Club Praia Da Rocha Apartments

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

5.5  / 10
(159 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
33
Good
42
Average
17
Poor
16
Awful
51

Rating by feature

Room: 5/10
Service: 5.5/10
Food: 4.5/10
Value: 6.5/10
Cleanliness: 5.5/10
Location: 7.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Club Praia Da Rocha Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 314 »
Great hotel, don't listen to the whingers!

"I have stayed at Club Praia Da Rocha over 20 times. I am 41 years old and have been coming here since I was 18. It really annoys me that this lovely hotel gets such a slating. It is a lovely place. Yes, it does need a lick of paint but so what? The rooms are very cheap and people expect 4 star! The rooms are ALWAYS clean. If there is a problem, the staff sort it out immediately. The food is very nice. It can be a little repetitive, BUT there is always something nice to eat. I am a vegetarian and I can always find something to eat. The homemade soups are divine.

The internet does work and if it doesn't, then ASK a member of staff who will always help.

The one thing that stands out about Club Praia Da Rocha in all my visits there, is how rude and nasty some English people are to the staff. I find it quite upsetting as many of the staff have been there for many years. They are lovely and welcoming and they get spoken to like dirt. I've heard English people call them 'foreign scum' (In THEIR country!), click their fingers at staff and generally try and talk down to the reception staff. I can honestly say, I have NEVER been spoken to rudely there.

It has the perfect location, a few minutes walk form the glorious beach. The long promenade of shops and restaurants lead to a beautiful new marina and the ruins of an old fort. Ten minuteswalk away is Portimao with it's abundance of shops.

My children and I feel home at this hotel. It is lovely and the staff are lovely too. We have just booked to go again in October 2014 and I have absolutely no doubt we will once again have a fantastic holiday. We always try and book here.

Don't judge this beautiful hotel by the whingers who want to pay for water and receive champagne!
"

  • Holiday details: May 2013, booked with Teletext holidays
  • Advice: Don't miss out on a trip to Zoomarine
  • Good For: Beach
by Janieportugal
10 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Cheap and cheerful

"Everything about this hotel is basic and must say not happy that you have to hire all most everything as extra !!! On the plus side staff really friendly food basic but location of hotel great and it's only somewhere to sleep. Get out and enjoy the area ."

  • Holiday details: May 2014, booked with Sunmaster
  • Advice: Look at the overall pic to be glass half full not half empty xxx
  • Good For: Beach
by Eden S
7 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

AWFUL!!

"Me and my boyfriend have just returned from a week here and I can tell you it was awful!!

We nicknamed the food SLOP! I am sure prisoners in England get fed better, it is disgusting. we did eat there literally because we couldn't afford to eat out every evening (the food in restaurants wasn't much better)

We are not picky, choosey snobby people believe me, but we do expect a certain standard for a 3 star hotel. in my opinion this is a 1 star!

The apartment was large, but the bathroom had me scared to have a shower in as it was soooooooooooooo old and manky!!

if you want ANY appliances, TV remote etc you have to pay for it.

internet you have to pay for (which doesn't even work)

to confirm your transfer you have to pay for (WHAT A JOKE?!)

the only thing good about this area is the beach, we went out of season so it was to be expected.

We didn't even attempt going in the dirty freezing pool.

the staff were unhelpful, we passed our key over on our check out he pointed outside and just said your transfer , no goodbye thanks see you again or anything. pretty much found everyone in the hotel and the area tried to swindle us out of money in one way or the other.

oh and the wild dogs that roam the street, lovely.

And the people constantly trying to sell you drugs or dodgy stuff!

All in all it was a terrible experience, and we will never be staying in this disgusting, dirty, old manky hotel again... DO NOT BELIEVE the FAKE reviews saying 10 out of 10, even the chavviest chav would surely have some expectation higher than this (oh and trust me chav central)

everyone we spoke to in the hotel at the same time as us complained, looked depressed and agreed that it was awful, so definitely know that the other reviews must be fake or maybe there was some kind of miracle that day those people stayed LOL yeah right!

NEVER AGAIN!!! Soooooooooooo glad to be home (and it was 4degrees and raining when we got bk)
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: dont go
  • Good For: Beach
by Sammy W
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

You get what you pay for

"We had 7 nights for about £130 for a studio apartment ,which is good value. The apartments were poorly equipped ,no kettle,toaster,tin opener,bottle opener .all had to be hired . Towels only changed once. Bedding not changed at all, beds were bunk beds just separate .

Location was good,pools were ok, plenty good restaurant and pub around ,which were very fairly priced. Would stay again as location was good and apartment were good value .
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2013, booked with Travel republic
  • Advice: Don't expect too much. Very basic. But good location
  • Good For: Beach
by Katherine L
5 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

You get what you pay for

"We had 7 nights for about £130 for a studio apartment ,which is good value. The apartments were poorly equipped ,no kettle,toaster,tin opener,bottle opener .all had to be hired . Towels only changed once. Bedding not changed at all, beds were bunk beds just separate .

Location was good,pools were ok, plenty good restaurant and pub around ,which were very fairly priced. Would stay again as location was good and apartment were good value .
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2013, booked with Travel republic
  • Advice: Don't expect too much. Very basic. But good location
  • Good For: Beach
by Katherine L
5 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

great value holiday

"We have just arrived back from a weeks all inclusive holiday at the Clube Praia de Rocha.

Having read the reviews we wondered what we had let our selves in for. What we experienced was a outstanding value holiday. If you are the sort of person who looks for faults or expects a 5star holiday for a one star price this is not the hotel for you.

If you want friendly staff, plentiful drinks, adequate food all be It with a slightly limited choice and sometimes a hotel showing its age but with a great pool and good atmosphere in a excellent location then you’ll have a good holiday at the Clube Praia de Rocher. Would we go back? Yes like a shot.
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2013, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by jf
9 / 10

23 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

my view

"i went with me and my freind just got backweather briliant,food was good you go on holiday to try different things and how countries do different things,so stay at home if you dont like difference,hotel staff was lvely,night life was calm,it even has snacks for chidren of burgers and hotdogs if chidren do not eat there countries style of food,was enough beer,and the club poeple complained about is a all fmily suit were entertainment was,which is a childrens fun room duing day with indoor pool,so were just meant to sit round at night with children fed up,it for families,iam going back with my children,weather hot take sun cream,for a budjet ALL NCLUSIVE,i recomend it,you,ll have to pay for bigger things,as i said iam going back ith my children,would i put my kids at risk and take them,from us lot from preston,WE LOVED THE SHORT BREAK,on a budget"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: just go with the flow
by nicolatara
10 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

good holiday

"went to these apartments in september 2012 with my mother whose 76 my daughters 15 and 1 my sister and two friends, yes the apartments are a bit dated but where clean and had everything we needed microwave wasnt working but staff replaced it straight away. We where self catering so ate out quite a lot entertaintment was very good every evening staff were brillant

couldnt fault anything but doing up the decor a bit, great holiday over all great pub around the corner called dalys bar will go back to these apartments very reasonable price for what you get.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: go self catering
  • Good For: Beach
by L Toland
5 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good value for money

"Great value for money, yes the rooms are a little dated but very spacious which is great. The food and drinks were fine and entertainment for what we paid for. Towels changed every day, bed a bit hard. Not sure how people can complain for what you pay for this hotel. If you want four or five star then pay for it and stay elsewhere!!!"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2012, booked with Travel republic
  • Good For: Beach
by Joanna S
5 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Please don't go to this place.

"I have just read some reviews on Trip Adviser and came to the conclusion that they were all put on there by the hotel's staff.

THIS PLACE IS AWFUL.

I went with my wife and 2 daughters(13 & 10) on the so called All Inclusive basis.

On arrival we were put into room 110 in block 2, directly above the ridiculously noisy Video Bar, that was very considerate of them. I will say though that after 2 nights i did complain and were given a move to room 413 in block 2.

I will keep the rest of this review brief as i could be here all day if not.

Food is terrible. No choice, tasteless, lukewarm at the best, repetitive.

I have read that there was plenty available for all tastes, how people can say this when all you could have was 1 fish dish or 1 meat dish all served with chips. This was all we could have for both lunch and dinner for our entire 10 day stay. As i have 2 picky daughters we couldn't eat in the so called restaurants so eat out every day. This ended up virtually ruining our holiday as all our spending money went on food.

Why were the All Inclusive customers also discriminated in the bar. All drinks, hot & cold, were served in plastic cups with half measures, i know we can get drinks when we wanted, but i am a 45 year old man, not a child.

As for the hotel's facilities, laughable is being polite. You have to pay for everything from a toaster to wi-fi, which incidently is free in numerous bars on the strip. No entertainment was provided for the children at all and the evening entertainment was only a few quizzes, karaoke, parrot show and the most pathetic reptile show i have ever seen. This consisted of 2 small lizards and a snake about 12ins long, yet some people actually found it ammusing.

The area stunk of raw sewerage on a couple of occasions and when it rained the whole area became flooded, on one day my girls had to evacuate the games room as the rain was coming through the roof onto the computer terminals.

Quite simply, this place is DREADFUL. It simply cannot offer All Inclusive as they haven't a clue about the service it requires. The hotel is dated and dirty and needs a major overhaul. I am not surprised that the Sister hotel over the road was closed down after featuring on TV's " Holiday's from Hell ", just a shame this place took over from it.

STAY AWAY.
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Dont go
  • Good For: Beach
by Samantha A
1 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

worst hotel ever

"just got back from this hotel last wk worse hotel ever, never ever again if we had the money we would have changed hotel food crap staff even worse rooms dirty pool cold dirt and unsafe we stayed all inclusive and went out every day and night couldnt wait to get home DONT GO"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: dont go
by Carol H
1 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Avoid this very poor hotel

"This is a copy of the complaint i sent to Med Hotels

All Inclusive Package:

We booked the All inclusive package so we could budget our holiday without having to spend too much more money while on holiday, this was not the case as the All Inclusive wasn’t as all inclusive as it should be. There were many extras to the holiday, excessive time restrictions and poor quality food that meant we spent a lot more than we would expect too after paying extra for the package.

1. Standard items you would expect in the room were chargeable, TV Remote Control, Kettle Etc.

2. Sunbed’s and Parasols around the pool were charged at 4 Euros a day, I have never been charged for a sunbed ever at any hotel.

3. Return transfer confirmation was charged; again i have never paid for this before.

4. The snack bar was only open from 11-12 and 3-4 and for the all inclusive had a much smaller choice and self service.

5. The drinks although cheap wine and beer were available from 10 AM, spirits were not available until after 8 PM, as my partner does not drink wine or beer so she could not have an alcoholic drink before 8PM without paying for it. We are not huge drinkers but do like a drink when returning from the beach or maybe after lunch, this was not available to her.

6. The food in the restaurant was the same every day for breakfast and evening meal,, although there might have been a slight change to the meat it was virtually the same with a slightly different sauce and title and had virtually no taste, this was accompanied by dried pasta and chips mostly. The food was also lukewarm, after 3-4 days we decided to eat out.

Cleanliness:

1. The room was not cleaned properly on arrival as there were items on the floor from the previous occupants, we left a couple of these where they were and a week later they were still there, The Floors were not cleaned once in the whole week. I do not expect to get out of the shower and have to clean my feet again half an hour later.

2. There were mould spores on the bathroom ceiling and signs of mould on the tiles.

3. There was no maid service at the weekend, not that you noticed the difference.

4. The Towels were only changed every 4 days, as these were paper thin and in poor condition we had to use our own towels most of the week. The bedding was not changed at all.

5. The public toilets and snack area were in generally not as clean as you would expect either, as particularly in the snack area there was not a clean table available after 12 AM.

1. Our room was on the 9th Floor on the main road side of the hotel with no Air conditioning.

2. The noise from the very busy road was constant including regular car alarms

3. The beds creaked every time you slightly moved or turned over and were not the most comfortable as they were clearly very old.

4. The noise from the corridor and other rooms is another feature of the hotel this is all night as well.

5. When asking for anything from reception the staff were unhelpful and very surly, there was never a can i help you or friendly word, they barely look at you let alone speak if the don’t have too.

6. I never saw a maid so could not ask them when the room was being cleaned, the snack bar staff were unhelpful, if you were all inclusive there was no service at all if you paid for a snack it was brought out to you, if you ordered a half sandwich it was left on the side until you picked it up yourself.

Overall although we don’t expect a 3 star hotel to be fantastic we do expect a certain standard of service and cleanliness that this hotel does not provide. We have paid a decent amount of money for this (over £700) and feel that we have not had anywhere near value for money.

I did ring and complain on Monday 20th August but was told i could only move if i paid more money and if there was availability (This i was not prepared to do although if we were staying for 2 weeks i would have had to), There was no point in complaining to reception as on more than 1 occasion i was present when people complained and they were given short shrift by the reception staff.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Book a different hotel
  • Good For: Beach
by Carl T
1 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 314 »

Explore area

Map for Club Praia Da Rocha Apartments Closest airport: Faro (FAO) 32.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Club Praia Da Rocha Apartments
  • by Kdarocha

    " Athlantis and Hollywood are the best restaurants and Aqua Land and Zoo Marine are great day trips. "

  • by OliviaMummy

    " Hollywood Steak House, Zoo Marina "

  • by harrymoo

    " Not to go with a family in june "

  • by Polly1506

    " The beach is down a steep slope so it's not suitable for anyone not fit and able. "

  • by Devon Trevillion

    " The Irish bar right next to the hotel as a amazing drag show. So funny worth a see and drinks are cheapest too. The owner and son sing all Irish. "

Similar hotels around Praia Da Rocha

Hotels near Club Praia Da Rocha Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Club Praia Da Rocha Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Club Praia Da Rocha Apartments? Share your insight.

Club Praia Da Rocha Apartments is also called:

  • Apartments Clube Avenida Praia Hotel
  • club praia da rocha
  • club praia de rocha
  • clube praia da rocha
  • hotel praia da rocha

Address: Avda Comunidade Lusiada, Praia Da Rocha 8500-801, Portugal