Village Heights Golf Resort

Ano Hersonissos, Crete, Greece
hotel photo

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(38 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
25
Good
6
Average
5
Poor
1
Awful
1

Rating by feature

Room: 9/10
Service: 9/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 7.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
With Blind eyes ! by Frenchie
10 / 10

Ok, i must say that i was extremely suprised by this village ! I have 2 kinds two, and everything was fine for both us and our childs !

Except the beds, a bit too hard, but really forgiven, as the room is cleaned every single day, the kitchen allow autonomy, the service is perfect and people have an extraordinary hospitality.

I thought that like in many places that shows a lot of activities but never available because a lot of people, the SPA will be booked every day, the tennis not available, neither the mini golf... BUT No ! Just go to the reception, and get almost immediatly a place ! Amazing !

Well, nothing to say more, it's a perfect place to spend holidays and discover Creta !

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Average by Inkle
5 / 10

We have just come back from a week in the resort and our experience was average. The apartment was nice and we had excellent sea views. The facilities were also ok and clean, however the food in the resturants was standard and we only ate there once in the whole week, which say something!! The resort is a bit isolated and you will need a car to visit the nicer areas of the Island. If you do choose the excersions, be warned the transport takes absolutely ages and i wouldnt recommend it. The worst thing about the holiday was the reps whoo constantly hound people which is the last thing you want on a holiday which you take to relax and unwind. For that reason alone we would never go back.

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

excellent service by ziggy
9 / 10

I don't usually give reviews but the service and place were perfect. The place is a little isolated up a hill and you'll need a car to get around, but for a relaxing time ideal.

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

holidays in crete by shorty
8 / 10

just got back from village heights resort ,lovely location if u prefer the quiet holiday to relax round the pool areas and not too far away to get to other places like hersonissis ,the hotel does have a regular bus going down there so we didnt bother with hireing car ,we avoided the rep most days because we was out early most mornings he did knock on our door once to say he had missed us and invited us to a free breakfast the next morning which we went to as not to be rude ,we told him first off that we wasnt interersted in buying full membership so even though he did try i little he wasnt pushy at all , we had alovely trip to spinalonger fantastic views coming into elouda bay and a bbq on the boat which stooped at alittle beach with lovely clear water to swim ,go down to old hersoniss on mon for greek night ,but get there early as its very busy we didnt get the table we wanted ,the restarantwith the red table cloths as someone has already said was the best food ever and staff was very friendly and welcomeing ,overall had a lovely holiday nice apartment ,lovely pools hot weather ,i would recommend going to village heights .

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: if u like peace and quite

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Resort by Mum of 2
9 / 10

Just got back from Crete. Definitely recommend a visit. Plenty of sandy beaches for kids. Very impressed with the resort. Apartment was lovely, clean, good quality kitchen. Generally excellant facilities. Especially the DVD and CD player. The local villages are beautiful. Would recommend a car. Had no issues with RCI, We did not wish to meet the Rep.and this was no problem. The only thing I would fault is the swimming pools are too deep for young children. All the pools were either 1.3 or 1.4m, which was a bit too deep for young children. There was nothing of a reasonable depth for children between the age of 3 -6 years old.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Crete is worth a visit for sure.

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent holiday 27th July - 3rd August 2010 by Swainy
9 / 10

We have just returned from a 7 night holiday to Village Heights, Crete. We had a fantastic time and met some lovely people. The hotel was of an excellent standard and the staff were exceptionally helpful, especially a receptionist called Maria. I went to her most days with questions. Our 1 bed apartment was lovely with a view overlooking the sea in the far distance. The room was cleaned everyday (except Sunday) and fresh towels replaced everyday too. We used all of the facilities of the hotel. I went early morning swimming then used the gym, which opened at 9 am but you could get in earlier. Out of the whole holiday i would say the accommodation and service is 5 star, however the gym is a 1 star (if that!!) there were 2 old treadmills and 2 recumbent bikes. One of the bikes was out of action most of the holiday, although i did complain and it got fixed, by the next day it was broken again. The weights area was very limited with a selection of jumbled up handweights and rusty pully equipment. I was very disappointed with the gym and did advise the hotel of this.

We attended an excellent greek night at the hotel, but our favourite evening was at Old Cheronnissos village only 3 km from the hotel, monday evenings they have greek dancing in the square and it was excellent family fun. I would definitely visit the area again but would strongly recommend a car. We had a small Micra that got us around, however when we were there there was a petrol strike and ended up paying 38 euros for three quarters of a tank!

We met a lovely timeshare lady, who was our rep from Aegean holidays. Her name was Susan, she was very nice and after we explained that we did not need to purchase any points as we were using families points for our holiday, she was fine and did not put any pressure on us. I have to say for the rest of the people, it looked like hard selling. The meetings (so we were told by friends) took up to 6 hours!

Anyway apart from that everyone we met had a lovely holiday.

We look forward to returning another year.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great resort by MikeS
10 / 10

Just came back from 1 week at Village Heights.

we wer 2 couples in a 2 bedroom unit- 2 floors. Clean, well equipped, 2 TV's, cleaned daily, beds made every day except Sunday. We travelled around a lot and was great for a base. The pool facility is excelloent, sauna etc. And the restaurants resonable and delicious food.

Will certainly be a requent visitor at Village heights.

  • Holiday details: May 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Will recommnd highly

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Where's the fun? by TourHound
6 / 10

Well, we booked a week at the Village Heights Golf Club from the 13th-21st March 2010. First, I own a timeshare and have been all over the world and know a bit about travel. First, a bit of information. You will want to fly into Herakion Airport which is 26km away from the resort which is located outside of the Port of Hersonissos and will cost you 40-45Euro because the Airport Taxis are just higher I guess. Also, ask for a receipt to keep them honest as our drive attempt to hide digital Taxi counter. Second, you will want to rent a car and we got the cheapest Hertz had which was fine as we drove on very high mountains so small is good and also cheap on gas and it will suit most of your needs. The car rental was (175 Euro) for 4 days but if you prefer to drive from the airport then it not be that hard. Just drive in the direction of Hersonissos get off at the Port of Hersonissos Exit and follow the Golf Signs to the Village Heights Resort Sign which will be off on your right and then up a winding little road to the resort. You can find cheaper car rental in town but at the time we were still in the off tourist season so there was much of a choice. If I were to do it all over again just rent from the airport or pre-rent the car online. Note: When driving in Crete they use the whole road and don't be scared. Just keep right and let the faster cars pass. If they flash light then get the Hell out of the way. Okay, now for the good! The resort is new and the staff was pleasant and they were ready for us upon our arrival and a gentlemen gave us a ride on a golf cart and showed us our room and how everything worked in the room. The room had everything we needed and was just like most RCI resorts. The bedroom was cheap looking and the bed was by Greece standards I'm guessing and I sleep okay. My son(12) sleep on the fold out bed but really is any foldout bed comfortable! The view was great and there was FREE mini golf, sauna, steam room, small indoor pool, some free weights, FREE van ride to town. Okay, now for the bad. They charge for everything like Internet(8Euro for 3hrs), pay to use the washing machines and you have schedule a time to wash your clothes, restaurant is overpriced, Golf is 3 miles away, the place smells like Goat Urine all day long because they built this place in Goat farmer area. There isn't anything to do on site other than the listed free stuff and everything is in the town of Hersonissos. So, I found Crete great for site seeing but as for a party town it might be so in the summer but off season is totally boring. Also, there is a LIDL going into town which is the cheapest place to buy your beer and food. There is also a SPAR which has anything that LIDL doesn't have. There is a great Soukavi place on the main road past the SPAR on the right. They cater to the Cretan workers in the area so it got to be good! We ate there twice! Also, some more good was there wasn't any TIMESHARE people on site to pester you so, I'm guessing they will be there during the main tourist season after the 1st of April. Crete is Beautiful and the people were friendly but not not high on return trip list! I hope the pictures help! Also, they were re-doing the mini golf with new green Astro turf. Okay, My top place to visit while I was there! Knosos, Zeus Cave(Nice Restaurant at the site)good people, Wine Tasting at Stilonou Winery, Caves, secluded beaches! The Resort provides a good list of day trips so ask for the list. Also, Knosos had the cheapest Souvenirs anywhere we found and a good selection of stuff. Okay, I will quit now!

  • Holiday details: Mar 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Be prepared to rent a car and find something to do!

36 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

PERFECT. by mds1203
10 / 10

Not sure where the others were saying but we had a fabulous time at the Village Heights Golf Resort. The apartment was fabulous with a Dishwasher and all amenities required for our stay. All of the staff we encountered were very courteous and polite and at no time did we ever feel that the staff gave anything other than 100%. Even, the on site supermarket, although small, was fully equipped and had a good all round choice of foods.

Not many places lay on a free courtesy luxury coach service to the beach resort several times a day. Trust me I am not eaily pleased and I would certainly go back to the Village Heights Gold Resort. Can't say I was too impressed with the resort of Hersonissos itself but if I was wanted to relax by the pool with a good book. This is definitely the place to be.

31 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Wonderful resort by dominiqueStAlbansUK
10 / 10

The only problem was the sleeper couch it was the most uncomfortable sleeper couch I ever slept on. We could on find a four beds available through RCI so we took it, but we ended on that dreaded couch. They should up grade their sofas, as everything else was definately up market.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Nothing but excellent by siljebergen
10 / 10

This had been the most fantastic hotel we have ever been in. We had a 1-room apartment, fully equipmed kitchen, cd-player, dvd-player and TV. Hairdryer, free safe, dishwasher, irioning. Good shower, huge bedroom. What more can I say? The apartment was just excellent.

The staff are always simling, very polite and VERY fast to care for your wishes should you need help. They drive you to your door with the little buggy cars, and carry your luggage into your room. They also pick you and your luggage up the same way when you leave, you book a time for the pick-up with reseption for free. The beds are, as often in hotels, too hard for my comfort. We asked if there was anything to do about this, and we got a top mattress originally meant for the sleep-couches, but worked just fine on our bed!

Club Greece has a tough marketing strategy, I fully agree. But our rep was really nice and never pushy. She showed us the old towns of Hersonissos and the nearby ones, recommended good restaurants and was very helpful without being pushy in any way. We also got a free, nice dinner at the Greek Night at the hotel. In the end we signed up for a full membership in Club Greece and RCI as this kind of luxurious hotel really suits our tastes, we would like to travel with friends and family and we found it reasonable and affordable for what you get in return.

Mini golf, the gym, lots of activities, tennis court are all free. The bar has excellent quality of cocktails and drinks at reasonable prices, 6 euros, which is quite a regular price. We prefer the Elia, 2nd floor restaurant to the buffet one by the pool, but both are acceptable. The pool must be the most beautiful pool I have ever been in!

The internet access was pricey though, and this is probably the only thing we have to pick on. Your best bet is to buy 3 hours for 8 euros, this gives you 1 hour free compared to using the pay-as-you-go machines in the Gaming room. You can use the 3 hours log in/log out on the 2 pc's in the library room or bring your own device and use the wi-fi where you log on with the same voucher.

Nightlife in Hersonissos is young and partylike. Nightlife in the old villages just 5 minutes by taxi away, closer to the hotel, is much much better. In the square of old Hersonissos, go to the restaurant with the red tableclothes. We went there 4 times in two weeks, they have the best food we have ever had in Crete and they are well known locally for it. It's a family driven restaurant, and we always had handshakes when we left and came again. Wonderful place and reasonable too.

I can definately recommend this hotel to anyone. It is also good enough for honeymooners! The hotel have their own bus of good quality that takes you down to the villages. They stop early going back, take a taxi - agree on the price before you get into the car though. It should cost you about 10 euro home from Hersonissos. All the villagers know where Village Heights are. We had a car for both 2 weeks and would recommend this, we enjoyed the freedom of driving where and when we wanted. But you could just as well rely on the taxi and the free bus if you don't need to travel all over Crete.

I would recommend travelling to Iraklion airport, as the Chania one is 3 1/2 hours away. Thomson, http://flights.thomson.co.uk, has cheap flights from London all year round.

We will want to get back to this hotel again!!

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Hersonissos is a party town along the beach, beautiful old-style quiet in the old villages just abov
  • Activities: In the old Hersonissos town, go to the square and eat at the restaurant with the red tablecloths.
  • Good For: Beach

30 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good quality apartment, wonderful quiet hotel, staff excellent by sweetnemesis
8 / 10

Went Aug 09. Half hour taxi from the airport 35 euros. We had a 1 bedroom apartment, kitchen good all equipment we needed. Pool fantastic, plenty of comfortable sun beds and parasols. Hotel staff very friendly and obliging. Went with a 14 year old and an 11 year old and they enjoyed it. The site shop is a bit expensive. Courtesy bus in to town regular, clean and on time.

We went with Club Greece, who we had bought an associate memberhsip last year and while we were here this year we were sold full RCI membership. Bit of a long sales technique but not hard pressure.

Would recommend for a totally relaxing holiday, a bit remote from the hustle and bustle.

We will come here again

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Village Heights Golf Resort? Share your insight.

Village Heights Golf Resort also called

  • village heights hotel
  • Address: Ano Hersonissos, Crete, Greece

Explore area

Map for Village Heights Golf Resort Closest airport: Nikos Kazantzakis (HER) 11 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Village Heights Golf Resort
  • by Swainy

    " First class accommodation with excellent service "

Similar hotels around Hersonissos

Hotels near Village Heights Golf Resort

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Village Heights Golf Resort?