Marilena Hotel

near Ipsos Beach, Corfu 49083, Greece
3.5 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

7  / 10
(13 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
7
Good
2
Average
1
Poor
1
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 9/10
Service: 9.5/10
Value: 9/10
Cleanliness: 9.5/10
Location: 9.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Marilena Hotel

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
would never go back to this place even if it was free by gerweegie
1 / 10

what a dump! very, very basic. filthy bathroom, cooking facilities a joke. has no swimming pool or any other facilities to speak of apart from being above a kebab shop! there is no reception area and there are no signs anywhere saying where it is!

local transfer company didn't even know where it was and dumped us a taxi ride away from the 'hotel'

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, booked with monarch
  • Advice: avoid!

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Marilena Hotel Complex Kavos, Corfu by peterpan416
8 / 10

3 lads from Bradford stayed here. Date 28/08/09 - 05/09/09

Ages - 25/27/27

This was an awesome holiday, my second time visiting Kavos, but different hotel

WEATHER -

It was boiling hot everyday, never went below 35, it was a little hot for me due to my serious hangovers, we held out though and didnt purchase any local fans or buy hotel aircon, not sure how much it was but we had a aircon unit in the room.

INSECTS -

Just mozzys really loads of them at night, never really got bit in the day,but at night i got massacered, tip take a jungle formula plug in, and jungle formula spray,and try keep you room door shut at night, when i wore the spray i never got bit,but i really wore it, because i was drunk.

MONEY -

Im a lad who drinks quite alot on a night out and through the day on hol, we very really bought beer for the room, i spent about 650 euro, one night i took it easy and still got hammered and spent only 60 euro, average lad id say you need 70-80euro a day if you av a few in the room first

ROOM-

Very basic,but you get what you pay for, bathroom can get a bit smelly sometimes with the heat,plus shower gets everywhere so dont turn it on full speed, and it reduces the problem, the cleaner left the mop in the corridor so just grab it when you need it,open your front window and balcony door and it creates a through draft, be nice and polite to the cleaner shes nice and shel look after you for this,our room was always a mess and she always did a good job, she cleaned twice for us.Try not to break things because you could get a hefty bill at the end. All in all i would give the room 4 out of 5 and remember you get what you pay for, we got out our room at £8.50 a night x 3 of us, which is very good, and our location in the hotel was spot on we were in the block right nxt to the pool in room 1, so aim for this room, but ours was already chose for us.

HOTEL -

In an excellent location, right at the end of the strip,so you can visit every bar on your crawl. The swimming pool was spot on and very clean, the hotel was split into 4 blocks Block 1 was by the pool, there was a block about 50 metres away another about 100 and the next was 400 metres away but dont get me wrong there all in the action, and the one the furthest away you can visit the pool close by at a neighbouring hotel no problem, the beach is always at least 100 metres away whereva you are in kavos, and our room was about 30 metres way from the beach, directly at the end of the pool.

Only ate once in the hotel which was a nice chips and burger, eating once was due to getting draged in to a restuarant as we was going for a wonder in the day time.

There were bad reviews about the owners son, he runs the pool/beach bar and does the DJ, the rumours where that he was nasty, we never had a problem, yeah he likes people who are at the pool to have a drink,because this is his business,and he has to pay for the pool cleaning, he just doesnt like people coming from other hotels and spending allday at the pool at his exspence and not even buying a drink, buy a few drinks a day and he'l love you, its holiday so you should be aving a few anyway,its 2 euro 50 for a pint of lager or coke, to be fair late at night sometimes he'l give you a free beer, or get the shots out, iv noticed being polite and saying hello when you pass,goes along way out in greece, i think they really respect you for this,in the day time he plays a bit of everything, but mainly clubby beats, at night its sort of mellowed out trance and dance(late at night this is)and get all the candles out and lamps. Hes calle Spiras by the way. He's got a barmaid from england called zoe working with him behind the bar, and shes absolutely stunning, shed bring a drink over then just sit and chill with us for half hour, shes really nice and down to earth,she used to come clubbing with us when she finished her shift,she always payed her own way, think i bought her 2 drinks and sure she got me 5 or 6, she gets a deal with all the bars so she helps you out sometimes and can get ur drink cheaper, if no1 notices, beach is good, but its not ur benidorm beach, dont forget your in a 18-30's zone, the sea doesnt have no rocks in it or owt, just odd pebble her or there,its nice to just chill in on a lilo in the sea with the music in the background.

LOCATION -

Spot on, just out of the crazy blarring noise,50 metres from the nearest night club called the barn,which gets kicking between 10 and 1, we always started the night here,always busy, here a bottle of amstel lager is 2.50 or maybe 3, and 2.50 if you buy 2

always got a free shot to, in the day time they do food,films,family guy and chris evans amongst other things, or you can chill out and av a blast on pro evo, me and ma mates wer betting 10 euro per game.

A bit further up is Pulse bar does pretty much the same as the barn, but as loads of internet access,bowling alley and arcades too, the guy who runs it is funny and always comes greets you with a hand shake, always has a good laugh with you, he looked after you,food was pretty good and cheap too, spag bol 5 euro, magarita pizza 4 euro, we ate there quite alot.

WARNINGS -

1. Stay away from KFC we went there once it was always empty,anyway i ordered 5 peice of chicken meal, when i asked the woman sorted of stuttered when going to get it,i notice there were none left,she went and spoke to the chef and was just about to come and tell me they had none left when he called her back and whispered something and then he pulled a full tray of chicken from somewhere and put it under the lights to keep warm,anyway i sat down with it and every peice was all bloody,pink and the chicken was all bouncy instead of the chicken being dry,my 2 mates wer the same, i took it back, and they were crapping it and instantley gave me a full refund even when i didnt ask for one,they must av thought id spread the word, luckily i went there when i was sober or i could av been dead now from serious poisoning

2.Stay away from a bar that has a cheap sign instead of a flashing one,its a chalk board or something hanging down from the roof, they change there name regulary, when i was there the last name they used was riverside!

3.Try stay away from these all you can drink for a hour for 5 euro bars, its all fake alcohol and can mess you up.

4.The chinese does really good currys, but i wasnt to happy about the chinese,its was nice but not like chineses here, this is because its run by indians

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

my holiday by moonstruk9
10 / 10

the holiday was very nice the appartments were well cared for and clean there were no reception or bar but you had full use of the hotel next door. 200 meters to the beech we went to the monkey beach where there was a cafe free sun beds and toilet for all to use and very friendle staff.the karkoe bar was good as well wess was very good with my grandchildren i would go back any day

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: not very big very good for relaxing though
  • Activities: the three little pigs. churchhills thay are all good
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Avoid at all cost !! by paulus50
1 / 10

If you like screaming kids,drunken couples and a beach thats used as a car park then Sidari is for you

Just got back from 2 weeks staying at the MARILLENA appartments and I must say its the pits.

Our ground floor room was next to the pool where screaming brats and their parents dived into the small pool(although there were signs prohibiting this).

The appartments are very near to several karioke bars which blasted out music until 2.30 am so sleep was impossible either at night(music) or during the day( brats).

Although the maids did visit the rooms i dont think they cleaned them.I was fasinated by the spiders web under my bed which grew as the holiday continued.

This is the second time I`ve visited Sidari in 10 years and its grown from a peaceful town into a nightclub hell.

I would NOT recommend Sidari for famillies with young children due to the racetrack on the beach or the powerboats on the sea.

All in all I was glad to escape from my Sidari hell.

  • Holiday details: May 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Stay away !!
  • Activities: There`s an internet cafe at the end of town ( just past DINOS Hotel )which is excellent

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We went to sidari for the first time... by  Y HOYLE
10 / 10

We went to sidari for the first time and wewould deffinetly go back again the rooms were nice an they was lots of room in them the maids came everyday and they did a good job .The pool was fantastic for the kids as it is not to big so you can see what your children are up to.The entertainment at night was good as there is lots of bars to chose from. If you like the beach there is a few beaches to chose from an the views were lovely. There is also lots to do in the daytime for both families and couples there is lots of trips to pick from.If you like waterparks there is 3 in corfu and one is a 10-15mins walk from the appartments.There is aqua land hydrapolis and sidari water park.Sidari water park is not that big but it is a good day out for the family to say it is only 6 euros.The only was sum nights when we came home we cud hear the music quite a bit from a bar but we could cope with it .

And the air conditioning in the room was a bit pricesy 35 euros per week as we had 2 machines in the room.

But all 7 of us had a great holiday. we loved sidari xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We went to sidari for the first time... by  Y HOYLE
10 / 10

We went to sidari for the first time and wewould deffinetly go back again the rooms were nice an they was lots of room in them the maids came everyday and they did a good job .The pool was fantastic for the kids as it is not to big so you can see what your children are up to.The entertainment at night was good as there is lots of bars to chose from. If you like the beach there is a few beaches to chose from an the views were lovely. There is also lots to do in the daytime for both families and couples there is lots of trips to pick from.If you like waterparks there is 3 in corfu and one is a 10-15 walk from the appartments.There is aqua land hydrapolis and sidari water park.Sidari water park is not that big but it is a good day out for the family to say it is only 6 euros.The only was sum nights when we came home we cud hear the music quite a bit from a bar but we could cope with it .

And the air conditioning in the room was a bit pricesy 35 euros per week as we had 2 machines in the room.

But all 7 of us had a great holiday. we loved sidari xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We ahve just come back from Sidari... by J ANSON
10 / 10

We ahve just come back from Sidari for the 3rd year running!! We stayed at the Marelina Appts this year for the first time The appts were great, the maids came and cleaned every other day towels chaned regular, the pool was great havent gor one fault to report........the rep was brill the flight were fantastic

Sidari is the best place to go it's full of life loads of things to do, such friendly people. We cant wait to go back next year!!!! we would certainly book the Marlelina again, without a dobut. If you do go to sidari you must go to Nepolens bar and see theo, he's great, good food too! also visit canal d moor and sunset beach. If you have kids go to the Hydropolyis water park it's a great day out and real good value for money.

WE LOVE SIDARI XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

This resort is quite lively at... by A Morton
9 / 10

This resort is quite lively at nights. There are lots of bars and restaurants to choose from on several strips within the resort. The food is good, lots of different foods to choose from. There are quite a few fast food restauarants everywhere you go, but overall, there is a wide selection of other foods to choose from. Marilena apartments are situated up a small side street, just off the main strip, along with two other hotels/apartments. Marilena is ideal for young couples and families with children. Everybody within the accomodation are very friendly, pleasant and talkative. It is ideal for people who have come on holiday on their own, who are willing to make new friends. At night time, there are lots of mosquitos about so it is recommended that you have an insect repellent with you at all times, rather than being savaged with them! Also, during the day there can be a lot of wasps around, so beware of them! The weather is lovely. I was there for two weeks and didn't really see one cloud in the sky! Temperatures can reach up to more than 40 degrees! The representatives are all very friendly and helpful. You can book to go on different trips during the day or night. There are lots of greek nights in most of the restaurants. There is also a night at the Olympic Palace. This is where all of the reps within the resort dress up and entertain you. The food at the Olympic Palace is ok, but the portions in my opinion need to be bigger. The beaches are lovely. There is one big main beach, and two other small beaches. There are lots of bars that have a swimming pool that are free to the public, which is very good for children if you have any. Overall, I would strongly recommend you to visit Sidari and I would definitely go there again.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

my husband and i stayed at the... by M Wright
10 / 10

my husband and i stayed at the marilena in june 2008 and had a fab time the apartments are well equipped have everything you need they are typical greek clean and modern the owners live offsite but visit most days to ask if everything is ok the safe deposit boxes are located in the hotel next door the pool area is clean and quiet as most people visit the beach which is located a couple of minutes walk away the apartments are just off the main strip but in a quiet location and just across the road from the canal d moure area we really enjoyed ourstay at marilena sidari and have booked again for 2009 and cant wait !!!!

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

had agreat holiday again at these... by  Anne Chester
10 / 10

had agreat holiday again at these apt but booked next may 11 have been told by owner they are notopening until june but travel agents will not help has any one else booked these at this time manos will change the apt but i have to pay £30 each to change.please help

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The apartments were very spacious... by L Stobbs
5 / 10

The apartments were very spacious beds and towels were not changed at all. I had infant with me and was put on first floor. The bottoms of the balcony rails had rotton wood to make the gap smaller, the railings were made from scrolled metal which my grandsons little feet fit just nicely to climb up when the metal railings were not dangerously hot.

There is one small bin provided for 10 appartments which was not enough so people put empty bottles next to the bin. The nest day the owner put several notices around the pool "PLEASE TAKE YOUR RUBBISH WITH YOU OR YOU WILL FIND IT IN YOUR SUITCASES", That tells me they would go into your apartment when you go out at night and go into your personal belongings.

The pool ruined all our swimwear we were told by the rep it was the iron content in the water and not the chlorine and all yellow/brown marks would wash out they did not.

One last gripe. the owner shouted at my mother for putting towels over the metal drain covers, my 1yr old nephew froze in shock when he stood on one as you can imagine the heat on these with 46degress of sun hitting them, if you put sunbeds over them she would come and move them in afternoon.

Otherwise, the people in sidari were very friendly and very child friendly, would go back to Sidari as had best family holiday (10 of us) just would stay somewhere else. Kareoke brilliant for kids just on main road outside apartrments and overall entertainment is brilliant, there is something for everyone.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Stayed at the Marilena apartments for... by  C Gillett
3 / 10

Stayed at the Marilena apartments for one week from Sept 18th. Ideally located for beach, bars and restaurants.

Had a 2 bedroomed apartment plenty of space but they could do with a really good clean, there was rubbish under the beds when we arrived and still there when we left. Bathroom was really grotty and drain in floor was very smelly. Plenty of sunbeds although not very comfy.

The Manos rep was hopeless is you want anything doing don’t ask her. The return transfer was a farce we had to wait at the bottom of the road in the baking heat, the coach was 40 minutes late and we had to squash on seats at the back of the coach 8 of us in 6 seats. The rep just shrugged her shoulders as if it wasn't her problem.

For eating out the mixed grill at sea breezes as excellent, don't try it at Memories not as good. Breakfast at Fagin’s excellent bit more expensive than others but worth paying for. We also ate at Il Gusto in Canal D'Armour and both were ill afterwards. Needless to say we didn't go back.

Not sure if I would go back to these apartments. No way will we travel with Manos again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

1 2 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Marilena Hotel? Share your insight.

Marilena Hotel also called

  • Marilena Apartments
  • marilena hotel corfu
  • Address: near Ipsos Beach, Corfu 49083, Greece

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Marilena Hotel
  • by peterpan416

    " The Barn club, Mojos club and atlantis,also the Pulse for nice cheap food, "

Similar hotels around Kavos

Hotels near Marilena Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Marilena Hotel?