Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(55 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
35
Good
15
Average
0
Poor
1
Awful
4

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 7.5/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 8/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 35 »
Absolutely stunning by the Trembles by Trembles
10 / 10

This is fantastic resort, very friendly and clean. Highly recommended, good for families and those just looking to relax. When visiting make sure to say "hello" to Rohan and the team at the Grill Bar (out of this world). Also a must to say "hello" to Howard and Georgie Porgy the best lifeguards ever cos Stone Cold Steve, Rasta girl Tracey and Kieran said so ,the Entertainment Staff , Kasey, Vanilla, Brian, Birdman and the mad Scooby, the Bar Staff Lenny and the lovely Tanesha and not forgetting mad as a hatter Kevin and last but not least our wonderful Cleaner Pauline ( she one in a million).

Even though our visit to Jamaica was only a short seven days due to Business commitments , we intend to go back this year for two weeks..We were made to feel like an extended part of the Jamaican family and we made them an extended part of our family. The only downfall to our visit was the non courtesy and bad manners of some the French not just to the staff but also other nationalities. Manners cost nothing. Most but not all of the French in effect would demand you move from your seats in the Buffet Bar when dining so that they could have the tables. On several occasions we noticed the rudeness manner in which they spoke to the staff.

All in all a must place to go. In our opinion the resort should be upgraded to 4*.

When visiting you must visit Pauline and Lorna's shops just outside the complex, very friendly.

  • Holiday details: Jan 2014, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Definately interact with the staff and join in with the activities a brilliant laugh
  • Good For: Beach

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

should be better by rsos
3 / 10

I was on the hotel on October 29 to November 4, and the balance of the stay is far from the best. The reasons for this disillusionment are relate to:

- A check-in at the hotel it took 1 hour

- Alcohol drinks don't have quality

- A room worthy of the 90's, at least the furniture is 20years old

- The beach needs to be cleaned, algae and jellyfish have stinging swimmers

- The animation staff "fun crew" were the worst of all, for besides upsetting people on the beach, the lowest point was when I was victim of assault for no reason because didn't participate in the activities.

- if the assault wasn't enough, the manager Louis Campbell didn't do anything in a situation of an assault on a host by a staff member.

The hotel is able to provide good vacation, but with the situations that happened I am far from able to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Rui Oliveira

  • Holiday details: Nov 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: , City Breaks

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

What a fantastic 18 days !! by TheKnees
10 / 10

I'm thinking the previous reviewer stayed in a different hotel. The cottage we had was fine - a bit basic but the aircon, shower, beds and storage were more than adequate (in fact the aircon and shower were excellent), what more do you need?

You have to remember this is a 3* not a 4* hence this shows in the variety of the food offered, but we never went hungry and in fact (as usual for all inclusive) we over ate, the jerk pork in particular and the fish were always lovely and cooked to perfection. All meals are taken overlooking the beach - a lovely setting for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The location is stunning with the cottages spaced out in lovely gardens, no high rise blocks of concrete here, all within 2 mins stroll of the beach.

The beach consists of 4 man made lagoons and is perfectly safe/shallow for young ones. The sand is constantly raked throughout the day and seaweed removed making for a very clean look at all times. The pools are quite small but with such a wonderful beach not that many used the pool.

There's plenty of sunbeds, both round the 2 pools and on the beach, so there's no need to get up at 6am although an early morning swim in the crystal clear waters is lovely !!

The lifeguards observe everything and run the watersports; sailing, kayaks, banana rides, glass bottomed boat etc, all of which were good fun (especially going 4 miles out in a Hobie and seeing a turtle !!).

The bar was always well stocked (be careful of the rum punch !!) and the staff, as expected in Jamaica, were all very friendly and if you remember to tip early in your stay you can be assured of the best service !!

The entertainment was of a good standard, if a little repetative sometimes and the Fun Crew who ran it always seemed to have bags of energy. There's a second bar on a jetty away from the main centre where the atmosphere is more chilled which made a nice change on occasions.

All in all a wonderful holiday - would we go back, yes...next week please !!!

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

awesome by sandydoll
10 / 10

returned from 2 week holiday on 7th july2010. 2nd time there. with daughter of 21 and her boyfriend. they had the best time ever. they partied every night.entertainment staff great. bar staff great especially george at jetty bar. only dissapointment was weather. beach party was amazing. met loads of lovely people inside and outside hotel. you have to venture out it is a great experience. try british bulldog gail and trevor very friendly. also pauline in shops husband bob took us on several trips. very good guide. would go again just wish theyd play more reggae music instead of english after all in home of reggae ledgend bob marley.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Virgin
  • Advice: brilliant and helpful staff
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The place to visit by Jenkij
10 / 10

We have just arrived home from a 2 week holiday, ages 7 to 63. This has been the best holiday all of us have ever had. We stayed in a cottage which was very nice. The maid service is every single day and they leave the cottage spotless. Hot towels brought round most afternoons (if not already left in the room). The beach was beautiful and cleaned twice daily by fantastic beach attendants. We hadn't realised that all the activities were included in the price of the holiday, banana boat, water ski, catamaran, kayaks, pedalos, glass bottom boat and this made our stay even more enjoyable. The watersport guys were fantastic and so friendly. The bar staff were excellent and very happy in their work. Bazil, one of the evening waiters was absolutely lovely. Nothing is too much trouble for any member of staff at this hotel, we have never met such nice people. The evening entertainment was rather repetative. The resident "front crew" Jerky and Frisky were absolutely great with the children and adults and work tirelessly throughout the day keeping everyone amused. We will not be forgetting Jerky in a long while. Our only concern was that there wasn't much choice of food for our children. The one night that there were chips available in the main buffet restaurant in our 2 week stay, every single person in the restaurant ate them. The Jamaican food was fantastic as were all the other themed nights.

Dolphin Cove and Dunn's River Falls are an absolutely must (the staff here are fantastic too especially Cleon).

Not a safe place to go outside the complex on your own and not recommended by the rep.

Would love to go back again.

The Thomson aircrew both outbound and home were awful, very miserable and not very approachable. First Choice are so much better.

  • Holiday details: May 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: This is a lovely hotel to visit, saving to go again soon
  • Good For: Beach

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

so much fun in the sun by rastor beads
10 / 10

we went to royal carribbean 1st feb for 2 weeks stayed in a beautiful cottage all inclusive the food is superb the animation team are the best we have ever seen the make you feel like you are part of the team never before have we joined in so many games and enjoyed ourselfs,and laughed all the time if you want to really have fun in the sun,the decameron is the best place for you.andy&brenda.

  • Holiday details: Feb 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: be ready to be entertained beyond belief and laugh
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Simply The BEST by Menhennett
10 / 10

One very big negative to start with, Thompson air crew are not a patch on First Choice crew (Please bring them back.)

Now for the very, very BIG positive, this is our second time to Royal Decameron and it will not be the last, we requested the same beach front cottage as last year and as soon as we arrived Judith new all about it as she remembered us and we got to move after one night. We are very well traveled and we have never been back to a place twice, we are so glad we did this time as our relaxing and restful holiday was mirror image to last year. The staff from Ameril the first choice rep to Judith in reception and several waiting staff are the reason, they are fantastic, to name but a few, David the breakfast/lunch waiter, Tarma, Mr Green, Danavon, Adrian (all who remembered us from last Year)and few more new staff too many to remember. Kerry Anne was on maternity leave, she was missed, her singing was lovely. The chefs are also great (likewise the food they produce) but the bar staff sometimes need a kick up the you know what. Could not believe George has gone a great loss.The chambermaid was great, likewise the beach guy. Look after them and be sure they will look after you more. It is well worth the slight investment, please do remember they do enjoy there work but they also have so little compared to us holiday makers.

Whatever you want from a holiday Royal Decameron is the place to be as you can choose from a quiet time on the beach or the great entertainment around the pool.

If any one reads this and you do go, please say to named staff above the red wine man and his wife says hello.

  • Holiday details: Oct 2009, All Inclusive, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Fantastic
  • Activities: All three restaurants
  • Good For: Beach

27 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Two biggest complaints: Noisy rooms and Bad Food by mbabbe
2 / 10

When I arrived, I tried to love the resort, but within a few hours realized that I couldn't. We stayed in 3 hotels during our 10 day trip and this was supposed to be the nicest, but so many things went wrong with the hotel, that my wife described it as "a nightmare.” Our $50/night eco-hotel was more enjoyable that this $170/night all inclusive.

Noise, Noise, Noise. If you go to Jamaica only to party, then this is your place. I would say about 50% of the bungalows are too noisy for a couple to enjoy, with only about 5 feet between many of the bungalows and the outside streets. The West side of the resort has constant truck noise on Highway A1, and the East side has Garbage trucks (for about 1 hour) at 4AM. If you're lucky enough to get a quiet bungalow then it'll be nice. I told the reception that I was here to relax, and they stuck me in the loudest room (right behind the main stage) and when I asked for a change, they put me next to the Garbage. Smelly and noisy.

Summary:

The Beach: Not a real beach. Looks like they tried to convert a rocky coastline into a beach. Thumbs down. I only used the pool, not the "beach".

The Food: Much lower quality that I expected. First night was okay (Jerk Pork) but low quality (very fatty), but second night was terrible. Their Mexican night is worse than Taco Bell. A real pity, since there is so much fresh fish just outside the gates.

The Drinks: All you can drink, was the only bright spot. Strong drinks too!

The Staff: Okay, but very impersonal. Felt I was just 1 of 400 guests, and they didn't care about me. So many rules: Sign up for snorkeling at 9AM. Sign up for Sailing at 10AM (don’t try signing up at 9AM). Missed out on many things I wanted to do (Scuba, sit-down restaurants, Glass Bottom Boat) because their rules made it difficult to do more than one or two things in a day. And they don’t tell you about the rules in advance, only when you missed the deadline.

The Low point: The main reason I picked this resort was they showed 3 sailboats in their pictures on their website, since I used to race sailboats and wanted to impress my wife. When I arrived they only had one that was “operational”, and actually it had a hole in it. We had to be rescued at sea, and it turned out they knew about the hole the entire time.

If this is your only place in Jamaica, then you are missing out and might as well stay in Florida. Either go to Port Antonio (near San San Beach and Frenchman’s Cove) for the real Jamaica or pay a little more for a better resort. Either that, or drink tons of their free drinks and everything will seem better than it actually is.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

once in a lifetime by philandann
10 / 10

We booked jamaica as a once in a lifetime holiday. But we will be going back there again very soon. Before going we read some of the reviews and looked at the weather forcasts it made us think oh! what have we done, but on arrival any bad thoughts were put right out of our minds. The initial appearance of the hotel was WOW, the staff are very friendly from Judith the front desk supervisor all the way down to the workers that where there every day cleaning and raking the beach. Every one of the staff tried to make you welcome and could not do enough for you to make you relaxed and to enjoy your holiday. Godfrey the rep was a very kind and helpful man. The only thing we think could be better was the entertainment at night like more outside shows or audiance participation even to use the singers that do the performance at the bar during evening meal time as they where brill. the overall holiday made us both very happy. thanks. Phil and Ann. Plymouth Devon

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: We have not managed to stop talking about this holiday and excellent hotel to our friends
  • Activities: To see my wife swimming with the dolphins at dolphin cove was my highlight of the holiday
  • Good For: Beach

17 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

What a holiday!! by tommyb10
10 / 10

After a 10 hour flight we arrived at the hotel around 10pm and we served fresh fruit drinks as we booked in by the helpful staff. The hotel is clean with friendly and fun staff. There are loads of activities to enjoy in the local area which we booked through our first choice rep whilst on holiday. Great place to go for anyone who wants to relax or go out and enjoy the country. Take advantage of the food and drink. George the bar man will dance if you ask him well worth viewing!!! Have fun in paradise

  • Holiday details: Mar 2008, All Inclusive, booked with First Choice
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Paradise by clareknight45
10 / 10

It was the first trip to Jamaica for my husband and myself, a treat as we have been married 25 years this year. My husband has always been into reggae, so we had promised ourselves this trip for years, so it had a lot to live up to....and it did. The accommodation was lovely, and it was cleaned every day. The air-conditioning was very welcome! The staff were lovely and made you feel very welcome. The food was brilliant, so much choice and to have iced water with every meal plus the waiters fetch you drinks from the bar. Brand name alcohol was available in all bars. It was an ideal mix to suit all, there were quiet areas & bars and lively areas for those who wanted it. Great choice of trips to suit all tastes. If you go First Choice, upgrade your flight to Premium, it is really worth it. Saving to go back as soon as possible!

  • Holiday details: Apr 2009, All Inclusive, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Quieter and prettier than a lot of the Island
  • Activities: Dolphin Cove
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great holiday shame about people who let our country down by Ppaulinemary
8 / 10

Firstly may i say the complex living accommadation ocean view and entertainment especially Kevin also known as Frisky was fantastic, food was excellant but like all holidays someone has to spoil it for you .

29 of us went for my daughters wedding for the 27/01/09 for 14 days from the 17/01/09 to 30/01/09 i had my lovely out fit all too match shoes ,hat and cerise pink handbag alas my handbag was pinched it really put a damper to my holiday for setimental reasons its not very often you go to such a beatiful location for your daughters wedding a big thankyou to Dianne who was our wedding co-ordinator .

I went to see head of sucurity who advised he would look into it but i got the feeling not to interested they tried but i think they could have put it out on tannoy for all holiday makers to see if they had seen it.Was not told by sucurity until the Friday that i should have got the police involved . Spoke to virgin rep and filled form in but how long that will take to get to Virgins complaints office is nobody buisness.

We also had our beach towels taken twice which are given too you by the complex but if you do not return them when you leave it would cost you some 25 dollars ,so keep hold of your towels tightly. Also look out for the trips cost is very ecspensive and then they take you through the markets which can pressure make sure you say a firm NO to their badgering.

  • Holiday details: Jan 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Virgin
  • Advice: LOVELY ACCOMADATION NEEDS A LITTLE MORE CUPBOARDS FOR CLOTHES GREAT FOOD AND ENTERTAINMENT SUPERB
  • Activities: DUNN RIVERS FALLS . LAGOON RAFTING AND DOLPHINS
  • Good For: Beach

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 35 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Royal Decameron Club Caribbean? Share your insight.

Royal Decameron Club Caribbean also called

  • club caribbean
  • royal de cameron
  • royal decameron caribbean
  • royal decameron hotel caribbean
  • royal decameron jamaica
  • Address: Main Road, Runaway Bay, Jamaica

Explore area

Map for Royal Decameron Club Caribbean Closest airport: Montego Bay Sangster (MBJ) 33.8 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Runaway Bay

Hotels near Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Royal Decameron Club Caribbean?