Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun

Calle Las Brenas s/n, Lanzarote 35570, Spain
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

8  / 10
(82 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
42
Good
21
Average
10
Poor
4
Awful
5

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 6/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 8/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 37 »
At you peril by Robert B
1 / 10

We made the booking here last august 2013 through Travel Republic. On our arrival on February 22nd we were told by the male receptionist on duty that our Apt was not available due to broken pipes and would transferred to its the sister hotel The Royal. On finding our Apt at The Royal we were disgusted by the smell of urine In the Apt and returned to the reception of the Cay Beach to complain and seek alternate accommodation.

Upon informing the receptionist he became very angry and started shouting in Spanish at us. Unperturbed I stood my ground and insisted he find us a better alternative to which he became very aggressive and started slamming his guest book with his fists. We stood our ground and refused to leave the reception. My friend Katherine who had recently buried her mother could not take any more of it and broke down in tears. Still the receptionist refused to help us and at one point told me to "shut up".

I requested to see the apartment with the broken pipes and he refused.

I then said that there was nothing wrong with the apartment but in fact they had over booked the hotel to which he brazenly said "yes"

I put it to him that he did not care what happened to us and he replied "yes"

My friend and I then decided to squat in the reception until the hotel had sorted us our accommodation. I asked for the manager and was told he would not be in work till Monday.

After about two hours an I Irish woman called Julie had heard of our plight and came to our rescue. She works in the industry on Lanzarote, and said she had heard enough complaints about this hotel as it was giving Playa Blanca a bad name. She put us up in her own Villa.

The following day the 23rd my husband got in contact with Travel Republic who in turn tried to chase down the Spanish agency responsible for the hotel. Later that day he was told that another room in the Cay Beach was offered. I was so intimidated by the receptionist I refused to go back to that hotel and in particular that receptionist. Julie and her husband put me up on their sofa for a second night. Bless them.

By the third day my husband booked us into another hotel, online. Additional cost €614.The best the Spanish agent Viajes Urbis would offer us is another resort in another part of the island.

Also on the third day Julie's Husband went back to the Cay Beach to request a complaint form. When he tried to leave with the form the same receptionist tried to physically obstruct him in the doorway from leaving the premises with the complaint form.

While he was there he heard another arriving customer request bed linen to which she was told she "would have to wait till the next morning"

This is a disgraceful place.

Book this hotel at your own peril.

  • Holiday details: Feb 2014, booked with travelrepublic
  • Advice: Avoid
  • Good For: Beach

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Horrible Experience by Robert B
1 / 10

We made the booking here last august 2013 through Travel Republic. On our arrival on February 22nd we were told by the male receptionist on duty that our Apt was not available due to broken pipes and would transferred to its the sister hotel The Royal. On finding our Apt at The Royal we were disgusted by the smell of urine In the Apt and returned to the reception of the Cay Beach to complain and seek alternate accommodation.

Upon informing the receptionist he became very angry and started shouting in Spanish at us. Unperturbed I stood my ground and insisted he find us a better alternative to which he became very aggressive and started slamming his guest book with his fists. We stood our ground and refused to leave the reception. My friend Katherine who had recently buried her mother could not take any more of it and broke down in tears. Still the receptionist refused to help us and at one point told me to "shut up".

I requested to see the apartment with the broken pipes and he refused.

I then said that there was nothing wrong with the apartment but in fact they had over booked the hotel to which he brazenly said "yes"

I put it to him that he did not care what happened to us and he replied "yes"

My friend and I then decided to squat in the reception until the hotel had sorted us our accommodation. I asked for the manager and was told he would not be in work till Monday.

After about two hours an I Irish woman called Julie had heard of our plight and came to our rescue. She works in the industry on Lanzarote, and said she had heard enough complaints about this hotel as it was giving Playa Blanca a bad name. She put us up in her own Villa.

The following day the 23rd my husband got in contact with Travel Republic who in turn tried to chase down the Spanish agency responsible for the hotel. Later that day he was told that another room in the Cay Beach was offered. I was so intimidated by the receptionist I refused to go back to that hotel and in particular that receptionist. Julie and her husband put me up on their sofa for a second night. Bless them.

By the third day my husband booked us into another hotel, online. Additional cost €614.The best the Spanish agent Viajes Urbis would offer us is another resort in another part of the island.

Also on the third day Julie's Husband went back to the Cay Beach to request a complaint form. When he tried to leave with the form the same receptionist tried to physically obstruct him in the doorway from leaving the premises with the complaint form.

While he was there he heard another arriving customer request bed linen to which she was told she "would have to wait till the next morning"

This is a disgraceful place.

Book this hotel at your own peril.

  • Holiday details: Feb 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Don't know they would not us stay there.
  • Good For: Beach

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

You pay for it but dont get your holiday there by furious person
1 / 10

We booked and paid in full months in advance, arrived and got told no room available. We were shipped off in a taxi to their sister complex which had no amenities and no entertainment with no local shops or even an open reception. Our rep (on the beach) did nothing to help and just said they knew nothing and should have been informed so they in turn could inform us before leaving the UK. They said everywhere was full and the only available complex with a room we would be required to pay an extra £600! Don't book through 'On the Beach' as they don't do anything and don't book this hotel because chances are you wont have a holiday there - we spoke to loads of people at the complex where we were sent and they had all had the same treatment. The only good thing about where we stayed was the rooms were better and the pool had just a couple of people using it. Other than that there was nothing there - a 10 day holiday ruined - I would never ever go to Lanzorote again and would encourage everyone not to book because you never know if that is where you will actually have your holiday.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2013, booked with On The Beach
  • Advice: Before you go email or telephone direct and check you will have the holiday you paid for otherwise you will take legal advice

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

April 2013 by Dale T
9 / 10

Just got back from an amazing week at the Cay Beach Sun. I cant praise this hotel/apartments enough! Very clean, food was great, especially the pool bar snacks! Only a 10 minute walk to the lovely beach, with lots of bars and restaurants along the front.

Highly reccomend this hotel, its very good for kids and couples especially to relax.

Will deffinatly be coming here for another holiday soon :)

  • Holiday details: Apr 2013, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

'nice' easter family holiday! by Julia R
8 / 10

WELCOME - not the friendliest of welcomes if i'm honest... the staff did what they were paid to do... thats it!

ROOMS - lovely! bright, clean, great views and fantastic blcony/terraces, quite basic but that doesnt mean rough

FACILITIES - this place has all you need, you could live on site really! shop (CHEAP) pools are FREEZING and this spoilt our holiday as we like a pool based holiday! there is an indoor heated pool & jacuzzi, but kids cant use it!!! theres a football/basketball court, so the kids spnt all week here!

STAFF - nohing to write home about. they were a bit miserable, except the entertainment team, who were great

ENTERTAINMENT - great for kids, a few shows, good varied programme... not my kind of thing though, as it was a little too laid back, and not lively enough for me. the nightclub isnt a nightclub as we know it... its an indoor entertainment area and bar!!

ALL INCLUSIVE - quite average as all inclusive goes... plenty for everyone, but got a bit 'same old same old' by the end of the week!!

OUT N ABOUT - go out early, cause the nightlife stops at about half 10!!! this was a bit if a blow to us, as we like to be out late and having a laugh.. its just a bit slow here for us (we are used to marmaris and its open all hours!!!)

LOCATION - great location!! 5 mins from the town centre!

DO - go to the marina, both at night and on market day... its a great place!!

DON'T - expect a week in the pool.... its just too cold!!!!

  • Holiday details: Nov 2011, booked with Sunshine.co.uk
  • Good For: Beach

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant Complex - to be enjoyed. by Cracker.
10 / 10

My Wife and I both in our early 50's just returned from a Weeks stay in Cay Beach Sun, Aparthotel Playa Blanca from April 28th - May 5th. We were allocated Apt 255 which we can only describe as being excellent with a wonderful all round view of the Complex.Apt spotless clean and well equipped. All Staff were exceptionally friendly, courteuos, helpful and welcoming. Outstanding On - Site Facilities in beautiful surroundings. Shop on site as cheap as the Supermacado's for the essentials. Great Restaurant which we availed of for the Evening Buffet for E12pp. Lovely Reception area with highly efficent Reception Staff who provided all the information we required. The offer of a complimentary afternoon food treat at the Pool Area was unique. Well lit routes to the various Apt Blocks after dark. Very quiet from 7pm onwards which suited us. No "noisy behaviour" of any sort which was ideal. Would recommend this Complex to anyone and will be returning. Welldone to all at Cay Beach Sun. Probably the best we have ever stayed at over many years.

  • Holiday details: Apr 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Dont worry, be happy and enjoy.

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Perfect spot by Griff
9 / 10

Just back from one week self catering with my sis. Apartments couldn't be better - clean, large, enough equipment to get by with basic catering, shop on site for essentials, good size balcony and our's was a sun trap in afternoon. Good couple of pools including a kiddies pool and another with waterslide and plenty of sun loungers. Lifeguard on duty for peace of mind, and full daily entertainment programme for all ages. If you want, you can buy breakfast, lunch or dinner in on-site restaurant with discount if you go full board for five days. Also just opened new bar/entertainment venue. We only visited for the rep's welcome meet but was very impressed and imagine it's very popular in height of summer.

Loved where apartments were based - 10mins stroll to and along the waterfront to either the marina or the main town centre, so toughest options all week were which way to wander for lunch, drinks or dinner. Lovely beach only 5 mins walk away. Resort overall was lovely.

In summary, loved it - recommend it - and we'll be back!!

  • Holiday details: Mar 2011, Room Only, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Good For: Beach

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great holiday by monty43
8 / 10

Really enjoyed our stay here. Rooms nice and clean and serviced most days.Comfortable sun beds with cushions in the rooms. Hairdryer in room. Staff on reception very helpful and someone about all the time.

Handy little supermarket on site and cheaper than in town.

10 minute walk to beach and restaurants and shops. Nice walk along the sea front and in front of most of the restaurants. Good food to be had all around.

Go to Tipico Canario. Great food and really good staff.

Will definitely return

  • Holiday details: Feb 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Quite a walk if you aren't too good on your feet
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Our 5th Visit by wilko131
9 / 10

This was our 5th stay at the Cay sun Beach and it suits us admirably. The apartments are clean and well equipped. We had a good sized balcony and the shower was excellent. Two Swimming pools.We generally use the apartments as a base and are out a lot visiting the delights of Playa Blanca. It is a 7 minute walk to the beach and only quarter of a hour to the town centre and the pedestrianised shopping area. The staff on reception are smashing.we go self catering and would suggest other follow our lead. The half board or all inclusive options are poor value and the food is sub standard. We prefer and enjoy eating out in one of the many good restaurants in the resort and our tops tips are Romantica for a special evening out, Los Hervideros for the most authentic Spanish restaurant,El Galeon for fresh fish and El Mandarin for the best Chinese food. worth going to Harp Bar in the evening for entertainment. Best for couples who want a quieter holiday. On tip we found the mini market on site to be a low standard the milk went off quickly and they did not open in the morning until later than advertised.

  • Holiday details: Dec 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: We return many times so that speaks volumes for our opinion.
  • Good For: Beach

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brilliant holiday by mollymouse
10 / 10

myself, my husband and two children (4 & 2) have just returned from the cay sun beach. We had the best weeks holiday ever. the appartment was clean and well equiped. any problems were reqtified imediatly the staff were friendly and very efficient. the pool area was fantastic and the new pirate boat and slides fantastic for our kids. there was no entertainment but that was fine, although my 5 year old would have liked a disco!

the resort itself was a 15 mins walk the beach and resturants were brilliant, very family friendly. we are booking to go again next year. 1 week was not long enough!!

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, self catering, Booked Independently

14 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great place by stevie8288
10 / 10

Reception staff very helpful and friendly

Rooms cleaned every day,fresh towels left every day.

2 large pools,1 childrens pool and 1 bubble pool always sunbeds available.

Spar on site also restaurant and a night bar.

Not far from the main nightlife say about a 20 minute walk.

What i'll say is if your looking for a party dont go here its more for relaxing.

I'll be looking to go here again.

  • Holiday details: Nov 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Great place for relaxing
  • Good For: , City Breaks

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

a good base by carolx
6 / 10

we stayed at cay sun for new year 09, the rooms are a good size, kitchen basic, i dont cook when we on our hols so kitchen had every thing we needed, bedroom, good big wardrobe , 2 good size pools 1 tots pool, with a lifeguard, we only ate at poolside once it was ok...if your having a lazy day by the pool, the shop.... well... if you can help it dont go.. it could do with a bloody good clean, fridges had not been cleaned in god knows when yuk..we got a couple of bits when we arrived milk, etc, never went back, plenty of shops 5 mins down the rd, the bar well it was new year and never seen anyone in bar, we popped in 1 night but no bar man, we were out most nights for a meal and a few drinks, receptionists they were all very nice, we had a problem with thomas cook they rang tc up and sorted out for us, a walk to beach/bars/restaurants about 10 mins walk away we only ever use apartments as a base

  • Holiday details: Dec 2009, self catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: ok for a base
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 37 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun? Share your insight.

Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun also called

  • aparthotel cay beach sun hotel
  • Cay Sun Beach Apartments
  • Address: Calle Las Brenas s/n, Lanzarote 35570, Spain

Explore area

Map for Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun Closest airport: Lanzarote (ACE) 14.2 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun
  • by mollymouse

    " perfect family holiday with young children "

  • by Griff

    " If you're there for carnival you HAVE to go. It's like nothing you'll have seen before "

  • by Julia Robinson

    " ask for a groundfloor apartment... much more accessible from the pool "

Similar hotels around Playa Blanca

Hotels near Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun?