Mare Verde Apartments

Torviscas, Tenerife 38660, Spain
2 star
hotel photo

Average Rating

7  / 10
(53 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
25
Good
13
Average
3
Poor
3
Awful
9

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 6.5/10
Food: 9.5/10
Value: 7/10
Cleanliness: 7/10
Location: 8/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 35 »
superb holiday yet again by Gary H
10 / 10

another fornight at the mareverde just wasnt long enough, as like everytime we have stayed there , it was 2 weeks of fun .

stay on the complex , or go walkabout , you choose,

all our family cannot wait to go back for our next visit

£ 300 per week to stay in a 3 bedroomed house , with every home comfort you could want,

we book with a private owner and will be doing so for the foreseeable

future

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent value for money by Jamesy
9 / 10

We have just returned from the Mare Varde appartments two couples 40's and 50's and must say we had a fantastic time, yes, some parts of the complex are a bit tatty but overall an excellent holiday. We booked a two bedroom appartment direct from the owner (Thank you Rosaleen for the excelllent communication all through the whole transaction through to departure) which was spotless and not one roach yo be seen all week. Just opposite the complex is a little resturant called El Classico which we can highly reccomend. We will be booking to go back again in October, don't be put off by the negative reviews, no it's not 5* but then it's 2* prices for a hell of a lot better than that!

  • Holiday details: Apr 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Def try El Classico for food
  • Good For: Beach

15 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

excellent by yorkshiregirl
10 / 10

we go to the mareverde 3 times a year and find it excellent value for money.

for everyone out there whinging about the complex, there are a number of 5 star hotels very nearby, why not see what they charge for a weeks holiday, then compare the value for money and see which comes off best.

the complex is right where it needs to be ,close to all the best beaches, all the good bars and resteraunts and very handy for the tf1 motorway for getting around the island.

i would happily recommend the mareverde for the perfect family holiday.

i wonder if some of these people found the sea a bit too salty !

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, self catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: fantastic location, great complex
  • Good For: Beach

19 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

superb holiday by happy holidaymaker
9 / 10

we have just returned from the mareverde after spending our 4th christmas there. i can recommend this complex to anyone who wants a good base for their holiday.

the complex is perfect for all the nearby bars and resteraunts, it is 10 mins from the beach and if you hire a car, a drive around the island is a real treat.

As for the negative coments, there are a lot of residents on the complex , some of which do have pets, but i would say there is no more dog or cat mess than you would see back home,the maintenence people clean the site daily (even on xmas day ) so that was never a problem, we are very happy for our children to run around the complex knowing it is completely safe and enclosed and constantly patroled by the security men.

The irish rover bar and the neighbours kareoke bar on porto colon are both well worth a visit, as is marios and verdis resteraunts

  • Holiday details: Dec 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: book it now or sooner
  • Good For: Beach

16 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Please do not stay here! by fifi
1 / 10

I have stayed previously at this complex,and even given that it was many years ago-it is clear to see that it has completely gone down hill!

The general state of disrepair is immediately apparent,with loose(dangerous)tiling near and directly next to pool areas.

The pools themselves are quite obviously dirty,with various insects and human debris evident floating around the surface.

The on site bar 'bar tikkis' is absolutely useless and brits are forced to leave the site to seek holiday entertainment offsite.

Think it used to be 'family show bar' before...was extremely tacky then but now it appears to be a 'spanish' bar only.

When I stayed there years before...it was quite obviously run by competent owners and was full...think the name was cafe victoria...not tacky or cheap at all!

Was sad that I had to leave site with young children every night as no on site entertainment.

The apartment we were staying in was in phase 2...it was rancid..cockroaches everywhere..thats alongside cats and their ever present faeces! We did not sleep below the covers,did not use the pools or the bars for fear of what we would catch...and we were kept awake every night by a I think spanish/english couple rowing constantly...which I later found out are actually residents! and one actually works on site!

Believe he is worker from main bar,her from s** shop outside!! Yes I know bad...awful...total waste of money...will not be returning!!

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: dont go!

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best Holiday Ever by Bexy_Boop_Holz
10 / 10

I am Rebecca and i go on hoilday every year in august to these apartments with my grandparents. I love it here evryone is so friendly you are very close to the beach 5 min walk, restraunts 5min walk,lesure parks i would recomend the new siam park check it out http://www.siampark.net/ its a brill day out suits all ages has adult rides and kids play water park! The mare verde apartments are clean welcoming and enjoyable the pools(many pools) are clean there is someone always pulling leaves out with a net there is a kids pool not to deep up to 5year olds there are adult pools and also fun slides. There are brill food shops and souiveneir shops less than 5 min walk easy to buy lilows. You can cook your own meal or breakfast you (Optional ) I WOULD RATE MY HOLZ HERE A BIG 5 STAR 1 FOR CLEAINLYNESS 2FOR GREAT SERVICE 3FOR BEING WELCOMED 4FOR GREAT FUN 5FOR A GOOD NIGHT SLEEP! the only thing is there are ocasionally some cockroches but you get them wherever you go! DONT WORRY THEY DONT GO IN YOUR APARTMENT there are some friendly stay cats they dont scrath they are friendly! TRY IT OUT HAVE FUN EVERYONE WHO COMES!!!!!!

by Bex Treanor from Glasgow xxxxx Enjoy!!

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, bought apartment, Booked Independently
  • Advice: It is amazing worth the money clean and beaches 5 min walks are lovely and breathtaking
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

friendly and welcoming by tenerife love it
9 / 10

my wife and i have been going to this complex for the last 8 years twice a year sometimes three .

when we first went there we found our accomodation basic but clean and we used it as a base to discover the resort .

over the years we have got to know the locals and can say they are very friendly and welcoming.

the complex management is under new presidency and significant improvements have been made .

there used to be a cat problem not now .

the pool bar is under new managment and is great .

the complex it self is clean and secure .

for the price i dont think you can beat it.

we are going again soon.

my advice try it

  • Holiday details: Dec 2009, self catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

21 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

holiday by tinydi
10 / 10

we have just returned from tenerife an stayed at mare verde apartments, we had a fab time, we stayed in a studio apartment on phase 1, we had the up stairs, the studio was very very clean tidy an well worth the price we paid for it, it was a great size for the 2 of us, there was all u needed in the apartment, i would stay at the studio again an would recomend it, about the mare verde, i had read a lot off mixed stories about the place so i went open minded, i must say it was much better than we thought it would be, it was clean an well kept, yes there were cats but not 2 many that we were swamped with them, they didnt bother you, an one was very friendly an had bin a visitor to the apartment for 3yrs lol. not once in the 2wks we were there did i come across cat mess or nasty smells, the walk ways were kept well cleaned, it was nice an quite an very peaceful on phase one, there was even a security guard that walked about at nite so that made me feel safe, the verde is on a bit of a hill an is like a maze, we went with my eldery parents, they was on phase 3, that was a mission to find there place, there was so many steps an wheel chair/buggy ramps,my dad has parkinsons an he found it so so hard to manage the walk from the bottom to phase 3, it was a struggle for him an i would not recomend anyone with disiabilities or babies toddlers to stop up that end, it was nice but hard work in the heat, the ramps are very steep an how any one is ment to push a wheel chair or buggy up them is beyond me, but thats just our oppion, all in all it is a clean an nice complex an we was well happy with it,the beach is about 10min walk down hill lol but bit off a struggle on way back due to hills, there are some beautiful views to take in an some very nice places to eat an have a sing song, the pub is a nice english bar an the staff very friendly an help ful, moon light is a great place to go off a night, had great time in there, an a fab sun set place to have a drink an watch to sun set, siam park is a must as well, but to me if you kids about 5 to 9yr olds not many rides for them to go on, as height restrition, an im tiny an some were a bit scary an hard to get good grib on, the wave machine is wow out of this world an a great place to relax an chill for hrs on end, be ware of the perfume shops as they really bug you in to tryin out there own spainish ones, they dont give you a chance to look about, so if you no what you want best to go in an get it with out them buggin you, also they people sellin glasses lol plenty off them an do what we all do ignore them, they get the hint most times, anyway thats my bit about the place an area, hope it is a bit of help to anyone who is looking on going there,

  • Holiday details: Nov 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: nice an hot, clean, peaceful,
  • Activities: the pub, moonlight bar, siam park
  • Good For: Beach

22 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent value by Nick Allen
9 / 10

As a family we have been going to Tenerife for 5 years now. Money was tighter this year so we had to make a saving on costs. I had read several bad reviews of Mare Verde but to some extent had to balance this against a cheaper holiday option. Anway: It was great! The accomodation, a privately owned 2 bed, was frankly the nicest equiped and decorated apartment we've ever rented. The stairs up to the 1st floor maisonette were chipped but once inside, the whole impression was completely different.

Against this the complex itself is older and basic. We observed lots of maintenance going on and found the complex clean and well cared for. The pools aren't heated which is OK for the Summer, not so sure about the Winter though!

Mare Verde is in a good location, really central, with lots of bars and restuarants, and for self catering you can shop cheaply at the Supermercado in Tenerife Sur, 5 mins walk and not tourist prices!

If you're looking to be next to the posh hotels, in a great area, on a budget, Mare Verde is for you. Just be sure you get a good price on a decent apartment which is not on the outer edge of the complex.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Great place to relax. Food, bars, shops, pretty much has it all and amazing beaches and weather.
  • Activities: Seafood restaurants near Puerto Colon, & trip up to Teide.
  • Good For: Beach

23 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great holiday, really superb! by susieholiday
9 / 10

We stayed on Mare Verde for 10 nights in a duplex apartment on the corner by the pool. The apartment was lovely. Very clean and everything provided that you could possibly want including a washing machine, which was really useful when my husband tipped tuna oil on his tea-shirt. I would have hated to have had to pack that in the suitcase on the way home! The flower bed on the upstairs balcony had been converted into a bench seat, which was great to sit on whilst enjoying the setting sun with a glass of wine. The downstairs terrace was more shaded, which was good for eating and it enjoyed a pool view, so we could keep an eye on my daughter and her friend playing in the pool. We really love the Mare Verde complex, as does my daughter. When given the chance to visit a friend on the Santa Maria complex, the 2 girls chose to swim in the Mare Verde pool, because of the water slides and the fact that the pool isn't so busy, so you don't get splashed every 5 seconds. We would definitely book on this complex again. Susie A.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Activities: Crawfords
  • Good For: Beach

14 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

What a dump of a complex.... by dsylvester
1 / 10

RonBristol who also scored 1/10.....I echo your comments / observations completely. Myself, my husband and our 19 month old baby have just returned from a one week's holiday, staying in a private apartment which I found on the website Holidaylets.com. Well what can I say.....I have never stayed in such a run-down, smelly and dirty complex. The apartment and complex looked nice in photo on the net, but to say we are disappointed is an understatement. We found the complex so horrible that we tried to spend as least time there as possible. We never used the pool area nor the bar on site for numerous reasons: the pool was dirty and the tiles falling away and therefore a danger, fag ends on the floor, the sunbeds dirty, cat poo and cat wee on the floor around the pool area, and also on our terrace causing the apartment to smell revolting. All in all it was just horrendous. Things were so bad that I was on the count down of how many nights of sleep we had left there from the day of arrival. I tried my hardest not to let it spoil our holiday, but it certainly dampened the mood. This was our 3rd time to Torviscas and the complex is located in a really horrible part of the resort, and an area we have never ventured to before. I love Torviscas but will certainly not be returning to this complex, nor this particular end of Torviscas.

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Never again ! by RonBristol
1 / 10

For anyone who likes to spend their holidays surrounded by the stench of cat and dog excrement, then the decrepit MareVerde complex is the place for you ! Our family spent two weeks there during February 2009 and couldn’t believe the amount of animals that were just roaming around, “doing their own thing“. Stray cats were everywhere and the dog owners were totally irresponsible regarding clearing up after their animals. The poolside sand buckets (for cigarette ends) even had poo in them which, on a warm day made the place smell really unpleasant and obviously generated a huge amount of flies. On top of that problem, all of the swimming pools were freezing cold, the rentable sun beds were filthy and the broken poolside floor tiles definitely made it a potentially dangerous “no go” area for our family. We also thought that the Poolside Bar within the complex was quite scary in the evenings, as it seemed to be frequented by a lot of very shifty looking characters. A morning shower was totally out of the question on most days due to a complete lack of water pressure whilst the maintenance team were spraying the area down outside. The MareVerde complex has four gated pedestrian exits leading onto a very busy main road, which then leads down to the nicer area of Torviscas and the beach. The walk to the beach is a real pain though because you will get hassled every 25 yards by very aggressive time share touts, tour reps, restaurant PR’s and people flogging dodgy watches etc. Please also be aware that, on returning in the afternoon or evening, you will also have to pass the sex shop, the pole dancing club and the “World Famous Matrix Club”, which are all just beneath the complex. The one saving grace for MareVerde is that the apartments are extremely cheap to rent, however, as they say - “you will only get what you pay for”, so that could explain all of our observations above. All in all though, not a very pleasant holiday experience for our family and we will most definitely NOT be going back to MareVerde or that area of Torviscas again.

  • Holiday details: Feb 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Keep clear of Mare Verde
  • Activities: Any restaurant that didn

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 35 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Mare Verde Apartments? Share your insight.

Mare Verde Apartments also called

  • mare verde hotel
  • Address: Torviscas, Tenerife 38660, Spain

Explore area

Map for Mare Verde Apartments Closest airport: Tenerife South Reina Sofia (TFS) 10.2 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Mare Verde Apartments
  • by jess1

    " mount teide for sight seeing and for restaurants i would say the bahamas "

  • by tenerife love it

    " get to know the locals "

Similar hotels around Playa De Las Americas

Hotels near Mare Verde Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Mare Verde Apartments?