Danaides Apartments

Crete, Greece
3 star
hotel photo

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(34 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
24
Good
5
Average
2
Poor
1
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 7/10
Food: 8/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 9.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
GREAT HOTEL. GOOD ACCOMODATION. EXCELLENT LOCATION. ONLY PLACE TO STAY IN MALIA! by KIMMI
8 / 10

You have the best of both worlds at this hotel! it has an excellent location (right at the heart of all the nightlife) yet is really nice, safe and well looked after. Myself and my best friend stayed here for a week in mid august. Ive stayed at a few hotels in malia and other similar style holiday resorts and the danaides is the best ive ever stayed. The accomodation is basic but clean and well looked after. Your room is cleaned on a daily basis. The pool is great and even has a jaccuzi. The pool bar offers food and drinks, and they have thier own bar facing out onto the strip where you can start off your night! the staff are relly friendly. There is a blonde lady. (i think she may be the owner) she comes across quite scary but if you treat her and her hotel with respect you will have no problems. Invest in aircon and a safe. It cost us 50 euro each for the week which sounds really expensive but the hotel hold a bbq quiz night around the pool bar every saturday which is included in the price and all the food is really nice, and theres a great atmosphere. The hotel has strict rules. No standing/smoking on the grass. No mascara/makeup on the sheets/no excessive noise after 12am/ no one in your room from outside of the hotel. You will be fined if you do any of these things. Myself and my friend are in our late 20's so being a bit more mature, these things didnt really put us off from booking this hotel if anything it was nice to stay somewhere a little more respectable! the nightlife is on your doorstep literally. A less than 1 minute walk will take you to candy club, cloud 9 and zig zags with bars, bannana club, bar b amongs many many others on the way. Endless amount of takeaways including subway(open 24/7) along the strip. All bars offer 2 drinks for 5 euro. If youre a girl you will get the occasional free one!!! everywhere stays open till around 5/6 so if youre looking to get some sleep then malia isnt the place for you. If you want to go to the beach its a 10 min walk away. The danaides is self catering so if you dont want to eat out every evening or are on a budget there is endless shops to get your supernoodles and snacks! including a massive spar thats 5 mins up the road. To eat out i recomend you try the red lion which is 5 mins away for home comforts like pie and chips! they do a carvery every sunday which is 12 euro and is amazing!theres also the usual kfc, mc'd's dominoes etc so you'll never go hungry!

if you want to stay somewhere decent and still be in the heart of all the action then go here. I dont have one bad word to say about this hotel. It made my malia experience even better!

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: VISIT THE BEACH, GO TO THE WATER PARK
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

AMMAZZING!!! by Newbes1993
9 / 10

Its right in the middle of the strip. Hotel was all you really need just make sure that you dont get any henna tattoos because they stain the sheets which you will have to pay for. We went late august and it was amazing. BEST WEEK OF MY LIFE FOR SURE!!! :D

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Room Only, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: Enjoy it
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great position, with drawbacks by My name is irrelevant
6 / 10

A group of 20 18 year olds stayed for one week (16 lads, 4 girls). I will try and make this as balanced as possible.

Rooms: were tidy and spacious. The cooker has 2 hobs which will allow for basic food to be cooked (we made pasta on a few nights). You get a toaster and a kettle also. Basic but reasonable. The balcony was well used with a rack to hang up wet clothes/towels. Note: get air conditioning for 50 euros at the beginning of your stay, we did and it makes a difference, however we were staying in the height of summer.

Facilities: The pool area is fantastic. There are plenty of sunbeds, a bar, a pool table and seating area. The pool itself is large and the deep end is a good 2.4 metres so you can do all the diving you want. There is mango bar as part of the hotel, a good place to get a few drinks before heading out.

Positioning: The hotel is on the strip and about a 60 second walk from the big clubs such as Candy, Banana, Zig Zag etc, so pretty much perfect. Despite this it is not as noisy as you may expect. There is Sticky Fingers directly opposite which is an American style restaurant (think TGI Fridays) and plenty of other small food pubs and restaurants literally moments away. The beach however is a five minute walk, which isn't really that far! Simply put the location is perfect.

Staff: This is where is goes downhill. I'll start off by mentioning the fact that I have no idea who our reps were. The first guy dropped us off the coach and told us to head down the road and it was on the left and the left us to find it. When they do this, look for Mango bar and it is there. The only time the other one showed up was to do the sales pitch about a booze cruise and then we never saw him again.

The lady known as Stella, an older woman who speaks little English can put a downer on a night. As a large group we would congregate in groups of 8 on each others balconies, at which she would regularly scream at us. She will genuinely shout at you for almost any reason (other than playing loud music, that was fine). My room received a written warning on the first night about our behaviour. I am still puzzled as to what was the problem, but it deemed to be an empty threat and we survived the rest of the holiday. Other groups around the hotel had been fined money for all sorts of bizarre things. Dennis the night security guy however was reasonable and understanding and will treat you like an actual human being. If you're lucky you'll get to see him tazer someone. Yes, tazer.

All in all it is a reasonably good hotel and if we were to go back to malia, we'd probably go back to Danaides. If there are a small group of say 3-6 of you, you will likely have no issues; I think our main problem was that there were 20 of us.

A few last tips for Malia however:

1, pre-drink till at least half 12, drinks on the strip are now at least 5 euros each. If you want cheap deals, go up towards KFC, beyond it and to the shop opposite chubby whites. The man in there is lovely and helpful and will sell you a litre of vodka, a litre of peach schnapps, a litre of sex on the beach, a mixer, a fish bowl and straws all for 27 euros. It was the best bargain we could find.

2, Be friendly with bouncers (lads especially). You can try and avoid trouble as much as you want, but some people will find any reason to be aggressive. If a bouncer recognises your face and sees you in trouble, they will help, and I say that from experience.

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Dont go at Easter!!!! by nippysweetie
2 / 10

The weather was grim very cold had to go buy jacket, the hotel looked nice the gardens were lovely but the rooms were damp they hadnt been aired and were very cold there was fur growing on the bedroom walls, all they wanted to do was to charge people for some heat but to be honest think we would all have thought more of them if they'd heated the rooms it might even have dried them out!! Malia was all closed a few of the restaurants were open it was expensive too eat out!! so take plenty of money!! you'll need it!! it just looked dirty too me the whole place needed a makeover!! would never go back!!!

  • Holiday details: Apr 2011, Room Only, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: take lots of money warm clothes

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Amazing by maliaaa
9 / 10

We were a group of 8 girls aged 18/19 and had 2 rooms. This is without doubt the best hotel to stay at in malia.. if you want to go out all night, drink and laze about by the pool in the day. We went in early august and the hotel was packed out with teens wanting to have fun!

this is the perfect location, right oposite all the clubs, nobody has to walk far or down any alleys so we all felt very safe.

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Lovely Hotel, lovely holilday by becbecbec
9 / 10

Me and my boyfriend went here in sept 2009. Malia was quiet as it was the end of the season but stil plenty places to go and things to do. The hotel its self was really well kept and beautiful gardens. The rooms was very spacious and clean. it is located right on the strip next to a quad bike shop. Go to this quad shop if you are looking to hire as they look after you Steve from preston will see to you (there are alot of dodgy ones about) i would defo recommend this apartment !! :)

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Lovely apartments - had a great time by Linda
10 / 10

Hi to George, Rena and her husband, Stella, Stella and Giannis. We had a brilliant time with you all in Malia and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Myself, my partner, my son (16) and my daughter (12) stayed for the last two weeks of August. For those thinking of staying at these apartments - the grounds are extremely well maintained with palms and plants everywhere. The apartments are spacious and cleaned reguarly by the maids. They do get hot though so the air conditioning is needed (euro 50 per week). The rooms come with a kettle, toaster, fridge and a two ring hob so not really adequate to cook a proper meal. KFC, MacDonalds and Subway are all local (they work out to be roughly £1.50 more in Crete than the UK) as are an extensive range of pubs, bars and restaurants - look around for the good deals. We ate at The House just down the road several times euro 7.90 for a large chicken breast (with a sauce), fries and either veg or salad. They would give you free cheesy garlic bread and a free cocktail on your arrival and when we left each time, my children were each given a chocolate dessert and my partner a Metaxa and me a glass of wine. They always made you feel welcome. Each day we went in the pool, which is also well maintained but closes at 7pm for cleaning and they have a strict policy that no-one goes in there after that time or there is a heavy fine. There are rules within these apartments and if you don't follow them, ie; if you take your room towels to the pool, they will fine you. They're put in place to stop people abusing and ruining these apartments - so treat with respect as you would at home. The pool bar is lovely and George (the barman) is always chearful and helpful. You can order food and have a game of pool. To gain access to your apartments, you have to walk through an exterior bar which is attached to these apartments. This is lovely with overhanging trees and palms. Giannis, the barman, is also cheerful and if you sit with him, he gives you shots. He made flowers for my daughter out of serviettes - thanks Giannis. Right next door to the apartments is a Quad Bike hire shop, we hired quads on and off for the two weeks we were there. Dolphin beach is just down the road, which is lovely and a must is Star Beach in Hersonissos which is about 15-20 mins away on quad bike/car. This is a bustling lively water park resort with bundgy jump, and dj's playing all day. Some evenings they throw a beach party/foam party. The Danaides apartments are situated right in the middle of the main strip, but at night you are not kept awake by the noise of the street and if anyone is noisy around the apartments, they are asked to have respect for other guests and told to be quiet. All in all we had a fantastic holiday. Thanks to everyone

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Self Catering, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: Lovely apartments
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Say ooh ahh Mailia! by OHAHMALIA
9 / 10

Stayed at Danaides appartments 20th-28th July. 16 of us in total, 2x rooms of 4 girls, 1x room 4 boys, 1 x room 3 boys. Appartments were a fair size, but VERY HOT. Recommend buying air con asap. Sat round the pool all day very nice, enough sun beds for everyone, allowed to bring friends from other appartments in the day but at the night there very strict on bringing people back. At night before going to the strip we sat around the pool bar, okay price but owners very friendly. Friends would come round, about 30 of us at one time. Perfect location right in the middle of the main strip but quiet at night so you dont hear a thing. Strip gets very messy, glass bottles, mess, people, cleaned up immediatly in the morning by the time you wake up. Very funny about dirty sheets and towels, so try not to get them to dirty or will be fined. Pool bar food cooked fresh, good price, pretty much ate here the whole time, full english each morning for 5 euros. Beach is a 10 minute walk down the strip past all the shops. Easy to get too. Best holiday ive ever been on, clubs are amazing. Could easily get drunk off 10 euros and takeaways on every corner.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: Friendly, quickly clean, amazing.
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Holiday by debxjon
9 / 10

me and my husband stayed here at the end of may 2010 and booked last minute. when i read some of the reviews i was concerned.but believe me the danaides appartments and staff were great, the apartments are basic but very clean,the gardens are kept lovely. the staff are very freindly and helpfull.george the barman was very entertaining always giveing us a laugh, get him to show you his tricks. i would recomend this holiday to couples and groups of friends. we will be going back to these appartments it was a great holiday.if you reading this george cos we no you do its the couple whose husband put factor 50 on and was still browner than everyone lol.

  • Holiday details: May 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: lively

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Stay away from these apartments. by anonn
1 / 10

We stayed here for two weeks and had such an amazing time in Malia. The nightlife is so good and the location of the apartments are perfect. The apartments are basic but nice with nice flowers etc everywhere. However, from the day we got there they started fining us for absolutely everything. When the maids clean your room they search it for 'damages'. We got charged 30 euros for dirty towels and sheets, fines for 'losing' sheets we never actually got given from the maids. We got charged 100 euros because the grass outside someone in our groups balcony went yellow. The manager told us that she let herself into the rooms most days while we were out to check there were no damages. On our last day the manager turned round and accused us of breaking the extractor fan for the cooker. It was completely ridiculous, she was claiming that we had come in and dismantled the fan and removed the filter which is just absurd. We had so many fights with her about it that day, she was being a total phsyco. The whole thing was so corrupt. Thinking she could do what she wanted because we were young and she had our passports. While we were argueing with her, she admitted that the fan was already broken with parts missing, but as we had 'damaged' it some more she was demanding that we paid 120 euros to replace it. Totally ridiculous considering we didnt do it in the first place and it was ALREADY broken. She was saying stuff like 'Im not stupid like you girls I know you lie' and screaming at us in Greek. So we refused to pay for it obviously because it blatantly wasnt us. She then turned round to us a few hours before we were due to go home and said if we didnt pay the money, she had already spoken to the police, and they would come and put us in a jail cell so we would miss our flights. We had no option but to pay and and got scammed out of 120 euros. The manager was so rude, screaming and shouting at us, calling us all sorts, laughing at us and just being an unreasonable cow, selectivey speaking english and refusing to listen to us defend ourselves. While we were argueing with her at one point the hotel owner, who was a man, came towards as if he was about to hit us and had to be held back. Its just shocking that they would treat three seventeen year-old girls this way and threaten to prevent you catching your flight unless you pay up. Its not as if they had a reason not to like us we stuck by all their 'rules'. Obviously we have no proof that it was the staff who damaged the fan and cant make accusations, but there is evidently nothing in place to stop them from going in to your room and breaking something, accusing you of it and forcing you to pay. There is nothing you can do in that situation, we felt so helpless. The rep Mike was helpfull and did try to get the manager to be resonable but there wasnt anything he could do. The bar staff and security guard were all really decent. Also, alot of money got stolen from the rooms and judging from the behaviour of the manager it really wouldnt be a surprise if it was the hotel staff. After we paid the money, we spoke to a local travel agent who completely agreed with us and could not believe the way we had been treated. She advised us to go back to the hotel and demand a stamped receit, which we did so hopefully we can do something about it. Stay away from this hotel. They will scam you for all your worth. Disgraceful.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Room Only, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: Loved malia, the clubs are amazing and the whole atmosphere is great.
  • Good For: Beach

14 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

AMAZING !! by yasxlynnx
10 / 10

We went to malia on the 23rd of june this year , we stayed at these apartments and they were absolutley amazing ! We loved the staff especially geogre dennis and our rep mike . The pool is lovely and so is the bar and the food served there during the day . The rooms are very clean and are regularly checked by the maids. The only problem we had was that every time we used the shower the drains would bring the water back up and we would have to sweep it back down afterwards . Apart from that we really enjoyed ourself and are hoping to return in 2010 . The Strip is also very lively we really liked club uk and bananas . The best place to eat is the house especially for a hangover cure breakfast !

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: it is amazing !!
  • Activities: the house , sticky fingers , the union jack bar
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

BEST HOTEL IS MALIA by 10Hotties
10 / 10

My first girls holiday there was 10 girls went for two weeks was amazing!! Hotel based right on the strip however somehow, managed to not be to loud to sleep. Not that anyone slept much but since we went for two weeks we did have a couple of girls nights in since our livers were dead. Hotel was lovely basic but clean, the lady who worked there was a bit weird but not as nasty as everyone makes her to be. GEORGIIEEEE BABES the barman was lovely, always loved getting a toastie from him in the morns. nightlife was great walk outside the hotel and your on the mid of the strip. The strip is like a Y Shape and the hotel was where it splits, so was GREAT. The restaurant opposite called sticky fingers we ate there alot as was pretty cheap and when we needed a proper meal was perfect. EVERYWHERE was cheap, make friends with all the PR's coz they ended up offering us loads of free drinks by end of the holiday. Even at beginning though it was deals of 3 drinks 2 shots big fish bowl to share for 5euros! I only spent 650 euros for two weeks. I recommend, MALIBU CLUB, ZIGZAG, CORKERS, YIASOU, SAFARI And if you like a bit of INDIE THE VENUE WAS GREATTTT!!!! beach was end of strip and was lovely however id recommend going star beach taxi ride bout 10 euros. Once you got thre was cheaper, so banana boats and all that was 10 euros rather than at main strip beach was £25 euros. Plus loads of young hotties go star beach as well. 'Spar' super market was just up the road since we was self catering we took alot of cuper soups which were perfect. couple of nights attempted spag bol and pasta. Got told off by the sercuirty man alot of the last night since we started throwing stuff off our balcony. Made great friend siwth everyone round the pool and just jumped over the balcony to get to other peoples rooms.. dont attempt whilst drunk though!! Loved it loads and off to magaluf or ayai napa next year for some change, miss malia millions!

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: CLUBBING IS AMAZING.
  • Activities: Sticky fingers, Red lion, MALIBU, zigzag, candy club, the venue, safari.
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Danaides Apartments? Share your insight.

Explore area

Map for Danaides Apartments Closest airport: Nikos Kazantzakis (HER) 16.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Danaides Apartments
  • by Gordon Girls 2009

    " Best restaurant....THE RED LION WOOP WOOP "

  • by Scousey

    " 4play, American sticky fingers and the water park!! "

Similar hotels around Malia

Hotels near Danaides Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Danaides Apartments?