Para Sun Studios

Trianda, Rhodes, Greece
hotel photo

Average Rating

6  / 10
(43 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
14
Good
8
Average
6
Poor
5
Awful
10

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 7/10
Food: 5.5/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 7.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
Value for money. by varney1958
8 / 10

We have just got back from a two week stay at the Para Sun and all in all it was good. The owner and her family are very friendly and we found they couldn't do enough for you if you asked politely. ( not like the man in the next apartment, who thought a stand up arguement with the owner was the way to get more toilet rolls ). True, you do only get one toilet roll on arrival, but go to the Carrefour supermarket just over one hundred yards away and get a pack of 8 rolls for one euro forty ( just over a quid ). One negative was the toilet bucket only got emptied when the maid came twice a week, so we emptied it ourselves every day, so keep your carrier bags from the supermarket for the toilet bucket.

The rooms are basic, but they are the same as you will find in most Greek self catering apartments. Two ring electric hob, bathroom with shower, wardrobe, beds and a patio.

With only 21 rooms, it was nice and quiet around the pool.

The main road is busy, but after reading some reviews I was expecting the M6 at peak hour.

At the road turn left and head up into Trianda. It takes about 10 minutes to get to the traffic lights, then turn right. Go down about 5 minutes and on the left you will find the street where the best bars and taverna's are.

We had never been to Rhodes before, but we are hoping to go back next year. We really did enjoy it.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Don't go there expecting the Ritz, it's a basic Greek self catering.apartments.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

nice complex, ideal for couples by Ronald W
6 / 10

Having just returned from a weeks break @ the parasun sudios, from our experiences, I must say that the holiday was value for money.

Ideally located, just a short walk to a "pebbly beach" across a "busy" main road. The walk will take you around 10 to 15 mins.

Pool is great with plenty of pool side loungers,

Pool side bar is ok!

Rooms are basic, and supplied with a fridge, cooker (2 electric hot plates), and the basic coking utensils.

Room was cleaned twice during our stay, and the towels were changed @ the same time.

But you will only be supplied with 1 toilet roll.

that is when you arrive.

It is not replaced.

Our room had 3 "single beds", that were a little "hard" to lay on.

And the pillows are a "joke".

That said, the accommodation was ok, but lacked the "air conditioning" that you will need for this time of year. Temps regularly reach high thirties, and that's in the shade!

Suggest purchasing a fan from the local Nassau supermarket, @ a cost of around 15.5 Euros!

(this supermarket is located on the main road. Leave the complex and turn right, walk past a small supermarket and bus stop (where you can catch the local bus to Rhodes town for 2.10 Euros), then past Whispers restaurant, (a fine place to dine), and continue past the fresh bakery opposite side of road. Supermarket located next to the petrol garage.(opposite side of road).

As for supermarkets, there is a Carrefour a little closer to the complex, turn left at the main road, head toward Trianda, and the supermarket is around 100m up the road.

But beware that Carrefour DOES NOT SELL FANS.

Anyway, if you do decide to purchase a fan, You will need to leave the doors open to circulate the fresh air, but be aware of the mossy's.

Take/purchase a "plug in" module for mossy repellent. (available @ home bargains (uk) for around

  • Holiday details: Jul 2012
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

enjoyed my week there very much!! by Chris S
10 / 10

clean, owners were very helpfull, yeh ok its a 2 star place but its quiet and there are shops nearby and you can get a bus to the rest of the island if needed. i really enjoyed the place and people need to look better at what self catering means. also they ask to not put toilet paper in the toilet if it was used for anything other than going to the toilet. if people read about greece then they will find out that its the same everywhere.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: travel light as you will need to buy things out there i.e catering if you wanna cook. and extra cash.

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

may 2012, by xjennyx
4 / 10

had a nice time but wouldnt go back there ,no entertaintment whats so ever which i thought was a bit out of order,hotel had a barbi which we never got invited to, such a clicky clicky hotel really not impressed at all , rooms were cleaned every 2 days,got told i would be in a 2 bed apartment as we travelled with our 15 yr old son but ended up with 3 single beds in the same room well i could say more but think you no i will be never going back there small walk to beach yes 20 mins walk to bars and shops

  • Holiday details: May 2012, booked with Thomson

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great location by nicky-y
9 / 10

Just returned yesterday from the Parasun had a great week. Booked this online for a very cheap price and obviously read the reviews on here which were mixed. This is a 2 star hotel and as such is a basic hotel if you want 5 star luxury pay 5 star prices! We found the hotel fab the rooms were larger than others we stayed in. Our room was upstairs and had a great roomy balcony. It was cleaned twice in the week we were there and the towels and sheets changed and typical of most of Greece you do not flush toilet paper down the toilet but put in a bin if you want flush toilets go to Spain! The pool was lovely and the bar had a good range of drinks and snacks. We hired a safe for 15 euros for the week didn't need a fan for the time of year but you could buy them locally for 15 euros cheaper than hiring. Full size fridge, kettle and two rings with a frying pan and a pan so enough to make snacks during the day if you wanted, basic but ok. Loads and loads of places to eat nearby. Its in a country location so great views but cockrels, hens and dogs around which you can hear but to us was a bonus. Paras and her family were lovely and friendly and it was a very relaxing holiday. This is a great hotel in a fab location down a lane off a busy road seems to run down the side of the island so good location wise. At the end of the lane turn right couple of minutes down the road theres a Spar Supermarket with a great selection of food and opposite a fab bakery with a great range. Walk to the left at the end of the lane and a couple of minutes a large Carrefore Supermarket. There's a pay-as-you-go pc in the bar 1 euro for 30 mins or free wifi for your laptop or phones. I would recommend this hotel and would not hesitate in returning.

  • Holiday details: May 2011, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good value for the money by Greece Lover
6 / 10

We have just returned from 2 weeks in the Parasun and quite frankly, we enjoyed it. Yes, the room is basic but you really only sleep there. If you want somewhere in your room to put rubbish, use a plastic bag. If you want an extra pillow, ask for one.

The cleaner was a little economical with her expertise with the brush and mop so she was sacked while we were there. I suspect the poor reveiws around clealiness had something to do with that.

You want an iron? - go 5 star. Very few places on 2 star provide an iron or toaster come to that.

The beaches have been there for thousands of years, it may take a little longer to wear the stones down to sand - please be patient and take your rubbish away with you.

The Rhodes old town is stunning - do not miss it.

The taxis were on strike when we were there so we used the bus - 2.10 euro adult, 1 euro child - great value and a super way of making new friends quickly.

George likes the girls but at 36 perhaps he should be thinking more about ladies now.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Wouldn't return by Katie
2 / 10

Stayed at parasun studios June 2010. The studios are very very basic no toaster iron or hairdryer and boiling thro the night you can't sleep wouldn't go back but nwould go back to the area loved it. The lady who runs these studios is such a lovely lady and very hard working.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, S/catering, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Going into Rhodes old town
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Nightmare Experience by joflo02
1 / 10

we asked to be moved from a terrible place, at first thomson wanted 200 euros and 3 cents but i refused to pay after 4 days on the phone they decided to move us , we ended up at parasun in ixia, i think this was a punishment for complaining,the place was absolutely filthy, 1 bin in toilet which we had to take to a big rubbish bin up the lane along with other rubbish, NO bed change NO cleaner, buy your own toilet roll and do your own cleaning, i spent first 2 days cleaning. i dont think it had been cleaned at all during the season, utensils were dirty, beds were torture to sleep on , fridge was a rusty mess . i am surprised thomson have a place like that, i expect BASIC in greece but i also expect basic cleanliness, DO NOT GO THERE, I COULDNT WAIT TO GET HOME AND I AM STILL RECOVERING, LOTS MORE I COULD COMMENT ON BUT I THINK YOU SHOULD GET THE MESSAGE,

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, SELF CATERING, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Stay Clear!!!!!

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Cocka-doodle Don't by MJM
1 / 10

My partner and I stayed at the Para Sun for 2 weeks in October. Worst accommodation we have ever stayed in.

We know it was 2 star and basic but, we have paid less for accommodation and got a better quality of room and service.

The whole 2 weeks we were there, the bathroom bin wasn't emptied, which I thought was disgusting considering this is where used toilet paper is disposed of. They only provide you with your first toilet roll. Only 2 towels are provided, 1 each. 1 sheet and my pillowcase was changed the whole 2 weeks, my partner's was left untouched. Only the floor in the bathroom was cleaned, once. The fridge was rusty. The swimming pool was full of leaves. There were cats roaming about all over the place.

There was a menagerie of rooster/cockrells in the neighbouring property to wake you at silly o'clock in the morning.

There was a big gap around the door to the apartment which let in bugs and rain when it did rain. At the Para Sun NO sun apparently with solar powered means NOT HOT WATER. I thought they only needed daylight not sun to power them?? even with sun the water is lukewarm and doesn't stay that way very long.

If you arrive late at night, like we did, don't expect a warm welcome but a note left on reception door telling you what room you're in.

All in all a terrible place to stay :(

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Do not stay here!
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Terrible place never again by ddp cumbria
1 / 10

My Husband and I stayed at the Parasun in ixia in october for two weeks and it was horendous,

there was only one bin in the appartment in the bathroom for the toilet waste paper which we had to empty ourselves along with buying your own toilet paper, the studio was dirty with things under the bed from previous holiday makers and they were still there when we left so just goes to show how badly they were cleaned one sheet at the top of the bed was put on the bottom and then a clean sheet on the top thats all in two weeks,the fridge was filthy and unusable we were told it was 200m from the resort centre but more like 1 km there was two bars and a supermarket about 200m from the block with a busy main road to cross the pool looked blue and clean on the brochure but in reality was green and dirty and not cleaned at all in the two weeks, the owners were nice till you complained then she turned nasty no lights outside the appartment and marble flooring so if they got wet they were slippy also no handrails up the stairs to the first floor appartments we had a few wet days so no hot water for 4 days please beware of the invite to barbques ect as we were invited to a family b bque on the second day but hen after we were charged 36 euros for two of us not including drinks

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, self catering, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: dont go there

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

not good by davey4294
2 / 10

for the price we paid very basic,paris the owner very nice but the rooms not up to scratch,no hot water at night times no waste bin for rubbish no a/c so watch out on that one

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: yes not to go there

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

para Dull by dacleo
3 / 10

very basic had no clean towels for a week or bedding bin not emptied in bathroom leaking shower leaking wash basin dirty fridge basic greasy meals paris couldnt be bothered unless you was greek or one of her helpers was even told to buy own toilet paper kept excpecting sid james to pop out.RHODES WAS LOVELY BUT THE PARA SUN NO WAY NEVER AGAIN

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Dont go
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Para Sun Studios? Share your insight.

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Para Sun Studios
  • by nicky-y

    " Turn left at end of lane 10 min walk into Trianda great shops, bars and restaurants. Turn right at end of lane towards Ixia and Rhodes Town better beaches. "

  • by Ronald Williams

    " purchase a fan, and take a "plug in" for the mosquitos "

Similar hotels around Ialyssos

Hotels near Para Sun Studios

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Para Sun Studios?