Hylatio Tourist Village

Pissouri, Cyprus
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(29 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
15
Good
7
Average
3
Poor
1
Awful
3

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 7.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Hylatio Tourist Village

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
Pissouri, Great place for a quiet relaxing holiday

"10/10 for Pissouri for a quiet get away from it all holiday resort, can't say anything bad. We will return definitely with car hire to explore the island. Hylatio NO! The accommodation was OK and clean, but inside the main building, Cockroaches abound ! NO one cleaned the dead ones up, the toilet area was creeping with them absolutely discusting! As for the owner, his wife and staff, Rude and ignorant! My husband and I are in our 50's, we smoke and like a drink at the end of the day, we are on holiday and have paid for the privilege of staying there.We were locked out of the bar area and couldn't use the pool table as the owners wife was watching SOAPs on the TV. Would Not go there again EVER. Go to Pissouri but NOT there...."

  • Holiday details: Oct 2011, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Good For: Beach
by yorkiechic
5 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Hylatio Tourist Village, Pissouri.

"Stayed 19th-26th Sep 2012, average - hot (27) cooling seafront breeze.

Strange arrival procedure, luckily we were only second to be called and shown our room which was on the first floor at the rear of the complex away from the pool area. The room itself was impressively large and clean with excellent facilities overall, could not fault it.

'Half board' basis provided a very good breakfast, though I don't understand the sliced processed ham and cheese bit, evening meals were good too.We only wanted a quiet beach holiday, but most other stays were 'all inclusive' and seemingly spent most of their time around the pool area.

Cats can be seen around the complex, which we don't mind as we love them but this needs to serve as a warning to those less tolerant.

The staff all appeared to be hard working and obliging. Pissouri Bay is a quiet pebbled beach resort, with Pissouri Village about 4-5km uphill but not very accessible by foot, although there is a mini bus available.

There is an on-site mini market run by a very nice British couple who will help you with just about any information you require.

My only suggestions would be a 'risk assessment' done on the wooden railings around the complex and some cost effective ground level led lighting on the paths.

Would definitely go again, though we would prefer the same room (!)
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Good For: Beach
by chevvies
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Never go here

"after reading some recent comments regarding the Hylatio Tourist Village I cannot understand why it says its an excellent place. I stayed there in June 2011 and couldnt wait to leave.

Vlad who is the owner is the most rudest, abrupt and very unhelpful person I have ever met. Made me feel very unwelcome. The bar staff who are all from Romania are very dull and boring. Felt like there job was to much for them and this was clear to see.

The apartments were sort of clean. I found that the loo had a very strong sewage smell. The air conditioning unit was so noisy that you ccertainly couldnt keep it on at night. Was like having a lawn mower in the room.

The food was very boring and not much choice. Very salty to taste. Everything came with rice or pasta. A buffet style help your self set up. Watery based food which was either swimming in grease or had not taste. Breakfast was again not good. Rubbery eggs, cremated bacon and the beans were like bullets.

Had such an awful time I beg of you that if your thinking of booking to go there...... please think again.

I will give this place 2 out of 10 only because it has a very nice swimming pool.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: Dont stay at the Hylatio Tourist Village.... any where else would be better
  • Good For: Beach
by pauljweston1
1 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Beware !!

"We stayed at the Hylatio 2 years running. The first time was excellent, we have a lovely apartment which was quiet and very clean. Having had such a lovely time we decided to book again for the next year. MISTAKE !!!!!

A couple of weeks before we arrived I emailed the owner and asked if we could have a quite room overlooking the green. On arrival we were shown to a very old and delapidated apartment overlooking the bar. There was no privacy and so much noise - people drinking and laughing in the bar until the early hours.

We asked if we could be moved - the reply was no - this is what you have been allocated. We asked that as we were there for two weeks could we be moved when someone went home - the answer NO !

This is the first time I have ever stayed somewhere where they wouldn't even consider changing your room at some point during your stay.

Misserable staff, and a nasty owner who parades around all day in a vest ! How unprofessional !
"

by holiday addict
2 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

just what we needed

"we booked a last min one week deal with allocation on arrival. we arrived at 9.30pm and couldnt really see a thing until the morning. we were very pleasantly suprised and didnt move from the side of the pool until the last day, shear laziness i know but just what we needed. we found on our first day we could upgrade 'all inclusive'and for as many days as you wanted and for us two this worked perfectly. the staff were 3 very hard working, nothing was a problem east europeans who always greeted you with a smile. beds were made every day (except) one towels changed twice in the week.

the beach was a five min walk from our accomadation while pissouri village was a 10 min taxi drive up and a bit over an hour very hot walk down.

we loved it.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: great for a weeks chilling
by andjax
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great times

"been to vlads place meny times always good fun never a wrong word, always helpfull. great place with you want to unwind ,not to far from a quite beach, great places to eat, very friendly people. yes you need a car . treat your self to a lovly week away you wont be disapointed"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2008, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: yes
by clarky
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

few saving graces

"Just back from poor but very expensive holiday.Hylatio T.V. is well kept with lovely gardens and a great pool. Apartments clean and basic. Because I have walking difficulties my daughter has spoken to the organising company to ensure ground floor accommodation and to ensure I would be able to manage - so far so good. Our apartment was just about the farthest from the main area. They therefore promised a wheelchair - this never materialised despite asking a number of times. The air conditioning was an extra 12 euros a day, indeed everything was extra and not by a small amount. The shop and others nearby were extremely expensive. The food at Hylatio was awful and expensive even to awful glass of white wine I had cost 5.10 euros. As for the owner, I keep reading about how friendly he is - to whom? certainly not to any holidaymaker I observed and definately not to his staff.

The rep was clueless. She had no ida where the health centre or hospital was and had to be asked a couple of times before she found the information. Her view was that "with the best will in the world she can't know everything".The pharmacy was closed for the week and expecting any help from the tour company with the infection aquired on holiday was met with rudeness. The rep encourages car hire to be through Olympic at an unbelievable cost - around 140 euros for three days. 70 euros for one day! Stories of lack of insurance on cars by other operators are naturally to ensure you pay their high prices. Outside the village expect to pay a fortune for taxis (no bus) I paid 7 euros to go around 400 yards!

This together with 10 hour flight delay on the way out. No wheelchair help on return despite it having been ordered mean that I have decided to stay put in future.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Have plenty of money, be able bodied and don't get ill.
  • Activities: None,
by aquired holiday phobia
1 / 10

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

OK but nothing startling

"The Hylatio was in a good location, yes the beach is mostly pebbles but it`s clean and has the Blue Flag. Easy to walk to the resort centre of Pissouri Bay, but I must say that hiring a car is a must as there are not that many places to eat if you are there for two weeks. We ate a few times up in the village (about 10 mins away by car, uphill !) and found The Two Friends reasonably priced with a nice view. The square is very picturesque, and the Wednesday Cyprus night is worth a visit. We also found a lovely place to eat in the nearby village of Paramali (on the way towards Limassol) it`s called the Stone House. Very nice food and a good atmosphere.

Two things spoilt our holiday, one was at Perrys taverna in Pissouri Bay where the owner screamed at his staff from start till finish, everyone in the place was embarrassed by it, and I heard that it wasn`t the first time.

The other thing is the timeshare touts on Paphos harbour, they hassled us continually while we walked along and then got abusive when we said we realised they were timeshare touts.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Activities: Curium (the beach and the archeological site)
  • Good For: Beach
by Hot2Trot
4 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

hylatio village

"myslf and my husband have just arrived back from the hylatio, we had a great time the staff and owners where very freindly. pissori is the most expensive place we have been you can get a meal from around 15 euro upwards and a bottle of wine from 13 euro. the hylatio food is excellent and you can get a carrafe of wine for 7 euro. they are also offering a half board deal where you can pay 95 euro per person and for that you can gt 7 full breakfast and 4 evening dinners with a starter and main meal from the menu , due to the prices we decided to do this option and was not dissapointed. there is no bus that comes to pissori so if you dont hire a car you will be stuck in the bay. a taxi to the old village is 10 euro each way. the only thing i could say is i thought the air con was a bit too exspensive we payed 74 euro for the week. there are no mopeds to hire in pissori bay, if you are looking for a quiet place to stay then i would recommend pissori although make sure you take lots of spends and i would defenatley stop at hylatio again."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by fay hurst
9 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fabulous Holiday

"What can i say, this is a lovely and relaxing get away hotel. Rooms clean and well provided for self catering.Swimming pool big enough for everyone and plenty of sunbeds( no having to put out a towel at 5am).Staff very friendly and helpful, did eat at the onsite restaurant which was good. Eating out is not cheap anymore in cyprus but thats life (or the Euro). short 5 min walk to the beach which was lovely and quiet, infact we hired car and explored cyprus and it definetly is quiet everywhere at the moment( the locals say 50% down on tourists). You do need a car if you want to travel about no bus service, but if not there are plenty of restaurants in walkable distance.

A great hotel to use as a base for siteseers, or like us a very relaxing quiet getaway from it all.

enjoy
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Self Catering, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Good For: Beach
by annie321
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Having just returned from the Hylatio...

"Having just returned from the Hylatio we can't praise it enough.The staff were very helpful and friendly,everything was kept clean and tidy .The rooms were cleaned six out of seven days,the pool was cleaned daily,the gardens which are extremely pretty were well cared for.The beach was five minutes walk away.with a few shops and restuarants nearby.The tourist village itself has a little shop that sells basics and the restuarant on site served very nice food.Cyprus is a beautiful country and we would definitely visit again.The only other point i would like to make is that there are no buses at all so you need to hire a car if you wish to go out and about,but if you just want to relax totally then the Hylatio is the place to go."

by D Riley
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just returned from a week at the...

"Just returned from a week at the Hylatio Tourist, we needed to chill out totally with a slow paced and quite holiday, which is what we got, our party was four adults, two boys, one 10 and one 13, the boys enjoyed endless swimming in the pool, and playing on the (all be it expensive) pool table, the great thing was that there are no endless lists of do's and don'ts, and we were always able to get pool side loungers.

The main point i want to make which for me is important, was that the accommodation was extremely clean, the maid called in six out of the seven days. The guests were mainly English.

Down side not anything drastic but worth a mention should the owners read this:

(1) the food at the hotel, is not great, i wouldn't bother eating there, although breakfast is ok, within a short distance (take a torch) there are restaurants along the main road and overlooking the stone/sandy beach, the local Indian is not bad, also Perry's was great, we were made a fuss of us and given free drinks at the end of the evening;

(2) tea and coffee cups or glasses were not cleared regularly from around the pool, sometimes they would be left all day, it was never that many but these small details should be addressed; and lastly,

(3) I was not overly keen on the owner, he's sort of ok, but not very approachable, he spent most of his day walking around in his vest, he really should take more pride in his appearance and make the effort to dress up, or get dressed, or just look smart, he has a lovely holiday site, and a great collection of affordable clean accommodation and should regard it with more pride then he does.

Flew out with a Cypriot air line, it was great, lovely wide leather seats plenty of leg room, returned with Monarch squashed in like sardines on dirty seats, got quite claustrophobic on the returned journey, I'm 5'3 and couldn't move my legs, dreadful experience.
"

by G O''Donoghue
8 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 »

Explore area

Map for Hylatio Tourist Village Closest airport: Pafos (PFO) 12.7 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Hylatio Tourist Village
  • by Hot2Trot

    " A good base, see both Pissouri village and Pissouri Bay and then head off into the mountains "

  • by yorkiechic

    " Hire a car and don't spend much time in the complex "

Similar hotels around Pissouri

Hotels near Hylatio Tourist Village

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Hylatio Tourist Village?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Hylatio Tourist Village? Share your insight.

Hylatio Tourist Village is also called:

  • hylatio tourist village hotel pissouri
  • hylatio tourist village pissouri