Tropicana Oludeniz Hotel

Dalaman, Olu Deniz, Turkey
4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

6.5  / 10
(38 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
16
Good
6
Average
3
Poor
2
Awful
11

Rating by feature

Room: 6.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Tropicana Oludeniz Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
beautiful,clean familyhotel

"stayed at this hotel from 18-28 august.Beautiful location,hotel grounds stunning.hotel rooms basic but spotless,cleaned everyday.Avoid attic rooms no windows or balcony,only skylight.Food very good,all Turkish, beautifully presented.Ideal for couples or families with young children.Free shuttle bus to SeaHorse beach, definately worth a visit.Would definately go back to this hotel again."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: safe,secure and friendly. lovely pool area
  • Good For: Beach
by martin andrews
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

hisaronu

"we will be going back to hisaronu yet again this year(2011)stayng in the same hotel The Tumen where Charlia and his son Adam plus the staff make your stay the best.

The Temen is steps away from the taxi rank plus the local bus or Dolmus which for a few lira will take you to the beach of Ole Deniz or into Fethiye which has many bars and great eating out places.I can recommend the Melodi Bar for a cold drink and a snack or a fab meal,Selma & figos will make you more than welcome and before long they become life tme friends.My wife and I have known them for 12 plus years.

We are the Coventry kids who love Turkey as our second home.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, Breakfast Included, Booked Independently
  • Advice: a bit od paradise
by Bazza
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

go to a slum in blackpool

"As the title says,stay away from this [--] of a place,our room view a wall(not kidding),flat beer,drank vodka straight all night and stayed sober,food was ok for a couple of nights but it never changes also get there early as its not topped up much,or spend a few quid and go to Captain hooks resturant brill food there,staff very unpleasent,small rooms,it rained for a few hours and the room down from me was flooded out,so was the room they called the gym.

The resort was nice along with the beach,i will go back to olu deniz again in a few years time and try to enjoy myself but def not at this gaff.

Just back from blackpool stayed in a manky b&b and it reminded me of tropicana
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2007, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Activities: captain hooks resturant,try the handgliding which you can see from tropicana
  • Good For: Beach
by hibernian07
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Tropicana Trouble

"We went to the Tropicana Sep 2008 and were messed about something horrible with the rooms. We wound up paying an extra £150 for a room we had already paid extra for. However we did enjoy the holiday after the room was sorted so, like fools, we decided to give them the benefit of the doubt and book again for the same time this year. Not wanting to be caught out again we actually had it specified on our booking form that we were returning guests, had booked a room with a balcony and garden view and also that my wife was diabetic/asthmatic. We arrived about 6 in the evening Saturday and were given a great welcome by the manager - " I am so glad you have chosen to return to us - however we have a problem with your room - it will not be available until Monday". I could not bloody believe it and was ready to explode. He saw what was likely to happen and tried calming us down as I shoved our booking note under his nose. Absolutely seething, we were transported to the Karbel, only 100 yds away. It then took the Karbel 5 attempts to get us into a room - but eventually we were settled but still had to go to the Tropicana for our meals. On the Monday we trotted back to the Tropicana with our suitcases, left them in reception after being assured our room would be ready middayish, and strolled off into Fethiye. When we returned we had a room - but oddly not a 1st floor with balcony as specified but a ground floor 'end of terrace'. We only accepted this because there were no rooms above or below and only one to the side so it would be relatively quiet. The food at the Tropicana is Turkish - which we are more than happy with - we don't go on holiday to have English food. Mealtimes were christened 'sloptime' by the majority of the Brits there tho. Basically, a combination of Beef, Chicken or Fish served with rice or pasta (sometimes rice and pasta mixed - weird) and generally a potato side of chips or boiled etc. Most of the main dishes were served in a rich sauce (hence sloptime) and there was always a very very good salad bar covering just about everything as well as a good desert selection ranging from Baclava to ice cream to gateaux to assorted fruit. As far as we are concerned the food was good quality, always hot although it could get a bit repetetive. If you want top spec food and massive choice, pay the £500 pp extra and go to Lykia World. Entertainment is a bit hit and miss - the best being the Turkish night (which also reflects in the restaurant on that evening with chicken kebabs being cooked on the balcony - as good as any I paid for while strolling around). The bar area is adequate although seating can be a problem on entertainment nights with a lot of people eating in shifts to keep their table. The bar staff are generally a laugh but they DO LIKE THEIR TURKISH MUSIC and are not overly receptive to requests. Also the volume tends to increase as the night wears on to the point where you really do have to shout to be heard. Now, we go near the season end to avoid most of the families with noisy kids etc and so by then the staff are getting a bit jaded. Be aware that you cannot get a decent brandy in Turkey unless you are prepared to pay a lot of money - what you tend to get is Istanblu - a brandy flavoured VODKA. The bar is supposed to stay open till 2 a.m. and you have to pay exhorbitant prices after midnight - not that you get a chance to as the bar is cleared and all bottles removed within about 15 mins. If you want more drinks then its pretty clear that you have to head to the main drag and risk the Kareoke and football (yuck!!) The 'private' beach this season is the Seahorse - which is not private but is a damn sight better than the private one shared with Sun City last year - there appears to have been a bit of trouble tween the two hotels as last year they were 'sister' but this year the gate between is locked and Sun City never mentioned. The Seahorse is, in my view, the better of the three main beaches on the lagoon although I recommend walking down early rather than waiting for the free bus - the walk only takes about 20 mins. Once again, despite the rooms cock up (and we were not the only ones - at least 7 other British parties were shunted to different hotels for a few days, as well as some Germans) we did enjoy the stay. Would we book the Tropicana again - NOT ON YOUR LIFE - nice hotel, decent food, good location basic but comfortable accomodation but a crap booking service and useless management."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by canker
6 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic hotel!

"I was a bit apprehensive about this hotel, with the feedback on the website. However, I was more then happy with the hotel.

We were in the attic room, which was not as bad as I thought. A bit troublesome with the cases but that was about it.

The only negative had to be the breakfast for me, but that was personal preference - im not too keen on cheese etc for brekkie.

The staff and facilities were amazing, and we've already re-booked for next year.

We have been to many holiday resorts, but this is heads and shoulders above the rest.

Ideal for the young and old as we are 26 and 30 years of age.

10/10 - can't wait to come back next year xxx
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Miss McIsaac & Mr Bertram
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

You get what you pay for.

"In all fairness, the hotel wasn't horrible but it certainly wasn't great. I went back in 2007 so it's probably been changed. Most of the members of staff were quite rude, It was only the receptionist that actually tried. The mananger was a P****. Well what we saw of him anyway, he wasn't often there. Also, On our first day there the Germans were moaning because me and my brother were jumping in the pool, It got so much for them that they actually complained and nearly got us banned from the pool. There isn't much there, Theres a pool and Table Tennis, so I don't recommend it for Teenagers. On our 3rd night in the hotel we had very bad torential rain and our room got flooded (We were in the basement part of the hotel) Me and my parents shared one room and my 2 brothers shared another, And if it wasn't for them, We would of slept right through it. Most of our stuff which was on lower level got ruined, encluding portobal games consoles, books, dvds, clothes etc etc. Not to mention it was drain/sewage water. Obv course it wasn't the hotels fault, but they could of at least helped, they were joking about the hole thing, but as always the only one who helped was the receptionist. They moved us to a new hotel which was like OH MY GOD. It was basically a pallace, but I won't say too much.

On food, You had a lot to choose from, and it was all lovely. They did the best they could to make sure we had a nice every meal. So no faults on that.

Although from the flood which ruined our first week, We had a lovely stay in the time we stayed at the Hotel Tropicana, and thankyou receptionist!! :)
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2007, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Cannot fault Olu Deniz itself, Lovely place, going again this year! I'd reccomend the Blue Lagoon!
by 13204x
5 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Hotel

"I would just like to put peoples mind at rest who have read bad reviews about this Hotel. I stayed here with my Wife and 2 Daughters (aged 17 and 19) and have to say we all thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. The hotel was clean and friendly, and relaxed atmosphere, food was good and presented well. We had a basement apartment room, which at first did not look too appealing, but was one of the coolest in the hotel complex. The Girls were only 5 minutes walk away from all the music bars and clubs, so there was no worry about them having to travel back to hotel in taxis at 3am. Would definateley go back, as would my Daughters. Also make use of the free shuttle bus to private beach where you wont have to pay for sunbeds and umbrellas. Had a turkish massage at hotel which I also recommend."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Activities: private beach attached to Hotel Tropicana
  • Good For: Beach
by ian_dalrymple
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic Holiday

"Please do not be put off by the bad reviews on this site as I was. I have recently returned from a week at the Tropicana with my sister, mum and mother in law and we all had a fab time. Initially we were put in a downstairs room which we were not happy with because it was dark and didn’t have a balcony so we complained to the hotel and to our rep who offered us a family room in 2 days time. Once the two days came we had actually gotten used to our room and quite liked it as we realised these were the coolest rooms in the hotel but we moved anyway as we felt we should seeing as the hotel and the Olympic rep had been so helpful. The family room was very nice but we struggled sharing a shower between 4 and it wasn’t as cool as the basement room and in the end we didn’t even use our balcony! So, if you do get put in a basement room it really isn’t so bad.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and the food very nice, although there wasn’t a huge selection there was always something for everyone and every day there was so much fresh salad and nice bread if you didn’t fancy any of the hot stuff. Breakfast was probably the least appealing, but this is not unusual abroad, but most days there were fresh omelettes being cooked and things like boiled eggs/scrambled eggs and toast. The people that have criticised the food obviously eat junk at home.

The staff in the hotel were lovely and worked so hard. Our waiter, Tugay was lovely, as were the reception staff and the bar staff. Also, our Olympic rep Seville was brilliant and so helpful.

I would recommend if you do stay here to request a first floor room with a balcony. There are some restrictions on what drinks you can have all inclusive, i.e. cocktails and imported spirits are extra, but I have found this in many all inclusive hotels before. I would probably say the hotel is 3+ star, not a 4 star but nevertheless, very good value for money and a lovely place to stay.

The resort itself was very nice, the hotel is very well located and do take advantage of the free shuttle bus that takes you to the beautiful lagoon from the hotel free of charge. I am very well travelled and would definitely return to this hotel.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Activities: the lagoon, 12 island boat cruise & a good night out in Hissaranou!
by hayley catlow
8 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant holiday

"Stayed at the Tropicana and had a fabulous time.The rooms were lovely and very clean.So what if they were small, they're only to sleep in! The food was excellant and something for everybody to enjoy. The staff were very friendly and helpful! Their English was very good and we had lots of fun with them.They could'nt do enough for you!They had entertainment on twice a week and at night they would put on a fire in the bar area to keep you warm as it was cooler! Everyone we met in the hotel all enjoyed their stay there.They said the same as us, that it was a place you could relax and unwind at. We did go next door to"Sun City" for a look,but found it too noisy and big!We will definately go back and very soon. We did a few excursions and all worthwhile. The turkish bath followed by a body massage,brilliant! We went quadbiking and had a fabulous time.Husband and daughter went paragliding and would do it again! Mudbath very muddy but fun! Lots on for you to do and enjoy.A holiday is what you make of it! Reading all the negative reports about the "Tropicana" i find it hard to believe and disagree with all of them!"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2008, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Beautiful resort with lots to do!
  • Activities: Quadbiking, paragliding, turkish bath, mud bath, and a stunning beach!
  • Good For: Beach
by Scott family
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Cheap

"This hotel was not good for teenagers or children. No Kids Club, No animation team. Staff extremely rude Food extremely poor quality Same dishes all the time.If you fancy going to a cementry for your holiday then this is the place. Never Ever again will l stay at this hotel. better save your money and go to a proper hotel max 4 star. This hotel is rated as a 1 star. Been to olu deniz a number of times and stayed at the OLU DENIZ RESORT HOTEL but could not get in there as they were completely booked. Going to Bodron in Aug 09

The good thing is that this hotel is close to all and beach
"

  • Holiday details: May 2008, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Loverboy
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fire Safelty

"In December of last year my friend & I booked a holiday through Global Travel. We booked to go 9th June,2008 to 17th June 2008. 1 week before we travelled our final Invoice arrived on it was written "Roof Room", on our original booking no mention of this was made. Now this room did not have a window, can you believe that, it only had a sky light, there was no escape route if there was a fire. The stairs leading to the Roof Room were the same width as step ladder the frame was metal. the steps wooden. The other rooms in the hotel were not much better. The lower ground floor rooms had a view of a wall, the middle rooms were the best, all rooms were very cramped. In all my years of travel,33in all, I have never stayed in such a terrible room. The food in the hotel restaurant was very mundane, luckily we were able to eat in the adjoining Hotel, Sun City, otherwise we would have had to eat elsewhere as other guests,indeed, had to. The staff were miserable and the hotel manager was rude and refused to move us, saying we had booked an economy room, who in their right mind would booked a Attic Room? We also offered to pay extra.The young man at reception told us that last year, 2007, guests had refused to stay in the Roof Room and had,in fact,been moved to other hotels, a practice this year they were not doing, so you see Global Travel, although aware that customers were not happy were still selling the rooms this year-so my advice is if you have booked with Global Travel, double check what type of room you have. The best part of the Hotel was the swimming pool. The resort is a bit too commercialized for me and the beach was pebbles only and the sea had a deep drop which is dangerous for children and the so called famous Blue Lagoon was far to crowded. Turkish men are rather mostly rude or very letchy."

by l finley
2 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Do not go to Tropicana Olu Deniz!

"Do not go to the Tropicana please read!!

My fiancé and I decided to book a nice relaxing holiday, as throughout the past year have been through a lot... we looked around and saw Olu Deniz in Turkey looked gorgeous! We booked all inclusive through teletext, and the agent said the hotel had really good reviews and for a last minute deal thought ok we'll give it a try.

Where do we start?????

We paid just over £1000 for a last minute deal, and thought for a 4 star was ok.. however the Tropicana is NOT a 4 star…. A 1 / 2 star maybe? Probably not even that!

The food was awful… never different…think they changed the food twice in the 10 days we were there. Every all inclusive we have been to, the drinks have been the best part… but here the bar shuts at 12am… you cannot buy another drink, that’s it the bar is shut!goodnight! The staff will not let you get another drink until you have finished your previous drink, even with ¾ of it gone! It is a joke! Tension had built throughout the holiday and one evening, my fiancé went to the bar asking for drinks for our table… it was 11:50, and they said the bar was closed… the bar man was drunk, and after abusive language through a glass bottle at my fiancé, luckily it hit the tree, and ran round trying to throw punches at him!! Luckily I wasn’t there, after all the stress we have been through we did not need a rude Turkish **** ruining our holiday! The manager was laughing…so who could we report to!! No-one…we had no reps either!

To cut a long story short, the cleaners stole cigarettes from our room, reported it, but were told to look at the small print “ we recommend you pay for a small deposit box, as anything stolen from your room, is not our responsibility” how could we fit 200 B&H in a safety deposit box…we walked away in the end.. yet again furious!

The rooms are so basic...its not a hotel, its more like apartments! No hotel ive ever been too! The photos really are an illusion, it is nothing like that!

However:

I would like to add Olu Deniz as a resort was beautiful, outside the hotel people couldn’t do enough for you. Everything is so close by, so make sure you take extra spending money for the excursions, these are definitely worth it!

Please do not go to the Tropicana, spread the word!!
"

by willskendall
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Explore area

Map for Tropicana Oludeniz Hotel Closest airport: Dalaman (DLM) 21.7 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Tropicana Oludeniz Hotel
  • by canker

    " Harrys Bar in Hisaronu - Duck Pond in Fethiye - Saklikent trip "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " Now turning into Blackpool - football, Kareoke bars and drunken Brits everywhere "

Similar hotels around Olu Deniz

Hotels near Tropicana Oludeniz Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Tropicana Oludeniz Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Tropicana Oludeniz Hotel? Share your insight.

Tropicana Oludeniz Hotel is also called:

  • oludeniz tropicana hotel
  • tropicana hotel oludeniz

Address: Dalaman, Olu Deniz, Turkey