Ampavris Apartments

Ampavris, Kos 85300, Greece
2 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

9  / 10
(38 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
30
Good
6
Average
1
Poor
0
Awful
1

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 6.5/10
Value: 9/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 8/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Ampavris Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
First time in Kos

"This hotel was absolutely fantastic, no complaints. The rooms were spotless and in the week we were there we had a maid 3 times. Obviously the apartments aren't going to have Gorden Ramsey kitchens but provided enough to cook lunch and evening meals on. The pool was lovely with a nice jacuzzi feature . The pool offered food for snacks and massive choice of alcohol (try orange and ouzo its only 3 euros !) .The family were extremely helpful and friendly giving free shots and offering advice on places to go. The walk in to town is only around 10-15 minutes walking past greenery and a old ruined wall the entire way. Despite other reviews talking about lack of security , the doors are not made of wood and look securely , there are also security deposit boxes not in the room but in the bar/ reception area.

Would definitely recommend it for any ages as we were the youngest of 18 & 19 and still had a fantastic time
"

by Sam W
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

ampavris apartments

"Had a wonderful holiday, treat for 50th birthday first time ever flown, apartments far better than we expected, good reception upon arrival, all staff very helpfull, clean and tidy, pool lovely, views excellent, 20 mins to walk up or down to beach area, but beautiful unspoilt walk down. Local taverna excellent food best I,ve ever tasted, run extremly well. Enjoyed the family night of entertainment. Boat trip arranged ourselves much cheaper than with tour operator and excellent value, have wonderful photos and will never forget lovely ruins around kos. Felt safe especially as two women on holiday together. Local people very friendly. Taxis cheap if you want to be lazy. Nice and quiet at nighttimes good nights sleep."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: quite friendly location, friendly staff
  • Good For: Beach
by casser
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

ambvris studios kos

"we stayed at the ambvris studios in may 2009 they are very nice clean and a very quite area, lovely pool area

clean and with a bar and food

we did not find any noise from the farm that someone spoke of only peace and quite

they have a very good greek night and we all joined in

it takes about 15 mins to walk into town which we did not mind, nice town with lots to do shops boat trips to lots of places
"

  • Holiday details: May 2009, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: very nice place to stay away from town
by j.b.
2 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Lovely location-Basic accomodation

"Partner and I - aged 52 & 46 stayed 2 weeks sept 18th to oct 3rd 2010. Apartments are basic but clean, maid service just about every day. Utensils and cooking facilities left a bit to be desired. we actually bought some mugs because cups provided were inadequate.No toaster. Ambavris (or ampavris) are situated about a mile from Kos town. Road to Kos town(downhillish) has no pavements and whilst walking it you must be aware of traffic. Kos town is quite nice , usual restaurant touts at some place. we ate out 5 times at Ampavri taverna(about 1/4mile from ambavris apartments - on the way to Kos town). Very nice, about 24 euros for 2 meat meals and bottle beer each. Greek folk seem to eat there regularly so it must be quite good. Greek night on a tuesday -12 Euros - good food and some dancing (to watch and join in).

At time of year we were there there was fruit(limes, oranges, pomegranates, grapes, figs) on the trees that could be picked and eaten.

I don't know if anyone minds people picking the fruits because I didn't ask.

Pool&Jacuzzi&paddling pool and surrounding area are very nice and very clean.

Apartments are set in own grounds and away from most noise - tend to hear crickets , some dogs barking and cocks crowing.

All in all a pleasant place to spend a hol. Too far from other facilities for anyone infirm and probably lacking of excitement for teens or clubbers.

There is lots of places or historical interest in and around Kos town that we found just wandering around.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Self Catering, Booked Independently
by welshandthesoutheast
8 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Lovely place, would definitely recommend it!

"Basic accommodation but adequate and very, very clean. Floors mopped most days and clean towels and bedding every couple of days. Very comfy, good sized sofa beds for kids. Great pool area with sun loungers and parasols. Very friendly staff made you feel welcome and part of the family. High 30s all the time we were there so we paid 6e per day for air conditioning, which was worth it.

It is a good 20 min walk to the town and a bit further to the beach but it is a pleasant walk, if not a bit scary at night with the mopeds and taxis whizzing past in the dark! Taxis cost 6e from the harbour in town to the apartments for those who dont want to walk both ways!

Enjoyed greek night at the apartments with a greek bbq and dancing. There are 3 tame deer in an enclosure in the grounds which the kids loved feeding.

If you need bars and nightlife on your doorstep this probably isn't for you but we have no complaints about this place and would definitely recommend.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, self catering, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Great place, very friendly people, would definitely recommend!
  • Good For: Beach
by djp6775
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A bit of a walk...

"Kos is a beautiful place to go, fantastic wine bars, architecture and a busy bar street for the 18-30 type people. However, the Ambvris hotel is a good 15-20 minute walk away from the main strip, and approx 20-30min from the beach. The walk for me and my partner (both very regular gym goers) was far to much for us to do in the 40degree heat everyday -which eventually started to make us very bored staying at the pool everyday. Also walking back in the dark was scary for both me and my burly muscular boyfriend. It is only 6euros for a taxi there and the same back though. We would recommend that you either hire a car or bicycles, they would definately help with the location issue during the day. The waterpark was good aswell. If you are looking for bar or pubs which have entertainment, do not go here, we did not find one bar or pub that had any sort of show on. The Greek night at the hotel (held on a tuesday) was fun & a good laugh, but not sure it warrented the 12euros charge = to approx £12 in the current financial climate. Also as a big warning, there are lots of mosquitos there - being a person who hardly ever gets bitten I have come home after a week with 25 bites, so spent loads on after bite and anti mosquito stuff. Definately needed to buy the airconditioning with the heat we had, that was 6euros per day from one barperson, but 5euros from another. The rooms were clean and tidy, with a hob, hairdryer, but no toaster or microwave, and there was no vent in the bathroom, only a hole in the roof bit, which is where we struggled with mosquitos coming in.

Overall we enjoyed our holiday, but wished we'd rented bicycles. Good for families and couples.

P.s. these are all the things we found wrong with the place, everything else was fantastic, so please don't think this is a bad place, I am only trying to set the scene, its probably a 2 star rating for me.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, booked with First Choice
by Ambavris guest
5 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant Holiday

"Just returned home after a brilliant week at the Ampavaris (Ambavris) Apartments. All of the family are lovely welcoming people. The apartments are basic but very clean , our cleaner came in every other day and our towels were changed 3 times if not more in 1 week. The pool area is excellent.

It is a nice 10 to 15 min stroll into Kos Town. We found a lovely Greek Restaurant called Taverna Alexandroes , which was very reasonably priced and the couple who run it are lovely.

The buses which run from Kos town are very punctual and very cheap. We went to Zia and to Tigaki on the bus and had no problems at all.

I would definately reccommend Ampavris to anyone who doesnt want it all on their doorstep but just a short stroll away( or if your lazy or too drunk 6 euro in taxi ).
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, booked with First Choice
by sweetpea
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

George, Elaini, Chris,Stephen & Costa

"Stayed at Ambavris 2 for our 1st wedding anniversary. Fabulous. Nice and quiet (sometime) The apartments were fabulously clean - and cleaned by Dana who was smashing.

George and Elaini and guys fabulous family!!!

Going back there backend of Aug 2010 for two weeks cannot wait, on countdown mode already.

Looking forward to seeing you all again.

Love

Ral & Ralph
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Room Only, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Quiet, though you can have good fun, safe and not too far from main town
by Crazy
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic Value!

"A friend and I stayed in Ampavris 1 in the middle two weeks of June. The apartments are very basic but scrupulously clean,with a verandah back and front so you can follow the sun. They are set in beautifully maintained gardens with a good sized swimming pool in a slightly elevated position, in the countryside with a view of the very pretty harbour below and Turkey in the distance. You have a very pleasant ten minute walk into Kos Town with it's myriad of tavernas, shops and pretty squares as well as plenty of ancient ruins, all free to enter, for those who are interested. George the owner with his delightful family, made everyone feel welcome and everyone, including [or especially] the cleaners, were polite and hard working."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, self catering, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Kos Town buzzes and I would go there again
by Mo
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Well what can I say ….….…

"Ambavri hotel is a amazing family hotel . The owners are soo friendly and could not do anymore for you . We stayed a week in ambavri ,, with my fiancée and two children aged 12 and 10 ,, we didn't want to come home we was like a big family . There is a Greek night every Tuesday which is very entertaining and is £12 adults £7 children which includes BBQ . George and Elaine are extremely freindly and are very sad to go :'( costa , christoff && steven (George and Elaine sons) are also friendly . Ambavri is set a bit back bout 10 min max from town square . With lots of nice resturants . There is also a traditional typical Greek resturant called ambavri 5 min walk on the way into town . Also there is a smallish supermarket 2 min walk away . Very nice beach. . Very very sad to leave. Goin back again either in September or may nxt year. Thankyouu for our amazing stay. We miss youu :'("

  • Holiday details: May 2010, Self catering , Booked Independently
  • Advice: Don't hesitate book it ! But when you leave get out your hankies
by Oliviaa bryann
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

just returned from kos we stayed at...

"just returned from kos we stayed at the ampavris apartments there very basic but clean and what you would expect from a cheap holiday ! we had 2 wonderful weeks there and would recommend them to anybody there just a little way from town about 10 mins or so but the location was great just in the country side made a change from staying in the resort center the family that run the apartments were fantastic very helpful they did a greek night cost 10 euros well worth it the food was great ! the ampavris has a great pool and bar area with snacks sold all day ! one bit of advice though do go on the various day trips but book them in town and not with the first choice rep as there half the price in town and there's plenty of shops that do the trips ! ie trip to turkey with the rep 70 euros in town 20 euros!!!!!! and so on ! were going back on may the 9th 2009 as there's plenty that we haven't done yet !! were staying at the same apartments as we really were made welcome there the greek people are so nice ! whilst there we hired cycles a great way to get around !! only paid 3 euros a day for them !!very cycle freindly !! cant wait to go back !!"

by Mcgrath
10 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just got back from Kos this morning,...

"Just got back from Kos this morning, so a bit tired. Ampavris is a lovely family run business with a great atmosphere. The apartments are basic, but very clean and comfortable. The staff are great, very helpfull. Thanks Chris for giving me and my daughter a lift back up to the apartments, couldn't have done the walk up the road,even though it only takes about 10 mins. We had a neighbourly cockeral that would wake us early in a morning, got used to him after a few days. Gotta go to Hamam Club on Bar Street and see Mike the mad waiter, he's brill had us all in stiches. Hopefully going back next year."

by J Kray
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Explore area

Map for Ampavris Apartments Closest airport: Kos (KGS) 12.4 miles

Travellers also viewed

Ampavris Apartments photos (1 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Ampavris Apartments
  • by Ambavris guest

    " Great atmosphere, but too far away from town and beach. "

Similar hotels around Kos Town

Hotels near Ampavris Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Ampavris Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Ampavris Apartments? Share your insight.

Ampavris Apartments is also called:

  • ampavris
  • ampavris hotel kos town
  • ampavris kos town

Address: Ampavris, Kos 85300, Greece