Galeon Playa Apartments

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

7.5  / 10
(66 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
26
Good
23
Average
5
Poor
5
Awful
7

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 6/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Galeon Playa Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 36 »
Always a relaxing, enjoyable, care-free, feel-good holiday - it ticks all our boxes

"For a few years now, my husband and I have been coming for two 2 week breaks a year in Spring and Autumn. We like both the Apartments and the surrounding locality. Initially I goggled the area and what drew me to the Galeon (as opposed to other places) was it is only 3 story high and its convenient location to everything and all on the flat. Just across a quiet cul de sac and you are on the Aloe Vera lined sea wall by a small,quiet, safe beach (like a lagoon with no waves). I can leave hubby having a kip in the room, wrap a towel round me and safely pop out for a swim in the sea, a shower and a dry-off in one of the 'out of the wind' seating areas and get back before he wakes up. A larger stretch of sandy beach is a pleasant short walk around the sea wall which has seating areas to watch the waves on the lava rocks, past the ice cream parlor (so many flavors - we have to stop), then a bar with tables outside in the cactus gardens overlooking a small boat harbor (free tapas, cheap drinks - another stop!). There is a vast choice of reasonably priced bars, supermarkets and restaurants all near to suit all tastes and a craft market. Clubs or rowdiness are not 'in your face'. The excursions (or hire a car cheaply and do your own thing)are good as they cover the islands many interesting places to visit with great scenery - do not miss the crater route in the lava field in Timanfaya National park or the lava tunnel Jameos Agua - see on Google before you go. I love the local artists sculptures and influence on the island. Tourism hasn't spoil it.

The Galeon has something for everyone with friendly, helpful staff giving attentive service. The rooms are spacious, basic (but all that we want - who cooks full meals on holiday?). The main pool is heated - not allowed to reserve sunbeds, no need. Rooms, gardens, pool - everywhere is so clean and well maintained. The pool bar is handy with free WiFi, admittedly we don't use the other bar much preferring to go out nearby to watch the sunset, or quietly relax with wine on the balcony. We often use the very reasonable Buffet restaurant (mainly Spanish food), which has improved with a new chef (who often can be seen cooking fresh fish and steaks) and varied dishes. I dont eat meat, but there is always plenty for me (stuffed!!)and the staff are excellent, giving personal service and help if you want. We find it all ideal - good value for money. What would I change? I personally don't like to hear upbeat music from the loud-speakers in the pool area (I prefer softer background music to relax to which you get occasionally)or the animation team announcing activities and then doing them in the pool area, but you expect that type of thing with young people and families. I would not want to come on this type of holiday in the middle of Summer.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Dont be too 'picky' - its not the Ritz! Thank goodness its not Benidorm either.
  • Good For: Beach
by Hughs wife
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Shabby but clean

"Rooms really shabby and badly in need of renovation. I could never stay somewhere of that standard again. Fine if you are young or on a low budget as everything is functional.

Cannot complain about the cleanliness of everywhere.

Pools and gardens well kept with plenty sun-loungers. Pool bar selling snacks and another bar which has entertainment. I didn't go as I was told it wasn't good but ideal for people who don't want to venture out.

TV remote control is a refundable deposit of €20 but you only get news stations.

Handy for everywhere and right on sea-front which can make some days too windy.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2014
  • Advice: Only blocks 9, 10 and 11 have lifts. Hire a safe!
  • Good For: Beach
by Sandyscot
4 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Value for money

"Stayed here for a week in early February 2014. I didn't know what to expect after reading reviews but was pleasantly surprised. I had a big apartment lounge with 2 sofas, a large balcony - which although it had a sea view was directly over a restraint but not too smelly, and an en-suite large bathroom - the boiler did supply very slow running but hot water. There was only a sheet and bed cover and one pillow on each of the 2 beds but I found 2 blankets inside the large wardrobe. My sheets were changed once during the week and the rooms kept clean every day. All in all very good. Galeon Playa is in an excellent part of the resort, with lots of good, very well priced restaurants and supermarkets plus the sea on the doorstep. Food in the Galeon Playa was very hit and miss - if you went down for dinner much after 7.30 there was very little left! The pool water I was told was very cold - so only for the brave. There were lots of sunbeds available and the pool bar served very good and cheap food and drinks. The other bar was a very popular venue for drinks whilst watching football. Don't bother paying a deposit for a tv remote - there are only 2 news channels in English to watch. I took a tablet loaded with films. Staff were smiling and helpful and a special mention should be made for the dining room staff. They always greeted everyone with a smile and often found time for a five minute chat. All in all I enjoyed a spotless huge apartment in a great location, staff who are trying to make your stay enjoyable in a slightly shabby but OK resort hotel. Although I did not care for Costa Teguise itself - it seemed just a purpose built concrete resort without character to which I would not return, my sunny break here was enjoyable. Service buses run into Arrecife from the center of town."

  • Holiday details: Feb 2014, booked with On the Beach
  • Advice: Get a sea view room.
  • Good For: Beach
by London Gran
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The good, the bad & the ugly - watch out for Spanish school holidays

"Three weeks s/c and a very mixed bag:-

1. Very close to beach, promenade, great snorkelling bay, bars and restaurants. Great flat access to promenade and bars/restaurants if you have disabilities or are in a wheelchair.

2. Apartment blocks at back considered to be "quiet" but BEWARE whilst we were there two separate parties of 30+ children kept us awake 6am to 2am every day they were there. Try to avoid Spanish school holidays.

3. Jacqueline on Reception very helpful.

4. Apartments very old and tired - dirt encrusted cooker rings, lots of equipment missing, broken phone, lights broken/bulbs missing, flooding shower, patio and bathroom doors hard to open. Some complaints put right, some not.

5. Had a ground floor "disabled" room which had a rail on the toilet and a wet shower (unfortunately flooded really badly - never fixed).

6. Didn't like the look of the food in the buffet. Cheap, but not much choice and Spanish-looking rather than continental. Didn't risk it but the Chinese buffets nearby were exceptional value & quality.

7. Only the blocks at the back have lifts, those around the first pool have only stairs, although there are some disabled rooms.

8. First pool has "climatized" water (i.e. warmed) and is a sheltered sun trap. The second pool at the back, opposite the bar, was very, very windy nad cold.

We requested a cash refund for the one week of noise from the schoolchildren but the management said they couldn't oblige as we didn't book direct with them (we booked via Thomas Cook). They did offer free half board for 3 days but we declined because of the type of food. They did try to get the teachers and kids to be quieter but it didn't happen. Since returning home Thomas Cook are not interested in the problems we had, but the apartments' management have offered 2 nights free. We don't plan to travel back to Lanzarote just to take up their offer - now if it was 2 weeks free .......!!

Hope this all helps someone.
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Make sure there aren't any Spanish schoolchildren booked into your block during your stay
  • Good For: Beach
by Kaye P
5 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

budget bordem and exspensive

"hotel was dead was rarely more than 4 people there althought staff were fantastic.

food was very english standard didnt see any paella or choritzo ect.

rooms where ok standard again but beds where so bad we had to sleep on the woodem sofas what where a lot better.

cleaners where great never see any roaches in are place but see a huge one by the pool in the night.

reception staff where very stand off ish but ok when you approached them.

outside the hotel there wasnt much bars restaurants and giftshops thats it.

the hotel says it does a money service (it doesnt ) the bank outside across the road does tho ans there is no shop in the hotel either oh and you have to put 20 euros down for tv remote and 6 for sun lounger cushion and 6ph for tennis a lot of hidden extras .
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: go on days out
by cheryl m
4 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

adequate

"on 1st arrival i wasnt very impressed,paint flaking off old window frames and our door scrapped on the floor when you opened it.my partner and i have just spent 11 nights here and on reflection the appartments are fine,we dont go on holiday to sit in all day so it was fine for us and had everything we needed (fridge kettle toaster).we never used the bar or restaurant so cant really comment on them but the pool bar was fine.i recommend you get out and about in the resort as there are some very nice bars and restaurants.galeon playa appts are not 5 star so dont expect it but as a resonable base at a reasonable price it is a nice place to stay."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: dont go in june it is so windy
  • Good For: Beach
by bronzedandwindswept
7 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Never again

"Very disappointed !

As A well travelled person I have never ever come across anything like this ????

Fridge and cooking rings were in a disgusting state .

Fridge was rusty and door dragged on the floor.

Cooker rings fused the electrics,

Promised to repair or replace but just propped up the fridge so as the door would open,no freezer box door and bottom shelf missing,frozen food slowly thawed out as it wasn't working properly.

Nothing done about the cooker was told not to use it,

As I always go self catering this caused problems .

No telephone.

No hair dryer.

Had to ask for a plate for the microwave as it was missing ?

Need I go on.
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2011, self catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Hunter
2 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

An Unexpected Treat!

"Having previously read reviews for Galeon Playa we were expecting a 'value-for-money-but-don't-expect-too-much' sort of holiday. Well, it was excellent value for money but what we got far exceeded our expectations. Firstly, the appartments were very spacious and very clean and didn't realise we would be close enough to get a sea- view but we did! Yes, they were quite basically equipped but better than previous places we have stayed in. The food in the restaurant was fantastic value for breakfast and evening meal (11 euro's a day if you booked 3 days or 14 daily) Breafast was standard cooked buffet, cold meats, cereal and fruit, dinner was buffet too, good choice but definitely 'Spanish' style which we liked but guess it might not be to everyone's taste. Staff helpful and friendly. Would choose this place again!"

  • Holiday details: Feb 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Give it a try - you will be surprised!
  • Good For: Beach
by jangra-la
10 / 10

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Xmas &new years holiday 2010

"Hello just had the most brillant holiday at the Galeon Playa Costa tequese been here twice cannot fault this hotel it is adequate good staff very helpfull especial Jacklyn and colleague dam good veiws of the atlantic

plus near to beaches and shops good chinese close by which is the Slow boat 4.5 euros cannot beat that. Hope to be back this year and xmas miss the place

michael and linda brearley
"

  • Holiday details: Dec 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: good clean and value for money
  • Good For: Beach
by mic & lynn
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent Value for Money

"We had two great weeks at Galeon Playa. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. The hotel lobby was very clean. The apartment was large and had everything you would need. Comfy sofa beds for the children and also very comfortable main bed which can be rare when staying in a hotel. The bathroom was clean with a fresh shower curtain. There were a few rust marks around the bath edge but nothing to worry about. The bedding was very clean and the floors and windows were too. Even the little kitchen area was perfectly usable, the worktop may have been a little banged up in places but it is only cosmetic and at budget prices you can't expect the ritz! The cleaning crew came in most days and moped the floors, cleaned the bathroom, made up the beds. The sheets were changed once a week as were the towels. In fairness they did need to be changed more often but if you ask at reception they are very accomodating and would probably arrange it. We asked for more patio furniture and a lady carried chairs over 15 mins later! Staff mop the outside tiles around the pools every morning and the pool is cleaned daily. The water is topped up every night which does make it a little cold for me but kids don't notice. Sunbeds were always available, although some people do lay out their towels early to get a good spot.

Alphonso works very hard to amuse the kids in the mini club 11am - 12.30 and again with the disco at 9pm. The kid disco is the same CD night after night for 30 mins but my kids 10, 8 and 5 yrs loved taking part on nights we were back intime. Evening entertainment is not the best and doesn't start on time, but we were happy sitting with a sangria in the bar or on our balcony late in the evening. Costa Teguise is a fantastic resort with beaches everywhere. Hundreds of restaurants so plenty of choices and some very cheap options. There are many excursions to go on and plenty of corner shops so you can manage without a car. We had a 20min shuttle to the airport which was also reliable. We were pleasently surprised with our apartment, as were my parents who were staying in the one next door. Overall the complex was very clean, the staff were pleasent and helpful and to top it off it was cheap. We will be going back again.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Weather was great, resort right on the beach, perfect for families - can't wait to go back
  • Good For: Beach
by Weezy
10 / 10

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Basic and a bit grubby

"I travelled with my husband and 2 children aged 11 & 9. 17/7/10 - 31/7/10

We were booked as Half Board.

We took a taxi from the airport instead of the transfer bus. No need to book a taxi transfer when you book your holiday as they are lined up outside the airport. The taxi cost less than 20 euros for the 4 of us.

Costa Teguise is very cheap comapred to other canaries

Arrived at the hotel early evening. Reception staff helpful.

Apartment was very large........sadly thats the good stuff over and done with.

The apartment was damp, the large wardrobes were unusable as they were really smelly (smelly in the same way an alley would smell if it were being used by tramps)Kept the door firmly closed on them.

No air conditioning which is the usual with the Canaries but as it is a breezy island, this wasnt too much of a problem. The Bedroom window opened onto a noisy corridor as did the bathroom.

Housekeeping came 4 times a week though i dont think the sheets were ever changed and the towels get changed once a week.

The bathroom housed a small water heater tank (no solar panels here) !! Sadly this meant a hot shower for 1, and a cold shower for 3.

My husband took the children to the showers adjacent to the "Gymnasium" and they had powerful hot showers (mens were ok, womens were hot but more of a dribble)Frankly, it was a bit like camping.

The hotel bar does not open at all on Thursdays.

Ocasional entertainment comprising of the odd mini disco and the ever repetative parrot show

The restaurant:

Breakfast 8-10:30am,

Evening Dinner 8-10pm (8pm is far too late especially if you have young children)

The food is very very limited and the 1st week we were there was also of very poor quality. They constantly ran out of food and we had to keep waiting for them renew it.

The waiter (yes just the 1 waiter for the 1st week)was a bit work shy and most people ended up clearing there own plates. There was a lot of huffing and puffing and tutting from him if you asked for anything.

When we paid the bill for the drinks, he asked if he could keep the change!!! How rude.

Did i give the waiter a tip?...yes...try smiling a bit more.

We ate out a couple of times, again very cheep. Lots of Chinese Buffet restaurants that really were fantastic. Adults 4.50 Euros and children 3.00 Euros for all you can eat and the drinks were not overpriced.

Generally Galeon Playa very basic and a bit grubby.

Not a lot to do in the area at night as it is mainly restaurants.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Half Board, booked with -
  • Advice: Not for families or younger people
by No Way Pedro
4 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Mediocre.

"We stayed at the Galeon Playa hotel in Feb – March 2010 for 3 weeks, at first it looked fine with 3 pools act.

We were located in the 800 block and have no idea what the other blocks are like.

First night our room’s front door at some time had been forced and was still showing the crow-bar marks around the edges, though the door was secure when locked.

The room looked quite nice with a good balcony, though looking tired, there were quite a few (dust dummies) under the beds and they were still there 6 days later, though gone by the end of the holiday.

The room cleaning left quite a lot to be desired, walk on the floor after it had been cleaned, in bare feet left your feet dirty, beds only changed 4 times in 3 weeks and towels every 3 to 4 days.

Reception staff specially the suits were not very friendly, but would help when asked.

We had one meal in the restaurant after 16 days, it was the worse meal we had on the island (no wonder the place was empty).

In our view the western night trip out is great, good show for families and kids, and a very good BBQ with free drinks, would recommend this.

The musical hall night out was a rip off, 1 and a half hours of entertainment in a 4 hour stay, were drinks are way over the top at 7 euro a pint, and nothing but pressure from the reps to buy more excursions.

The market in the inland town of Taguise is very good, bid on everything, and you don’t get mithered.

All in all Costa Taguise is a fantastic area well worth a visit, but away from the Galeon Hotel.
"

  • Holiday details: Feb 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: keep away from this hotel, until cleaned properly.
  • Good For: Beach
by berwick
3 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 36 »

Explore area

Map for Galeon Playa Apartments Closest airport: Lanzarote (ACE) 7.4 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Galeon Playa Apartments
  • by clairkatyben

    " We loved the Galeon restaurant and Golden city chinese buffet with their surrounding play areas "

  • by Big Chris

    " Jumbo Chinese restaurant @ Euros4.50 eat as much as you like and Timanfaya National Park "

  • by berwick

    " keep away from this hotel, until cleaned properly. "

Similar hotels around Costa Teguise

Hotels near Galeon Playa Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Galeon Playa Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Galeon Playa Apartments? Share your insight.

Galeon Playa Apartments is also called:

  • apartamentos galeon playa costa teguise
  • apartamentos galeon playa hotel
  • galeon playa
  • galeon playa lanzarote

Address: Peninsula del Jablillo s/n, Lanzarote 35509, Spain