Thomson Celebration Cruise Ship

, Thomson Cruises
Thomson Celebration Cruise Ship
Check the latest prices for this cruise
Show Prices
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 341 »
Avoid Cabin 216

"We booked the cruise in a lower deck cabin, did not ask for an upgrade, but received a phone call offering an upgrade to Deck 6 at a considerable extra cost which we agreed to. Being novice cruisers, we chose Cabin 216 as we were told it had picture window sea views. We were completely unable to enjoy the views and had to keep the curtains permanently closed as people were outside the cabin continuously, sunbathing, exercising, admiring the views, or smoking and chatting, thereby invading our privacy. In addition, the very noisy adjacent deck door constantly slammed shut, often until 2am and again from 5am, interrupting our sleep. We complained on our return and have received compensation but just wanted to advise others to chose a different cabin."

by Caribbean queen
5 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best Time to Book a Thomson Cruise

"e aware all you Thomson Cruisers, don't book your cruise as soon as they are released.

Please read the rest of this letter.

As usual in April last year I booked my cruise for the July 2015, to take advantage of the Free Drinks Package.

So I dually paid £3,462 for the Cruise, I also booked the Trans Atlantic cruise on the Celebration leaving from Malaga November 2014 to celebrate our Pearl Wedding, we paid to take our Vows again on the Ships Bridge, and bought the DVD and the Photos.

It was the best cruise we have had to date.

In December we thought about doing another cruise in March 2015, on checking cruise prices, I noticed that our July cruise on the Celebration was now priced at £3,038 which included paying £420 for the drinks package, which was £424 cheaper than we had paid in April 2014.

I contacted Thomson to ask for a refund on the difference, and have had no joy what so ever out of them, no mention of an Upgrade on Cabin or money to spend on board, JUST A RESOUNDING NO.

I have attached a section from a e-mail I received the End of January 2015

All cruise holiday prices are subject to availability and change dependent upon market conditions. If a holiday is selling well we may increase the price and equally, prices are reduced to encourage more bookings on cruises where sales are weak.

My last response was by letter which I have copied onto this e-mail.

Dear Mr; Hanlon,

Without Prejudice

Booking Ref: Case Ref:

27/02/2015

OABTA

Thank you for your further contact and I'm sorry that you remain dissatisfied with the outcome provided in our previous correspondence.

As part Of a dedicated team, specifically trained to deliver final decisions made by TUI I-JK Ireland on behalf of our Board of Directors, I am writing to confirm our final position concerning the issues you have raised.

Having taken the time to carefully review the points you have highlighted, I have ensured that the events you have brought to our attention have been fully investigated and that due consideration has been given to the experience you have had.

Whilst I appreciate the strength of your feeling, our final decision remains that if you wanted to cancel your holiday you Will incur cancellation charges, as per our terms and conditions which you agreed to When you booked your holiday,

Thomson has a policy Of buying fuel in advance at a predetermined price to ensure that the ever changing cost of fuel worldwide means that we don't need to increase prices for customers who have already booked or add additional fuel surcharges.

Unpredictable or short term variations in the cost of fuel have a very small effect on current prices due to the volume of fuel that has already been purchased. That said, a lower fuel cost may more positively impact prices in the future, potentially for winter 15 and summer 1 6, as we continue to buy in advance, but this will depend on the price of fuel remaining low for a long period Of time.

Thomson remains committed to delivering our holidays at exceptional value to our customers.

So in other words if you are not Happy don't Cruise with us, great piece of Customer relations.

Since July 2011 we have spent £17,000.00 on Thomson Cruises.

It is returning customers that are the bread and butter of any company, Thomson don't seem to grasp this, or are the just to focused on profit before customer care, all Thomson cruisers must have noticed that the so called drinks package has been cut each year, with more and more drinks now having a surcharge.

On another note if we had continued to cruise with the Royal Caribbean we would have been Diamond members of The Crown Anchor, receiving numerous benefits.

At least the Royal Caribbean give something back to there returning customers.

All of this has put me off booking another Thomson Cruise.

But will not put me off on going our Cruise in July.

The Celebration is a great Ship and the Crew are absolutely Brilliant from the Captain to the Galley Steward.

We have became friends with many of the Crew, so this will be our chance to say goodbye to them.

Please don't let me put you off Cruising with Thomson, but wait to book when there sales are not going well, and you will probably pay a Fair Price for your Cruise, and not an inflated price to make Thomson more Profit.

Happy Cruising Everyone

The Hanlon Family and Friends
"

  • Holiday details: Nov 2014, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: This is a great wee ship, with great service and a Brilliant Crew.
by John C
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fly cruise around the carribean

"Just arrived back off the celebration deck 7 room 125. Wow wow wow wow wow amazing loved every second the staff are the sweetest the ship is fab and spotless Nicki and her dance crew are tops, we just loved the cocktails and the food was first class in fact just booked to go again at Xmas that's how good it was. Take no notice of any negative comments I'm very fussy and could not fault a thing thank you all right from booking stage to the fab Dream liner flight home you excelled yourselves well done you all work so hard. Get out there and book up you'll love every second we certainly did just what you need wall to wall sunshine in January sheer bliss."

  • Holiday details: Jan 2015, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: In Dominica go on the safari to the rainforest it's beautiful and really makes you appreciate what we have at home.
  • Good For: Beach
by Susan Jane
10 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Was conned in cataraman in Antigua.

"Booked this excursion on the Thomson celebration,trip on catamaran in Antigua ,bought 2 cd s on board ,got home played the cd s ,they were blank was really angry as not cheap.who would you get in touch with about this. January 2015"

by Annie 10
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Amazed

"As virgin cruisers and a family below 45 years of age, we were unsure of what would await us. We were amazed, the shows we knew wouldn't be for us, but the service, cleanliness and hospitality was amazing. Horizons bar was us to a tee, great entertainment by Roxy, great service by Siti and Raine. We have booked again for the summer, but the mes for 7 days, and planning to return to the Islands winter 2015."

  • Holiday details: Dec 2014, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Do your research on the islands, what you want to do off ship etc
  • Good For: Beach
by Jacqui H
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Thomson Majesty not good.

"What can I say not impressed at all,with the ship and the entertainment was not good.

The entertainment was just Thomson own singing and dancing team, to say it was an Xmas cruise not much going on.the ship was clean and food was good.but enjoyed Island Escape better,which I didn't think I would say.Been on Royal Caribbean Independence of the sea sit was FAB.GOING To try PO in May see what they are like.
"

  • Holiday details: Dec 2014
  • Advice: ISLAND ESCAPE, IF YOU GET A LATE DEAL
by Denise S
1 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

no good for 14 day cruisers

"We like this ship.but the last trip we done we found 7 days is fine.but if you did 14 days they started to show the same shows they did in the first week."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2014
  • Advice: make sure you will see a different show every night.
by vovager
6 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just awful

"Never set foot on a Thomson cruise ship again.

This was my first ever cruise and will no doubt be the last.

Liner old, grotty, smelly, cramped.

Food was in fairness of a fair standard and the staff excellent ( not the ones dressed in white uniforms, passengers just seemed to be a nuisance )

Entertainment, bless they tried , but was all directed towards the old age population.

I didn't really know what to expect but the other passengers where crass, rude, uncouth and drink Pikeys.

It really was like a weather spoons on a grotty high street in some grotty town, all that was missing was a kebab shop.

Never ever again will I waste in excess of 5k for 2 on this joke.

Very bitter, much poorer and put of crushing for life.
"

  • Holiday details: Dec 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Don't, bring febreeze and a stun gun
by Homme
3 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

First cruise-lots of positives

"I booked this first time Caribbean cruise with five weeks to spare. It sailed from Malaga over to Antigua. This took six days at sea..which i found slightly rocky but did not suffer any sea sickness. The food was magnificent and the staff the same. Neckson and Justin in particular in the Lido restaurant. The cabins were as expected small but practical. They are checked twice a day by cabin staff. This can feel intrusive at times, however nice to get a fresh towel and the bed made.

The Meridian restaurant is nice, but can take an age to get served if you are very hungry.

The entertainment was there if you like that sort of thing. I am 30 plus so I can't say I enjoy Neil Diamond tribute acts nor the resident band 'The Peakles'.

The acts on board are at aimed at the older crowd (60 and 70 upwards) It must be hard to cater for everyone, however, I think a bit of an up to date choice in song occasionally wouldn't go a miss. The reps were great. Gavin the cruise director is a natural entertainer. One criticism though, he favored certain guests and they would get a mention or a meal invite. Probably they were the 'big spenders' on board. Bit distasteful to others though. The islands were fantastic and the crew amazing. The Captain was down to earth and re-assuring. I enjoyed the cruise, the entertainment was a let down though if I am honest. They really tried, but please think of the 30/40 year old that might not like tribute acts. Stevie Jay Johnson needs to go, as do The Peakles. Roxy was better, but her tracks were very repetitive. You knew what she would sing before she did in the end.
"

  • Holiday details: Nov 2014
  • Advice: Take a good book or three
  • Good For: Beach
by nickyabra
8 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Changed our Black Sea cruise

"We were going to go to the Black Sea in October, but due to the problems in the Ukraine and the fact that the ports we wanted to visit were no longer available, we decided to change our cruise to the Western Med. Like others, who have posted here, we booked over a year ago and paid premium rates. We were told that we wouldn't get a refund but could use the money for extras on the new cruise, meaning we had £1800 to spend. We used it for extras that we would never normally buy - including the full price drinks package - which is definitely not good value for money, unless you're heading towards being an alcoholic!!

The cabin steward we had was pleasant, efficient and thorough and our cabin was spotlessly clean.
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2014, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Try the three restaurants - there's something for everyone. There's good entertainment as well.
by Spangles48
7 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Greedy and indifferent Thomson management

"We have just returned from the Thomson Black Sea cruise on the Thomson Celebration that should have visited three ports in the Ukraine – these unfortunately were cancelled owing to the current instability in that region. The alternative ports in Bulgaria, Romania, and Georgia were not to the same standard or appeal and Thomson suffered huge losses in revenue and prestige as a result of their decision to go ahead with the cruise rather than cancel completely (as the Costa line did). This was a PR disaster for Thomson as many passengers booked early believing they would be visiting the Ukraine’s prestige ports of Odessa, Sebastopol, and Crimea and the average price per person was circa £2000. Two weeks after the payment deadline (when the holiday had to be paid in full), Thomson slashed the advertised price to less than half and it dropped to £700 per person at one stage. The internet forums were white hot as disgruntled paid-up passengers argued that the three changes in port amounted to a major change in contract and, consequently, should have resulted in a full refund without penalty. Thomson argued that it wasn’t a major change and suggested that the only way to contest this was to take it through the courts. How very cynical of this Company who forever states that their primary purpose is to listen to what their customer’s have to say; what a load of tosh!!!

It’s a standing joke that British passengers on cruises tend to discuss the price they paid at some stage. We have to say that this subject came up during many, many evening meals in the Meridian Restaurant where diners tend to share tables and meet new fellow passengers each meal. Some seethed at the top prices they paid without refund while others took pride in how little they actually paid. We got the impression from such exchanges that most of the passengers booked during the last ten weeks of sale at a considerably reduced fare.

As for the actual cruise, we enjoyed the ship and the ports and some of the excursions that, surprisingly, were good value for money and would have been hard to beat if you chose to use alternative local transports. This is where good planning came into play.

The downside of the 15-day cruise was the Novo Virus that could not be eradicated from the ship. It affected all decks at some time or another and the dreaded sterilization trolley with the hazard bags and the masked crews who fumigated each affected cabin was a constant reminder of the virus striking down yet another unfortunate passenger.

The ship did try very hard to control the outbreak but were unsuccessful. Passengers who did not contract the virus were still considerably disrupted by the sterilization controls in place, for example the self-service buffets were no longer self service and it was like school dinners all over again. Scores of crew were recruited into ladling out each dish and many didn’t know the meaning of “no” or “just a little” so your plate rarely resembled what you intended to eat. The whole process at mealtimes was slower and queues were longer and food not as hot; it was not a happy ship for many passengers.

The Thomson Celebration has a good library – but not on this cruise! The virus closed the library for the full 15 days. The daily quiz sheets and Ship newspaper could only be obtained on request at the reception desk and were not generally circulated as on previous cruises – yet another virus prevention decision.

Would we travel on Thomson Celebration again (this was our third visit)? Yes – but never again would be book long-term, in future it will be last minute at the lowest price we can get! We are not alone in this policy for future holidays, it was said many times by many passengers and for this Thomson should really hang their heads in shame. Their greed to try and turn a sow’s ear into a silk purse failed terribly and they have lost a lot of customers because of their intransigent stance.
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2014, booked with David Urquhart Travel
  • Advice: book last minute
by Mike M
5 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Caunos Gulet cruise turkey

"Terrible! Felt like I was kept a prisoner on this boat despite the itinerary stating we would get off to visit ancient ruins, picnic in the hills and visit mud baths? We did not get the opportunity to do any of these. We eventually got off the boat midweek for a 3 hour stop at Gocek which was the only stop in a whole week !! The trip was boring the only highlight being swimming. The boat never sailed very far just criss crossing from one bay to another and they all looked the same apart from the one where we were staring at a pile of rubbish for 24 hours. Complained to Thomson on my return but they have ignored me."

by Gina S
1 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 341 »

Average rating

7.5 / 10
(490 reviews)
Write A Review

Ratings summary

Brilliant
260
Good
87
Average
50
Poor
29
Awful
58

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 8/10
Food: 8/10
Value: 6.5/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 7/10

Need a hotel before or after your Thomson Celebration cruise?

Check out these recommendations in ports for upcoming itineraries

Top traveller tips for Thomson Celebration Cruise Ship
  • by pstringy76

    " Do the Excursions.....they may be expensive but the sights you see are priceless "

  • by Toldo west yorkshire

    " pay for a cabin upgrade if you can afford "

  • by Gwen Taylor

    " Bethlehem is a wonderful experience and Alanya is so inviting. The celebration gives the whole day for us all to enjoy the experience. "

  • by Ayrshire Team

    " Enjoy all the destinations Istanbul and Izmir very different and city stops - Mykonos and Rhodes and Marmaris Kusadasi great beach resorts "

  • by Jacki Thew

    " Make a sunbed reservation very early in the morning as no one sticks to the rule of not reserving. "

  • by wo1890524

    " Use a Credit Card to pay on board expenses instead of Debit Card,You get a month to get over aditional expenses trips etc.If on a budget. "

  • by Sue Hennedy Smallshaw

    " prepare in advance for the captains night, we didnt and regretted it. "

  • by ajks

    " Liberties entertainment was good "

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Thomson Celebration Cruise Ship?

Stayed on Thomson Celebration Cruise Ship? Share your insight.