Santa Maria Apartments

Avenida Espana s/n, Tenerife 38660, Spain
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

8  / 10
(58 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
33
Good
14
Average
5
Poor
4
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 8.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Santa Maria Apartments

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 35 »
Beware - thieves! by Liz C
6 / 10

Whilst staying at this hotel i lefy my room one evening LOCKED with no windows or doors open to return and find that my mobile phone had been stolen. There was no sign of a break in so must have been a member of staff. I report this to reception who didnt seem to care less. I blocked my phone as soon as i realised but have returned home to find that £100 worth of calls have been made on my phone to Spanish numbers.

  • Holiday details: Oct 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Do not leave anything in your room
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Booked through holiday lettings (Broadley) by Paul B
10 / 10

Booked this private what can i say fantastic 60foot balcony has the sun from early afternoon until it goes down at night it has 2 bedrooms full kitchen with fridge freezer and full oven and 4 ring cooker. washing maching in the toilet and a shower very powerfull which is great. Both bedrooms have air con which again is great and both hace ceiling fans. The only thing i would say on the down side is it maybe remove one of the ceiling fans from the bedrooms and use it in the livingroom otherwise will defo book again,location is fantastic view great also loads of shops bars and restaurants great value for money the owner willie was fantastic with us notong was a hassel for him great apartment willie loved it......

  • Holiday details: Apr 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

armstrongg by armstrongg
10 / 10

stayed there 12 months ago with my two children aged 9 and 14 years of age. We were on a bed and breakfast basis. The hotel was spotless with pool activities on throughout the two week stay and the staff were very helpful. We were so impressed I am looking into booking for 2012.Overall a faultless hotel.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Breakfast Included, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Staff helpful, hotel ok by Sam
6 / 10

Amazing resort. Stayed 11nghts at Santa Maria. Room large we were on 6th floor with lovely sea and pool views. Towels changed regular. On arrival to our room. Looked clean. On closer inspection kitchen work top covered in grease. Kettle filthy and mould in bathroom. We stayed half board. Food ok ish.not always cooked well. Got very bored of menus. Food was not roped up or replaced regular and had to keep asking for more food to be put out. Also had to keep finding the waiting staff so we could order our drinks. Still had an amazing time. Would Defoe visit this resort again . Lots for families and couples to do. But would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Holiday details: May 2011, Breakfast Included, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Better food and cleanliness
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant! by steph
10 / 10

well im only 14 years old and i loved it here, we stay in a room which someone owns so its a private room, but the pool is amazing and so is the bar outside. there is a chinese buffet which is about 40 seconds away from the hotel, which is lovely its a buffet which is something like £4, there is a supermarket right opposite kebab shop etc... the beach isnt that far of a walk but its worth the walk to be honest! there are plenty of bars and restuarents nearby which is great! its a great place for children, there is a children pool which is very warm! lots of places for sunbathing and even a tennis court downstairs. its a very good place in a very good location because you have everything around you. also a FASHION BOUTIQUE shop opposite which is honestly amazing, im a very fashionable person and i purchased a dress from there, resasonable prices. i recomend the santa maria hotel, get booking and have fun :D

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

18 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

loved it by sun
10 / 10

After going to tenerife and staying in playa afew times when I was 18-21 I was adament that the place was a dump and I would never return again. At 33 and no longer with the sole goal of drinking in the clubs etc I opted to stay at the Santa Maria in a studio apartment.

whilst it's no 5 star, the location was excellent, the hotel good value, clean, staff pleasant and I would book the same place without hesitation. The area is really nice and if your in any doubt as to where you might get a really enjoyable holiday with sun in February look no further.

I didn't eat in the hotel by the way so can't comment other than walking past the food counter it looked very fresh and nice.

  • Holiday details: Feb 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: ultimately you'll walk away happy
  • Good For: Beach

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A great place to stay by Yorkiesunseeker
9 / 10

I can't say anything much about The Santa Maria that is negative.

From the moment you walk in the door it's clean and pleasant. Our room (myself and 14 year old son) was clean and had good facilities. We were half board but used the fridge to keep beer & Coke cool. A lovely balcony with a great sea view. The room was a good size and the only negative was no air con. The fan ran constantly and we had the balcony door open all the time. Neither of us ever felt uncomfortable.

The restaraunt had a good selection of dishes and I was never disappointed with anything. Harder to please a 14 year old but he did'nt go hungry.

The resort is quite quiet but you're not far away from a good time. We did not go around the pool as there are 2 beaches to be enjoyed. The Torviscas beach is the best of the 2 and the water sports are amazing.

Take a trip to Siam Park for a great day out and a sailing trip to see the whales and dolphins should not be missed. We went on a 38ft yacht and had an amazing trip, topped off with snorkelling with turtles.

There are a good selection of bars that will suit all tastes and food and drinks are very cheap (I found a good local beer at 1€ a pint)

The hotel is situated at the top of quite a long hill, you'll get used to it. Take a walk in the early morning, just as the sun is coming up, this place is great. I can't wait to go back and recommend it without reservation.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Half board, booked with Airtours
  • Advice: You won't want to leave - I didn't.
  • Good For: Beach

16 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic by satisfied
9 / 10

We have stayed at the Santa Maria many times over a 15year period, both on package deals and in private apts. The staff have not changed much in all that time and are helpful, polite and multi lingual.

There is security staff on door and the only time we have seen a problem ( roudy customers in next apartment) the staff dealt with it immediately and evicted the tenants immediately.

We were there in January this year and will be back again later in the year.

The neighbourhood is quietish but a 20minute walk or 5min taxi ride takes you into centre of Playa de las Americas

  • Holiday details: Jan 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Book it - you wont be disappointed
  • Good For: Beach

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

An honest review... we loved it by lynnt0026
9 / 10

We went as a group of 16.. 10 girls and 6 boys (age 18 and 19) to Santa Maria apartments/hotel. We chose costa adeje due to the good reviews from friends, plus the added bonus of it being cheaper than las americas!



Most of the other reviews complain about the hotel, cleanliness, location and so on... to be honest you get what you pay for. I think we paid around £270 each and it was well spent, we were surprised at how nice it was!

Location

In costa adeje, a town about a 20min walk from playa las americas, or a 5min taxi journey (around 4euros). The beach and promenade are just down the hill from the hotel, easy to get to! There are lots of varying price restaurants in close proximity to the hotel, as are shops (Mango outlet for example!). In terms of the views, from the front of hotel is a great view of the volcano, from the back of the hotel, where the pool is, you can see the sea.

The hotel and rooms

Lovely! Very clean, modern and all rooms have big balconys! The staff are really nice, especially one of the male receptionists! Just make sure to keep your room in a tidyish condition, we didnt and the maids refused to clean our rooms for a couple of days! Apart from that, there were no problems!

The Pool Area

Childrens pool and a big pool, both were always clean! As the main pool was pretty big, there was always room for diving, playing ball games and rubber tyres without getting in anyone elses way.

The pool area was huge! As with all package holidays you have to get up before 9ish to get a sun lounger but by about 12ish there were always free loungers! There are quite a few trees around the pool for shade, along with umbrellas.

The pool bar was quite cheap, it sold stuff like chips, pizza (amazing!), alcohol, cocktails, slush puppies, ice lollies... the usual!

General bits and bobs

Might as well give you one of our average days, it might help!

Up at 11ish and down to pool (easy enough to get loungers, mostly families and couples around then). At 2ish we would go to supermarket to get lunch (there are 2 supermarkets 2mins walk from the hotel, the underground one underneath the indian restaurant is far cheaper!). After lunch back down to the pool, then at 5ish back to rooms for naps! 7ish- restaurant for dinner (loads of restaurants around, cheap to medium expensive), after dinner back up to rooms to get ready to go out and pre drink). At 11ish/12ish get a taxi to las americas (taxi rank just out of the hotel and to the right, taxi to las americas around 4euros, 5min journey). In las americas there is a huge amount of clubs and bars, with reps offering cheap deals on drink!

Would arrive back to the hotel at 6ish, sleep to 11 and start all over again!

Things outside the hotel

Shopping in las americas/ los christianos

Watersports, around 50 euro each, worth it though!

Aqualand waterpark, 7euro taxi journey, defo one to visit!

Location is great for a cheap holiday for sun, beach, shopping and clubbing!

  • Holiday details: Sep 2008, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Its cheaper than las americas, very close to las americas but a much more pleasant, untacky place.
  • Good For: Beach

18 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Santa Maria by xxalexjanexx
5 / 10

My boyfriend and I have just got back from Santa Maria Apartments. We arrived on the 1st May 2009 and stayed for a week. We are still in two minds about it. First of all we were expecting this hotel was in Playas De Las Americas as that was what it said in all of our brochures. However we were in a small town called Torviscas. Nice enough but obviously not as big as Playas. The hotel itself was lovely, we were given a ground floor room at first, which we weren't happy with as we heard all about these thieves. The receptionist was lovely and swapped us into a 4th floor apartment. The pool and bar were lovely and the staff were very polite. However the hotel restaurant was poor, and we didnt think much of the ones outide the hotel either. There really wasn't much to do within the town, without doing the excursions. And most days we found ourselves bored. We most definately wont be returning.

  • Holiday details: May 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomson
  • Activities: The Boat trip was amazing!
  • Good For: Beach

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Basic but good by omorrison
8 / 10

My boyfriend and i arrived on 1st August 08 at the Santa Maria and stayed for 2 weeks. Overall the hotel itself was beautiful and kept very tidy. The rooms were basic and clean but the floor couldve been swept a little more, Though it was cleaned every day and new linen and towels were provided. One downside was the sunloungers at the pool as they were always reserved with towels by the time you woke up! And the bar was pretty expensive.

The hotel staff were not very friendly but the entertainer was very good and could speak in many languages.

The hotel overall is in an excellent location with shops and the beach just seconds away. Also lovely for walking. Beachfront restuarants are a must. Especially bahia beach. Watersports at torviscas beach are also good value for money.

We would definately return to Adeje but maybe try a different hotel as it would maybe be more suitable for familys.

PS. The submarine trip is great also!

  • Holiday details: Aug 2008, Self Catering, booked with First Choice
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Super by tempz
8 / 10

Good clean smart hotel in a great position. Definately say that this was a 3 star plus hotel. The staff are very helpful although the pool attendant is super strict - however having small children I think this is a positive, but for teenagers would be a bit restrictive, but the hotel is definately family friendly. The Hotel has a great position for the resort of Torviscas, only 500 yards from the beach, and less to shops and bars. The resturant is buffet style and can be a little monotonous, but this is to cater for a wide variety of nationalities and is to be expected really - however, it was always fresh and well cooked. For our family with small children 3-5 year olds, this was a great choice.

  • Holiday details: Apr 2009, Half Board, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 35 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Santa Maria Apartments? Share your insight.

Santa Maria Apartments also called

  • aparthotel santa maria adeje
  • aparthotel santa maria hotel adeje
  • AparthotelAH Santa Maria Hotel
  • santa maria tenerife
  • Address: Avenida Espana s/n, Tenerife 38660, Spain

Explore area

Map for Santa Maria Apartments Closest airport: Tenerife South Reina Sofia (TFS) 10.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Santa Maria Apartments photos (1 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Santa Maria Apartments
  • by amie3112

    " a good bar is St Eugenes at the top of the hill good food and entertainment every night "

  • by chloe_rosbotham

    " Aberdeen for food yummm, and tramps for a club "

  • by dozydonk

    " Walking between the three distinctly different areas, Costa Adeje, Americas & Los Christianos "

  • by stevejulie

    " watch out for pickpockets on the beach and in the bars. and dont take the scratch cards. "

  • by jambolina

    " motown diner was a great place to eat! buy one meal, get one free!!!! fab food!!! "

  • by tempz

    " Siam Park is great for the children and young at heart. "

  • by omorrison

    " Bahia Beach Restuarant, Submarine trip, Loro Parque, Train around adeje! "

  • by Paul Broadley

    " great for pubs and sea and shopping and great sea views "

Similar hotels around Costa Adeje

Hotels near Santa Maria Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Santa Maria Apartments?