ClubHotel Riu Tropicana

Cala Domingos, Majorca 07689, Spain
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

6.5  / 10
(25 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
7
Good
7
Average
3
Poor
3
Awful
5

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 7.5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 7/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for ClubHotel Riu Tropicana

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
Great relaxing Holiday

"A great relaxing holiday with fantastic weather. Good flight in and out with Thomson. Took about an hour and twenty mins to get to the hotel from Palma. Very friendly and helpful staff at the resort,rooms cleaned daily and properly, fantastic food with a good selection every meal time. Our room was quite close to the pool so can't complain about the walk though some rooms are set further back. Only downside to the room was that it didn't have a fridge. Provided entertainment for all ages during the day. Can't comment on evening entertainment as didn't stay to watch any. Beautiful clean beach/cove water as blue as it looks on the photographs. Great value for money a 3 star hotel so you do get what you pay for and possibly a little more. Would recommend this holiday without any hesitation."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Must book a trip to Palma City a most beautiful place to visit.
  • Good For: Beach
by Newton 3
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Worst place we have ever been to

"14th Aug to 28th Aug 2010

Our worst fears came through when we arrived at this hotel. It's not a hotel. It is made up of chalets across a very large area. More like a Butlins complex with everything dating back to the seventies. We were put into the furthest room away from reception (287) when we asked for a room near reception. Rooms were adequate but no air con/hair dryer and no fridge. The restaurant is covered with ants up the walls/floors. The sea was beautiful but worked out rather expensive for parasols and a brolly. The pool wasn't big enough for the complex and you had no chance of getting a bed unless you woke up early and put your towels down by 7 ish.

My worst concern was the hygiene of the pool. Please please please watch your children. Get them ear plugs. You could never smell the clorine and it wasn't very clean.

It became apparent that there was a problem with this pool. Kid after kid were getting ear infections from it.

Six reported in our 2nd week alone that we knew about. Unfortunately, my stepson started complaining of ear the night before we came home. He was up all night. Took him to the dr's at 8a.m. Gave him an injection but by the time we arrived at the airport at 9.30 the doctor wouldn't let him fly for at least 4 days. They should have arrived home on Sat 28th but didn't get back until Wed 1st via Frankfurt as there were no flights avail to Manchester until 6th Sept. Totally ruined the holday. We had to take him back to the doctors on Monday 6th Sept as he was still complaining of earache. The doctor was horrified. He had an abscess. The doctor is prepared to write a report to the travel company as someone will be left permantely damaged if this pool isn't sorted out soon. Still awaiting their response and it's nearly two week since I sent it. They probably wont respond but I am taking it further.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Wouldn't recommend to anyone
by L & C from Stockport
2 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great for families.

"Party of 6, grandparents,parents ,5 year old, 4 month old. all had a great time, our bungalows were within close proximity to all amenities , some on the outskirts of complex were a fair walk away, food was good and varied, all staff , maids, waiters, bar, entertainment,pool, chefs, were friendly ,polite and very helpful, beach and surrounding areas were clean and well maintained, only slight drawback was only access to restaurant and terrace was via steps which meant having to carry buggy/pram up 40 steps or leave it at the bottom. Good for youngsters as there is no traffic and lots of grass areas outside bungalows to play on, all in all would definitely return ."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Excellent family venue
  • Good For: Beach
by Potter
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The tropicana riu was ok

"The beach was lovely,the bar made delicious drinks, the breakfast was nice but the only problem i had was that in the cafe, everyday there would be the same junk food on the hot counter. Burgers, hot dogs,fried bread with melted cheese and chips. The rooms were nice but when i walked bare footed, my feet were dirty from the floor. The swimming pool was great and then there was the bar just by the grass area and swimming pool if you needed a drink. Very good if you were unlimited so you don't have to pay. The weather was lovely and cool to get a tan. Apart from the problems, I must say, it was one of the best holidays i've had yet. :)"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Very nice, my sister might be moving there!
  • Good For: Beach
by StavintonGirl
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent

"We had a fantastic holiday at Riu Club Tropicana. The hotel fulfilled all of our expectations and the service was excellent. On arrival we were greeted by the very friendly and helpful reception staff who provided us with all necessary information about the hotel and its facilities. The minibus waited for us outside and brought us and our suitcases to our hotel room. As our plane was four hours delayed we arrived at the hotel just after midnight, but we still had the opportunity to wine and dine in the restaurant after a long and exhausting day.

The food was excellent at all times and we always had a great variety of food and drink to choose from. The waiters were exceptionally helpful and friendly and very eager to make our stay in the restaurant as pleasant as possible.

The hotel room is everything you can expect from a 3*plus hotel. The room service is exemplary and our rooms have been cleaned to a very good standard every day. Unfortunately the rooms don’t have air conditioning, but that didn’t make our stay less pleasant.

The entertainment at the hotel is excellent for kids and adults. The kids can join the Mini Club every day and will draw, paint, perform, dance etc. We don’t have kids ourselves, but we saw them walking around from time to time having great fun. Every evening we had the chance to watch the shows performed by the Riu staff themselves or external entertainers. We always had a great laugh and the acts translated the lines of the show in 5 different languages, so that every nationality present was able to understand everything.

The beach situated right by the Hotel is absolutely fabulous and never overcrowded. The water and the beach are very clean and the scenery is breath taking. Right from the beach one can walk over a rocky path to the commercial centre of Calas de Mallorca. To be fair this way is not ideal for people with mobility problems, but everyone else will be able to access the town within 10 minutes.

During our stay we played Mini Golf, table tennis and tennis. These are only some of many facilities that the hotel has to offer, which are included in the all inclusive pack.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay at Riu Club Tropicana and would definitely come again anytime. I am surprised by some of the negative reviews I have read, because you get everything you can expect for your money. If you want any more than this you should consider booking a holiday at a four star hotel at least.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by binkylinky
9 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

FANTASTIC

"Fantastic time here. Would highly recommend for a quiet break away from everything. Pool is fab easy to get a sun bed - for once on holiday. Read reviews and yes there is a walk to many of the rooms but you have the Minibus running round the resort from the crack of dawn until midnight. Food was good and varied, missed my cups of tea though. Various activities on during the day with very pleasant staff. Already planning holiday for next year here.

Also to note the beach isn't linked with the hotel and it costs to hire a sunbed there.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by missyr85
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Would gladly go back tomorrow!

"My family and have been to Club tropicana in the 90's twice it changed then to only TUI. It is now available to everyone. I fly from Bristol which was a pleasant flight not to boring.

On arrival

1st impressions very good -

Champagne reception on arrival.

Very friendly staff.

Receptionist are fluent in many languages.

Most of the hotel weren't english they tended to be mainly spanish who come from a long weekend, french, german and italian. But the entertainment staff were excellent they performed in English but introduced it in 5 different languages. The shows in the night are not to be missed..

At the bar you had to make eye contact at the bar as many other people are rude and will push in, the bar staff really were friendly i got to know a few of them and once you know them then start to remember what you ordered. If you tip about 2/3 euros or more then that will make getting drinks easier, they will ring a cows bell when you ring.

The pool was very clean and there was ways of getting a sunlounger you just have to get up before 9/10, but breakfast starts at 7.30 till 10 so you should be up.

The Beach was beautifull but it was 10.50 euros for use of 2 sunloungers and umbrella and if go across to the next beach there are pedalows with slides for hire, also on your way round by sea there is a cave and can go in which has a hidden beach.

Food was good also at a high quality but remember it is only a 3*.

Rooms are nice lovely shower and the maids change the beds regularly.

After reading other reviews i am wondering weather some of the people even went to right hotel.

It was worth its money!!!
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by domdavis
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

My mother & I have only just...

"My mother & I have only just returned from a week spent in this hotel. We only booked it because it is a RIU & my mother has had terrific holidays before in their hotels. However, this was a disappointment from the minute we saw the entrance and the incredibly long drive to the reception, pool & beach. We were allocated a room in a single storey chalet near the entrance to the site and, upon arrival, had to drag our suitcases up the hill from the reception area to our accommodation (20 minutes). We could have got the hotel courtesy bus, but were told that the walk would only be around 3-4 minutes and the bus didn't stick to a specific schedule. Although the room was basic (ie - no air conditioning, fridge or hairdryer etc) it was clean, but with a view of the back of another chalet. We went for dinner on the first night and the head waiter allocated us a table with some other Brits - we were told that this would be our table for the rest of the holiday. The food wasn't great and the restaurant layout didn't make sense at all - it was on two levels and wasn't grouped in a way that made sense (eg - the butter was on one level, with the toaster in another section and brown bread at the other end of the restaurant). We had been allocated the earlier dinner sitting (6pm-6.45pm) but once we'd finished, we would have had to wait until 10pm for the entertainment to begin (with nothing else to do & nowhere to sit in the interim, as seats on the terrace area were always taken when we came out), so we ended up walking back up to the room at around 7pm most nights. It rained pretty much every day we were there, which wasn't the hotels fault, but because our room was so far away from everything, it made it really inconvenient. As mentioned in another review, because we were out in the sticks, the only way to get to Calas centre was to climb over the rocks by the sea - not great for the less mobile. We could have got a taxi but it would have cost around 10 Euros, and the centre didn't look particularly nice anyway. In all, a real disappointment and not a hotel we'll be visiting again."

by K Mellor
3 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

this hotel was the worst i have ever...

"this hotel was the worst i have ever stayed in thompsons were brilliant, just such a shame about the place there was a about a 10 min walk to get to your room from reception up a huge hill, then if you wanted to go to town there was a 15 min walk over rocky hills near the sea but if it was at night you had to get a 10 euro taxi there then 10 euro taxi back, the food in the hotel was awful we had to sit with another couple as there werent enough tables which is ridiculous, over all rubbish holiday and i cant believe thompsons would go here."

by Evans
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1st...

"ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

1st impressions very good

* champagne reception on arrival

* very friendly staff.

next morning things were awfull.

* staff very rude to english customers. only 1% of the hotel were english the rest where french, german and italian.

* could not get drink from the bar staff ignored you and served everyone around you untill you got annoyed with them.

* drinks were very watered down and ager only served in wine glasses.

* pool was not very clean and there was no way you could get a sunlounger at any time unless you reserved it at 2 in the morning.

* beach was beautifull but it was 10.50 euros for use of 2 sunloungers and umbrella

* food was awfull very repetetive and also food for tea was warmed up again for dinner the next day.

* snack bar was awfull

* entertainment was terrible staff could not speak english so you it was all in foreign.

* rooms were spacious and ok but there was a bad infestation of ants they climbed all over the bed and walls and there was no air con just a very noisy fan that kept you up all night.

* maids changed our beds once during the whole week we were there.

* thomson staff were awfull not helpfull in the slightest and made it clear that they did not want to be there.

Only plus side was the PIRATES ADVENTURE trip we did which was absolutely fantastic the best night out we had

Also in the resort of calas the restaurant of D'alfil was fantastic beautiful food and very cheap.

To end DO NOT GO THERE !! IF YOU ARE ALREADY BOOKED TO GO CHANGE HOTELS BECAUSE I WOULD NOT GO AGAIN IF IT WERE FREE AND I WAS PAID TO GO!!!
"

by A Johnson
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

I thought that the holiday and the...

"I thought that the holiday and the weather was amazing, but it rained once while we were there, and we had to sit in our room the entire day. I think there should be more entertainment for teenagers too.

When the weather was good, we had loads of varieties of things to do, i.e (Swimming pool, Beach, Ping pong) etc.

However the staff are very friendly, and all the people around us, no problem there, but if I was to go back, then I would like there to be a bit more entertainment, and things to do for teenagers.
"

by A Rodham
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Having read the other reviews on this...

"Having read the other reviews on this hotel I can only think they must have the wrong hotel.

I have been there 5 times since the early 90s and it’s changed a bit each time but is still the best holiday hotel ever. It’s now all inclusive and changed from Belhaven to Riu but the Tropicana is still great.

My kids loved it when they were small, bigger and now at 23 my daughter loved it again. Other daughter 20 is going next year with her children and us.

The food does cater for all nationalities but there is so much choice and loads of it "even burgers and pizza every day in the beach bar if that’s all you like”.

True if you want a Blackpool in the sun with sausage and chips, English pub and big screen footie in an only English hotel then it’s not for you and you're not for me.

Good mix of UK, French, German, Spanish, Belgian, Dutch holiday makers. I speak hardly any french, german or Spanish but most speak some English and the friendly staff speak all so multinational activities are no problem.

The grounds are spacious and well set out the staff at all levels friendly. I honestly do not see how the service could be better anywhere and the cleanliness is top notch.

The staff take such pride in their work. It’s so nice to go out with and sit and chat with holiday makers from other countries.

Maybe I'll see you there because we'll be back time and again Thank you Riu Tropicana and staff and Thomson too.
"

by R G Carter
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

1 2 3 »

Explore area

Map for ClubHotel Riu Tropicana Closest airport: Palma de Mallorca (PMI) 30 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for ClubHotel Riu Tropicana
  • by domdavis@mac.com

    " A boat trip to Porto Cristo was very enjoyable it was on a glass bottom boat or catamrang. "

  • by missyr85

    " Not great for people with mobility problems. "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " Lovely harbour with some amazing boats and shops are good but look around for the bargains. "

Similar hotels around Calas De Mallorca

Hotels near ClubHotel Riu Tropicana

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own ClubHotel Riu Tropicana?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at ClubHotel Riu Tropicana? Share your insight.

ClubHotel Riu Tropicana is also called:

  • clubhotel riu tropicana hotel

Address: Cala Domingos, Majorca 07689, Spain