Sunland Hotel

Ialyssos Trianta, Rhodes 85100, Greece
3 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

6  / 10
(20 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
5
Good
8
Average
1
Poor
2
Awful
4

Rating by feature

Room: 6/10
Service: 6.5/10
Value: 5.5/10
Cleanliness: 6.5/10
Location: 5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Sunland Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
didn't stay a night

"It wasn't the Blue Bay Hotel photo we saw in the brochure. We were led from the Blue Bay along a dirt track to the Sun land and told we had to make this journey 3 times a day for food. The rooms -for which we had paid an upgrade -were tired and dirty. The view from our room was of a balcony taken up entirely of a row of rusting air conditioning units. My wife was convinced that the bed sheets were not fresh -having been slept in. We walked back to the Blue bay reception -past the water slide area which was completely closed off with lines of tape -to be told that our representative's number we had been given was just the Blue bay reception, and with my wife in tears began the negotiations to move to another hotel. Fortunately the lady receptionist was superb and arranged a taxi to another hotel. See my great review on the Oceanis Hotel. Just Don't Come Here."

by Steve N
2 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Fab holiday

"Was a bit nervous about staying at this hotel by reading the reviews on here.

We all had a brilliant holiday, we stayed for two weeks and can not really fault it. The rooms were very clean, the maid came in everyday with clean sheets an towels, the rooms are very basic. All the staff were very nice and spoke English. Sun loungers were a big problem as the Dutch over took them all, and some of them were very rude and even threw our towels away.

Food: very Greek, I did enjoy some of it, and there is plenty of other dishes to choose from. However you cannot eat over at the bluebay hotel, but you can use the snack bar at night.

Entertainment: well that was fanatic, Dex, Billy and the rest of the team were great and has us Laughing all night. The only problem was there was not much for teenagers to do during the night. If you have kids aged 11 and under they would love it. The bluebay hotel is right on the beach, however it has pebbles so buy beach shoes, the water is not that great for young swimmers as there's a current and can get quite windy, but the water was lovely and warm.

The area in itself was not very exciting, a few supermarkets, bars and restaurants. A visit to the old town is a must. Also the old town is next to the harbour and you can book day trips to turkey, little Greek islands and so on... To get to the town it costs 15euros in a cab or you can get a bus there for 7.50euros (for 4 of you). The weather was lovely, it wasn't too hot as we had a lovely breeze. Beware sunland is near the airport, so you do get aircraft noise, after about a day it didn't bother us. The pool bar will sometimes have a bar person it in and sometimes not, if they are not there you can pour your own drinks out, kids have self service to soft drinks and ice-cream.

In the bluebay the bar inside is not free! Neither is the disco bar. The inclusive bar is by the pool. But if you fancy cocktails happy hour is between 7 and 8pm and they only cost 3euros.

Activities by the team include darts, water polo, football, volleyball, sand Castle comps etc etc.

I rate our holiday 7/10
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
by Silkenlaydee
7 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

loved it

"just got back from a great holiday at sunland. the staff are friendly,the maids brilliant.we stayed for 2 weeks and the entertainment at sister hotel blue bay was excellent for the kids. billy especially was hilarious. the food was great the first week but got much the same the second week.we would recommend this hotel rather than blue bay as its not as busy and there are 2 big pools and 2 kids pools.we are thinking already of booking again."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: just relax
by monkey69
8 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Food for Thought

"The food is totally shocking.We ate out very night for 2 weeks because we couldn't eat anything they served up.Im far from fussy and have eaten ration packs in the forces but this is something else.The hotel on the whole is good...the staff are great and a big hello to Julia,George and Andre...you guy's are the backbone to the hotel.If the food was ok then it would have been great but sadly i will not return until they learn the basic's in food prep."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: no
by paigebrooke
6 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic Place

"Have just returned 30/07/10 after spending a week at the Sunland with my family & it was fantastic,nothing like the reviews that some people have left so don't let them put you off. The place is clean & tidy,maids clean your room & give fresh towels everyday.The self service pool bar is great.The food is nice but repetetive.The entertainment across the road at Blue Bay is also fantastic for both adults & kids, if you don't want entertainment you can relax around the pool at the sunland. I would recommend the Sunland to anybody."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Fantastic
  • Good For: Beach
by Gazza's Holiday
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

exellent holiday

"i am a single mother and took my 3 daughters. after reading these bad reports on sunland i was dreading it. i came back just over a week ago (15/7/2010) we had a fab time staff were brill always there to help food and waitress service was brill. i could not fault anything. i will keep lovely memories of the place my daughters very much enjoyed. clubs in night were 2 mins down road but still all free drinks in as we used both hotels. fab hotel keep up good work"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: brilliant
by melaniewales
9 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Worst holiday

"We arrived at this Hotel? at 1.30 am in September 2009 and had to walk withour luggage up a dirt track to get there.

we were accompanied by a stray dog who was barking and growling at us. the room we were allocated was not as requested ,the rep. was not interersted in having us relocated. The room was in the basement,had an open area in front of it which people walked along,and was infested by feral cats.

The food was edible and we were not told at the time of booking that toilet paper was not to be flushed but placed in a bin by the side of the toilet. This was not the standard of accomadation we expected from an all inclusive holiday and we would not travel either to this area again.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Not to go there
by mayrankin
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

lovely relaxing holiday

"Myself and family have just got back from sunland hotel a few days ago. Before going on holiday I read some of the reviews and was concerned. We were on the top floor where our room had a seperate bedroom for the kids with a beautiful sea and pool view. The room was spotless clean. The hotel is old and needs to be more modernised. The staff were very curtious and polite. We found the food to be very nice even though a little more choice would of been nice and within two weeks can be repetitive you could eat and drink in Blue Bay if you wanted it was there that all the day and night time entertainment was. This is the more modernised hotel out of the two and is much busier. Gorgeous george on our reception could not do enough for us whether it was information on resort, ringing taxis, or just simply taking an interest on how our holiday was and if we needed any extras in the room such as extra pillows, bedding, or towels. This was changed every other day. No complaints if you decide to go to this hotel as long as you want a clean, basic and comfortable holiday I would recommend it. We met some lovely people and had a brilliant holiday."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Activities: Faliraki water park is a must. Rhodes town at night for a trip away from hotel for a change
  • Good For: Beach
by apple123
8 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Average

"We have just got back from our 2 week all inclusive holiday at a supposidly 3 star hotel. We were ment to have 2 adjacent rooms linked by a door but when we opened our room door it was 4 beds cramped into a small but clean room. As for the food after the first me we could not eat in the all inclusive restaurant again. There was a smell as you walked in which made my wife gag every time she walked past. The all inclusive drinks were given to you in PLASTIC glasses and were all watered down, in some cases they were even warm as no ice was available bearing in mind it was almost 40 degrees. All the money we were going to use to take our 2 boys on excursions and trips were used on meals throughout the day. We were averaging €100 a day. If it wasnt for the evening entertainment and the ever so lovely staff we could of left after a couple of days. As this was our first all inclusive holiday and the first time my boys have flown it has left us very dissapointed and we will think very carefully before we book another holiday with Thomas Cook again."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Author999
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic Holiday

"Just returned from 2 weeks at Sunland. Accommodation 8/10 clean, tidy and all you need. Food 9/10 plenty of choice on offer at all meal times. Swimming Pools 10/10 excellent for swimmers and kid alike. Snacks/Ice creams 8/10 available most of the day. Hotel Staff 9/10 Mostly very friendly and helpful.

Not too much in way of shops/bars close to sunland but a good mile or so walk to Trinda or Kremasti (5Euros in taxi either direction)will unearth plenty of them. Would most certainly return here no worries.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Bed & Breakfast, Booked Independently
  • Activities: Enjoyed Sianna / Monolithos/ Prassonissi/ Old Town Rhodes
  • Good For: Beach
by elpwerko
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

good hotel

"After booking our holiday i must admit i was a bit concerned,most the reviews said that the sunland was a horrible hotel and that it was dark and dingey,the food was awful but we found it to be fine. Some people must just be too fussy or picky.When we arrived we checked in right away and our room was on the 2nd floor.The room was clean, but a little on the small side.There isnt alot of wardrobe space just 1 for 4 people and 2 bedside cabinets each with 1 drawer.The balcony was just the usual size which you would normally get and the views were nice.The food was average breakfast consisted of ham,cheese,bacon,fried or scrambled eggs ,beans and small sausages.They had plenty of bread for toast with jam on if you preferred and plenty of tea and coffee.Lunch was okay usually a fish or meat choice(beef,pork,lamb,chicken and turkey)although the turkey wasnt that nice, also there was rice,pasta,chips,salads,lots of fresh bread and you can also book packed lunches which is great if you are going out for the day.Dinner was also okay again the same type of choices as lunch but different types.Sometimes they have fresh meat on where the waiter is carving it up for you served with gravy which my son loved as he loves gravy so that was him happy.The all inclusive drinks were fine plenty of choice beer,vodka,ouzo,red wine,white wine plenty of soft drinks.Snacks consisted of sandwiches,burgers,sausage rolls available all day.The aqua park opposite the hotel is good however its not free only people staying at the sister hotel (blue bay) get it free of charge.It cost 30euro for the day and you get sandwiches and drinks free of charge.The entertainment on a night time is great at the bluebay the main entertainers are billy and baboo along with the rest of the team and if you have young children they will love it.They have an hour for kids where they do all the party dances then its the family shows after that.We went to the greek night which is on a tuesday night and it is brill,it cost 18euro per adult and kids are free you also get your drinks for free if your all inclusive.They have a greek barbecue on and they food is really nice, then afterwards they have greek dancing and lots more.If you want to go to rhodes town the bus stop is about 10mins walk away and costs 2 euro for adults kids are free.Would recommend a trip to lindos which is about an hour away in a car or 3 hours on the bus the views are out of this world and its also home to the acropolis.you can hire a car from 25euro per day which i would recommend doing as there isnt alot to do through the day in trianda.All in all had a great time just would of stayed in a different resort where there was more going on."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
by bella17
7 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

This hotel is everything you need,...

"This hotel is everything you need, the food is really nice and the pools are perfect.

I have been to rhodes trianda 3 times and have just booked my 2009 holiday at sunland. the water park is really good. yes there is alot of German but you just get used to it. Me and my family loved this holiday it is lush weather and if you want a really nice beach go to Rhodes new town, as it is sand and it is so clear you can see the fish!

The people who have said it is horrible must have gone on one of their bad weeks because i love rhodes and this hotel.
"

by J Beard
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Sunland Hotel Closest airport: Rhodes Diagoras (RHO) 3.9 miles

Travellers also viewed

Sunland Hotel photos (4 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Sunland Hotel
  • by bella17

    " we ate at zorbas which was really nice "

  • by Author999

    " Pegasus and Old Rhodes Town "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " not alot going on in this resort so hiring a car would be best to get around "

Similar hotels around Trianda

Hotels near Sunland Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Sunland Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Sunland Hotel? Share your insight.

Sunland Hotel is also called:

  • sunland apartments hotel rhodes
  • sunland apartments rhodes

Address: Ialyssos Trianta, Rhodes 85100, Greece