Plazamar

Avda del Golf 4, Majorca 07180, Spain
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(61 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
38
Good
14
Average
4
Poor
3
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 6/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 8/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Plazamar

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 36 »
Peas were nice !!!!

"This is the 1st time I have felt like I should warn people about the Plazamar Apartments...on arrival 28th April we were informed that the all inclusive didnt start until the next day but were told we could order snacks for lunch & dinner the snacks we had were ok but we certainkly didnt want the same greasy fried food for dinner as well and was then allowed to order from the main menu which was nothing to shout home about.The AI was the worst we have ever had in all the years we have have done AI..yes it was a cheap holiday but to be served cold tasteless food every day that was so bland and with no real variety was a disgrace and to see it advertised as New Premium All Inclusive was an insult..we did complain to Maria who seems to run everything single handed but didnt get anywhere altho she did her best to make it bearable we then spoke to Saskia who manages the Plazamar who agreed with us that it was diabolical and a joke to expect us to eat it , there was a certain no vote of confidence from the staff who refused to eat there themselves, we asked to speak to Ava the directors daughter who really does not care about keeping guests happy she just said 2 the thing is with you British people you like your food hot,we eat ours warm in Spain " well excuse me but we were paying for our food and expected some warmth in it even the dish water they called soup was only luke warm..there was hardly any veg and fresh fruit and nothing if you are a vegitarian the drinks machines were always broken and the drinks from them was awful so we insisted on coffees from behind the bar....orders for drinks/food etc was time comsuming as you have to sign for everything not sure why this was unless they didnt trust their staff.

The entertainment was atrocious especially the kids disco/games geraldine didnt have any control over the games and just let the kids do as they pleased and Marys 1st words to us was " welcome to Fawlty Towers" she was wrong.

The rooms were very nice but didnt get cleaned very often or have clean towels unless you asked for them there was no soap left in the rooms or in the toilets in reception or by the pool area...the policy on noise etc is if you are reported twice you will be asked to leave !!!! thats a joke we had 4 rooms of Polish lads/lasses below us who continually came back drunk and created until after 4am which is just so unfair as the site is recommended for families with children the policy you sign at the start of your holiday is a joke as it will never be adhered to.

Being that we were the 1st guests in the Plazamar for the AI and had to suffer at the hands of this joke of a holiday venue i pity anyone that stays there from now on as i cant see the food getting any better and it didnt help that the food is prepared at the Jutlandia across the road and brought over in wooden boxes by van .......
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2012, booked with Travel Replublic
  • Advice: go self catering
by Lallyw59
2 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Poor start

"On arrival to the plazamar at midnight we were turned away as the place was full they then sent my wife and i with 2 young children in tow to the magamar hotel in magaluf it was a living hell they originally wanted to keep us there for 3 nights but by the morning we were back in there reception demanding our accommadation we had paid for,the staff were excellent and sorted us a room(even though we had to wait round the pool till 2pm for it).The plazamar was lovely and all the staff except the manager were polite and very helpful,overall i wouldn't return as this mistake as we found out later in the week has been going on for months.We recieved no apoligy from the manager and she was under the impression we had not been put out at all(the magamar has no air con so when a 4yr old has just arrived in a hot country and its still 28c at 1am they'll be ok,also the magamar is an 18 30s hotel!)Lovely place the plazamar but the manager would be better suited running the magamar"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Room Only, booked with Travel republic
  • Advice: Eat out but enjoy there pool
  • Good For: Beach
by eltel75
7 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

we had a brilliant time

"This was the first time i had been abroad in 19 years, and I was skeptical due to the dodgy reviews. it only cost us £60 each for 7 nights so we were not expecting much! when we got there we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were really friendly and our room was huge for the 2 of us. The entertainment was fun if abit cheesy and as all the apartments have balconies, you could watch from your room, it also finishes by 11, so the hotel is fairly quiet after that. on the 5th night, we had a little trouble with a family next door who were very loud and abusive when asked to be quiet. We complained to the management, and they gave us another room (which was upgraded) and had put anti-social behaviour warning signs up everywhere by the next morning. We met some great people (including Shirley who works there) and would recommend staying here to anyone that would rather be at the quieter end of town!! Great views of the mountians and 2 minutes from the beach. Absolutely loved it! Cant wait to go back!!"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by alinmel
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Enjoyable

"We have just got back, myself, husband and two young daughters aged 4 and 7 years old. Where do i start, its a lovely, clean and safe place for childlren.

Apartments, clean and tidy. Towells got changed quite a few times if you wanted them to. Also room and bedding got clean and changed regularly. Bar and chambermaids very friendly.

It's all geared up for families and the evening entertainment was good. I have to say a big thank you to Adele the children rep, she was brilliant with all the kids and remembered every childs name who arrived on each day. Kids club was fantastic, my girls went every morning and came back with paintings, pottery and gifts. They made loads of friends, we wished we had booked it for 2 weeks now. Would definately go again for the children. Only downfall, food wasn't so good, but they have loads of restaurants and cafes,outside the complex. Beach literally only 5 minutes away and it was lovely. As for the Plazamar pool, 3 different size pools, to suit everyone, for sunbeds, people had to queue up at 9am. Abit annoying though, when some people put there towells on the beds and then spent all day at the beach. But as we all know that happens everywhere but that will never change anywhere.

However all in all a lovely place and from 11-11.30, they turn off the music because they know that there are families with young kids there. So I would recommend Plazamar if you like a busy astmophere in the day, meeting people and have kids, this is the place to be.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, self catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Visit the Waterpark
  • Good For: Beach
by Ella
7 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best Apartments Ever

"Me and my wife and two children stayed at the plazamar for 9 nights the room was lovely staff was very nice and helpful.The pool was lovely and clean(everything about the hotel was clean) the lifeguard saved 1 person while i was there(just doing his job)The bar and food was delightfully tasty and yummy.The reception was there 24/7 and very helpful at anytime you needed them.My two children had the best time of there lives.The receptionist sells tickets to aqualand in magaluf If you booked the tickets with any gran isla hotel in santa ponsa (Gran Santa Ponsa,Jutlandia nad plazamar) you got a free bus to aqualand.the bus left from outside the jutlandia apartments which was just across the road.Overall if your going to santa ponsa plazamar is the only place to stay."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Fat Sams Restaurant and the Beach
  • Good For: Beach
by snop dog
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

all round very good holiday would definately recommend these apartments

"I have just came back from the Plazamar apartments in santa ponsa and had read reviews good and bad before going so wasnt sure what to expect. I was very pleased overall with the whole holiday and the accommodation. very clean room very small kitchen area but had everything you would need including fridge kettle and toaster. The towels were changed regularly. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Just across the road their sister apartments jutladia which you have full use of pool snack bar etc I would fully recommend. Although the pool was absolutely stunning to look at it was freezing cold which spoilt the holiday as you just couldnt bare to go in which was a shame. I had my 2 grandsons with me aged 12 and 8 and they thoroughly enjoyed themselves. There was a football court just off the Jutlandia pool and pool tables games area etc. There is also a kids club for the younger children and a tv lounge if you fancy a night in or entertainment some nights in the bar in the way of a singer or a quiz and even a parrot show. The beach and the centre are a few mins walk away as are the bus stops and taxi rank. The weather for late october was outstanding. We visited golf fantasia in Palma Nova a short bus ride away costing just 1.5 euros each and had an absolutely fantastic day mini golf set in a beautiful surrounding of waterfalls caves streams with little wooden bridges definately worth a visit for all ages we came back in a taxi for 7.5 euros which only took about 5 to 10 mins. There was a macdonalds right oposite and on the beach which was great for the kids. Theres nothing really that I could say against Santa Ponsa. The green Parrots in the trees were a pleasure to watch."

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, Room Only, booked with teletext holidays
  • Advice: Beautiful place
  • Good For: Beach
by winter
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We love Santa Ponsa but not sure about Plazamar

"2nd time in Santa Ponsa and very dissapointed with Plazamar apartments in general. Not clean enough + not in the greatest loaction of Santa Ponsa."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Avoid Plazamar and you´ll be fine.
by neveragainplazamar
1 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Plazamar Sept 10

"Rooms are clean for the prices and included air con. Pool area was small but again clean.Staff are friendly and helpful.the location was good, only 5 min to beach, restaurants and shops.

First week we where there, there where a lot of families with small children, so pool area was noisy. We used the sister hotel pool it was quieter and bigger.

The second week for some reason it was full of young Irish gangs, they where very noisy in the early hours, to say this is advertised as a family hotel, its was not expected.

Overall we loved Santa Ponsa, but would not choose the Plazamar again.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: No
  • Good For: Beach
by Dave B
5 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

No two bedrooms

"me and a friend with two teenage boys booked this hotel with a two bedroom apartment, but on arrival not only were we told that they has NO two bedrooms appartments and blamed the internet ppl for the mistake, we were sent to their sister hotel opposite for a night, then when returning to correct hotel had to wait till 1pm for a two studio appartments with ajoining doors, although this worked out well in the end, after messing about for two days we felt we lost alot of out holiday, the staff in the bar area were great but there wasnt any entetainment for our teenagers, and not alot for the adults either, hotel a little out of the way from the main stretch, you do have use of the sister hotel over the road, which had more entertainment, but again catered for the younger child, although we had a great time the only reason id go back would be to see the staff..."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, sc, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by pickles
7 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Really great value for money

"Myself, husband and three children stayed at the Plazamar for a week and really enjoyed it, we had a 2 bedroom appartment and it was great, 2 kitchens 2 bathrooms 2 balconies and best of all 2 airconditioning units which we did not have to pay a separate fee for, this was a fantastic asset which made our holiday. The staff were very friendly especially Geraldine and Pedros. Plenty of entertainment for the kids. A really great holiday for a really great price."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, booked with Onthebeach
  • Advice: Great place for a great price
by Higgins gang
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

graet time

"stayed in de plazamar 4 1 week and had a brill time!! apts r very clean and all de staff r friendly and very helpful. def goin back next yr!!!!!"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by sinead
6 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Quite pleasant and clean

"I went to santa ponsa recently and I have to say it was brilliant. The apartments were clean the pool was huge,

and the staff were pleasant and freindly. The toasted ham and cheese sandwiches were lovely. The barman pedro was pleasant to deal with and always helped you out. The surrounding area was quiet so you get a good sleep after a hectic night. The entertainment was goot and across the road in the sister apartment the jutlandia also had entertainment there is also a bbq on mondays. Pleasant family resort.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Drinks inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Yes
by Santaponsa2010
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 36 »

Explore area

Map for Plazamar Closest airport: Palma de Mallorca (PMI) 14 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Plazamar
  • by cathym

    " Fats Sams american diner a great treat , Tonys lovely grub very disappointed with Mrs Murphys Kitchc "

  • by Caz3cazza

    " Food Is Very Nice ie .. Fat Sams, Crocodillo's, Sterazade, No 8 Bar And Grill. "

Similar hotels around Santa Ponsa

Hotels near Plazamar

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Plazamar?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Plazamar? Share your insight.

Plazamar is also called:

  • plazamar hotel santa ponsa

Address: Avda del Golf 4, Majorca 07180, Spain