Olympic Village Hotel

Sauze , 14, Sestriere, Italy
4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

5.5  / 10
(16 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
2
Good
5
Average
2
Poor
1
Awful
6

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 7/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 7/10
Location: 8.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Olympic Village Hotel

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
Fantastic by Julie fc
10 / 10

I travelled with my family and friends to this resort at half term in february 2012, it was a very early start but this we felt was better as we were in resort with our ski equiptment picked up by 1pm, we had a lovely apartment overlooking the slopes it was fantastic to sit and relax on our balcony after a long days skiing, ok the apartments are quite basic, but having been a ski rep and a chalet girl, i feel they are more than sufficient in catering to our needs, the rooms can be warm but there is air con at no extra charge and a safe in the bedroom, olympic village is in the lower part of the resort and as it was our youngest childs 1st time skiing we had to take him to the upper ski school meeting point which was a bit of a hike 1st thing in the morning, we did leave our skis and boots in the ski shop by ski school which made life easier, after a few days our son was good enough to be able to take the lift right outside the apartments and then ski back down t his meeting point, the super market in the apartments was great, it wasn't expensive at all, it had most things but not fresh meat, but plenty of things to be able to cook in, cereal, milk, eggs, freshly baked bread and rolls daily and the wine and beer selection was great, the only night we ate out was the free pizza night in the restaurant, pizzas were delicious, our tv broke and also our toilet tese were both fixed, almost immediatly, we really can't fault the place. Skiing was great, piste map ok to read, havin skied alot in france i thought the slopes were of an easier standard here,we only tried 1 black run, which was more like a red even our son who only started skiing on this holiday was able to ski this run on our last day, we loved the olympic village so much we will be visiting again in march 2013, i don't really understand the people who say it was horrendous, its not 5 star but it is everything a family needs to enjoy a good ski holiday, and that is what it is a ski accomodation, I am a travel agent and i have no problem in recommending this accom and resort to my customers. i hope this review is helpful and shows a positive insight to this accom and resort. roll on next march!!!!!

  • Holiday details: Feb 2012, booked with First Choice
  • Good For: , Skiing

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Crystals are fantastic but please remove this hotel from the brochure. by Wannabeoplympian
1 / 10

My girlfriend and I booked purely on price as it was only our 2nd time skiing and had never visited Italy before. The positives of the holiday were the Crystals tour company and reps, together with the flights and transfers. The reps were great and offered an escort service for skiers of all abilities so that they could experience the slopes and get their bearing before heading off on there own. Unfortunately the Hotel Olympic Village somewhat spoilt what was a great skiing expeience in Sestriere. The rooms were uncomfortable, the staff were rude and extremely unhelpful, the facilities were poor and the resturant was a cross between a school canteen and prisoner cell block H. Although we were on a self catering basis, we did eat in the resturant on 2 occasions given that the hotel gave us 2 free meal vouchers. If we were on half or full board I would have been very disappointed and would be requesting a full refund from the tour operator on my return to the UK. The layout of the hotel was very confusing, noisy with a constant echo of people talking and walking around in ski boots rather than using the equipment store. We had very little sleep and didn't manage 1 undisturbed night rest for the entire week. It certainly wasn't a relaxing holiday but we did make the most of the skiing. Although we were inexperienced skiers, we managed to make the most of the opportunities of Sestriere. However, the runs and lifts are not well signposted and the piste map is difficult to interpret. The lift pass allows you to ski all over the Milky Way but you have to be an assured skier to be able to transit over the the other resorts. This is definitely an intermediate/advanced skiing area and beginners should beware. Due to the terrain surrounding Sestriere, the slopes become very steep very quickly. If you do nothing else during your stay in Italy, pay the extra 22 Euros and go on the ski away day to Montegenvre in the french alps. Its a 45 minute transfer with a full morning of escorted skiing with the Crystals Reps. Very enjoyable day, the best of our holiday. My final comment is that if you can afford to stay somewhere else in Sestriere then do it. Do not expect 4* accommodation for the price you pay at the Olympic Village. I hope you find this review helpful. Safe skiing.

  • Holiday details: Jan 2012, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Don't stay there if you want to enjoy your holiday
  • Good For: , Skiing

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Worst Hotel in the world by roberts755
1 / 10

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in!1

You get treated like cattle fron check in to check out..

2hrs to check in, 100 E Cash no cards damended for deposit

Keys to room not avialiable until 5pm!

Food awful, ifyou are not the first in the queue for dinner then you wont get a seat, and you will be lucky to get fresh food.

Rooms too hot, managers solution open patio door!

rooms not cleaned all week, 1 roll of loo paper for 4 people for a week,

HOTEL VERY TIRED STAFF VERY RUDE!

Rooms inspected before you leave, we were told to remove rubbish from bin and clean sink!

Do not stay here!

  • Holiday details: Dec 2010, Half Board, booked with Crystal
  • Advice: Do not book here!

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not as bad as I thought it was going to be by bobblej
6 / 10

Having read the reviews after I had booked my holiday, I was slightly concerned about where we would be staying. On arrival at the apartments, we received our room key and ski locker key. The directions to our apartment were simple and easy to follow. There are however a number of different routes that you could take.

The rooms are functional. The bedroom is a good size and the storage within the bedroom is brilliant. The beds in the living area are easy to set up and put down, and there is plenty of storage there also.

The apartment has a microwave which also doubles as a grill and 2 ring electric hob. It could benefit from a toaster and a kettle. However we managed to eat in for a few nights and it was absolutely fine.

The furniture is functional and not aimed for comfort. The decor is contemporary.

The bathroom was small, but had a seperate sink and toilet area. Again, whilst ski-ing I would have liked there to have been a bath to rest my aching bones!!!

The ski lockers are ok for boots, however we did have some ski poles stolen. There is no room in the ski lockers for snow boards and we had to keep ours in our apartment.

We had to leave a cash deposit of 100 Euro on arrival. This was returned without any checks on our departure.

The supermarket in the complex is ok and stocks the basics. The self service restaurant lacks any character, and the food and service was not particularly good. The bar is more like a cafe and again lacks much character.

Generally it was ok. It is not luxurious, but it was ok.

  • Holiday details: Dec 2009, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: , Skiing

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good value, great ski location by Roger_and_Judy
8 / 10

Overall very good. For ski apartments they are spacious and well equipped. They dont have a usable teapot though. There are well organised ski lockers and the main lift to Sansicario is just over the road. Excellent free covered car park.

The staff were helpful and generally spoke excellent English.

The pool is small, you need flip flops and a swimming cap to use it. The gym is well equipped but only for over 14 years of age.

On the downside it is a confusing place with long corridoors and a distinct smell of drains in the communal areas

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

good value modern accomodation in good ski location by CornwallBeechwood
8 / 10

we stayed 08/15 feb. appears to have had recent refit - rooms as new - spacious bedroom and lounge, plenty of storage space. well fitted shower room and kitchen.terrace with view of slopes. staff efficient but not particularly friendly. on site pizza/pasta restaurant was fair value and we received free meal voucher for each restaurant. the place is huge and lots of corridors to get lost in. 10 min uphill walk to village. ski lift opposite main reception but not suitable for beginners (slope it takes you to is quite tricky). **note there is a 100 euro deposit which has to be paid in cash on arrival & will not be returned to you until 30 mins prior to departure whatever your tour company may say to contrary!** overall a really good basic standard hotel with really nice clean facilities close to the slopes

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Good value for ski holiday in Sestriere by bikerbabe07
8 / 10

After reading some of the reviews I was a bit apprehensive about our stay. However the staff were really helpful and friendly. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable and had everything you needed. Small bathroom but good sized living area with balcony and views of the slopes.The corridors were a bit confusing at first. We were given two meal vouchers each for the week and provided you arrived in the self service restaurant at 7.30pm there was a good choice of dishes. There is also a pizza selection available these are good and very filling. Plenty to do with evening entertainment if you wish. There is a small but adequate swimming pool with clean hot shower facilities plus gym and aerobic classes. A mini market is open daily so you can self cater as we did for breakfast and the occasional evening meal. Check in was strange as you initially checked in upstairs and then went to lower reception to pay 100 euro deposit in cash refundable at end of week for your room key/ski locker key. Bit of a walk uphill to the beginner slopes in Sestriere about 10-15 minutes but possible to ski back easily to accommodation. Intermediate skiers could ski from nearer the hotel or take the gondola up Mount Fraiteve close by. If you don't like the walk leave your skis/boots up in Sestriere near the ski school for a weekly fee we didn't find out this until later. Prebooking skis/lift pass this would have been cheaper prior to holiday and was no cheaper from the rep on the coach than in the village.Ski Scuola Sestriere has great instructors for beginners and there are several easy blue runs until you are ready to progress. The run to Borgata is excellent once you can do snowplough turns and stop. All in all an excellent holiday and no need to be put off by unreasonable reports about the Olympic Village unless you are expecting a luxury 4 star venue.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Great Holiday at Olympic Village by Gill46Aberdeen
8 / 10

We've just returned from a week in Sestriere and had a great time. The snow was the best there has been in years and skiing conditions couldn't have been better. Having read previous reviews of the Olympic Village we were concerned, however we were very pleasantly surprised. The complex has everything you need whatever size of party you are visiting with. Staff were friendly and very helpful, and most speak English. There is a bar, disco, restaurant, shop, gym and swimming pool on site. The staff arrange activities throughout the day and evening so there are things to do for all ages, and included in the price of the holiday were two evening meals each. Rooms were basic but had everything we needed and provided more than enough space. They were clean, well maintained and the balcony was big.

On the downside, the corridors are confusing to start with and rooms can be noisy. Also, mainly due to the bad exchange rate at the moment, drink and food prices are quite high. There is also a slightly confusing check in system where you register at the front desk, then complete the check in process and pay 100 Euro deposit (which you get back when you check out) at a different desk. However, staff were happy to guide us through this without any problems.

Sestriere itself, and the surrounding Milky Way area, is a lovely place to visit. The towns are small but very friendly. Sestriere was quiet during the week, but much busier at the weekend. However, tour companies do organise things during the week so there are plenty of things to do. The skiing however was brilliant! More than enough to keep most skiiers occupied for a week, and the links between resorts make travelling between them relatively easy. All in all, a great holiday!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Think Huge Student Hall of Residence! by GranGenie
10 / 10

This complex is massive and confusing - think huge modern student hall of residence - but on the plus side it is great value and the staff are marvellous. Also everything is under one roof, including a mini market. We only found out about the promotion on the self-service resturaunt too late to make use of it. You can get a book of 7 meal vouchers from reception which lets you eat a full three/four course meal or pizza with a drink (wine included) at a discount rate. Cheaper & better than self catering as the small supermarkets are all very basic and expensive. Apartment comfortable, if over heated (thermostat wouldn't go below 28 degrees) but you could turn heating fan off. Don't believe brochures saying it is five minutes to the village - it is a good 10 minute climb up a steep hill.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Enjoyed it overall! by LizDublinIreland
8 / 10

We stayed in the Olympic Village (4 adults + 4 children, aged 6 - 15) in March this year. Our experience ranged from beginners to experts.

The complex itself was large and wandering with different levels and meandering corridors, but our apartments were clean and spacious, with balconies overlooking the slopes.

The food in the on-site restaurants was fine, and there was also a supermarket if you wanted to self-cater. There were plenty of bars and restaurants within 5 - 10 mins walk.

We found all the staff to be polite and friendly.

Skiing was probably more suited to experienced skiiers, but the beginners among us could get a bus outside the Olympic Village to Sestriere itself - just a few minutes journey - where there was more of a selection of gentle slopes. Then you could ski easily back to the Olympic Village at the end of the day.

All in all, a good trip!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Awful Place by sashy552
2 / 10

what a terrible place, down as 4 star but is 2 at best - more fitting to youth hostel although they are more comfortable than the rooms at this hotel. very long dark corridors before you get to your room block, no natural light, the whole of the building has grey cheap tiled floors even the rooms - rooms are in the basement so if you are expecting a view of anything you will be very disappointed. all fittings in rooms are of a very poor standard, more apt to dormitories rather than bedrooms, bathrooms very cramped - not enough room in the shower to lift your arms to wash your hair. as all floors are tiled it makes the rooms very noisy especially when you are in the basement and the people in the apartments above are moving around.

the food in the restaurant is good value for money forget breakfast,

the staff are very unhelpful unless you are Italian. The tour reps pay you lip service when you bring faults to their attention.

Impressive looking reception area but that is as far as it goes.

I could go on and on but i feel yo may become bored of my ranting.

Not worth its 4 star rating

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Very poor NOT 4 star as advertised, will NOT go back! by kevski66
2 / 10

Built for the Winter Olympic Games in 2006, a very modern complex ...this where the problems start. The bedrooms were all situated on basement level. With dormitory style bedrooms (4 single beds and 4 wardrobes!) not much room for comfort here. IKEA style furnishings, wooden chairs with metal legs on the bland grey tiles that are found EVERYWHERE, the noise from the rooms above at night has to be heard to be believed.In these so called 4star bedrooms (in A block at least) fittings fell off the bathrooms walls, the shower leaked and smelt of mould/drains and you could only sit on the toilet with you knees protruding thru the broken side panel of the shower! No Fridge, mini bar or kettle but there is a TV.... but you need to like BBC world as thats the only english channel to be found!!!

The only view out of the bedroom windows (above head height) was of a bank of snow littered with cigarette stubs disgarded from the appartments above. Everything was built to a budget and it shows, for a 2/3 year old building its already in a poor state. Not built to even Roman standards! Mangement is poor and some Staff are less than friendly. One or two tried to be helpfull.

With long long corridors finding your room and getting about is like being on the STAR SHIP ENTERPRISE! I wished someone had 'beemed' me up to another hotel. This is not really a place for young children either, too much glass and long drops from walkways in this ultra modern complex. There is entertainment....in Italian....but thats another story!!!!

You wont find photos of the bedrooms in th brochures or web site ( and now I know why!) only the apartments which are slightly more comfortable, they have a pull-out bed settee BUT are not FULLY equiped as many brochures suggest, lacking Microwaves and kettles. Complaining to the Inghams rep and the management wont improve ...you just get fobbed off and told to make a complaint!!!

I could go on ...but I'm fed up talking about the place.

If you have to go to this 'hotel' (because a tent is tooo cold...and all the good hotels are full!) choose an apartment.

The rooms are NOT somewhere you can rest your aching limbs after a day on the piste...YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!

Oh! Sestriere is nice, with good snow skiing the Milky Way is fun....Sauxi is great as is Montgenevre for skiing. Enjoy!

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Olympic Village Hotel? Share your insight.

Olympic Village Hotel also called

  • villaggio olimpico hotel sestriere
  • villaggio olimpico sestriere
  • Address: Sauze , 14, Sestriere, Italy

Explore area

Map for Olympic Village Hotel Closest airport: Turin International (TRN) 41.4 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Olympic Village Hotel
  • by Julie fc

    " Use the supermarket in the hotel, its same price as others in resort. Ski to sauze d'oux its a great alternative! "

Similar hotels around Sestriere

Hotels near Olympic Village Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Olympic Village Hotel?