Catalonia Oro Negro

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7  / 10
(37 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
13
Good
8
Average
12
Poor
1
Awful
3

Rating by feature

Room: 8/10
Service: 8/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 7.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Catalonia Oro Negro

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
lovely staff.

"Been at this hotel about eight times now, last time we stayed there was 9th June to 16th June 2014 and it was a nightmare as the hotel was taken over by 20 something Spanish kids who played music from 12 midnight till 5am and the manger just said there was nothing they could do.they also took over the pool, sunbeds and brollies. never going again!!!"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2014, booked with jet2 holidays
  • Advice: do not go in june
by dashy
5 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

hotel and staff and manager first class thomson rep rubbish

"Stayed for 2weeks 4th to 18th February 2014 all staff lovely and manager very attentive when in a difficult situation as we were not happy with base room on ground level.got sorted minute he new.champagne an fruit sent to our room thank you very much .as for Thomson rep Stacey didn't want to no any problems useless .so many people also had problems with her .i don't think she is capable of this job. get her out Thomson . once again thank you the staff and you first class manager at oro negro ."

  • Holiday details: Feb 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: better entertainment
  • Good For: Beach
by Margaret M
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

helpful staff

"stayed at this hotel from jan 18th-25th 2013 after trouble with pickpockets at the start of our holiday,which I must say the staff really help us,we were given room 227which is right above the laundry.we were woken up at 7.30am with the bed and floor vibrating because the spin dryer is right underneath.we complained to reception who changed our room.food was fine,and plenty of choice and waiters were very pleasant,entertainment was not good,but there are plenty other hotels and bars with good shows.good value for money"

  • Holiday details: Jan 2013, booked with Thomson
by Judith A
7 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

defiantly go back

"My husband and i have just come home after staying for two weeks. We found the hotel very clean and the staff always pleasant and very helpful.There was a great variety of different dishes every night and were do you get entr'acte steaks with free champagne in a 3 star hotel four times in a fortnight. There was someone cooking fresh meat or fish every evening and for breakfast they would do you omelette's of your choice.

There was not much choice for puddings but the meals defiantly made up for them the only complaint i had was the sunbeds were very uncomfortable and needed renewing.

Also thanks to the entertainment staff you were brilliant really enjoyed ourselves see you all again soon
"

by betsy
5 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

holiday from hell.

"I STAYED AT THIS HOTEL IN JAN2010 WITH MY TWO CHILDREN I have never stayed in a hotel like it,it should be a 2star and not a 3star for starters.our room was spacious,but not very clean the cleaners did make the beds but they were not changed for the duration of our stay which was a week,the bathroom had scum on the tiles,and around the toilet and bath.I had to keep asking for towels the dirty ones were taken away but never replaced.we were entertained one night when we returned to our room there was a massive cocaroache scurrying round the bathroom,big tip they dont drown you have to squash them.we also ate out after a couple of days kept getting upset tummy after eating hotel food.I have never stayed at a hotel where some staff are rude and shout at the guests.never,never,again is all I can say it was the holiday from hell."

  • Holiday details: Jan 2010, half board, booked with Lastminute
  • Advice: plenty good restraunts and shopping.
  • Good For: Beach
by taylorkid
1 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Would recommend

"Me and a friend stayed here, was a lovely hotel food was always nice and pool area always clean. Although we did not really have breakfast every morning on the odd occassion we did it was lovely and plenty to choose from, as for the evening meal could not fault it at all enjoyed it every nite always something new to try. We are aged 20 & 27 and found the hotel caters for all ages, it is not far from the main strip. Becareful of the Prostitutes out on a nite there can be a lot of them hanging a few metres from the hotel, keep your hands in your pockets Fella's they will try a pick pocket you while trying to get you down an ally, other than that the hotel is somewhere id deffinetly go back to in the near future.

Make sure when you do go out head to DESTINY'S bar a lovely couple from county Durham run the pub, they have karaoke on a 3-4nites a week (i think) always a good laugh, very friendly and dont forget to set Johnny (karaoke compare) challenges. To find them, turn left out of the hotel, follow the road down past a few pubs like bus stop at the end there is a a road, and a supermarket over the road, cross over look down the little embankment, and head down the ramp you'll soon receive a great welcome, then once you have found them tell them Jenni says Hi (haha), try Linda's home made cooking its to die for.. once you've had a great giggle you are always going to go back to them honestly we have done for the past 4 times we have been to las americas. And why not pop into the Bus stop on the way back from Destiny normally a few people still there and the PR's are a good laugh.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Half Board, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: A must go to DESTINY'S directions above
  • Activities: We stayed half board therefore didnt eat out,
  • Good For: Beach
by Jeniic
10 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

just got back

"were a family of 4,just returned from 1 week holiday in tenerife,stayed at the oro negro,can't complain about anything,staff very friendly and very helpfull,the food was very good allways plenty to choose from,a very clean complex would recomend to anyone."

  • Holiday details: May 2009, Half Board, booked with fleetway travel
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by d.phillips
8 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Indifferent!

"I can't in all honesty find much to criticise this hotel for - that said I can't find very much to praise it for either! My wife and I enjoyed a very pleasant stay I can't say we would never return but it would take a very good deal to get us to go back.

Plus points:

Clean, good food (which is varied and well presented), efficient lifts, good sized rooms, pleasant friendly staff and a general very pleasant ambience.

Minus points:

Not enough sunbeds to go round (even in November) maid service was a little bit "hit & Miss", queues for dining room, busy main road right outside, a little off the beaten track.
"

by D Miller
6 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

After staying at this hotel 3 years...

"After staying at this hotel 3 years in a row, I can see how much it has gone downhill. The guests are mainly spanish, therefore, the entertainment is mainly aimed at them. The food in the restaurant, is good, BUT, very repeative and lots of fish(hake, squid rings and tuna). We have a small kid and he accidentally had an accident in the bed one night - the maid just remade the bed without changing it!! On a plus side, the hotel is clean and food is edible but wont be going back."

by  B Watt
6 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

If you are looking to go half board...

"If you are looking to go half board and keep away from the main drag of the Brit bars this is the place to be. My wife, 12yr old daughter and I spent a week here and the food never became boring or repetative. Each night there is was a choice of fish, meat and a carved joint cooked to your liking in front of you. There were also plenty of other dishes to choose from. You may have a slight wait some nights depending on the time you dine but we never waited more than 5mins.

The animation club was varied and the staff unobtrusive if you didn't want to join in. They were also extremely friendly and didn't mind making a joke at your expense if they knew you were up for it. Daytime activities included mini golf, shooting, shuffle board, darts, bowls, boules plus others.

The pool was freezing (but a welcome relief some days) but it was clean and there was a small paddling pool for the younger family members. The beds were free and put away each night to stop people hogging them. Beware though, when we were there people queued for the pads during breakfast although there was enough to go round early season.

The room we stayed in was sufficient and cleaned daily.
"

by G A WALKER
9 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Visited playa de las americas with my...

"Visited playa de las americas with my girlfriend in may, the hotel was brilliant, very clean, room was great. The room was cleaned everyday. The restaurant was good, clean and service by staff was good, food on offer was good, though im very fussy about my food, but the food was different every night and i was happy enough. The hotel pool was freezing though thats my only downfall about the hotel. There was lots to do in the town, excursions nearly everyday, i wouldnt recommend the booze cruise though it was a big let down, the night life was excellent i recommend linekers bar, probably the best bar in the world, loads of shops, we found a footlocker while shopping. Beaches werent nice, though thats because of the volcanic stones etc, watch out for the guys selling watches, sunglasses etc they never leave you alone. overall i was very happy with the holiday.."

by JD DAVIES
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Me and my 21 yr old daughter stayed...

"Me and my 21 yr old daughter stayed here in April had a lovely time, lovely hotel staff were very helpful and polite. Room was very spacious cleaned every day we had a room overlooking pool which was nice. Cant fault the food loads of choice even my fussy daughter had plenty to choose from. recommend the cakes for dessert they were delicious. Pool was bit cold but the weather was scorching when we were there and once you got in it was lovely to cool off, very impressed with the cleanliness of the pool area and had no problems getting a sun-bed even though some people still got up early and put towels down there was plenty of spare beds so not a problem. We didnt really stay in hotel in the evening so cant comment on the entertainment but there seemed to be plenty of people who stayed in the bar and it seemed lively enough. Would definitely recommend this hotel lovely place away from all the noise of the main strip but just on the doorstep if you fancied partying."

by M Wallace
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Explore area

Map for Catalonia Oro Negro Closest airport: Tenerife South Reina Sofia (TFS) 9.8 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Catalonia Oro Negro
  • by Jeniic

    " A must go to DESTINY'S directions above "

Similar hotels around Playa De Las Americas

Hotels near Catalonia Oro Negro

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Catalonia Oro Negro?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Catalonia Oro Negro? Share your insight.

Catalonia Oro Negro is also called:

  • catalonia oro negro hotel

Address: Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, Tenerife 38660, Spain