changed at all and we only got one set of clean towels the whole week. we had to share a balcony and a couple of chairs with all the rooms in our row out looking a total wasteland.

just because it was a cheap price does not mean that you should expect to stay in a place like this. i have traveled alot on cheap deals but have never stayed in such an awful place.

we were unaware that we had to check out on sunday before midday, a whole day before we were due to fly home, we were woken by a maid bursting in our room on several occasions shouting at us to get out.

when i went to enquire about this the woman was very rude, saying that it was the norm and we could stay there for 30 euros until midnight. luckily we knew someone who worked out there that we could stay with. i was more than happy to leave the god awful place and never look back.....

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: dont stay here
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Overall, a great friendly fun place. by nsh
8 / 10

The previous reviews did make me weary about staying here, but after my week here with 4 other girls, I was very impressed. The hotel staff and owners are so friendly and will help you and comfort you with any queries. Also, one of the owners is a qualified first aid person so is always there to help you with any drunken injuries to save you going to the hospital. The pool bar is great for drinks and food, the cocktails are only 3 euros and strong and the food is cheap and good quality (5 euros for burger and chips) and are large portions. The pool is pretty clean and is a good deep size with a diving board on the top. The rooms are basic but enough for just sleeping, we didn't get a fridge or tv and you have to pay 50 euro for a week of air con but i would recommend it cause the room gets very warm. Everyone is friendly and welcoming here and will make good friends with you easily,will definitely be staying here when i go back next year! LOVE YOU PERKES.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Make friends with the lovely staff and owners and they'll tell you anything you need to know.
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Amazing hotel by MOOREY
10 / 10

Perkes has a great location as it is far enough from the strip that it isn't really noisy but is not too much of a long walk.

The hotel rooms are basic but for the price you pay they are definitely worth it.

The food at the bar is really nice and the drinks are really strong and good value.

The staff here are all so chill and lovely, I am definitely going here again next year - best week of my life!

'MON THE PERKES

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Buy air conditioning

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent! by Emma
8 / 10

A basic hotel but brilliant none the less

Rachel and Nick are brilliant and the bar food is great- very good price and delicious- also Nick puts LOADS of alcohol in the cocktails- no watering down here!! lol :)

Loved Biscuit (one of the resident doggies- sorry i never got to give him a hair cut Rachel!!) who will happily eat your ham at breakfast if you dont want it :)

I read a lot of bad reviews before going here but was really pleased when i got there

It got really busy in our 2nd week but loads of room around the pool

Our room was at the front (above the dining area so we got a bit of noise at night from the main road and from the drunkerds should imagine its a bit quieter round the back

The owners live on site so trouble is dealt with quickly and if you have any probs Margaret is there to help during the day and Costa will remind you where you sleep when u roll in at 6am!! lol Just show a bit of respect to everyone and you wont have any bother!

Watch out for the reps- their block booking deals really arnt worth it and just say no to the PR's at the bars- they really start to get on your nerves after a while!

The beach is a long walk but its a straight road- you wont get lost- plenty of bars etc.. on the way down- would recommend Nikos bar and the boat trips around the island to the blue caves and shipwreck- excellent beaches and blue blue blue water to swim in the caves well worth the 18 euros we paid

White party on sundays on cameo island was ok but not great

Overall i would defo recommend this hotel and would go earlier in the season for a quieter holiday as well as a girlies holiday

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Lively but great service and good value for money

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant by Fred
10 / 10

My boyfriend and I stayed at Perkes September 2010 and had a fabulous time. The owners are lovely people. I cannot fault the hotel or the staff on anything. Our room was cleaned and sheets changed almost daily. The pool bar supplied cheap food and drinks from very early to late at night. We heard some people complaining about the free breakfasts supplied, however if you pay for a 2 star hotel, thats what you're going to get. The walk to the beach was about 20 minutes but you pass all the shops, pubs, clubs and resteraunts on the way. Also a Taxi is only 5euros if you don't fancy the walk.

If you're looking for a cheap, fun holiday I would deffinately recommend!!!

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Breakfast Included, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

dont read rubbish reviews by marie & tasha
8 / 10

Booked a last minute hol with my 19yr old daughter,was very worried after reading reviews,all i can say is...what a great hol we had.Racheal and Nic the owners are the nicest people you could meet.We didnt have a fridge but after asking got one within the hour.Margaret was very helpful and kind.yes there was noise but not as crazy as what we were led to believe.Our room was basic but clean.Food was good at the bar and very reasonable.Lotions made a good cocktail.Enjoyed everything about Laganas,even had costas the night security guy giving us an early wake up call..Will be def going back to Perkes.Had a tour rep from Thomas cook called Emma,she was there every day and very professional.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Already saving for next hol
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Amazing ! by carrieex
10 / 10

my friend and i, both 18 stayed here &thought perkes was an amazing place to stay !

the owners were lovely, and did they're best to please you.

the rooms were basic, i think we drew the long straw on our room though, after talking to a few people who's rooms were located around the back. the rooms facing the pool seemed to be the best. we didn't get air con, cause it was 50euros &to be honest, that's a night out.

the pool was a lovely size, with a diving board - that had no spring to it. it was nice though. loads of sunbeds &the sun was always on the pool &all the sunbeds around. so you didn't have to move about or anything.

we made loads of new friends aswell, the place is nice and cosey you get to talk to everyone, it was amazing. i will definitely be keeping in touch with everyone.

we had food here most nights too, as it was nice food &reasonably priced. most restaurants were quite pricey on the strip.

i coulnd't comment on the breakfast as we never made it as it was 8am til 10am, and after partying your socks off until 7/8am, we couldn't really get ourselves out of bed that early.

the only downside i would say would be the poxy security guard ! what a p***k he was. all i say is don't mess with him because he has two big friends who WILL kick and punch you, so be careful. oh and the walk to the strip.. it is quite a treck, but it's not as bad as people make out. it's actually quite a nice walk home at 8am, trying to sober up.

laganas itself is amazing ! i'll definitely be going back there again &even stay in perkes. it's also not as expensive as everyone makes out to be.

cherry bay, rescue &cocktails and dreams are the best clubs to go to ! premier &vault are top notch bars to pop into on the way down to the strip. lovely people working there.

all in all, if you're young &looking for a place to party til all hours, laganas is the place to be ! and of course, perkes the place to stay !

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Breakfast Included, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Perfect Perkes. by sarahbabyyyyx
10 / 10

After reading all the reviews of this hotel before i went, i was nervous to what i was going to arrive too but there really was no need. My friend made the point that no-one will really take the time to write a good review, they would only be quick to write a bad one.

However, this hotel was perfect especially for teenagers. It was constantly full of teenagers who were looking for a good time. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and would sort any needs out! The owner is absalutely lovely and if i go back to Zante there is no doubt i would stay in the perkes again!

All the people i spoke to at the hotel had also read these reviews and not one person agreed with the bad ones!

Its amazing and one of the best holidays ive had!!!!! Definately stay here! You wont be disapointed.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Breakfast Included, Booked Independently

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

So surprised!! by SJS
6 / 10

After reading all the reviews on the internet we were dreading going. but as a group of 15, 18 year old girls we were so happy when we arrived. We felt the rooms were clean and the standard was what we had paid for. The pool was where we spent every day as it was nic espeically with good quality cheap food from the pool bar.

I would only recommend this hotel to young groups looking to go out and enjoy what they pay for.

We had no issues with the hotel and found the location the best possible as we were not too close to the strip but a nice walk away.

We decided to eat at the pool bar for most of our meals as it was good quality and good value.

We would say to go to Aussies as one of the best bars.

The only part that ruined our holiday was our delayed night flights but apart from that we had the best girls holiday ever.

So do not be put off by the reviews enjoy Perkes and enjoy zante!!!

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Only for 18-30 year olds

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 36 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Perkes Hotel? Share your insight.

Perkes Hotel also called

  • perkes hotel laganas

Explore area

Map for Perkes Hotel

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Perkes Hotel
  • by beki1

    " Pythari Restaurant, Secret of Taste restaurant (Kalamki Road) and Hire a pedalo!! "

  • by mrsmelv

    " Michael's Place & the Tex Mex steakhouse on the Ionian corner are both well worth a visit. "

  • by cjack

    " i would not recommend it - like blackpool with sun. "

  • by raaaaaaaaaaaa

    " 25Euro beach trip, booked from rep! "

  • by gg

    " make sure you do some research before you book a holiday.. this hotel was decieving "

Similar hotels around Laganas

Hotels near Perkes Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Perkes Hotel?