Domina Prestige Emilio Cruise

, Nile Cruises
5 star
hotel photo
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 35 »
Wonderful holiday January 2013 by Maggie and Tony
10 / 10

We had the most perfect holiday on this boat. We booked through Co-operative Travel/Classic Tours and the company on the boat were Orbital Travel. Given the political situation we had been concerned about safety, but from the moment of meeting the Orbital Guides we felt absolutely safe. The guides were helpful, informative and very knowledgeable about Egyptian architecture and history. We added all the options and so saw a lot. The bird watching option was an unexpected delight. The boat and staff were also brilliant - nothing seemed too much trouble. Everything was very clean. The food was varied, substantial and tasty - of a broadly European cuisine, with Egyptian touches. We were all-inclusive which meant not only wine/beer with meals but free bottled mineral water. Doing all the trips did mean getting less sleep, but that was well worth it.

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

FANTASTIC CRUISE by rajlata
9 / 10

We went in a group on 19th November. The boat was excellent, very clean. The service was excellent. We reached very late because of the flight dleay. They left sandwiches, fruits and water in our cabin. Five of us were vegetarian and the chef prepared veg. dish for us everyday which was really good - 8/10. The room was good - they always do different designs of flowers or birds etc on the bed. We heard some negative reviews but good job we didn't take seriously. The bar service was good, we use to get as much water as we want. Our tour guide was George who was very good at explaining. The transport was fully a/c and was good.

Lata and Rajni Patel and Friends

  • Holiday details: Nov 2012, Booked Independently

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic Nile Cruise by Kim S
10 / 10

Fantastic first time in Egypt excellent holiday.Nile Cruise Oct 2012

Domina Prestige Emilio Nile Cruise boat is beautiful with high standard of cleanliness. Lovely air conditioned clean cabin. Looked forward daily to receiving origami using towels in our cabin. Fantastic views from top deck while relaxing on comfortable padded loungers and chairs in sunbathing and shaded areas. Sunrises and sunsets are spectacular. Nice pool for cooling down and towels provided. Enjoyed the massages, pedicures, manicures and reflexology available at small cost.

All inclusive was very good. We are fussy eaters and were very happy with the choices and quality of food provided. Antibacterial hand gel provided at entrance to restaurant. All inclusive drinks available from 11.30 till 23.30. Bottled water available from bar staff for taking on next day for early morning trips.

Recommend you do as many trips as possible as Egypt is rich with history and culture and friendly egyptians. We went on all of the inclusive and optional trips, our personnel favourites were the sunrise balloon ride, Karnack Temple daytime and Karnack Temple night light show but we enjoyed all of our trips. Our tour guide accompanied us on every trip and was very knowledgeable and informative. I recommend a hat, comfortable walking shoes, long shorts or cargo pants and loose cotton tops for trips to keep cool and avoid sunburn. Onboard cruise tourists wore varied clothing.

From collection at Luxor airport until we returned to UK all organised transportation in Egypt was efficiently on time and all vehicles were air conditioned we were extremely impressed. Coaches have toilet facilities.

We had a fantastic time with the British group of people on our trips, meal times and evenings together and enjoyed the friendliness of other nationalities.

Excellent team effort from the staff to ensure your holiday is an enjoyable experience. All of the staff were efficient, polite, friendly, helpful, attentive and always smiling. They made us feel very special. To name a few, Abdul the restaurant waiter provided excellent friendly customer service and table entertainment, Seyam the branch managers organisational and customer service skills are second to none. Antoine the general manager ensures that he and all his staff provide an excellent friendly customer service and nothing is too much trouble.

We constantly heard we are happy when you are happy.

ATM not available on board, this was not an issue as upon request our tour guide took us to ATMs after trips onshore. Found difficulty getting low denomination Egyptian pounds for tipping and purchasing. Suggest you order from your bank before travelling.

We experienced no issues with regard to personnel safety onboard cruise or trips.

We highly recommend this Emilio Nile Cruise to everyone and look forward to being on the same cruise next year for another excellent holiday.

Thank you very much. Kim and Willie

Management response from George ibrahim, asistant boat manager 12 Nov 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share us your remarkable stay experience at MS/ Emilio Cruise during your recent visit. As a well traveled guest, your comments are valuable in helping us to maintain a high level of service and ensure that your expectations are met each visit. On this occasion, we are delighted to learn that you really enjoyed our accommodation have the opportunity to welcome you back next year with warm and gracious Egyptian hospitality. Yours sincerely,George Ibrahim assistant General Manager

  • Holiday details: Oct 2012
  • Advice: experience as much trips as you can.

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

10th Visit to Egypt - Fab Boat..Great People..enjoyed every minute of our trip by Sallyanne B
10 / 10

This is the 2nd Nile Cruise for us as there is so much to see. The boat is well equiped with beautiful cabins, very clean with patio doors. no english TV but did not miss this. On the sun deck there is a fab pool, very shallow area to allow you to lay in the water to cool down and a deeper part to swim, not Olympic size but what do you expect on a Nile Cruise! Crew on the boat are very polite and please to see the British Tourists as they get involved in all the activities. You will need good walking shoes, hats and dont worry about long trousers for dinner the Germans wear shorts. Only downsside was the fully inclusive option, it is a must to have as you will drinks lots to keep cool, but the bars do not open until 11:30am so if you are back from a tour early you can either pay for a drink or wait. Get bottles of water before you go to bed at night and keep in your mini bar.

All in all this is an excellent choice of boat with a great crew and a professional tour guide. Ours was Sam who really brings the Egyption history alive.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, booked with Classic Holiday/Co-operative Travel
  • Advice: Respect the crew and they will make you welcome and help you to enjoy your trip to the full
  • Good For: , City Breaks

18 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

amazing holiday by Ruth L
10 / 10

A very good boat, was the second trip on the Nile and would recommend the Domina prestige cruise to friends and family and would travel again with them.

good clean boat, rooms very clean and cleaned everyday

good choice of food, staff very helpful and polite, nothing was too much trouble, excursions well organized.

will recommend to all my friends and family.

Thank you

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic trip and tour by mary.l.
9 / 10

My husband & I were on the Emilio in June 2012 and had a wonderful time. The staff of the ship were phenomenal and they truly "made" the trip. Anything that the ship may have lacked in 5 star amenities was easily overlooked as the staff was exceptionally gracious. The spa and gym were not well equipped, but this was not a big disappointment for us as we just skipped massages and working out for the week. The cabins were clean and the beds comfortable and linens fresh. Our tour guide, Ehab, thru Flash Tours was superb. By the end of the week we felt as if Ehab and the staff on the ship were like family. One thing we found disappointing was the smoking in common areas etc. We aren't used to smoking in public spaces.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, booked with Flash Tours

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Domina Prestige ms Emilio by Michael I
10 / 10

Domina Prestige ms Emilio

18/06/2012 to 25/06/2012

Just returned from a Nile cruise on MS Domina with Orbital travel this is a fantastic ship very clean and

A wonderful staff, our waiter Abdul kept us stocked with plenty of wine at lunch

And dinner. Food was good and hot. Our cabin cleaner left a different design with our

Towels each night. Our guide for the week was Mina a very very good guide kept us

Fully informed and knows his Egyptian History he certainly made every trip enjoyable.

MS Domina is a 5 * ship. Only complaint and that is smoking is allowed although only on

One side of the lounge. They did try to ban it altogether apart from the sun deck but

Booking went down.

there is no troubles in this part of Egypt everyone we came across very friendly all problems

are in Cairo, but with the election now over things may calm down. Cabins are cleaned twice a day.

clean towels every day.

Not sure if Bradbrad(report further down) was on same boat because her comments are completely wrong.

Issac the orbital Rep met us at the airport and issued us our visa he then ushered us through security and to our coach Once on the boat we were introduced to Mina our guide for the week who gave us an insight into what Was to come.

Also Bradbrad could never have been on a ship before as dark wood is used a lot in cabins as for toilet facilities quite a few middle east countries do not allow paper to be flushed away.

All in all a very enjoyable week.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, booked with orbital
  • Advice: all inclusive

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellant! by joannefear
10 / 10

I had a great time on the Domina Prestige Emilio Cruise! I took a week Cruise down the Nile in June! The rooms were cleaned twice a day and were very well kept. The staff were all professional, super friendly and went above and beyond their duty. They were willing and ready to serve with a smile to accommodate any need we would have. I had a great time in the pool and I liked that it had a section to wade and just sit in the water. It could have been a bit bigger for my liking but it was still great and sufficient to cool off. The food was fresh, hot and very tasty. I thought they could have changed up the food a bit more and more variety but they did a really good job. The front desk staff were great and very helpful with the Internet and using the computers. That was much appreciated to have quick access to email people back home and stay connected and they were very committed to serve us. I would highly recommend this boat, the staff and the food! Also I really felt the staff cared for our safety and well being and being responsible that we were safe, and that was really nice as well. Thank you again!

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great stay by jeffgoodchild
8 / 10

I Have just got back from a seven day cruise on this boat. before I went I read the review left and I can say I was more than a little apprehensive

but it was great the food was good a choice of beef,chicken or fish every day, along with salads and a selection of great sweets.the same for lunch and breakfast.as for the all inclusive, yes it was between 11.30am and 11.30 pm but you could drink as much as you want.yes the beer was served in little glasses but you just got more to drink!!. the waiters in the restaurant were very good. ours was called Abdull he was great. nothing was to much trouble. the waiting staff in the bars or sundeck were good but you may have to wait a couple of minuets. the room was very clean the balcony was a patio door with enough room to both lean out of.the towels and sheets were changed every day. the room was cleaned twice a day.over all the boat was very good value for money.

the trips and guide were excellent our guide was called Mina he stayed on the boat with us and was always on hand for any questions, and when we were on trips he knew everything you asked. he was very very good.

as a review the only down side would be. I would not recommend this trip for the less able because there is a lot of walking on rough ground and the Egyptians don't tend to cater for wheel chairs

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: , City Breaks

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A great trip on the Nile by Carol H
8 / 10

The staff aboard the Emilio were very helpful and cheerful. Very clean rooms, with all modern conveniences. Different variety of foods each day. Pity water, tea and coffee were not included in the price of the trip. Also the smoking by a lot of the other passengers was very unpleasant for us that didn't smoke.

But overful the trip was very enjoyable and would recommend the cruise on the Nile on the Emilio to you all.

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Advertised as 5*, but at best 3* by BradBrad
3 / 10

We have just returned (1/6/12), from 2 days Cairo, 7 Day nile cruise on the Domina Prestige, follwed by 4 days at Sharm El Sheik, and was the Baron Palms Hotel in Sharm a blessing after the Domina Prestige! I picked this bost due to good reviews posted here and on TRip Adsvisor, but I cannot beleive we are talking about the same boat. The Orbital Travel rep was'nt there to meet us on the boat untli 3 hrs after we arrived, could be somthing to do with him living in Luxor!Left to our our devices we explored the ship. Photo's of the ship ship look grand, but all the dark wood, with the dark creaky panel flooring makes the rooms look dated and drab, and requiring refurbishment. The sun deck was a disgrace. All the sun bed covers were dirty and stained, and the pool is just a big bath. A workman was varnishing woodwork, which had a high acetone smell on the deck, this combined with the engine deisel fumes which were drifing up and over the deck made my eyes sting.

All comments by bibblebobble on Oct 2011 are still valid. The food was atrocious, with no variety. The cooks also had a habit of removing some items halfway through service, either to keep for next day or to feed the crew. Fresh fruit was not ripe, and although salads looked good, you only had everyday hot fish, chicken or braised beef(?) to go with it, as no cold meats were available.

The bath towels on the sun deck we OK compared to the harsh sandpaper like towels we got in the room. The toilet flush button kept falling of the wall, and who desisigned a flush system where you cannot flush soiled toilet paper down the pan but have to put it in a bin in the bathroom!!Most disgusting. There are no balconies! its just a sliding window.

Entertainmaint was non existant. Of the three nights when entertainment was advertised, one one tirned up for the disc, the Egyption night was commandered by the Germans, (4 brits, 8 yanks, and the rest Germans on the boat), and the belly dancer wore a body stocking and was pretty poor also.

As mentioned by Bibblbobble, there is not enough staff, the sundeck barmen was a now you see him now you don't, and was not particulay polite, and I would even say he gave the impression we were a hinderance to him.

The all inclusive is a joke. If you ask for a beer you get a small glass where the drink is gone in 2 gulps, then you have to wait around to catch the waiters eye for a refill. This is very tedious, and as they use a half a bottle at a time, you will always get a dose of warm beer as the bottle id not put back in the cooler. Same for other drinks, when ordering you need to say the drink needs to be cold, but do'nt hold your breath.

A trip was cancelled for us at Edfu due the the horse and carriage drivers having a "cavelier attitude to H&S", but all the Germans and yanks went on the trip except us brits. I would say, that on the boat, with trip hazards at the servery, on entering the lounge, and gallyway from the main staircase, as well as faeces soiled paper in the room, who is actually taking H&S seriously?

All in all very disappointed with this boat and it's crew, as it did not live up to expectations. Some reviewers may be looking through rose tinted glasses when they compliled their review as they certainly do not match my observations.

Management response from Antoine Boctor, General manager of domina prestige emilio cruise 14 Jun 2012

Warmest Greetings from Emilio cruise! Thank you for staying with us on Emilio cruise. It was great to discover your valuable comments and feedback through holiday watchdog website. I do believe this will give more beneficial information to our guests I just want to clear some points Reviewing your experience toward the wood work on the sun deck the sun is very strong and we needed to make maintenance the wood was in bad condition and we did it not in the peak time we did it for the clients for you. Reviewing your experience toward the cover of the sun deck I am pleased to inform you that we are in the process to change it. Reviewing your experience toward the swimming pool there is different between the swimming pool in the hotels and the swimming pool in the Nile cruises comparing with the others Nile cruises our pool is very good. Reviewing your experience toward the food we offer three protein items every meals and we have big variety food with a good taste, we are going provide more selections on our food what we believe it will improve our guest satisfaction. And the crew has a special cook with special items we do not take from client's food for the staff . Reviewing your experience toward that we don't have enough staff we have more than 80 staff all of them are happy to serve the guests that mean we have for every cabin more than one more staff. I invite every body to come to our boat because our priority is the guest satisfaction and you can see that from the opinions of the others reviewers. Once again thank you for your wonderful comment. We look forward to welcome you back at Emilio cruise. Thank you very much The Emilio cruise management

  • Holiday details: May 2012, booked with Orbital Travel through the Co-op
  • Advice: Book another boat

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Amazing trip by CN17
9 / 10

Recently returned from such a fab trip up the Nile on this boat. The staff were so willing and friendly and no-one on the boat was ill - contrary to popular belief. Food was hot and varied and the cabin was comparable to the big cruise ships I have been on, although the TV is limited in its programme choice. Our guide - Marco - was extremely informative and managed to get the history of Egypt over to us in an easily understood manner. We encountered no problems at all with regard to safety but the street vendors were a bit of a pain. Get your currency on board as the rate is far superior to what we got in the UK. Would be happy to do this again.

  • Holiday details: Mar 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: , City Breaks

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 35 »
Stayed on Domina Prestige Emilio Cruise? Share your insight.

Traveller Ratings

Write a review
Overall
9 / 10
57 reviews
Brilliant
40
Good
14
Average
1
Poor
1
Awful
1
Room
8.5/10
Service
9/10
Food
7.5/10
Value
9/10
Cleanliness
9/10
Location
9/10
Top traveller tips for Domina Prestige Emilio Cruise
  • by Vanninman

    " Take new £5 notes, pens for kids, tummy tablets. All Inclusive is cheaper as boat prices are high. "

  • by Bibblebobble

    " Refuse to be pressured into handing over "tipping kitty" at start of cruise. Tip as YOU wish. "

  • by sunshine bear

    " Sunsets and views along the Nile were stunning "

  • by CN17

    " Don't buy perfume, papyrus, stonework at the 'shops'. All available at the airport and much cheaper! "

  • by mary.l.

    " Take as many excursions as you can. There is so much history and the tour guides provide a wealth of information. "

  • by rajlata

    " we gave the tip in one lot at the reception for 7 nights and they share this among the drivers, guide, bar attendes etc ( whoever works there) "

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Domina Prestige Emilio Cruise?