Widemouth Bay Caravan Park

Widemouth Bay, Bude EX23 0DF, United Kingdom
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

6  / 10
(7 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
2
Good
2
Average
0
Poor
1
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 8/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Widemouth Bay Caravan Park

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

Great Park...highly recommended!!

"We have just returned from a 5 night camping break to this site.

After reading reviews prior to going I have to admit that I really wasn't expecting much at all, especially since the whole break cost £49 for 7 of us!!

However - how surprised we were!!!!! On arrival the staff were really helpful and provided us with a loaded info pack regarding the area and places to visit. We were directed to the touring fields and found a pitch, which was on a slight slope but great nevertheless!

The pool was lovely and very quiet, the kids had a ball in there. The club, although a little dated and in need of a revamp, was nice and homely.....not like the clubhouses on other holiday parks which can be huge and rowdy!We only spent one evening in the club but had good fun with the kids having a great time at the kids disco and the cabaret later on which was 'Phil Blackmore' AKA the chainsaw juggler off BGT!!!

A couple of days into our break we had to call out the AA and the guy looking after the touring site was so helpful.

The only downside I would say is that there ought to be another toilet block up towards the top end of the fields - its a long walk down to the toilets in the dark, especially with young children!!

All in all, a great site and highly recommended, we will certainly be returning in 2012!!
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Camping, Booked Independently
  • Advice: A car is a must to visit the stunning surrounding country/seaside!!
  • Good For: Beach
by Jaighy :)
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

widmth hol park near bude

"just returned from a week on the park in widmouth near bude and must say the site is excelent.stayed in a basic 2 room caravan,but was amazed at how good it was.the rooms are yor usual as is the good size living/dining area.the shower and toilet is 1 room,spacious(4 a caravan)so ur nt in a prison van wen in the loo.the shower was able 2 stay at 1 hot temperature,and wasnt just a trickle.the kitchen is the basic,but 4 the 1st time ever,the freezer stockd a weeks food wit space left,rather than ur usual smal box of a freezer.tv smal,but who needs a tv in cornwal!the site is hily and large,but unles ur lazy isnt a problm,the hils arnt huge.the pool can get crowded but is a gd size and heated,the shop is wel stokd wit esentials and the arcade is good with cheap pool tables.the only let dwn was the mini golf,very basic and nt briliant,but free as is the swiming pool,so nt a big deal.the staf are friendly and helpful,we lost hot water,but sum1 came str8 up to fix.the site is at the botom of steep lane,so car helpful,howeva we didnt have a car and managed fine,only 10 min walk 2 beach,bus at top of said hil every hour to bude or the othr way 2 boscastle.all in all a lovely,quiet site,would highly recomend,level best ive stayed at with chiverton park near peranporth"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, van, Booked Independently
  • Advice: yes
  • Good For: Beach
by hipy56
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

accomodation dissapointment

"Myself and my family stayed in the camelot accomodation last year which is true to say, you get what you pay for. The chalet was over run with spiders and it was very damp and smelt musty. The meter swallowed up our money. Our oven packed up 3 days into our holiday and we were told that it wouldn't be replaced until 2 days later so we had to do without.

The staff were pleasant but not over helpful. sorry to say that I won't be returning to the holiday village.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2007, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: no
by donnm
2 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

christmas break!!

"My Husband my 3 young children 4years 2years and 1 year old and I stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment over christmas. Which we thought was lovely. until putting the money in the electric meter and heating up the bedrooms so the children could go to bed and the money disapeared. So we all ended up in the same bedroom and only had the heating on when we were there, so the appartment got very damp and so did the bed linen. At one point there was water running down the walls and all our clothes got very damp.

Over the week we were there with limited use of the electricity we spend about £50 just on electric.

We would never go back again
"

  • Holiday details: Dec 2008, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: yes
  • Activities: the beach
  • Good For: Beach
by KAYLEY
2 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We visited widemouth bay for 4 nights...

"We visited widemouth bay for 4 nights touring.We turned up early and on our arrival the staff were nice but not very helpfull we were told to basicaly drive round and find our own pitch and given a map and shower block key and told to find our own way.once we had driven round a few times we finally found somewhere to pitch there was not much choice as the area was very muddy as had really bad weather or you were on a great big hill they were not marked out so you just pitched were ever. There was only one shower block for about 100 tourers if not more and in each block there were only 5 showers and 6 toilets so you were always haveing to queue the toilet and shower facilities were dirty.There were hardly any staff avalible.The park facilities were awful we tried to go to the pool but were told that we could not use the pool because it was full to capacity even though there were only 20 people in there we could never get into the evening entertainment as you had to be there 2 hours before anything started as there was not enough room the shop on site had hardly anything in it. The staff on reception were really nice and polite and kept telling us to go to other places away from the park as there was nothing for us to do on the park itself.The area it self was lovely its just a shame the park was not but then we did only pay £64 for 4 nights touring you certainly get what you pay for .AVOID THE BIGSHEEP AT ALL COSTS £45 FOR FAMILY OF 4 PLUS EVERY THING COSTS EXTRA INSIDE"

by C Burnett
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

we have just returned from a 7 night...

"we have just returned from a 7 night holiday at widemouth bay holiday park. we arrived 3 hours early but the staff were great and let us into our accomodation. we stayed in the bodmin 4, one of the cheapest bungalows. but still £370 for the week.the chalet was old and dated, dirty and the fridge was black inside. the electricity was by coin meter and by the looks of it the fridge had been off all winter with the door shut so stank. there was no bedding or pillows and the place smelt damp. we complained to reception and they immediately gave us another challet to look at. it was better but still a bit dated and damp.

unfortunately it rained every day of our holiday which caused the challet to smell, we only had one small electric heater in the sitting room to dry the place out. we were over run with spiders and an assortment of other insects. more worryingly they were living inside the folded duvet and pillows when we went to make the beds on arrival.

however, the park was fantastic, small and friendly. the kids entertainment was fantastic and Bev the leader was hilarious. we took a 3 year old who despite being a bit young for some of the activities was included and made to feel part of the group. the evening entertainment was also excellent, kids games and a disco and nightly bingo. also provided by the fantastic Bev.

the pool was always clean and tidy, although there are no lifeguards on duty.

there is a small kids pool and a spa bath.

the beach is a short walk down the hill but it is a narrow windy road and has no pavement so a car is recommended if you have kids in tow.

the location is excellent for most of cornwall, about an hour from the eden project, and an hour from the dinosaur park in coombe martin, also highly recommended,

would deffinately recommend the park but woudl go for the highest level of accomodation you can afford, you deffinately get what you pay for
"

by E Blight
7 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Widemouth Holiday Park, Near Bude,...

"Widemouth Holiday Park, Near Bude, Cornwall

We've just returned from two fantastic weeks at this park. We upgraded to a gold caravan which upon arrival we discovered it was privately owned. The accommodation was fantastic, top quality fixtures and fittings & had fantastic views across open countryside and the bay.

The park has good facilities, club, shop, amusements etc but it is set in a valley so is very steep and unsuitable for less able individuals.

The swimming pool is a bit cramped at busy times, although the beach at Bude is only 5 miles away and is fantastic for swimming and surfing.

Widemouth Bay is very quite, there are no facilities outside the park and the nearest beach is via a long steep walk up and down country roads with no pavements so you really do need a car to visit this park.

All in all we had a great holiday, there are lots of places to visit nearby & the Eden Project is only an hour’s drive away.

The accommodation was cheap compared to Haven & other parks in the area, the staff were friendly & the park was very quite and very well looked after.

Well recommended.
"

by  L Rogers
9 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Read 65 additional reviews of Widemouth Bay Caravan Park

Explore area

Map for Widemouth Bay Caravan Park Closest airport: Newquay (NQY) 30.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Bude

Hotels near Widemouth Bay Caravan Park

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Widemouth Bay Caravan Park?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park? Share your insight.

Widemouth Bay Caravan Park is also called:

  • Widemouth Bay Holiday Park

Address: Widemouth Bay, Bude EX23 0DF, United Kingdom