Asterias Beach Hotel

PO Box 49, Rhodes 85106, Greece
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7  / 10
(19 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
8
Good
6
Average
0
Poor
3
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 9/10
Value: 9/10
Cleanliness: 9.5/10
Location: 7/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
Loved it!!

"Worth every penny (only cost us less than £50 pp more for 2 weeks to upgrade to all inclusive ~ we easily got this back in soft and alcoholic drinks alone!)

Very friendly family run hotel, that we're actually hoping to go back again with more of our family next year.

Not bad for someone that has never been back to the same plac twice!! :)
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Cosmos
by anghig
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Warm weather, warm people, great hotel!!

"First of all - please don't take any notice of the nasty reviews some people are writing! They probably thought they're going to rave in Ibiza!

The hotel may seem basic but is very clean & every room cleaned daily & towels changed. The staff working there are gonna go that extra mile to make your stay memorable and are worm & VERY hard working (even make you packed lunch if you go out for day)! We've made some lifetime friends staying in this hotel and brought lots of happy memories.

The all inclusive may be limited by 10pm but still gives you plenty of time to have one of their great cocktails (Tequila Sunrise was my no1) or local beers/wine!

Food is in good variety and the chef actually walks around and replaces any empty trays and takes any comments which I find very nice!

Please don't go abroad if you want to eat English breakfast, toast & fish & chips for dinner - go to Buttlins! They serve mainly Greek food here which I very appreciated & fell in love with their salads & feta cheese!

There is also big playground for kids and paddling pool.

Tholos itself is quite quiet (except for the great cicada music) but it has its advantages - the beach is almost empty! Where else would you get this?! No charges for sun beds, no body on the top of body, no commercial blue sky selling. Also this side of island gets warmer sea and very pleasant wind which the other side misses.

Local car rental (Pegasus) gave us little car for 28 euros a day & no problems taking it back (he didn't even check the car and gave us even better price the next day we wanted the car again!!!) 0 excess on insurance if you stay on the road. We went twice around the island with the rent car & seen all we could, including local villages & the well known sites (Rodhes, Lindos, Prassonissi)!

What you will experience in Tholos is variety, beautiful flowers, colours, the warmest weather & possibly the warmest people in Europe!

THANKS guys for all you effort & very memorable stay - I would love to go back - and today! :)
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Say hello to Xen for me :) :) :)
  • Good For: Beach
by Cimonek
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brilliant!

"me and my daughter went here on june 2011...it was a very relaxing holiday! the owners staff barman were excellent! lovely manners helpful and very friendly! dthe food was good 3 choices of meat each night....fish..salad..pasta rice...vegetables chips! we and others there had no complaints about lunch or dinners! breakfast was cereal, scrambled egg bacon yoghurt.. fresh bread and rolls!tea coffee juice ....also some cheese, etc. The only thing was it would have been nice to have some greek puddings or cakes after evening meal(something sweet instead of fruit)..but when in rome do as romans do! bus stop to rhodes directly at top of hotel 2.euros 60 cents.. about 45 mins to get there. I went there with low expectations because of bad reviews on here! but i def was not disappointed i loved it! if you want a quiet holiday then this is the place! Mikes restaurant up the road its brilliant what a lovely man! food excellent and very welcoming! I had a holiday to remember met lovely people and still in contact with them! I would definately go back! rooms spotlessly clean too! well done to Hotel Asterias!...and all i can say is if you was a peoper english breakfast and english dinners then stay at home! The holiday is what you make it and I thoroughly enjoyed myself and so did my daughter! if you want nightlife go elsewhere like falaraki:)"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: buy surf shoes as beach is stoney in some places
by maxine
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brill Hotel worth a visit

"Mr Partner and I visited this hotel as our first holiday together in July 2009. We got there just after lunch had finished, so we had to wait until dinner for some food which was a disapointment. We had a lovely room, v quiet that faced the beach (which was abandoned and we did not visit as had rubbish everywhere) throom had plenty of space and was very clean. The pool was lovely, well maintained. A little trick we learnt was to be the last in the bar the night before and put your towels down then otherwise you do not get a sunbed in the morning. food was samey but you get that in AL. A warning to anyone who likes to have english food abroad, we were in greece and greek food is what we got. i loved it but for some it was a problem. you can get a saftey depoist box (which is located in reception) and air con these are bother charged daily. The bar man george was lovely, sadley he had a row with the management and walked out halfway through the evening on the 4 day. We went to a couple of restaurants in Tholos and was really impressed, we even found a mini golf place which was excellent. if you are going to explore you must go to Rhodes Town it was a brill day out and you can shop till you drop.

Overall i enjoyed our holiday at this hotel, there were minor disapointments buti would strongly reccomend anybody to book a holiday in this hotel.
"

by hannah
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Dont stay here

"Me and my boyfriend went to stay at this hotel summer 09. It was horrendous. The food was terrible, with very limited choice as we were all inclusive (even had to pay for toast)and being all inclusive, you didnt get anything hot for breakfast. There was nothing to do inside or outside the hotel. Although the pool and bar was nice, that was it. DO NOT STAY HERE. We were so disappointed."

by Lisa
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

not all inclusive

"stayed at the asteria beach hotel for a week, food for a all inclusive hotel was awful

all i ate was salad for breakfast, salad for lunch and salad for tea.

no toast, no cooked breakfasts of any kind, if you like cucumbers and tomatos, olives and feta cheese for your breakfast then your ok.

the bar opened at 11.15 but only for light beers and soft drinks, shorts and wines were after 6.30 and stopped at 10pm, but if you didnt get ure last drink before 9.55 she wouldnt serve you. there is no entertainment at all just horrible music,most of the time i ate out, i couldnt believe the amount of money i had to spend eating out it was rediculous.

aircon was 7 euros per night,no safe you had to pay for a draw in a locker in the reception, which cost me 15 euros,no kettle or anything to make a drink with either.

if yoy wanted cappacino or latte you had to pay for it,fruit juice on a morning was powder with water in it. never in my life have been to a all inclusive hotel like this one.i would never advise anyone to go there all in as you would be wasting your money.

also plains every 20 mins day and night it sent you crazy, not peaceful at all.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: the weathers very nice
  • Activities: old rhodes town, mikes restaurent, hes lovely.
by sandie1260
2 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1st time to Rhodes

"1st time all inclusive so not really sure, what to expect. Arrived at 9pm, tagged and directed to the buffet just before close.Nice after the journey. Drinks at the bar until 10pm.1st thought,this will do us for the week. Met some lovely people which helped us to settle in.

As the days went by we were found craving hot food which Mikes bar[200 mts away] provided. Traditional greek bar, very friendly.

Hotel its self v.clean,fresh towells and sheets everyday.pool great and could'nt find fault with the drinks, barman friendly.

We booked the hotel knowing that it was family run and quiet so in that respect we were not dissapointed [planes were not a problem].Did'nt do much sightseeing apart from a day trip to Rhodes which is a must.We were quite happy around the pool. the beach however was very dissapointing compared to other greek islands we've visited.Very rustic and abandond to say the least. Overall 7 days were enough[could'nt imagine 14 though]Caters for all age groups, worth a visit
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
by Phil vose
7 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Would go back again

"We have just returned from a lovely holiday at the Asterias Hotel in Tholos and are quite suprised by the reviews rating this hotel so poorly. It is a small hotel, but I think this works in it's favour. We were greeted with a warm welcome, and though we had arrived after lunch they offered to re-open the kitchen for us if we were hungry- a nice gesture. Our rooms were basic but spotless & cleaned every day. We had a lovely sea view & all rooms have a balcony facing onto the sea or pool. The staff were very friendly, even the cleaners welcomed us with a hello & smile every morning. We went all inclusive, the first time we have done so but we all felt that the food & drink provided was of a great standard very tasty, pretty good variety & the cocktails especially were lovely after 6:30pm (reccomend the grasshoppers - minty & refereshing in the heat!). We went as a group of 4, ages 25-30 & found this holiday very relaxed. Air con was 7euros per day, expensive but worth it!We spent many a day by the pool, which is very clean & well kept. There are a number of sunbeds round the pool, but do advise putting your towels down early as everybody else seems to! It was only 12 euros taxi from the airport & a bus to Rhodes is only 5euros return. Rhodes town is definatly worth a visit, the old town in particular is lovely. Tholos is a quiet area but its because of this that you get a real sense of community. We took regular visits to the nearest supermarkets, particularly Debbies supermarket. It is owned by a really nice English couple who greeted us with a friendly smile & chat every day. The water is cheaper from there than at the hotel, which is handy as all Inclusive drinks don't start until 11:15am. Mikes bar is a must, very friendly & hospitality second to none! Definatly reccomend the Mousakka - cooked by 'Mrs Mike' & the pina coladas are fab!The Australian bar was fun-kareoke but preferred Mikes as it was a bit more traditional. The hotel is a 5min walk to the beach which is mainly pebbles & sand but the clear blue sea still makes it a nice beach. If you walk up past the volley ball net you get to a sandier beach as it is along side the bigger hotels, this also means it is busier though! The sea is quite choppy & stoney under foot, beach shoes are a must (Debbie's sell them for 5euro). We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. Tholos is a quiet getaway & an escape from the busy British way of life. I would definatly return to tholos & stay at the Asterias again."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Quiet but friendly, perfect for a get away
  • Activities: Mikes bar, Trip to Rhodes town worth a visit, Debbies Supermarket
  • Good For: Beach
by G Gormley
9 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

all inclusive needs sorting

"Just come back from the asterias hotel after 11 days holiday. If you are looking for a all inclusive holiday then dont come here.I have done fifteen years of A I this is got to be one of the worst,when we arived sat eve we were met by people wanting to move to another hotel, and complaints about the food.I will give you a tipical rundown of the meals. breckfast, poor quality cornflakes,sliced cheese,ham,salad,bread, cobs,coffee.lunchtime. pasta, salad,could be one choice fish or chicken.evening meal. much the same as lunch. the snacks are for one hour just cake. the bar serves beer,wine, or pop local drinks from ten am till ten pm then you have to pay,you can only have alcololic drinks eg vodka gin from 6 30 onwards.compaired to other a i hotels you will not get the bacon,toast beans, etc. unless you pay for it off the menu list on the bar.the food is only luke warm but we met pete who worked the bar and he turnd up the hot display unit witch made it better.pete was great but 4 days into our holiday had a blazing row with the bosses daughter and walked out thats when it all went to pot.anyway a qick rundown.very clene hotel rooms basic but cleand everyday towles changed,pool nice but childrens pool wanted cleaning.bus to rhodes 12 euro taxi 20 euro mikes resturant 200 yards up the road.dundees bar 15 min walk best food live entertainment,kareoka on the strip.overhall my wife and i enjoyed our holiday with the people we met. ps the picture on this site is of a hotel in cypruss not rhodes."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Activities: dundees.......mambo bar rhodes town
  • Good For: Beach
by dallo
3 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Asterias Hotel

"If you are looking for a small, family run, fresh food, entertainment free, relaxing and beautiful hotel this place is great. We have recently returned from a week all inclusive at Asterias and we really enjoyed our stay.

It was small and relatively quiet which is what we were hoping for. The rooms were cleaned daily and the staff were all very friendly, particularly the lovely bar man who bore more than a passing resemblance to Patrick Swayze. My husband and I were looking for a nice base from which to explore the island and it was perfect for this. The food was very fresh, breakfast was the weakest part but lunch and dinner were great. There is not a huge variety but the hotel is small and it would not be cost effective for them, the Feta was the best I have ever tasted. We are early 30's and met some really lovely people who we shared the free (AI) bar with. The all inclusive drinks did finish at 10pm which we did feel was a bit early but meant that we were up feeling fresh in the morning. The pool is also worth a mention as it was fantastic, massive and well maintained.

Aeroplanes - it is under a flight path and you will get some plane noise. Sunday was the busiest time the rest of the week was quiet with a couple of flights in the morning and evening. It is not so close that the noise is loud and I am terrified of flying and it did not alter my enjoyment at all.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Teletext
  • Good For: Beach
by nickandkat
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Review of Asterias Beach Hotel

"Went for a week all inclusive, enjoyed the weather, pool was clean and house keeping was a great standard. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful but the Manageress was the opposite. She was very rude mannered which made our stay not completely satisfying. Outside guests were not welcomed into the hotel and the owners sat at the bar every night with their kids running around and mostly crying. The food was great but not a good variety, the all inclusive bar was poor, there were no snacks during the day, the cocktails and spirits lacked in flavour forcing us to go elewhere for drinks. Would not reccommend this place but I do think It has an atmosphere for the older generation."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Activities: Dundee's Bar
by kerrym9
3 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Me and my Boyfriend have just...

"Me and my Boyfriend have just returned from Asterias and would love to recommend it to any couples after a fantastic holiday or any families with young children. It was very clean, and we had clean towels and bed sheets every day without fail. Yes the hotel in comparison is a lot smaller than most other hotels/ apartments we have stayed in, but we saw this to be in our favour. Around the pool there was no fighting for sun loungers, no loud groups of teenage boys (or girls), it was a very relaxing atmosphere, which we enjoyed very much. The hotel offers a 'kindergarden' in the form of a play area aimed at younger children, with huge connect four, swings, play house, slides etc.

The food we could not fault, there was always plenty of good quality homemade greek food. I being a very fussy eater was worried from other reviews that i wouldnt be able to eat anything... however i never failed to clear my plate. There was always a pasta option, and a potatoe, meat and veg combo, also a refrigerated salad bar that had a door (so no insects could get in) George the bar man (or fabio as we opted to call him) was lovely, up for a chat and a also a great tour guide of the island iwith his recommendations.

Te only reason i haven't rated the hotel as a 10/10 is because it is quite 'out of it' and you have to have a mode of transport, either bus or rented to get anywhere. I would highly recommend hiring a car and seeing the south end of the island which was beautiful.

Me and my partner, if ever visiting Rhodes again, will be staying at the asterias again.
"

by J Tyler
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Asterias Beach Hotel

Travellers also viewed

Asterias Beach Hotel photos (7 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Asterias Beach Hotel
  • by dallo

    " thols village about 20 mins walk very nice place "

  • by Phil vose

    " Mikes bar, a must, 200mts from hotel. Rhodes town superb, well worth a visit "

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Asterias Beach Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Asterias Beach Hotel? Share your insight.