Iberostar Torviscas Playa

4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(48 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
33
Good
9
Average
2
Poor
3
Awful
1

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 9/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Iberostar Torviscas Playa

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

About Iberostar Torviscas Playa

The Iberostar Torviscas Playa is a 4* family-friendly resort in Tenerife which is dedicated to catering to children as much as to adults. Located in the popular Torviscas area, just north of the lively Costa Adeje centre, there is plenty do here, both at the resort and in the local area. Transfers take no more than 60 minutes door to door, so this hotel is ideal for those who want to jump straight into their holiday, without the long driving times. The ultimate aim of the Iberostar Torviscas Playa is to make holidaying with the kids an easy and stress-free experience. The all-inclusive option allows you to budget accurately for your getaway, and means there are always soft drinks (and cocktails!) available throughout the day. The design of the hotel itself, not just its services and amenities, goes a long way towards making this resort one of the most family-friendly hotels in Tenerife. With spacious rooms comfortably accommodating families of four and more, you can be sure that everyone maintains their own space and privacy, whilst still enjoying some all-important bonding time.

Facilities, Entertainment, Activities

The Iberostar Torviscas Playa has designed a comprehensive programme to prevent their guests from getting bored on holiday. For adults, the spa and fitness centre offers a range of beauty treatments and classes, conducted in multiple languages, and there are also unlimited opportunities to try horseback riding, watersports, or cycling in the local area. The resort is happy to help guests make arrangements for excursions and activities offsite, with trusted local partners. If you’re travelling with kids, you can be sure they will be well looked after, that they’ll have fun, and, most importantly, that they’ll be worn out by the end of the night! There are three distinct kids clubs at the resort - Kidsclub, for 4 to 7 year olds, Maxiclub, for 8 to 12 year olds, and Teenclub, for those up to 17 years of age. With arts and crafts for the younger visitors, to recreational activities for the teenagers, kids of all ages will love their holiday in Tenerife.

Room Information and Room Facilities

There are 449 double rooms, two junior suites, six executive suites, and six accessible rooms located at the Iberostar Torviscas Playa, making it an average sized complex for the Costa Adeje area. Double rooms are perfect for solo travellers and couples, an accommodate up to three guests in each room. However, those with families can opt for interconnecting rooms, providing more space whilst still maintaining privacy. All rooms boast balconies with either mountain, pool, or sea views. Suites are available for those who like living a life of luxury. Suites all offer unobstructed views over the nearby beaches, the Atlantic Ocean, and the island of La Gomera in the distance. Sliding doors open up to large private balcony or terraced areas, complete with patio furniture and loungers for sitting out and enjoying the wonderful Tenerife weather.

Food and Drink Options

Two bars and two restaurants make up the gastronomy factor of the Iberostar Torviscas Playa. The America Restaurant serves food in a relaxed buffet-style, serving up international cuisine ranging from authentic Canarian dishes to Asian and Oriental offerings. No shorts are allowed here, so be sure to pack a pair of trousers. The other onsite restaurant, Bar-B-Que, is an al fresco dining establishment where diners can gaze out over the picturesque swimming pools. Light snacks and nibbles are available during the day. The Lobby Bar, open right through from morning to the early hours, is a down-to-earth place to enjoy a coffee, soft drink, or glass of wine. It’s ideal for enjoying some quiet time, or socialising with family and friends. Think of it as your trusty local. However, for something a little more upbeat, the Entertainment Bar, open exclusively in the evenings, offers live music, dancing, and an extensive cocktail menu. Alternatively, the hotel is within easy reach of the bars of Costa Adeje, creating a wealth of choice for your evening entertainment.

 
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
Fantastic

"Where do I start, we were moved from the horrid hotel Jacaranda and I have nothing but rave reviews about this hotel.

Check in and reception staff- excellent, efficient, polite and very welcoming

Entertainment staff- truly amazing, very hardworking, very professional not pushy

Restaurant- food fabulous something for everyone including kids

Waiter staff- very friendly always greet you with a smile

Room- a little dated but spotless

Pool- large pretty pool with plenty sunbeds

Maid service- excellent

Kids club- fantastic staff were fabulous

Overall our holiday was simply fabulous. the staff, in particular the entertainment staff and kids club staff made our holiday memorable, would we stay here again if we travelled to Tenerife? Absolutely!
"

  • Holiday details: May 2013, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Pay for all inclusive as drinks can be a little pricey
  • Good For: Beach
by Gillybops
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Crime at The Torviscas Playa

"My wife was robbed in the lift within 2 hours of our arrival at the Iberostar Torviscas Playa.

What made things worse was the attitude of the reception staff who were totally disinterested and became even less interested when I tried to explain that my wife was carrying valuables because the safe in our room did not work and I was at reception reporting the problem. The receptionist did not even ask whether my wife had been hurt or record the theft nor inform management, I can only assume that this is a common occurrence and, perhaps, management do not wish to be told so that they can claim that they were not aware of the problem.

Security at the hotel appears to be almost nonexistent. There is one CCTV camera recording the backs of people entering the lift on the ground floor. There appears to be no coverage of the main entrance, the stairs or the reception area. There are no security staff to deter thieves from entering the hotel. Adjacent hotels have security on all their entrances, so thieves are more likely to target guests in the Torviscas Playa. In fact we returned to the hotel in the early hours (after a great night at Johnny Kelly's Elvis bar) only to find the hotel entrance and reception deserted. Given the poor security of this hotel, you cannot relax and need to be as alert as if you were in the street. Unaccompanied women should not use the lifts, and don't think that you are safe if a couple get into the lift, as it was a man and woman who robbed my wife. I dread to think what would have happened if she had realized what they were doing, as she was trapped in the lift between two thieves. Our 44th wedding anniversary might have been our last.

Street crime is rife in Las Americas. In fact a gang tried to rob me on our last day. A smartly dressed young man sat down beside me and, while his two female accomplices pretended to consult a map, he was trying to open my bag. It’s not all bad because a few days earlier a nice Irish lady dropped her water bottle near our seat and “found” a plastic key card which she attempted to return to my wallet. I did think it a bit strange as the card was not ours nor was it there when we sat down.

Torviscas Playa management have not responded to my complaint but, Iberostar head office have acknowledged receipt of my Email. One last thing; when I Googled Iberostar to get their Email address it came up with “Relax in Iberostar hotels” There’s irony for you.
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2013, booked with Cosmos
  • Advice: Do not relax. Be as alert to crime as if you were in the street.
by Kx swi22
3 / 10

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Hotel in Ideal Location

"This hotel is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. One of the friendliest and most helpful staff we have ever encountered on holiday from the chamber maids, restaurant staff, entertainment staff and reception etc. It is an attractive hotel with many spacious areas. The pool is large with many sunbathing areas on different levels. The food was great and huge choices available both at breakfast and dinner. It is an ideal location right by the sea.

The two negatives are that 1) the rooms although comfortable and adequate with fridge, large television with many channels for choice, air conditioning etc. the actual decor of the rooms are somewhat 'drab' and need updating - more like 3 star than 4 star - but this certainly did not spoil our holiday as there were far more positives to the hotel and 2) the area outside the hotel is quite low key at night and may not be 'lively' enough for some people. I personally think this hotel and area is perhaps more suited to either young couples with children or the 50 plus age group. Certainly not for teenagers.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, booked with Travel Republic
  • Advice: A 20 minute walk to the right of the hotel will bring you to Playa del Duque - a lovely stylish resort.
by joan and colin hurst
9 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Well Loated, Good Value Hotel

"Just returned from a stay at the Iberostar Torviscas Playa, half board - room 401, 26/10/11 to 6/10/11. Many of the previous comments had made me a little nervous about going but most of these proved either trivial or unfounded in my opinion.

True that the rooms are starting to look a bit dated and tired but it’s a busy, well used hotel – the cleaning and attention to detail made most of this irrelevant and out air con worked very well indeed. It’s was a let down that rooms didn’t have kettle or tea & coffee making facilities but the mini-bar fridge was a real boon.

The standard of the food, as usual for Iberostar in the large spacious restaurant was excellent and well varied and everyone would have found something – yes it can get repetitive but that’s the nature of such dining.

Didn’t notice any evidence of a renovation at a the nearby hotel Esmeralda and there were always loads of sun-beds and umbrellas available and the pools were clean and well maintained and I noticed pool attendants testing the water several times each day.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and true it’s probably at the lower end for a 4 star but it proved real value for money.

Booked the deal via Travel Republic.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Upgrade room to pool or sea view
  • Good For: Beach
by Steven
9 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great hotel

"would definately go back to this hotel. food excellent. bar staff superb. area great. quiet bars and entertainment bars. loved it."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, half board, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: everything you want is here.
  • Good For: Beach
by caza
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brilliant

"as a family of 5 with two 5 year olds and a teenager we stayed here on the 6th of april for 10 days. We were very pleased to arrive at a very clean and well situated hotel, from the minute we arrived until the day we had to leave the staff were amazing very friendly and helpful and absolutly brilliant with the kids. We will definatly be going back next year.....excellent holiday :)"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2010, half board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: have fun and enjoy :)
  • Good For: Beach
by wolbran
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant

"Hotel very clean. Good food. Staff helpful. Plenty of room around the 2 pools.

My husband & I stayed in October 2009. We have now booked to go back at Easter. Can't wait.

The only down side is on Friday & Saturday night the local teenagers hold street disco's which go on until the early hours. Hotel security did try to move them on. This time we are having a sea view so shouldn't be disturbed.
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2009, Half boaard, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by Ellie
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best holiday ever!

"flew out to tennerife on my birthday.me and my partners first holiday and it was brill.I couldnt fault anything about the hotel.The food was lovely and im normally really fussy.The rooms were very clean and homely.The pool area was great and i loved the fact it was so close to the beach.The staff were so funny and friendly and always full of energy.Iv never been to a hotel were the staff actually smiled.

Were definitly going back to this hotel next year i would recommend it to anyone.
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2009, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by emma_jayne
10 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

tired and old

"This hotel is in need of a overall from the tired looking foyer to the rooms to the restaurant the pool area is nice but that is outside also the area is not sutible for the disabled or people with walking difficulties"

by mountford
4 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

just got back from a brilliant 10...

"just got back from a brilliant 10 night stay at the torviscas playa. everything about this hotel was outstanding, the rooms were spotless and maid sevice excellent, staff really friendly, food lovely and a great choice. the pool was large enough for this big hotel and there is a childrens pool that was great for my two nieces, plus a smaller main pool with a jaquzzi in the centre of it.

the location is brilliant and there is a side exit to allow people staying at the hotel easy access to the beach, the beach nearby is clean with lots of cafes and restraunts to choose from if you decide to eat out.

just a short 10 minute walk away (if that) there is a larger choice of more bars, cafes and restraunts alongside another gorgeous beach plenty of shops nearby to browse through and supermarkets to stock up on water etc

i was really suprised to read the review where this hotel was only given 1/10. i found it to be a really safe and freindly environment and would definately not of thought there were bag thieves around.

the mini kids club in the day looked excellent and the entertainment staff were lovely, always trying to involve everyone. althuogh i didnt take part in any day activities there was a large choice.

the only bad thing i could possible say is that the childrens night entertainment was not all that good, there was a childrens disco but it only lasted 30minutes. this in no way affected our holiday though as there is plenty more to do in the area.i dont know if the childrens entertainment is any better in high season as there were few children to entertain during our stay

i would defintley return to this hotel again, a definate 10 out of 10
"

by loujack
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

hotel is in an excellent location...

" hotel is in an excellent location for beach,bars,restaurants.Food in hotel was superb couldnt fault the very friendly staff,rooms cleaned every day with fresh towels,pool area cleaned every morning with pool towels if required.On arrival the very effiecient receptionist met us with a glass of fruit juice and was very informative. The air con was good and the mini fridge came in handy.Although hotel was on the road it was quiet , we had a room on the front with excellent views,577. If your a motown/soul fan then visit Motown Magic and Manhattons for a great night out.Enjoyed this holiday and hotel that much cant wait to go back."

by  C A PEDERSEN
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

ive just returned home from a week...

"ive just returned home from a week stay at the iberostar torviscas playa ,im so glad we only booked a week,The room smelt,the air conditioning didnt work,the fridge was warm,staff in dinning room were very rude,hotel is on a busy road,car alarms were going off all night,not to mention the night club oppisite which went on till three in the morning,worst of all i had my bag stolen from hotel pool,i would not return to this hotel if i was offered a week free"

by E HORTON
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Explore area

Map for Iberostar Torviscas Playa Closest airport: Tenerife South Reina Sofia (TFS) 10.5 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Iberostar Torviscas Playa
  • by Steven

    " Upgrade room to pool or sea view "

  • by joan and colin hurst

    " A 20 minute walk to the right of the hotel will bring you to Playa del Duque - a lovely stylish resort. "

Similar hotels around Costa Adeje

Hotels near Iberostar Torviscas Playa

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Iberostar Torviscas Playa?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Iberostar Torviscas Playa? Share your insight.

Iberostar Torviscas Playa is also called:

  • iberostar hotel adeje
  • iberostar hotel torviscas playa
  • torviscas playa
  • torviscas playa tenerife

Address: Ernesto Sarti 5, Tenerife 38679, Spain