Pentewan Sands Holiday Park

B3273 5 miles south of St Austell, St Austell PL26 6BT, United Kingdom
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(15 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
8
Good
3
Average
3
Poor
0
Awful
1

Rating by feature

Room: 8.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 6.5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 9.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
Mr and Mrs Randell from Mid Sussex

"My husband and I have been staying at Pentewan Sands for the last 10 years. We have found the site very clean. The site shop is adequate for our needs, a little bit pricy but this is the norm. We holiday here in our motor home when the children are all back to school in September. We also have a problem in high season with balls hitting our motor home and disrespectful and rude children. We love the location, accessible route to Mevvy and other areas with a reliable bus service outside the entrance. We will continue to holiday on this site as we love Cornwall and Pentewan. The weather is not always that good but hey this is the U.K. T.V. reception is poor on parts of the site unless you have state of the art equipment for rainy days. The Driftwood bistro has lovely food that you can eat with your feet in the sand in the sheltered enclosure."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Lots of lovely places to visit ,all not too far away. Visit the Lavender Pillow in Mevvy for alternative gifts.
  • Good For: Beach
by Polly Randell
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Not as good as it used to be!

"My family and I have holidayed at Pentewan Sands with a touring caravan, for over 35 years.

It is a stunning location with fantastic walking, cycling and water sports. We have never really used the clubhouse, but enjoyed using the outside pool area when the weather permitted. The new clubhouse is a stunning building with fantastic panoramic views, but I have to say it is a bit soul less. I think the owners are struggling to cater for the market that they serve. They have tried to have an upmarket restaurant, with prices to match, and have limited the entertainment out of season. In saying that, the indoor pool area and gym are a welcome addition.

With regard to the touring pitches, we usually try to stay on the front row to maximise the wonderful views, but with regret, after a couple of nightmare half term breaks at the site, will only return out of school holiday time.

During peak time you can expect the pitches to be filled to their boundaries, with cars, boats, inflatables, mini tents, in fact everything bar the kitchen sink! To make this worse, the people on these pitches cordan them off with windbreaks, so it is impossible to walk through their pitch to the beach, consequently if you happen to be an outfit without so much clobber, you then suffer everyman and his dog marching across your pitch! There needs to be a designated access path to the beach for sure. If you happen to stay on the front row of G field, please also be aware that there is a small area of grass in front of these pitches. We had teenage boys kicking a hard football in front of our new caravan, and hitting it, when challenged we did not get an apology, just an ignorant response that if we had a front row pitch that is what we should expect. They then went on to set up a cricket game directly outside our caravan in defiance! Unfortunately, there seems to be more of this element of person at the site. You will also expect a lot of noise from kids roaming the site at night and their parents getting plastered, which does not seem to have a cut off point.

In summary, I would recommend this site out of season only.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, caravan, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Stay out of season, explore the fantastic coastline and indeed countryside also.
  • Good For: Beach
by old timer
5 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Disapointed.?

"Have been on holliday's to pentewan for many years and my family.in static vans.Love the site but not happy with changes.the new beach cafe is very good but do miss the open air pool.the bar @ resturant downstairs.@ nightly bingo.also access to beach restricted by pitches on sea front by private campers.Will be looking at different site's next year.so goodbuy Pentewan and thankyou for past hollidays."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: change managment
  • Good For: Beach
by mole
5 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

holidays 2008

"just been looking at pentewan for next years holidays,

i,ve got to say this was one of the best campsites we,ve stayed on,and we,ve tried a few!

beach was fantastic shop and club house where more than adequate for what we needed,

all in all thouroughly recommended

andrew
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2008, static caravan, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by camperboy
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great holiday

"We spent first week of school holidays here, were surprised we had to pay same rate for non-hook up as the neighbouring hook-up pitches, I did query this but was told that was the price and that's it. Location and proximity to beach is excellent, loads to do, took us 30 seconds to walk to beach, the children loved it and the loved it.Seahorse club food was lovely but not a great atmosphere in there, they need some prints on the walls and background music, so we ate there a couple of times and left by 8pm. Oh and a great tip is take all your food, the supermarket prices are horrendous or get a local famous supermarket to deliver to your caravan as lots of caravaners did. We will definately be back."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, rouring caravan, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by The Mcs.
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

best holiday ever

"we love it so much next year will be our 7th time cant wait go back we go with friend and we made loads of friend there to everone goes back year after year the beach is the best in cornwall and there is always something to do or to go out and about we take our little one with us she never stopped talking about it from comeing home she is 4 and loves it on her bike just rideing around and the park she was also in the sea alot the club is good and the beach house is new and brill we all cant wait to go back more of us going next year come on july 2012"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, touring caravan, Booked Independently
  • Advice: just relax
  • Good For: Beach
by kathycatch
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

I've been here for 3 yaers in a row and its brillaint!

"In 13 days im going to pentewan Sands again and im very excited because every moment I've been there has been fantastic! I was staying there for two weeks and last year was the first time I've ever slept in a tent. If your still looking for a holiday then you should definately go to Pentewan sands. Soem people might not reccommed it as brilliant but to me it was the best campsite I've ever been too. Every year it has been a joyful time on the beach,in the pool, swimming in the sea, making sand castles and much much more. There is a good shop which has goggles, food and drinks and even Sweets which your kids will love. There all at a very cheap price too. My daughter got lots of bubble gum there which only costed 5 pence!!"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks
by PinkLady23
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant family holiday

"Have just returned from a 2 week holiday at Pentewan having had a brilliant holiday. We stayed in a holiday home in a lovely quiet part of the park and really can't fault anything. The caravan had everything you need, very comfortable and clean. It was a little cool on a couple of nights but the caravan was cosy and warm with the fire on (a contrast to last year as I remember it being too warm!!) The shower was fab. We stayed here last year but didn't really use the site facilities much as we were out most of the time and the weather was too fab to use inside facilities, however this year was a little different and we spent more time on the site. Our children, 5 and 3, loved the pool and soft play and loved going to the kids disco on an evening. The entertainers were great and the entertainment/acts from 9.30pm sounded really good from the descriptions, although it was a little too late for us with the children - maybe next year! We ate in the Seahorse several times and we thought it was really good and would recommend it. The staff were all very friendly. The sand is a little more coarse than other beaches but it really is a beautiful beach and didn't stop us from playing on it. There's plenty to see and do in the area but we had a great time just being on the site, using the pool or beach. Nearby Mevagissey is very picturesque but unfortunately young children don't appreciate just sitting round the harbour admiring the view! Our daughter was very upset to leave Pentewan and we've had to promise to return next year - which hopefully we will do."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, self catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Priceburn
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We all loved it

"We stayed at Pentewan Whitsun week. This was our real summer holiday as a family. Mum dad 3 kids 11,5 & 3. My criterea when booking our holiday was a static, in close proximity to the beach, something for to keep all the kids happy in case it rained, within closed proximity of all amenities and some easy walking to burn off some of the kids energy.

Pentewan not only delivered, but exceded my expectations. The new sea horse centre had excellent facilities swimming pools and soft play. I could sit read a paper and while my youngest were in soft play. My eldest was on the beach with the kidz club playing rounders. The beach was perfect, it wasn't brilliantly hot, but an 11 year old with a new body suit and belly board found it fine.

The little one loved the kidz disco and entertainers. Alex, Georgie and Pete were very down to earth and made us all feel welcome

The static was ideal, the kids wanted to move into one until they realised they couldn't fit all there toys in. 5 of us slept in 2 bedroom easily and we were in the cheapest one. Everything was provided very clean and tidy. Didn't even have to take sheets, toilet roll or washing up clothe.

The food wasn't the cheapest in the sea horse, but we expected that. The one site shop had everything, but ASDA was only a few miles up the road so we got all our basics.

The walk to Mevagissey was completed in sandals and trainers, with a few odd looks from serious hikers, but my 3 year old made it there and back in an afternoon.

TO sum up I would highly recommend Pentewan Sands. It was a very special holiday for us and we have some great memories.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2011, Static, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Stock up on groceries before ariving
by woodston
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Buyer Beware !!!

"My wife and I travelled down from Manchester to stay in a lovely caravan at Pentewan Sands from the middle of May 2011 for just a week. Lets deal with the positives first:

Great location - within a short walk to the beach - caravan very well appointed, modern, well maintained and equipped, all the usual amenities - pot, pans, microwave, fabulous power shower Staff very friendly and attentive. Easy reach of supermarkets, Truro, Falmouth, Padstow, Port Isaac etc etc.

Now the negatives:

The company boast this fabulous "Sea Horse" entertainment centre, (which was a considered attraction for us)which I understand was completed last year. Whilst we were there, entertainment was little more than "church hall bingo" style "quiz nights." We never witnessed any proper "live entertainment" during our stay and as my wife and I are musicians,we certainly knew the difference.If dining and being entertained a couple of nights per week is not your thing, then it doesn't really matter. But when the weather is very unpredictable (as it was, very blustery and wet) and perhaps you've spent a long day exploring and don't feel like cooking, then it would have been nice to occasionally stroll down to this "new" complex to relax, perhaps a bite to eat, watch a show and meet new friends, as brochures suggested. Nowhere on the booking form does it explicitly say when certain amenities will or won't be available. When we approached the staff about this, they were very sympathetic, but they suggested that all this was to "kick in" the week later, Whitsun. Also please be aware that there is virtually no mobile phone signal (calls in or out) anywhere within the complex with the exception of on the beach and on the Sea Horse roof top. If there is an emergency at home, the likelyhood is you won't know about it until the following morning when you're out and about and receiving an adequate signal. All in all,we were'nt prepared to throw any more money at this holiday and decided to leave for home, a day early. To summarize, you need to make sure which attractions/facilities will be available to you during your stay, you need to check dates and get Pentewan to confirm in writing what to expect before you pay for your holiday!!
"

  • Holiday details: May 2011, Caravan Park, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Don't book this online - speak to the Caravan Park to be sure what you can expect from them
by encore
5 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

touring caravan pentewan sands

"Hello been coming to pentewan sands for seven years, used all facilites to include thier from row on the beach caravan pitches.

Until 2010 you could not of found a better family campsite in britian.

2010 demolished the heart and soul of the site (club house, downstairs bar/cafe and outside pool) to be replaced with what i would call a canteen what they state on website purpose built for weddings. absolutly nothing at all for teenages to do of an evening and if there is a wedding residents are shut out of bar (canteen).

pentewan sands take your money and run do not provide facilites for families to enjoy holidays there anymore.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2011, touring caravan, Booked Independently
  • Advice: eden project
  • Good For: Beach
by mjh
1 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We stayed for a week in a basic...

"We stayed for a week in a basic caravan (cheapest) and it was lovely. Very clean, heaters in all the rooms (it was a little chilly because we had quite a bit of rain while we were there), microwave. The park itself is in a lovely location very picturesque. There was a family atmosphere about the place - we felt very safe. The staff were very friendly in reception and the shop which is very well stocked. We didn't use the clubhouse we used to sit in the beer garden at The Ship Inn in Pentewan Village (5 minutes over the bridge) our children made some little friends to play with and the entire place just felt very safe. We visited Mevagissey and Charlestown which are nearby and also took a trip to Lizard Point - although there isn't much there we had a lovely cornish cream tea in the little cafe. We visited the Seal Sanctuary at Gweek which I thought was very expensive - three tanks full of seals and thats about it for £30!

To sum up Pentewan Sands is a lovely safe family holiday park the only reason I haven't given it a 10 is because the actual beach is very gritty and we had to buy little swim shoes for the kids because it hurt their feet!

Highly recommended!!
"

by K Staples
8 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Pentewan Sands Holiday Park Closest airport: Newquay (NQY) 14 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
  • by PinkLady23

    " The Club has got comedians,singers and lots of other things every night and sometimes even magicians that everyone will enjoy! "

  • by The Mcs.

    " take your own food, visit Eden project and Mevagissy, "

Similar hotels around St Austell

Hotels near Pentewan Sands Holiday Park

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Pentewan Sands Holiday Park?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park? Share your insight.