Devon Valley Holiday Village

Ringmore Road, Torquay TQ14 0EY, United Kingdom
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(33 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
19
Good
6
Average
4
Poor
2
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 7.5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 8.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
lovely holiday

"just stayed a week at devon valley booked the economy caravan which was the shaldon caravan was spotless bedding was clean. could not get picture on tv went down to report it and before we got back to caravan it was fixed it was a lovely holiday wish i had another week there will be going again next year ."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, Booked Independently
by jaybec3
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

excellent family value

"booked this holiday last minute..and was unsure what to expect..as only a budget caravan left...but let me tell you..for a budget caravan it was great..very modern and clean..much better than haven...lovely location..the views were amazing...my son loved the football cage..which he lived in for almost the whole week...great entertainment..and surprisingly the restaurant overlooking the sea was great value..considering the price at other parks..and the shop was very reasonable too...was a peaceful atmosphere during the day..very welcoming and homely..the take away was very reasonable..the only gripe i had with that is the fact kids get squash with their meal instead of a can or bottle of drink...lol..my daughter sprained her arm..and the staff went out of their way to check she was okay and gave her a sling to make her more comfortable..cant fault how friendly and welcoming the staff were......highly reccommended holiday park..we had lots of fun..and were sad to leave..and will return again.."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
by dyllisha
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

very dissapointed

"Very, very disapointed we had a great holiday in 2010 so booked again this year, we only stopped one night and not 4 we paid for, arrived in accomodation to find blood stains on two of the beds, the room was dirty, cobwebs and spiders in one bedroom and lounge, the sofa bed had stains on in, the room was damp and realy smelly . We complained but really fell on deaf ears we asked for a upgrade but was told site was full but for the amount of people there I don't think so,they did clean the challet when we said we weren't happy and had to sit out in the rain for 1 hour with no apologies, management really need to upgrade their people skills as they didn't want to know, the entertainment on the night we stayed was poor compared to last year, the following morning after spending a bad night in our challet we went to breakfast but the staff very unhelpful we had to ask 3 times for our drinks as we were thirsty but had to wait,asked for toast but never got it as the staff didn't know what they were doin and they weren't busy when we went in, we were told we had to wait till all our order was ready, will not be going back to Devon Valley again"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Breakfast Included, Booked Independently
by shaza
1 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

never again

"Never before were we so glad to get home.Don't even think about going here if you haven't got a car,miles from nowhere and nothing to do on the park except for the pool which kept closing due to children being ill.We went on a sun hol but upgraded (thank god) the caravan was ok,tv was a small portable from the dark ages, carpet was filthy, no toaster unless you wanted to hire one. evening entertainers did their job ok until 9 when "captain DV" came on and that was complete crap! my daughter then came down with an awful sick bug which was going round...first thing we did when we got home was cancel our next holiday, put us right off!"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, self catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: take a car
by fifi
3 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Downhill

"Sadly DV is in need of a management shake up!!! Our caravan was due for demolition surely.Our allocated parking space was taken by the staff and complaints fell on deaf ears.Safety rules on speeding were completely ignored instead of 5mph speeds of around 30mph were being done by staff members so if you take the kids watch out!!! Restaurant and Entertainment in bad need of updating in quality.

Perfect location that brings people back every year. But feel a change is needed to inject a better performance all round as the management at the moment does not like criticism. And after many years of visiting DV will certainly give it second thoughts as to returning.

Will give it 5 out of 10 for a low standard holiday.
"

by headhunter
5 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Heaven

"What better place to spend a week away from the traffic with a youngster in tow.

We found Devon Valley a few years ago as it is an excellent place for us to stay whilst visiting my daughter who lives in Torquay.

It's the best of both worlds. Cheaper than a Hotel and you can come and go to suit yourself.

Since my grandson was born we go back every year, sometimes twice. The facilities for the under 5's are brilliant and the staff are great fun. We've had chalets with balcony's and two storey apartments and they have all been great. One holiday we didn't leave the site for 5 day's. There was enough to keep my grandson occupied from getting up till being totally worn out at 9 ish at night. The views are lovely. We do self cater but we have tried the restaurant and it was very nice.I even got to be a judge for one of their fancy dress shows. They do try to include every-one in the fun. Nothing is too much trouble and any problems are sorted at once. (We haven't had many). Who needs to go abroad when we have all this on our doorsteps. ? We live in Wales and holiday in Devon and Dorset. The best of both worlds.I would and do recommend it to any-one. Heaven on earth.

Teresa.
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Arrive early and enjoy the park and get used to where things are before booking in time. Saves time later.
by terry t
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant value, excellent buget chalet, stunning locations, can't wait to go back!!

"Despite reading some not very positive things about Devon Valley and especially about the chalets, we went on holiday with a little trepidation! However, we were pleasantly surprised and had a fantastic time. We are booking another holiday for later in the year!

We traveled from Gloucestershire to get to Devon Valley and found it really easily. We used the AA route planner and it was simple and straightforward. The little bit of instruction on the Devon Valley website, alongside the map, is useful for when you get really close to the park so you know what to look out for etc. On arrival at the park, it looked really nice and tidy. The play areas looked new and our 19 month old couldn't wait to explore!

We were able to check in a little bit early as it was a quiet time in the season and the chalet was ready. The receptionists were lovely and friendly, a theme which continued with all the staff we encountered. We purchased a £5 electric token which lasted us for the whole holiday. We saved about £12 on the holiday by not hiring their linen and taking our own which turned out well as it made you feel more at home.

We quickly looked round the shop, it is a little expensive as you would expect for the convenience. We went to Tesco Express which is only down the road. If you ask at reception they have printed directions to everywhere you need to get to in the area which is excellent (such as shops, nearby towns etc).

You can park right outside the accommodation, there is an allocated space per chalet. We were surprised and pleased the chalet was stand alone unit, so we would not be disturbed by adjoining neighbours (this has been a problem on other holidays with noisiness when in a block of chalets). You had a few small steps to walk up to get in but this wasn't a problem for us.

On entering the chalet, it was basic as we were expecting but very clean and warm. We were allocated accommodation on arrival as we booked through the Sun newspaper holiday, it turned out to be a Topper 2 Bedroom Chalet, with one double bedroom and one twin.

There was everything you needed there, a well equipped basic kitchen (but take your own tin opener, theirs was rubbish!), shower room with separate toilet, sofa and chair, butterfly table with 4 chairs, TV with some freeview channels (cBeebies, ITV2, BBC3) and good reception, hangers in wardrobes, plenty of storage space for clothes etc. The beds were a little hard but we slept perfectly well. The curtains do let in light, but we are used to that at home! The kitchen was fine, it has all the essentials, in our budget room there was no toaster or microwave, but you can hire them. We made full English breakfast and evening meals no problem! In the launderette on site they have several irons and ironing boards which you can use for free!!

The location is lovely, right on the banks of the River Teign. You can sit and watch the boats bobbing around on the water and there were ducks and swans near the shingle slipway.

The restaurant on site overlooks the river which is nice, we didn't try the food this time because we were on a tight budget but hope to try the half board option on our return visit. We did try the takeaway on the first night, which to be honest was not great! We wouldn't use it again, probably better go into town to get one instead!

We were on holiday with our daughter who is 19 months, which dictated much of what we did on and off the park. We went in the pool, which was big enough and had smaller shallower pool for smaller children. It was all clean and the showers were lovely and warm. The lifeguards were great and very friendly. The two parks were nice and looked new. The indoor soft play room was pretty basic but perfect for our little one, she loved it! We went to the entertainment for an hour on the last night as out daughter goes to bed early, it was quite nice in the Breakers club and the children were all having fun. The entertainers were all very enthusiastic and friendly. We didn't stay too long as she was tired so we didn't try the bingo or anything else.

Off the park we explored some of Shaldon and Teignmouth which were picturesque. Really close by are Torquay, Torbay, Paignton, Babbacombe, Exeter and many more with so much to do for all ages! We have stayed in Torquay before so we spent our time discovering Paignton which is lovely seaside town.

On the first day we went to Paignton Zoo, which is EXCELLENT, can't recommend this highly enough. On day two we went to Paignton pier and around the shops etc. We had a lovely time on the beach collecting shells and eating hot doughnuts and ice cream! There was a shop just on the opposite side of the road to the cinema which sells 60 different types of ice cream plus so many different toppings! Well worth a look :) We also went to George's Carvery & Bar on the sea front for carvery Sunday lunch. It was excellent value and had an indoor soft play too!

All in all we had a brilliant time at Devon Valley, we booked through the Sun Holidays and only cost about £60 with the entertainment passes and electric token. We had such a good time though we are going to book another holiday for our daughters 2nd Birthday later in the year through their website.

In conclusion the accomodation was basic but comfortable and well equipped. Most important for us is cleanliness which was fine all over the park. The staff were polite and friendly. All the facilities we used were brilliant for us and our daughter at her young age. Easy to find and great location for exploring Devon and its gorgeous coastline!

I have tried to include as much information as possible for people thinking of travelling to Devon Valley and its surrounding area. Thanks for reading! :)
"

  • Holiday details: May 2011, Room Only, booked with Sun Newspaper Holidays
  • Advice: Take a car if you can, as it is a little out of town, great for exploring! Ask at reception for any info needed about area
by roxannelucy
10 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brilliant

"we are a family of 4 (2 adults 2 young children) we found d v 2 years ago and are due to go back for are 4th visit all 4 of us love it there and all for diffirent reasons its a great site with good entertainment with friendly staff and plenty to do onsite and lots of day trips close by for the price you really can not complain, as said we love it and cant wait to go back in april."

  • Holiday details: Apr 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: great for familys
by rj
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

STAY AWAY!

"The accommodation we were booked in to was like stepping back in time!

The chalet was filthy!

Here are some of the things we noted:

- Dead flies dotted about the place.. (some of which were squashed against walls)

- A grotty pillow case in the fridge?..

- Pubic hairs on the cistern..

- A carpet that could do with being thrown in a skip.. (how many stains?)

- Dampness throughout the apartment and smelly..

- Wall paper missing in certain areas..

- A kitchen area that was probably modern in the 1960's!

- No radiators just a portable heater which looked like it was covered in grease and would not have warmed the very cold apartment at all..

- Damp bedding and seating areas..

- Cobwebs in the cupboards..

- Shelving in the kitchen area which was bowed and ready to snap..

- TV with sellotape wrapped around the broken remote control..and very poor reception with just the 5 basic channels.

- No shower. Just a tap attachment that had seen better days (and that is being very kind!)

The housekeeper could do with going on a customer service course.

I found her attitude very rude, arrogant and patronising.

For someone in that position to say "I can't see anything wrong with the appartment.." and blaming the dampness on "our journey down.." and then to say "I can swap you rooms with someone else that hasn't booked in yet.." Which we declined as it wouldn't be fair to put another family in this chalet.. especially if they had kids.

To sum up, we declined to stay at this holiday park for one night let alone the actual 3 days that we had booked.

We will not be visiting this place ever again.
"

by bcfcdave
2 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Definately worth a visit!

"Great location, bargain price, loads of attractions nearby, brilliant food and entertainment for the children..recommend 100%!!"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, self catering, Booked Independently
by dannidoc
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Still going strong

"We've been visiting DV for 25 years or more all through the various owners and still enjoy our week there.This year found the food standards very poor!! So went out for takeaways and to cafe's. (Hope the management read this and take steps to improve)That said would recommend DV to everyone I will still be there next year even if giving the restaurant a miss."

by happy camper
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

third visit, good holiday.

"Entertainment team best I have seen. Location excellent for visiting other attractions in Devon. Food and accommodation fine."

by gizmo040
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

1 2 3 »

Explore area

Map for Devon Valley Holiday Village Closest airport: Exeter (EXT) 14.4 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Torquay

Hotels near Devon Valley Holiday Village

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Devon Valley Holiday Village?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Devon Valley Holiday Village? Share your insight.