Golden Sands Hotel

Argirades, Corfu 49080, Greece
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

7  / 10
(14 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
0
Good
10
Average
2
Poor
0
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 8.5/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 8.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Golden Sands Hotel

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
Lovely hotel, with exceptional friendly staff by The Kato Pavlianians!
8 / 10

It was a nostalgic stop for us, as we used to stop at the Golden Sands twice/three times a year in the 1990's. We stopped for our wedding anniversary in June 2010 and had a wonderful stay, so decided to go again in June 2011 as our friend wanted to stop there and it was her Birthday early in June. We stopped for 2 nights and as usual had a wonderful time. Our rooms couldn't have been better, at the front with a wonderful view of the swimming pool area and sea. The rooms were very clean and the area outside very well kept. As for the staff - they couldn't have been more attentive to our every need. In the restaurant the food was very good, with even the chef checking we were enjoyed ourselves and the food! We shall definitely be going again.

Yammas and efharisto to Yannis & all the staff - from jo & terry weller xx

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: To keep it as good as it is now.
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great stay at the Golden Sands Hotel by Travelbum62
8 / 10

I had a good time staying at the Golden Sands Hotel. I enjoyed the food and there was a good ambiance.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

perfect greek hospitality by o_kriszta6
8 / 10

I was in this nice hotel in the last summer with my friends, and we sure, that we will go back in this year also! Corfu is the most beautiful island in Greece, and this hotel has a very good position in there. The beach is sandy, the water is perfect, and the hotel's pool always clear! All of the hotel's staff are kind, gentle, the food is delicious, they cook tipical greek dishes. I can't wait to go back again to this lovely island!!

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A hotel worth of staying by AlexandraJovanovic
8 / 10

A very nice hotel,located on the south of Corfu ,at Ag.Georgious.The hotel is located near the one of the most beautiful sandy beaches in Corfu.You will really enjoy your stay in this hotel because of many things.First of all, the staff is fanatastic( VERY KIND,HELPFUL AND PROFESSIONAL) and they always try that you get the most of your holiday!!!! The rooms are cosy and very clean!The food in hotel is fantastic and always various.In front of the hotel one can find a swimming pool with the bar and sun beds,so you can really enjoy!!!!! Do not forget to bring your laptop because the hotel is supplied with high speed internet. If you wish to visit Corfu town,there is a bus station just close to the hotel.

If you wish to visit Corfu town

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Great Place, Amazing Staff, Wonderful Experience by mlorencovic
8 / 10

I spent 11 days with my sister and grandma at this hotel and it was just such a wonderful experience overall. I travel the world frequently, and this was by far one of the best places I have stayed at because of the services and the staff. There is so much to do around this hotel. The beach is right outside the door, supermarkets are right next door, nightlife and clubs and restaurants are right down the road (2 minute walk). You can go explore the islands with tours, swim in the many pools they have, enjoy cocktails right outside, rent scooters. Anything. The staff was very supportive and accommodating. The meals were homecooked and delicious every day. Great selections. Lots of food!

I cannot wait to come back to this place this summer because I had such a great time and met so many great people!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

It was amazing ... by hanka-jurickovic
8 / 10

Hotel is nice. Sea is amazing but cool. environment and also a beautiful and service in the hotel is perfect

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Beautiful Area by YoungTraveler50
8 / 10

Hotel is situated on the Adriatic Sea. Surrounded by the most beautfiul sandy beaches of the island. You can walk for hours in either direction. Nice area. Many bars/restaurants. Situated about 35 minutes away from Corfu Town by car or 1 hour by bus (Green bus- 2/day 10AM and 4:30PM).

The hotel itself is kept clean. Reception/Lobby and restaurant have been recently renovated. The rooms are a decent size, clean but dated furniture. Breakfast and dinner can be included. The restaurant offers a fixed menu from a variety of traditional greek specialities (Souvlaki, Pastistada, Moussaka, Pasticio,etc). The pool area has a bar and lunch menu as well as a kids pool and a playground. Also has a Tennis court.

What made my experience memorable at this hotel is the staff. From the restaurant to the reception you will find lovely attentive people doing their best to make your stay as perfect as possible

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Low higiene, not for kids! by IvanaanavIIvanaanavI
2 / 10

We spent 10 days in this hotel last June, and I cried for first three days and worried about the health of my two years old son. After that, we decided only to sleep in the room, and during the day we were discovering the town Corfu, trying not to think about the hotel.

The room was not touched from the previous season, full of dust, with awful smell, the bathroom was dirty and old. When you take the shower you have water everywhere because there are no curtains! It was awful. The pool area is not cleaned once during our stay. Food is also poor and repeatable.

It`s not suitable for the families with kids!

If you wish to enjoy your stay on this beautiful place, choose other hotel!

Management response from Tzannis, 18 Mar 2011

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I must say that your comments are of extreme importance to us, and we never meant to express by our responses that we are perfect; on the contrary this is the reason why we keep our eyes on every comment, mostly to pick up all the negative points on feedbacks that for sure will drive us to correct it. As I said before there is always room for improvement and if it can be fixed it will. I would like to inform you that the hotel has new owner and new management and has renovated.And we offer you free stay to see it with your eyes that we have improved We thank you once more for taking the time to write and post your review and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you at Golden Sands again.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A Great Little Place by RyanWelsh
8 / 10

At first, this hotel appears very modern and stylish with earthy tones, hundreds of spotlights, contemporary furniture and patterned wallpaper in the bar and reception areas. The ground floor has the feel of a recently refurbished four star hotel in an up and coming city.

However, this style and sophistication does not appear to translate to the bedrooms upstairs. Our room was, although moderate in size, quite cramped with a double and a single bed as well as the usual dressing and bedside tables. There was a small fridge, which was excellent for keeping drinks cool, but there were no other cooking facilities in the room. Any traveller wishing to stay at the Golden Sands should make careful note that this is a hotel and not a self-catering apartment, which we had perhaps wrongly assumed. The bathroom was adequate with a shower tray and curtain which could be difficult to use as our shower was loose and could not be mounted above head height. Another person had said they had reported their broken shower in the morning and it was fixed for them coming back in later that afternoon. There were also two very large wardrobes which dominated the entrance to the room. We wondered why such a small room had enough storage for at least ten people staying for a fortnight!

The room was also equipped with air conditioning which at 6 Euros per day was very cheap and as it could be left on while you were at the pool or shops; it came in very handy as it regularly reached 35 degrees during the day. There was a small TV which did show some English speaking films/programmes. The balcony was also a welcome addition as the hotel has some great sea views and it was quite nice to sit out on after a hard day’s sunbathing. The maids were first class as the room was cleaned every day, apart from Sunday, with floors mopped, not just swept, and towels changed daily with sheets being changed every two days.

The clientele of the Golden Sands appeared to be mostly East European couples and families which was, on the whole, not off putting. Around the pool some of the Serbs especially were quite rowdy and insisted on shouting at one another whilst competing in impromptu diving competitions. Although, it was quite nice to go somewhere that was not like a “little Britain” and the different accents gave the hotel a slight cosmopolitan feel. There was never any shortage of loungers at the hotel pool and this was very surprising as the pool is open to all holiday makers in the resort, rather than just to residents. This is perhaps because the sandy beach was less than a 2 minutes walk away where the water was clear and warm.

Perhaps the most disappointing aspect of our stay at the Golden Sands was breakfast. We had booked B&B and although our expectations were quite low the hotel failed to meet them. There were some hardboiled eggs and Greek yogurt, as well as some bread, but very little else. We did see cornflakes but no one ate them as there were no cereal bowls. The staff at breakfast were also less than welcoming as they seemed very interested in how much each guest was taking rather than offering assistance. As breakfast never changed we decided to stay in bed and eat from the local supermarket instead. This was quite frustrating as I pride myself on being able to eat almost anywhere, but that was how poor breakfast was.

George, the manager, deserves special mention as he is very friendly, and he will try to help his guests in any way possible. When we arrived they had no knowledge of our booking however they gave us a room straight away and told us not to worry about it, they would sort it out. We also seen him help a family who had been stung by something, he promptly got his first aid kit and helped them the best he could – very kind indeed. He could be found working almost 24 hours per day in various guises as he tried to lead by example both at the front desk during the day and in the restaurant at night.

St Georges South is a great little place which has one of the cleanest stretches of sea we have ever encountered. However, the beach was quite littered with cigarette butts and plastic bottles which was very sad as the water was so clean. Eating out was a real treat as there was plenty of choice. Sea Gulls and the Panorama were our two favourite restaurants as we prefer to eat the local specialities like Stifado and Slouvaki but the English Bar across from the shopping centre must be avoided at all costs. Please do not be fooled by the nice décor and view; they served us some of the worst food we have ever eaten anywhere, were extremely slow (nearly an hour to serve a bar meal) and not pleasant or friendly at all. There were quite a lot of young people in St Georges, mostly couples, but there was only one real nightclub and in our opinion anyone looking for a lively holiday should look elsewhere, although there are plenty of bars to drink in until the early hours.

Overall, this holiday was a great last minute deal and the Golden Sands is a good base for a beach holiday and we would recommend St Georges South for any families or couples looking for a quite getaway.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

The worst hotel I've ever seen by Zizz08
2 / 10

My problems are:

- Some rooms are noisy, there is some kind of machinery for the pool at one side of the hotel. You must close the balcony door if you want to sleep.

- There were killed mosquitos on the walls and on the curtain. It was disgusting, there were cleaning every day, but no one removed them.

- The food: that is the main problem. I've been some *** hotels in Greece, and other countries, but this one was ridiculous. For breakfast: one type of "salami" (cheapest), 1 type of cheese and jam. (of course butter too) The bread is usually at least one day old, not fresh. The coffee tastes like water, the orange juice is usually undrinkable. No vegs, we bought some in a shop. Others bought nescafe and orange juice too. Some guests made sandwiches for themselves (stealing food), the solution: a fellow started to distribute the cheese and the salami, two or three slices / person. The dinner was better, but you cannot sit where you want, your room number was signed on a piece of paper on your table.

-The positive part: usually the staff was helpful, except the kitchen fellow, who guard the food. Jorgos, the receptionist is a funny guy .- Location is ok, the beach is nearby, the pool is ok.

Management response from Tzannis, 18 Mar 2011

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I must say that your comments are of extreme importance to us, and we never meant to express by our responses that we are perfect; on the contrary this is the reason why we keep our eyes on every comment, mostly to pick up all the negative points on feedbacks that for sure will drive us to correct it. As I said before there is always room for improvement and if it can be fixed it will. I would like to inform you that the hotel has new owner,new management and has renovated.And we would like to offer you free stay to see it that we have improved We thank you once more for taking the time to write and post your review and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you at Golden Sands again.

Management response from Tzannis, 18 Mar 2011

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I must say that your comments are of extreme importance to us, and we never meant to express by our responses that we are perfect; on the contrary this is the reason why we keep our eyes on every comment, mostly to pick up all the negative points on feedbacks that for sure will drive us to correct it. As I said before there is always room for improvement and if it can be fixed it will. I would like to inform you that the hotel has new owner,new management and has renovated.And we would like to offer you free stay to see it that we have improved We thank you once more for taking the time to write and post your review and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you at Golden Sands again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

nice hotel by poetscorner
6 / 10

nice clean hotel ,basic ,staff very friendly,only one problem the shower is small so if your on big side bit awkward,would go back to this hotel again .as it was a nice quiet friendly hotel

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

We booked Golden Sands as a last... by R.I Atkinson
7 / 10

We booked Golden Sands as a last minute thing as our planned holiday to Crete had fallen through. The hotel is very seventies in design and feel, and the public areas are somewhat drab.

The pool area is excellent and the pool bar serves good tea and coffee.

Hotel rooms are small but have everything you need; just sitting on the balcony of an evening and looking at the world go by was great.

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. St George itself is a dusty flyblown one street / one horse town – great, plenty of bars and restaurants. Mad Mikes is good fun. The Village inn is the pick of the eateries.

Good beaches either side of the hotel, walking up to Argirades (about 45 mins ) is highly recommended. Hiring a scooter or quad is a good idea as there is only one bus a day from St George. The cheapest place is the one at the entrance to hotel, haggle and they will give you discount.

Golden Sands would make a good choice for all except the young and lively.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

1 2 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Golden Sands Hotel? Share your insight.

Golden Sands Hotel also called

  • golden sands hotel corfu
  • Address: Argirades, Corfu 49080, Greece

Explore area

Map for Golden Sands Hotel Closest airport: Ioannis Kapodistrias (CFU) 12.2 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Agios Georgios

Hotels near Golden Sands Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Golden Sands Hotel?