Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino

4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(33 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
21
Good
7
Average
3
Poor
0
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 8.5/10
Service: 9/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 9.5/10
Location: 9.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
Jolie Good Hotel

"The Jolie Ville Resort & Casino was what we expected from previous visits central for our holiday to Naama Bay , staff very friendly and helpful, hotel very clean and tidy, a good choice for breakfast in the morning. Gardens kept to a good standard, the paths always clear from any rubbish.The pool staff could not do enough for you, if you want the parasol open just ask. The restaurant Zigaloni is worth a visit, food excellent and Gafer the waiter makes you very welcome.Hatem in the Seagulls bar is good for a laugh and joke.Although you may be hassled walking around the town don't be put off, the locals are only trying to make a living, be polite and say a firm no thank you.Can't wait till next year."

  • Holiday details: Apr 2012, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by JamesD
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fab Holiday

"We stayed in Jolie Ville and we are just back.I have to say we had an absolutly fantastic time.The staff are great very friendly and would do anything for you.We were booked into the palm area we had to be moved as it was so noisy i suggest when booking you should ask for the preffered beach area it was so quiet just what you need for a peaceful holiday.Thomas Cook never gave us the option as the palm area is cheaper so wont be booking through them again.The food in hotel was fab we were B&B and the breakfast was best meal of the day we ate in the Seagulls restaraunt in the hotel and i have to say it was the best food it and Zigilinis best in Nama Bay we were there for two weeks and you wont get nicer or value for money anywhere else.We booked a few trips while we were there and we used a company called Kenouz Tour the opperators name was Angelo they are on the strip in nama bay do not use them he told us we had English speaking guides and we ended up on a buss full of Russians not tustworthy at all.When we contacted him about it he didnt want to no he had got paid so be careful.All in all we had a fantastic time in the Jolie Ville thanks to the great staff they have oh the weather wasnt to bad either. Sean and Joan Irish x"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Book the preffered beach area
  • Good For: Beach
by kellys
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great visit

"Jollie Ville was a massive hotel, we stayed in the Palm Area. This alas was quite a walk to the beach & brekkie especially as the weather was in its 40s! There is ample accom available nearer the 'activities' It was only a minor inconvenience though where we stayed - it was quiet too.

This is the fourth time we've been to Naama Bay so fully inclusive is a no-no, there is so much available in the main drag, food, drink etc is a lot cheaper/better. Reception was brill (thanks Ursina) and couldn't do enough for you.

Beach/bar area was clean and great for snorkelling off the beach. Sea, sun was faultless. We went late June ( just back ) & it was b***y hot. Would certainly go again.

One big negative, went on their organized camel trip - this was crap, we complained so much that we got our money back. That's where reception came in, the were soooooooooo sorry about the feedback we gave them.

Summing up - clean Hotel, well maintained, pool great, breakfast excellent, rooms cleaned daily, air con working fine etc etc
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Breakfast Included, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Hot and busy
  • Good For: Beach
by decorise
8 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

HORRIBLE PLACE!!!

"I don't know how this hotel obtained 5 stars but it is not the case. Everything is old in this place, corroded fountains, faded and yellowed grass, in contrast with neighboring hotels. Hotel is divided in 2 parts. One of which is located behind the highway with heavy traffic. To get to the main pool area, beach and breakfast, one has to cross over this busy traffic risking his/her life. Few occasions, I was witnessed how the hotel staff were fighting and arguing with each other. Staying in this hotel is nightmare. To get to breakfast or to the beach you have to pass through 2 security check-points. Wireless internet is charged $10 per 1 hour while neighboring hotels provide them at the cafes and even at the beach for free. Sauna is so small that 2 persons cannot fit in it. Hotel web-site describes salt water pool, it is lie, there is no salt-water pool. Hotel's web-site describes separate pool for kids, it is lie, there is no separate pool for kids, it is one single pool. Bar in the lobby has only 3 types of the liqueurs, speaking of a 5 stars hotel. Club cars that supposedly drive you from your room to the beach sometimes just don't show up. The distance between room and the beach might be 1km. Beach bar and restaurant at the evening time always empty which speaks for itself, while all neighboring bars and restaurants are full of people. I wouldn't recommend to anyone to stay in this place."

  • Holiday details: Nov 2009, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Its not Egypt if you think about visiting this country. You have to learn Russian, all speak Russian
  • Activities: Abu El Sid in Naama Bay is a good Egyptian food. Don't eat in this hotel, nothing is good in it.
by JimTim
1 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

2nd time around

"just as good,looked after really well again.reading reviews we think there are some really fussy people around.you are in a purpose built holiday resort which has every thing you could want on your doorstep.relax unwind and enjoy."

  • Holiday details: Mar 2009, Bed & Breakfast, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by david
9 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We just got back from a two week...

"We just got back from a two week holiday in Egypt from 15 august to 30 august 2008

This was our family, holiday in our party was a male aged 40 a felmale aged 43 two males aged 17 and 23

This hotel looks quite impressive; it has a very large and beautiful reception area.

The grounds are well maintained with gardeners tending the plants and grass on a daily basis. The swimming pool is the best feature of the hotel its very large has a small water fall which you can stand under, the water is very clean and the pool is well maintained, the pool stretches over half the complex.

The hotels has a buffet dinner area which we did not use, it was quite over priced you can eat out in Nauma bay for a lot less with a lot more choice. The hotel did have a Italian restaurant and Thai restaurant. Both very nice looking but not many people went in to them it was a bit expensive.

The gym was very modem all in working order very clean and open every day from 9am until 9pm.

The hair and beauty department was very over priced but beautifully decorated. The rooms looked amazing and made you fill you were in a tropical spa.

The pool staff were very often not able to understand simple questions.

You would order food and it would not come or food you did not order would arrive at your table. The staff were always saying sorry but after a week of hearing sorry so often it got a bit tiring.

You may have to wait up to 15 to 20 mins to get served, they would avoid any eye contact and sometimes we would have to ask for a menu.

You have to check your bill as you may get charged for food that never arrived. And the reception staff, never have change so you always end up out of pocket 40 to 90 pence every time you need to change up money or pay a bill they never have small change this can amount up over a few days.

The hotels has a shuttle bus into Nauma bay every hour but in the evenings only at six o’clock and then at 10 o’clock , use this bus service if you can the Taxis are cheap but they will try to rip you off every chance they get, make sure you have the correct amount of change in money as most will say they have no change and drive off.

Be prepared to die each time you get in a taxi they drive very fast, they have their hand on the hooters all the time, there are two lanes to drive in but most Taxis can make 3 or 4 car lanes very easy while you hold on for dear life and keep your eyes shut, just hoping you get out a live, so only use a Taxi if you really have to.

The beach was lovely, so clean plenty of free sun beds with 3 new jetties as you cant walk into the see as you will damage the coral.

Do try some snorkelling its fantastic I had never done it before, its wonderful so many beautiful fish to see, the water is very warm and crystal clear.

Be aware the sun is so strong you need a very high sun cream or you will burn we took 50+ sun cream we got a great tan but did not burn, but saw lots of people red raw and in a lot of pain.

The men in Nauma bay can get a bit too much, they keep calling you trying to get you in their shops and won’t take NO for answer, even with my husband men would ask to kiss my hand, and want to touch you, I would never go out by my self but with a man by your side you should be ok. They have no respect for women at all.

Be strong so NO thank you and walk away without looking back, they will call you names then move on to their next victim.

You must do the quad bikes in the desert it was brilliant we saw the sun raise it was breathtaking, and very warm for 4 o’clock in the morning.

We saw belly dancers in the desert and had dinner with the bedwin people that was a real nice evening very relaxing the food was really good.

Overall we had a good holiday and would return as now we know what to expect, nice place interesting places, but some over powering people. Hope this is helpful.
"

by  M Cohen
8 / 10

18 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The first room we were given was so...

"The first room we were given was so dark it was like the black hole of calcutta. The next room was not much better. The gym is full of expensive equipment which guests can use for free but the hotel make a charge for the use of the table tennis equipment!! We had bed and breakfast only but some guests were on half board and the food ran out. I would not recommend this hotel."

by Tedwood
2 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

This was one of the best holidays I...

"This was one of the best holidays I have ever had ( and I have travelled extensively all over the world).

My daughter who is 3 and i travelled here alone, and had a wonderful time. The staff were so friendly and absolutely professional and so courteous.

My daughter was treated like a princess.

Apart from this the complex was ideally situated right next to pedestrian area of Naama Bay. The complex was kept extremley clean.

Baby pool with shade over it means children can use this and be very happy in 2 ft of water. Snoopy club is situated next to pool, here children have a park and indoor activities as face painting , drawing, tv with cartoons, they do also take chilfren between ages of 4 and 12 to play games etc and its open all day except for lunch time.

Gardens in hotel are well maintained.

Only thing really to consider is before you book is whta part of hotel you are staying in.

There is Sports area which is across a busy main road, quite however as rooms nestled in tennis courts and large salt water pool etc, or palm area more on the busy side of pedestriam area ( but i think maybe noisier) or preferential area which is basically rest of hotel. We stayed in Sports area and could not upgrade as hotel was full, but in actual fact it was fine. You have golf buggies driving you about if you dont want to walk, so thats good, and you are so well looked after by security guards etc who all took the time to find out your name etc, that each night we returned back to room from dinner, it felt fine. I could understand poeple with children not wanting the hassel of the road and being nearer the beach, so its just for you to consider.

I though it would be a problem but it was fine.

Taxi from airport can be organised prior to stay by hotel and cost 60 LE 0r $16 ( £8) but they will try and charge more as they did with me, using their prices chart and not being too bothered with the hassel i paid 144 LE ( £14), however going back to airport i was wiser ensuring he knew i was only paying 60LE. Its about 20 mins from airport and if you want less hassel getting ona coach thats going on many pick ups this is a good option also.

Food and eating out is cheap. Goods not so cheap, you obviously need to barter but thats when you will find you will get a bit of hassel. If you look they will be onto you!!

All in all a wonderful holiday, with great weather, even though chilli at night they are well geared up for it with patio heaters and blankets if sitting in the bars on sofas, it great.
"

by L Elms
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The hotel is in the best location and...

"The hotel is in the best location and is clean and comfortable and is probably just a 3 star hotel no more. The service is effecient and breakfast is of a good standard with omlettes fried eggs and usual fruits breaks cakes etc.

Pool i snot small, however not exceptional and i would imagine get very busy in peak season. Room service was efficient and food pleasant though over priced as was the drinks.

entertainment very poor and the activity centre never had change or appeared to on the hope of additional funds for staff.

the rooms are well kept and the whole centre is very clean. I can only assume that the people that believe the need to use buggies do so as they are not mobile and found it easy to get about and would walk daill 5 min from pool to the tennis courts on the sports annex.

the key to the hotel is its location which is second to none for na ama bay and the private beach is again clean and the free use of towels a god send.

As for the resort we found it quiet at this time of year and very cold with the cutting wind and would recommend warm coats as most bars and restuarants are geared for outside and with too few patio heaters to huddle around.

I find the egyption leering at woman whether covered or not offensive and the constant badgering off putting in the resort.

As for food i would recommend "ok restuarant", the tavern for drinks not food, hard rock was good but expensive.

make sure to enjoy the sea life and try the lido hotel for romantic meals and great food once again dear but worth it.

Would I go back to the hotel yes ,but the resort or rather the local culture is something I find distasteful and so would not return
"

by I Matthews
6 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We had the best holiday ever - the...

"We had the best holiday ever - the staff are very well trained and do not intrude on your holiday yet they are always available when requested.

I loved the idea of the buggy's that drove you from place to place within the hotel grounds as it is a big place.

The room was cleaned so well each day with any amount of fresh towels on request.

The food at this hotel was really good.

Thank you so much to the Hotel for giving me such a good first visit to your country.
"

by  MMcB McBride
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We recently returned from our 4th...

"We recently returned from our 4th consecutive Xmas at this hotel; this time we didn’t stay for New Year but have done so before & agree with the comments by emjun about how much effort they put into presenting the evening.

Earlier in the year, we were concerned to learn about the refurbishment & wondered if it would be finished in time for our visit, or how intrusive the process would be if still ongoing.

I rang the hotel, prior to booking, & was reassured by our 2 conversations. Sure enough, everything was fine. There was still a little refurb going on in the “Seagulls Bar”, but we don’t frequent that part & it wasn’t intrusive.

Reception has been altered slightly but the welcome from the check in staff, the security guards, the pool bar staff & pool attendants was the same as ever & they all seemed genuinely pleased to see us again.

We tipped the bell boys with £1 coins on arrival – they certainly weren’t hanging around for a tip though; we changed quite a few coins back to notes for them on departure.

For the 4th year running, we had a quiet room &, for the 3rd year running, we had the rooms requested at the time of booking thru our travel agents.

We have interconnecting rooms, upstairs, in an odd-numbered block, down the side of the complex that is NOT against the town. We recommend that anyone considering this hotel asks for a room numbered 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 21, 23, 25, 27 or 29 in the “PREFERRED front palms, beach side”.

If you stay in “front palms”, you may be disturbed by the noise from the action in Naama Bay. If you stay in the annexe / sports side, you will be over the busy dual carriageway &, whilst there are staff driven golf buggies to ferry you around, it’s not ideal as the restaurants & beach are so easily accessible from the main complex.

If you forget something, it’s a long trek back from the beach to the annexe. If you stay in the rooms numbered as above, you will be half way between main reception & the pool area. The sports area does have its own pool & the 4 tennis courts are over there.

Our usual rooms had been refurbished since our last stay. Not a great deal of difference, except the furniture is a darker stained wood & there is a flat plasma screen TV. Our room is slightly larger than our boys’ & must measure about 21’x15, plus hall, bathroom & 2 balconies, so you get the sun at all times of the day. The boys’ room has only 1 balcony, but we were hardly in the rooms & with the interconnecting door, we had the opportunity to use all balconies anyway.

The rooms, pool area, grounds etc are always clean & kept spotless. The rooms are cleaned in the morning & then a man comes round at about 6.30pm to see if everything is ok & to hand everyone a small package containing a chocolate or mini biscuit.

The standard rooms we book have hairdryers in the bathrooms, complementary flip-flop type slippers, bathrobes, kettle & mugs. Strangely, there is no tea, coffee or sugar, but we weren’t bothered as the supermarket is only just outside the grounds & we soon bought some mint tea. I know that the sister hotel Jolie Ville Maritim Golf does provide the beverages though. We just brought the extra sugar packets, accrued throughout the day back to the room.

You are allocated a towel card each upon arrival; towel exchange is by the pool or on the beach. There is 24 hr room service & a Dr. on call 24/7.

One can hire an ironing board & iron from the housekeeping services; there is also a laundry service. We had a complementary fruit basket at the start of each week & a bowl of dried fruit & nuts & a large bottle of mineral water on arrival. We also had a small vase of fresh flowers every few days.

There is plenty of drawer / cupboard/ wardrobe space & a programmable safe. There is even a “menu” of pillows! One can choose from soft, semi-rigid, hard or very hard! This is all listed on a leaflet, saying, “Pillows a la carte”! The double bed is huge in our room.

If you’re feeling lazy, then simply ring reception & ask for a golf buggy to take you to wherever you want to go on the complex. Incidentally, it’s very flat, so ideal for buggies, mobility scooters & wheelchairs.

The view from the room is either parts of the complex, with the mountains in the background, or the side of Ghazala Gardens, next door. That bit’s not very exciting but we don’t go there to spend time staring from the windows.

We don’t tend to eat in the hotel much but have dinned in “Zigolini’s” (Italian) & “La Fleur” for New Year ’07 & like them both; especially “La Fleur”. We stay B+B but I don’t always bother with breakfast; however, the staff were absolutely fine & perfectly pleasant with us in the “Orangerie” (main buffet restaurant). This has themed buffets thru the week – Asian, Mediterranean, Egyptian, Swiss, Italian, Seafood, Italian again. The atm machine is outside this restaurant. There is a bank just outside the side entrance, under the Italian restaurant (“Zigolini’s”).

There are 2 “Happy Hours” on the prom; from memory, they are 12-1 & later / evening; worth checking into.

We tend to spend a lot of time around the pool; perhaps that’s a slight weakness on the hotel’s part – there is only one main pool area which includes a smaller pool for children on one side. It doesn’t bother us, but I would imagine that it can be very noisy & overcrowded at certain times of the year. From the pool to the beach, it’s only about 30 secs walk.

There was a new life guard / pool attendant this year; a very pleasant, smiley young chap, called Ramadan. He looked after us well & seemed quite surprised to receive a tip within the 1st few days. We also tipped him at the end. Two elderly Swiss ladies bought him some chocolate from the supermarket & he was delighted.

We tend to eat at the pool bar quite a lot & whilst it’s expensive as compared to some places outside the complex, it’s so easy just to laze around & eat by the pool. If it’s not on the menu ask, & the staff will try to accommodate. We took them some mince pies & tipped them daily & received excellent service. Look out for Hany – a cheeky chap, always happy, with a big smile.

An elderly Swedish lady fell off her sunbed one morning; I reached her 1st, with one of the pool bar waiters. I sat with her for about 20mins & ordered some water & non alcoholic cocktail; the staff wouldn’t let me pay after, cos I’d helped her; we found them to be a really nice bunch.

There were a lot more Egyptians this yr; a few German, Swiss, Italian, Scandinavian & maybe 2 or 3 Russian families at most. The numbers of Italians seemed to be down in resort too.

The internet access is near Seagulls & is 40LE for an hour, so it’s cheaper to go to the nearby internet café, where one can have a shorter time slot too. The hotel has 3 terminals, plus 1 billiards & 1 snooker, 2 large plasma TV screens in that room aswell.

There is quite a large library facility now in the “Seagulls” block. The gym area is bigger now, but didn't go in (near the spa). There are different rates for guests, visitors, & if you have a personal trainer.

The Jolie Thai Spa & Wellness Centre is new & although I fully intended to try it out, I didn’t get round to it; a perfect excuse to return yet again : )

The sauna & steam is free, the massages can be neck, head & shoulders, or legs & feet (both 30 mins each) or 50-80 min body massages. Prices range from $50, thru $85, up to $135. They also offer a 30 mins hydrotherapy experience. I saw 2 Oriental ladies in Jolie Thai uniforms, so assume its proper Oriental massage techniques. There is also a hairdresser on site, offering manicures & pedicures too.

On the last day, we had an extension in just our room till 3pm (we were collected at 3.10pm) & they didn't charge; never have in 4 visits. You have to go to reception & get your room door cards charged up with the extra hours as they automatically “shut down” at 12 noon & won’t let you back in.

Found out that if you decide you want a visa in resort (if you don't get one on arrival) the rep can sort that - sometimes within the same day, usually within 24hrs; you pay about £3 extra though. We did get ours on arrival; both queues for the $15 dollar kiosks were very long when we arrived, so we went to the Thomson desk & waived £30 at them (4 of us, working on £7.50p each) stating that as the silvery oblong things says $15 dollars on it, we were NOT paying anymore. They weren't happy, but we stood our ground & settled on £34 total, which is £8.50 sterling each; we don't take dollars with us.

Out of interest, I asked our hotel what their price is for the hotel taxi to do an airport transfer; it’s 85LE.

The hotel animation team (Italians) seems quite active; there is aqua aerobics every morning, Latin Dance class by the pool several times a week & a full prog. Of activities (like beach volleyball) is posted up near the pool. The aqua aerobics & dance class is the only time when music penetrates the stillness (along with normal sounds from folk having fun in the pool). The children’s club (Snoopy Club) is also near the pool area.

The hotel offers a wide range of excursions thru its Activity Centre, plus a variety of water-sports, parasailing, sailing, boat trips, tennis, table tennis, mini soccer, large outdoor chess & Subex diving centre. One can also rent bicycles from the activity centre & cars (!) from a desk in reception….that is if you fancy participating in something like a cross between Wacky Races & Mad Max! Leave it to the taxi drivers; there are plenty of them just outside the front of the hotel. We visited the Coloured Canyon thru the hotel & were delighted with the trip.

One can also enjoy discounted golf at the sister hotel, Jolie Ville Maritim Golf & Resort; hubby & elder son often do! There is a shuttle bus service between the 2 hotels as well as into Old Sharm. One can visit the sister hotel & use the facilities there.

The beauty of this hotel is its location. It’s right in the heart of Naama, yet when inside the grounds; it’s so private & quiet. The stretch of private beach is lovely, with view over the bay & it’s nice to stroll along the prom in the evening, watching the sunset.

If you exit the grounds under the Italian restaurant, you’re standing at the top of the T-junction, which is the start of the main pedestrianised shopping street in Naama – His Majesty, The King of Bahrain Street. There’s a supermarket to your left (on the left hand cross of the “T”) the duty free shop if you go along a couple of minutes to the right, Thomas Cook exchange if you begin walking down the “stick” of the “T” & keep looking left. After about 5 shops, you should see the sign for Thomas Cook.

There are a couple of chemists nearby. There are also 2 mobile phone shops on the left, one has internet access too; well worth investing in an Egyptian sim; check your phone is unlocked 1st though. So, you can see how ideally situated this hotel is; you’re moments away from all the bars & restaurants, plus the facilities that you need to make your holiday go that bit smoother.

Will we be returning? Yes, definitely!
"

by Sekhmet
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

I spent a good time there but the...

"I spent a good time there but the room does not deserve the rate I paid; besides I had BAD experience with there service staff. I can not recommend it as a five star hotel because it is not. And also it is not under the Movenpick anymore and I wonder why!!!

I am an hotelier, I studied hotel management including kitchen and stores, I work in the same career since 20 years until now, and I had noticed BIG BIG mistakes that a five star hotel should not have.

I am sure that the hotel will be much better if the management will change.
"

by Monna Hilal
5 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

1 2 3 »

Explore area

Map for Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino Closest airport: Sharm El Sheikh (SSH) 6.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino
  • by JamesD

    " Get out the hotel complex and walk around, experience the atmosphere at night in King Bahrain Street and the shopping centre "

Similar hotels around Sharm El Sheikh

Hotels near Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino? Share your insight.