Thomson Destiny Cruise Ship

, Thomson Cruises
hotel photo
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 342 »
Great to see the Destiny - now the Louis Olympia

"Sailed into Rhodes on the Queen Elizabeth and immediately recognized the Crow's nest bar of what was the Thompson Destiny. Now the Olympia. I have very fond memories of the Destiny. we met up with some Australians who where really enjoying the cruise on the now named Olympia that had come down from Istanbul. I started cruising on the Thompson Sapphire, loved the Topaz and the Emerald. The QE is a lovely ship but there really is something about ships that look like ships and not mobile blocks of flats. I was really pleased to see that the Destiny (Olympia) is still alive and chugging around the Med."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Booked Independently
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by Val H
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Best Ship Since The Topaz

"Our very first two cruises were on Thomson's Topaz but as this ship went out of service we chose the Destiny. We had a superb balcony cabin - one of only a few. The trip was fantastic, crew marvellous and we were treated like royalty. We have been lucky enough to do many cruises with different companies but our best memories are of the Topaz and the Destiny both smaller ships but both Thomsons. Sad they have gone out of service."

by Patricia C
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Thomson Destiny. Last cruise

"What a disaster, they could not get to Corfu fast enough in order to change over to their "new" ship Majesty. The itinerary was changed several times re ports of call and all calls were reduced in time spent there.The captain did a runner two days before the cruise ended to avoid all the flack, and no consideration given to the fare paying passengers whatsoever. We have been in correspondence with Thomson re our complaints and all they offered was a £110 holiday voucher "as a gesture of goodwill". What a joke.

We will never cruise with this excuse for a cruise operator again !

Alan & Cheryl Robinson
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2012
by alanro
3 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

absolutely fantastic

"I first cruised on this ship when owned by airtours,thought you could not have improved travelled a furter two times on this ship with thomson, even better, foot was great, staff where marvellous and cabins where clean and comfortable. I do not know what people expect from a ship, we personnally sleep and wash in the cabin so as long as it is clean we are happy. After the first cruise we did not bother with the Captains night, we were well catered for, the entertainment was fantastic, I have since cruised with Royal Carribean and would prefer the Thomson cruises, less of class difference more entainment and staff a lot more friendly, I have booked 2013 with Island Escape do not know what to expect but I am thinking positive"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2011, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: relax and enjoy
by joyceebabes
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

dont cruise with thompsons

"we travelled on the ATLANTIC SUNRISE FINAL CRUISE FIASCO, never again!

thompsons do not give a jot about their customers once they have your money, in the process of legal action against this disgusting company.

advice DO NOT CRUISE WITH THOMPSONS, use a proper cruise company unless you are easily pleased, loads of last minute itinery changes without the offer of holiday change/ or money back [legal obligation] please heed my advice.

colin g.
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2012, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: dont go
by colin gadsdon
1 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

cruise

"having returned for a wonderfull cruise

once we had boraded the aircraft my wife had discoveed she had lost her kindle book only time we were parted fom our baggage was at the security

which this day was terrible at tenerife we had put our bags though on belt then sent off to another hoop for body scan this left our bags for over 5 mins when we picked the up they were all in a heap

we told the cabin staff was told there was nothing they could do about it

on our return i sent in a claim to thomsons holiday insurance fist to be told they not pay out the first £100 of any claim did i still wish to proceed as the bill was for around £150

since then ive now been told they will not process the claim as i have to had a police report in tenerife with in 24 hrs this proved to be impossable as we wer about to take off and return to uk

how were we able to make any form or report

so beware they take your mony but dont wish to pay out

we have already booked 2 further holidays with thomsom who im now contacting to ask for a refund on the insurance we already paid for and go to a reliable company who can at least see the practacalities why sometimes you cannot make a police report or disembark to make one and them miss the flight

A Carpenter
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: loved it sorry its gone
by Anthony C
7 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Thomson destiny last cruise...

"What a nightmare.A TLANTIC SUNRISE MED CRUISE

20/04/2012 - 04/05/2012.

Ports changed,times in port changed, some days we only had three and a half hours on shore. Half the staff went to the new ship majesty 2 days before the end of our cruise.Even the captain jumped ship a few days before the cruise was over.Food was mostly the same every night.Entertainment/onboard activities was great IF YOU WERE OVER 60.

APART FROM THE COMEDIANS i must say.

there wasn't anything going on on the last day even though some people were still on board til 7-8pm.

All thomson were interested in was getting to corfu a day early so as to transfer staff and supplies to the majesty.

We have sent our complaints to Thomson.If you were there too and you agree with this review then please reply.

Alan & Kim.
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2012, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Don't
by Alan-
3 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Canary Cruise

"This was a wonderful ship (just a shame it is going out of commission). All the crew and staff made us feel very welcome, always and smile and a good morning. The staff were always cleaning the ship so it was spotless. We will certainly be going back on a Thomson Cruise if this is anything to go by. Had a great time.

We went on some of the excursions, Morocco we did not like and would probably stay on the ship if we went back. We went to a Western Park/Zoo in Lanzarote but found that you spent too long there. We had a walk into Madeira which was lovely.
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2012
by Annabell S
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

thomson destiny easter 2012

"i know theres not much pointt in writing a review seen as though its leaving in like a week but the ship was just amazing, small but well kept cabins, great staff all very friendly and always smiling. great entertainment, well worth it seen as though some of the reviews i read before, really dont know how people can knock the ship down as thought it was super. i know thomsons dont have the biggest ships as though we pulled up by costa and royal caribbean ships but thomsons just have that touch what makes the ship magic in its own way. made some great friends too as you dont get people who think there it but just want to enjoy the ship. so sad to see it go but i will definetly go on another as this was my second cruise with thomsons and it was just as good as the dream! p.s this was wrote by a 15 year old"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: everything :D
by William A
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Destiny - now on last cruise

"Excellent value. Cabins small. Staff pleasant, cabin clean, but costume jewellery (several neck laces) were taken from my cabin. I reported this and mentioned to the cleaning staff and reception desk but it was not found and it was definitely packed and unpacked. Food in restaurant good, but Lido I found was very cold. Entertainment good. Found fellow guests much more friendly than on other more expensive cruises. Trips expensive and I missed the more detailed port lectures given on other boats and exercise and Tai Chi classes. Destiny is now on its last cruise and Thomson have the ship "Majesty" to replace it."

  • Holiday details: Apr 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Not relevant as boat is no longer with Thomson's
by Friendly22
7 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fabulous cruise

"I have just returned yesterday from my first cruise aboard the Thomson Destiny and I had the most fabulous time.Everything about it was great the ship itself, the food, the entertainment and the crew who couldn't do enough for you.The cabins although fairly small were lovely with plenty of storage and kept really clean and tidy by the fabulous housekeeping staff.It is a shame that the Destiny only has a few more cruises left as a Thomson ship as I would have had no hesitation about booking another cruise on her."

by Marianne L
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Wonderful Time

"Just returned from our first ever cruise to celebrate our Ruby (40th) wedding anniversary.

We had a great time. The people are so friendly, the entertainment team are absolutely brilliant, really good singers and dancers. We even watched the play in the afternoon of the day at sea which was excellant. We went to all the evening shows which were fantastic.

The food was excellant as were the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and couldn't do enough for you.

Had an invite to the captains table which was special as was our Ruby Wedding Anniversary.

Despite the weather which could have been better (but it was February after all) we met some really nice people and had a great time. The entertainment team are all brilliant and the waiters are fantastic too and our cabin was always clean and had a different towel animal each night and chocolate.

Would we do it again- Yes without a doubt.

Jim & Sandra Edgar

Glasgow
"

  • Holiday details: Feb 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Enjoy the friendly service, food & entertainment.
by Jim & Sandra Edgar
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 342 »

Average rating

8 / 10
(500 reviews)
Write A Review

Ratings summary

Brilliant
306
Good
103
Average
40
Poor
23
Awful
27

Rating by feature

Room: 6.5/10
Service: 9/10
Food: 8.5/10
Top traveller tips for Thomson Destiny Cruise Ship
  • by sunburnt

    " Use the Lido dining area. Don't expect great enterainment. "

  • by flipflop

    " we took out the drinks package on booking it cost us £50 each and included branded drinks "

  • by Carry on Cruising

    " Buy the drinks package, try to book a cabin further back from the bow, as it can be quite noisy when docking. "

  • by boltonkev

    " dont get a cabin on the lower back of the ship,pre book 1 near the front to avoid engine noise "

  • by happyhols

    " all sterling on the ship so you know exactly what you are spending. We just took small notes of euro's for visiting the ports for drinks etc "

  • by alanro

    " Dont expect to stick to the itinerary you paid for when booking, they just change it as they go. "

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Thomson Destiny Cruise Ship?

Stayed on Thomson Destiny Cruise Ship? Share your insight.