Holiday Centre Apartments

Avda Ramon de Moncada 40, Majorca 07180, Spain
2.5 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

5.5  / 10
(69 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
10
Good
17
Average
16
Poor
13
Awful
13

Rating by feature

Room: 6/10
Service: 6/10
Food: 5/10
Value: 7/10
Cleanliness: 6.5/10
Location: 8/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Holiday Centre Apartments

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 36 »
Our stay at the Holiday Centre Apartments, Santa Ponsa, Majorca by Shellipee
8 / 10

After reading the reviews for these apartments I have to say we were pleasantly surprised! We stayed for a week mid October 2013, me, my husband and our two young children. Granted the bloke on reception on arrival was a bit of a grump, but we just rose above his mood! Apartment was found to be clean and tidy, sheets and bedding clean, towels provided were clean and plentiful. The apartment was basic but had all we needed so we were happy. Based at the end of a busy road, full of bars, restaurants it was the ideal place, far enough away from the noise but close enough if you wanted to join in. It was fairly quiet when we were there but I imagine in peak season it would be quite a rowdy place. The pool area was kept clean and had plenty of sunbeds, for the time of year, again I expect this to be different in high season. Entertainment was ok, Felix, was brilliant, keeping us all smiling and laughing, shame other members of staff don't take a leaf out of his book lol!! Food was a bit of a let down, ok, we found something to eat most days but very bland, I suppose they have to cater for everyone but a bit more flavor might have been nice. Still plenty of restaurants near if you want to eat out. All in all we had a great time, and would go back, value for money and at the end of the day if you want 5* accommodation then you have to pay 5* prices.

  • Holiday details: Oct 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Go with an open mind and don't expect 5* accomodation when you haven't paid for it!
  • Good For: Beach

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Absolutely awful!!!! by kjhope1
1 / 10

arrived at holiday centre appartment with my boyfriend and two friends and were not greeted nicely had keys shoved in our hands not told were our room was, struggled with suitcases as there is no lifts and loads of stairs not good for children and disabled people! the room was very basic and for what i paid to stay there it wasnt what i expected, on the first day my boyfriend was threatened by a member of bar staff who are all very rude arragant and useless! when you pay money to stay in there appartments they should be running round after you but they dont. On one occasion i asked to pay for an ice cream and the rude memeber of staff said 'what do you expect me to do? cant you see im doing something?' he was cutting a lettuce!! and was working were you pay for icecream, food, drinks etc..... We were all sick a few times off the food it was by far the worst ive ever seen so little to choose from 5 different food trays 1 always being chips and a tiny salad bar! the food was prepared awfully i had salad one day because the food looked so vile and the tomatos were moldy along the one side and cucombers all dried up and when i complained to a member of staff he said what do i do im not the cook!! DISCRASEFUL! never in my life will i stay there again would never be recomended and wouldnt stay there again if it was for free!!! oh and the rooms are dirty never get cleaned and they give you toilet roll and clean towels every 2 days!!!! :O I hated it full of horrible men who look down on you... not a nice place at all. Santa ponsa its self is lovely but holiday centre apartments let it down. Do not wast your money on such a shabby horrible holiday where you will not be treated nicely! x

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

worst hotel ever stayed at ........STAY AWAY....................... by baby70jane
1 / 10

the staff are unfriendly and unhelpful act as if they dont want you there lots of thefts our apartment was robbed of ipod and money food ok basic drinks are the cheapest they can get cheap wine and beer at local supermarket was better, the only thing good about this hotel was the door out.......................................................

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: carry valuables and money with you at all times...............

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

great wee place by Laura C
8 / 10

i loved this place,it is great for young people,bars 1 minute away,great location,tidy,clean,lovely staff.there are large groups of guys and girls but they go out about 10pm and not back till 8am i love this place and would love to come back.

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not for familys by 6151stua
5 / 10

Just back 12 of us as a family with young children. Was having a lovely time until a group of about 20 students arrived. That was when it all changed set a palm tree on fire urinating on the grounds sick everywhere using the pool in the early hours ringing the buzzers all hours couldnt use the pool in the day they took it over. Staff justed shrugged there shoulders. We & 10 other familys moved to other hotels shame really santa ponsa is nice with a lovely beach but it is becoming the magaluf 4 the irish. Not a family hotel.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, booked with A1 Travel (lollypop)
  • Advice: Dont go with your family
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Never Again by Chicago Babe
1 / 10

On arriving at reception we were not greeted warmly at all. Thrust a key in our hands, told out door turn left. Following their directions we struggled in the dark to find our apartment,having nearly breaking every bone in our bodies due to the sheer drop of the steps unlit no hand rails etc how health and safety gave it a pass .

Entering the aprt., we found in the kitchenette the cupboard doors falling off.

We booked for bed breakfast, so next morning we made our way to dinning area. Quite pleasant on entering except for the staff, not friendly/welcoming at all. Didn't answer when we tried to say good morning, even when we spoke in Spanish either.

Food was cold and greasy, and on several occasions I had to ask for food as the trays were empty. That was frowned upon.[ I thought I had paid up front for that].

Pool area was pleasing but not so again the staff..I ordered a toasted sandwich [cheese] it came cold so it went back the chef gave me the same one back slightly warmer, it went back also after that he just laughed at us to all his friends in the bar.

In the evening the same bar opened up but again the staff were unfriendly and very much gave the impression you were in the way , hurry drink up and go , horrible.

This went on all through our time there also to other guests.

All in all the staff were ignorant, rude, unfriendly etc etc.

The aprt wasn't cleaned once in the week we spent there, we were handed towels and toilet rolls through our door on occasions .

We were very up set disappointed and truly disgusted that holiday operators can sell or get away with selling such !!!!

We warn others Not to go to these apartment......

My husband and I are both in our sixties and definitely DO

NOT recommend the Holiday Centre for anyone young or mature.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, Breakfast Included, booked with Beach Holidays
  • Advice: Pull it down and start again [please it is a death camp]
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not so great by vero
3 / 10

Just stayed there this august 2011. Think it's a disgrace that you one has to pay for the safe deposit box and the air con we were roasted at night as was so warm. The apartment was filthy, cobwebs hanging down the sheets had holes in them and all the cutlery microwave fridge had not been cleaned in years. The day we arrived it was very hot so we stopped at the bar for a mineral which was almost 5 euros each so do not get a drink of any kind there it's a total rip off. we werre across from these scotts men whom one in pirticular kept ringing and knocking on on our door at all hours of the morning and on our last night he kicked it so hard the door almost came in on top of us. we complained to reception who said when the man was drunk he didn't know where he was going and knocked on everyones door... I wouldn't stay there again and worse there is no lift and we were on 3rd floor..

it is very close to everything in saying that so we never had far to walk downtown or the beach but really that's all it had going for it. the recession has hit the place badly as i got chatting to one of the maintainence men who advised me he had not been paid in over a month as the centre had no cash to pay him now i know why they were all so rude evan when i spoke with them in spaiish

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not a family hotel. by anon
5 / 10

I have just returned from this place after sepnding 11 nights there with my wife and two young children. The apartment itself was very basic; on arrival we where directed to a fourth floor room which we found to be smelly. I returned to reception and refused to stay on the fourth floor due to this and also that the stairs would have caused problems for the push-chair and was dangerous for the children. We where then provided with a first floor room. The rooms had only a fold down sofa bed for the children and basic furnishings such as fridge, kettle, toaster.

On arrival on the first floor room we found one of the single beds in the bedroom had been broken, although the staff repaired this in around 30 minutes. The cleaner also arrived at this stage and began to carry out some kind of repair on the freezer box!!! Not an ideal start when we intended getting unpacked and settling the children down.

The main street in which the hotel is located is filled with Irish bars and I would estimate that around 80% of the people we seen where young Irish people aged between 18-22 years. Although we never encountered any problems whilst out, I could imagine this could be intimidating for some. Often when heading back to the hotel it was difficult to manouvre the push chair through the groups of people. One young person we spoke to considered the resort to be "Magaluf for young Irish and Scottish people". Had we known this pior to the holiday we would not have booked up as in my opinion the main street is not suitable for a family with young children.

On the postive side, the beach was decent and we met some nice families. During the evening there is a square which is around a 15 minute walk up a hill in which the entertainment was good and there was more of a family atmosphere. Some of the bars near to the beach where also clean and friendly. The food and staff at the hotel where also both reasonable.

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Nice enough place to stay by Warning lol
5 / 10

Apartments are basic but clean, towels changed every 2 days, sheets changed once a week, maid takes all the rubbish away every 2 days and offers to wash the floors.

Entertainment was very good but Felix the entertainer is brilliant at keeping things going during the day and at night.

Food was good and not too expensive.

BUTT:

All the staff except for one (Michaul)were very friendly and helpful. I booked two apartments for our party of eight and after two nights we were issued with 3 warnings by this person. Be warned your not allowed to 'sing on the way into reception,' your not allowed to 'sit on the balcony after 12 midnight' or 'ask another member of your party at 2am who has the key to open the apartment' as all these actions are breaking the rules and you get a warning lol but no joking, if you're going, he runs it like a concentration camp. He was throwing people out of the apartments left right and centre without warnings and getting away with it. It seemed he decided if you broke his rules and he sent numerous parties across the road to Holiday Park Apartments were they had to pay to stay until the rest of their holiday. However he's off Monday and Tuesday nights and the feel of the place was much more relaxed with everyone enjoying themselves, without causing any trouble.

I would definitely go back but only stay Monday and Tuesday as at 45 years old I did not enjoy being handed out warnings for something that didn't warrant one. My husband had to go and sit in reception and wait on the youngs ones coming in to ensure they didn't get a warning for talking on the way to their apartment as we couldn't have afforded to move apartments.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Don't open your mouth in the apartments after midnight Wednesday to Sunday no matter age you are. Shamrock was an excellent bar with brilliant music by both bands.
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Do not stay here!!! by bcrbe06
1 / 10

Not much to say apart from to WARN people from satying here!! I have never been to such a horrible place in all my life!! Yes it may be cheap, but you expect a clean room and friendly staff no matter what the price is!!

As soon as I arrived I could not wait to leave!! The rooms are not cleaned by staff, the bath trays leak around the bathroom floor, the curtains are see-through, if you are lucky enough to get your towels changed they will most likely be stained and you will have to argue with staff at recepetion to get clean ones!! and the bed clothes had holes in them, quite a few aunts crawling about the rooms aswell!!

The staff on a good day are quite friendly........on a bad day, well beare.....hateful, rude, ignoarnt people!!!

There is also alot of young persons around, mostly irish. The noise at night can be quite un-bareable.

There is also no lifts in these apartments, so for people with children etc it is not ideal......and no the staff do not help you with your luggage. The apartments are quite a trek from the main reception.

Security is also another worry!! Most apartments are quite remote, locks are not secure on doors and windows, anyone can access your apartment. Not safe!!

And reception......well you run the risk of going to check out and to find out that they cannot find your passport!!!!

Will never be back near this place ever again!! BAD EXPERIENCE!!!

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Improve everything or shut down
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

loved it :) by SarahMcCarthylimerick
10 / 10

I tought reading the reviews that the place was going to be awful but it was brillant ye are all totally over exagurating the place is lovely and quite rooms are lovely and entertainment at night and during the day is brillant im 17 and i loved it i went with 19 of my family aqnd they all loved it aswell :) i would defo go back there agen

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not for children by leeanddarren
1 / 10

Firstly we arrived at 4am all very tired at a different hotel to be told they were full and had to go to another hotel which we had to walk to with all our luggage a pushchair and a very tired small child through the streets of santa ponsa which was full of very intimidating drunk teenagers, when we arrived at the holiday centre the man of reception said to leave our pushchair in reception as we had to go to about 40 steps to get to our appartment (not good with a pushchair and child) the hotel was very noisy and full of young groups of people just getting drunk and making as much noise as possible. We get up to go out in the morning and go to reception to collect the pushchair only to find somebody has stolen it and the guy on reception really couldn't care what we were supposed to do without a pushchair he didn;t even say sorry. This hotel is deffinatley for children there is about a 2 metre drop into the swimming pools so not safe for children, then theres all the steps to contend with, let alone the strip clubs and night clubs going on all night. would deffinatly not recommend for children.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: go the square which is about a 15 minute walk
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 36 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Holiday Centre Apartments? Share your insight.

Holiday Centre Apartments also called

  • holiday centre apartments hotel
  • holiday centre apartments santa ponsa
  • holiday centre santa ponsa
  • Address: Avda Ramon de Moncada 40, Majorca 07180, Spain

Explore area

Map for Holiday Centre Apartments Closest airport: Palma de Mallorca (PMI) 13.1 miles

Travellers also viewed

Holiday Centre Apartments photos (1 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Holiday Centre Apartments
  • by lestatsho

    " Miss Murphys Kitchen is delicious! Daniels Corner is good. The Dubliner does good breakfast. "

  • by Tinytim

    " We loved the Chinese restaurant right next to Crocodillos "

  • by donnamags

    " Fave restaurants were Rendezvous for breakfast, Crocs for dinner , Dubliner is to be avoided "

  • by Elliemay

    " Head for the beach bars they are amazing fun! The bars near the hotel were rubbish! "

  • by vero

    " For adults, aloha cocktail bar, bit expensive but they serve best pina coladas!!! the dubliner is another good bar which is 2 minwalk only "

Similar hotels around Santa Ponsa

Hotels near Holiday Centre Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Holiday Centre Apartments?