Tropical Sol Apartments

4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(27 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
15
Good
8
Average
2
Poor
0
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 9/10
Service: 9/10
Value: 9/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Tropical Sol Apartments

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
defo reccomend staying here by pinzoid
10 / 10

got bk on tues after a wks holiday here we'd a gr8 time but the weather was a bit crap 4 most off our stay..!!! :(( checked in very quickly, the reception staff were nice & friendly, we left r bags in then headed straight to the pool area which is spotlisly clean & very modern. we decided to just have our tea in the snack bar i dont think its part off the hotel it looked to b family run the food & drink was priced very resonable 2 euro for a toastie and 2 euro 4 a large beer 1.50 for a small beer 10 euros for a large jug of sangria which is delish :) u can pay 4 brekkie in the morning in the hotel 5.50 euro tea coffee tinned fruit cereal croissonts etc then sausage beans egg and bacon U NEED TO ASK 4 TOAST...!! the hotel is really clean, our appartment was massive for me my husband and 5yr old son, 2 double bed rooms 2 bathrooms kitchen living room/dinner every bit off it was so clean the cleaners were so nice too :) the balcony was abit small and only 2 chairs and a small table for such a large appartment, family who we were with got a studio which was also big for 2 ppl their balcony was alot bigger and right by the pool which was nice, when we left they were measuring their cupboards etc so obviously getting new kitchens the only BIG complaint i have r the beds are rock hard and the pillows r rubbish they r really small and lumpy my neck was aching :( there is no entertainment in the hotel so its pretty dead at night so its nice and quiet but there is plenty going on around it the strip is about 10 min walk away its pretty lively at night there is a land train u culd get also altho its 2.50 euro or about 20 min walk to the old town (or 4 euro in a taxi) which is defo worth a visit, use the locals super market pingo dolce i think its called just come out off the hotel turn left go to the bottom off the hill and turn right cross the road at the huge worms ( u will c them they r red and green supposed to b art or something lol) the super market will b straight accross the rd u cant miss it has green canopys out side.. dont use the one at the bottom off the hill and to the left its really expensive and hes a miserable git..!! theres a wee bakery too thats worth a visit its at the bottom off the hill and turn left up past the small supermarket their bread and cakes are to die for and its cheap enuff fat cats pub is across the rd from the bakery nice and friendly in there it english people who have it & its like walking into a uk bar karaoke play ur cards right etc we went to their parrot show which was brill.!! ill defo be coming back here gr8 location and nice place to stay, enjoy ur hols :))) xx

  • Holiday details: Apr 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: just read above

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

This place is not safe. by Vic
1 / 10

There are many reasons I would not go back to Tropical Sol Apartments and would advise anyone else to stay well away.

This was our fourth 4* aparthotel booked through Thomson in the last 5 years, another two of which were also in the Algarve. Although Tropical Sol was stated as a 4*, it was not anywhere near level with our previous accommodation.

The facilities were very basic. There was a small swimming pool, tennis courts, a tiny bar and the only food available was a small poolside snack bar as there was no actual restaurant, which seems ridiculous for such a large hotel. The apartment itself was adequate but the beds were the most uncomfortable my family and I have ever experienced.

Our most significant grievance is our apartment and the safe therein was broken into 8th evening of our 12 night stay. All of our cash was stolen (approximately €450 and £120) and two mobile phones. Upon looking at the door and safe we could see that the locks on both were actually quite flimsy so would not have proved very difficult to force open. We immediately phoned reception, who phoned the police. The police arrived with the Night Porter. The Night Porter was completely unsympathetic and was even making jokes and laughing about how ‘well at least they left you a few coins’. This was completely inappropriate and offensive. My daughter was in flood of tears and he was making jokes! When we mentioned this to our Thomson Rep the next morning she said that there had been many other complaints about this member of staff (named Nunu), but yet nothing is ever done about it.

We also found out from the Rep that these robberies are not a uncommon at the hotel and in the area in general. At no point prior to this had this been mentioned by either Thomson or the hotel staff. Another room and its safe were broken into and three other break-ins attempted the same night, another room and its safe had been burgled just a week and a half earlier and there were frequent muggings in the area. The rooms were accessible from the street without any CCTV or having to go through the lobby. Despite this the hotel had made no attempt to improve security. This was also verified when on our last day they came to fit a new safe in our apartment and it was the exact same type of safe as the previous one, despite the fact that it had been proven to be unfit for purpose.

Our holiday was ruined and we did not feel safe in that apartment or the hotel as a whole. All the Thomson 24/7 Helpline could say to help was “well, sleep on it tonight and you’ll feel much better in the morning”. Sleep well in a room that had been broken into that night?! All we wanted was to go home but were told that we would have to pay for earlier flights. Thomson were utterly unsupportive and uncaring throughout the experience. It was very much a case of ‘not our fault, not our problem’.

There was no offer of moving hotels or rooms and no replacement safe, so we had to endure four more days and nights with an apartment that’s front door had been forced open. This also meant that we could not actually do much or actually enjoy our holiday because we had to carry all of our remaining valuables (passports, flight tickets, camera, mp3 player) around with us, so could not all go swimming, to the beach etc. After having been told that muggings were common, we could not properly relax or feel safe until we were in the comfort of our own home four days after the incident.

The hotel was not a four star, it was not even safe. Our holiday was ruined. The last third of it was spent just spent waiting to go home. Please do not go there.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

15 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant by BPK1978
10 / 10

Very Clean well kept apartments and public areas one complaint would be about the swimming pool the tiles on the bottom of the pool are quiet rough and a lot of children including my own had sore feet. There is a sign up at the poolside stating that "if you are going to be in the pool for a long period of time then it is advisable to wear plastic shoes" so if you are going with children i would advise you to get some swimming shoes. you can buy them at the sports shop on the strip.

Poolside snackbar is excellent for food and beer but expensive for bottles of water and ice creams we used the shop on the corner instead.

Wonderful location for people that prefer the Strip to the Old Town bit of a treck to the Old town but it is a nice walk.

The staff were all very friendly and most helpful

There was no entertainment in the hotel but i would recommend "Charlies Bar" turn right out of the Hotel then Left, The guy that runs the bar plays a good selection of music and also sells a very nice Large beer for €1.75 up to 10pm then its €2.30.

Alot of the people that were staying at the Tropical Sol had stayed there before and it seems that alot of people return again and again as i most probably will.

Also if you want a sunbed around the pool set your alarm for 7am or you wont get one!!!

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent apartments by Debs
10 / 10

I am just back from staying in Tropical Sol apartments and could not find fault with them.

We booked a studio which was really big, plenty of space and the kitchen had everything we needed. The rooms were basic but clean and the staff were very helpful.

Depending what you are looking for the strip is close by with a number of bars and resturants.

All in all a very pleasant stay and would definately go back.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Yes
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

the perfect chill out apartments by kevt6267
10 / 10

lovely hotel/ apartments rooms & pool area kept realy clean

staff realy freindly & Very Lovely couple who run poolside bar nice meals very good service. Have been to Tropical Sol 3 times lust love it going back again in 2010

Perfect distance from the strip 5 mins walk

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Lovely freindly place
  • Activities: Three palms
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Tropical Sol by SCOOTER BOY
10 / 10

My wife, Jane, and I have stayed at the Tropical Sol four times in the last three years.

The hotel itself is always spotless and the staff could not be more helpful. The bar and the poolside snack bar are excellent and , again, the staff are very friendly. We have stayed in the studio apartment's by the pool and the 1 bedroom apartment's above the pool and have never had any problem's. I noticed that older review's mentioned a strip club across the road, as far as I know this does not exist anymore, I'm sure I would have noticed. The great thing about the Sol is the short distance to The Strip and all the great pub's and resturaunt's, make sure you pick up a map to the Strip and surrounding area's of interest. The hotel run's a mini bus down to the beach and back at various time's, this has two advantages, 1. it is all right walking down the strip to the beach but it get's very steep at the bottom and after you have spent a few hour's swimming and lying about on the breathtaking beach, not to mention a few beer's! the last thing you want is a slog up the hill! 2. You get to avoid the really anoying timeshare mob and the stupid scratchcard scheme they employ (everyone's a winner!), thankfully there is less and less of them each year, they hang about the middle of the strip between Jinky's and Lineker's and further down at the roundabout beside The Kilt and the Kelt, you will get used to totally ignoring them. You must visit Old Albufeira, get the mini train at The Steak House and for an all day ticket you get to see all round Albufeira and you can jump on and off as you please, great value. Good pub's that sell good grub as well are: The Kilt and the Kelt,(bottom of strip), Father Eds (Erins Isle, top of strip), Banannas (top of strip), Coconut's (top of strip) The Majestic Indian,(half way down on right). All these are within 20 minutes of the Tropical Sol. We are hoping to return in August again to this great hotel and resort.

  • Holiday details: May 2008, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A fantastic apartment in an indeal location - I would recommend to anyone/everyone! by madmadie2003
10 / 10

I have just returned home from a fantastic holiday in the algarve in Portugal. My partner and I booked through A1 travel and opted to stay in the Tropical Sol Apartments as we had seen some good reviews of the apartments.

When we arrived in Faro, we walked into the arrivals hall and there was a big board up with my name on it. A very nice young man showed us to a very small mini bus and it was just us that he was picking up. Unfortunately I get travel sick so I asked if I could sit in the front, to which he said "of course". He drove very smoothly and slowed down for all the bends and I felt fine the 20 minute drive to Tropical Sol. I gave him a tip as I felt he had driven very considerately. The transfers were from Sul Travel, but again this was booked through A1 travel (www.A1travel.com). When we arrived into Reception, we were very impressed, clean and very modern looking. The receptionist checked us in within a couple of minutes, and showed us to our room. As a kind gesture, the receptionist took my suitcase until we reached our room. They have a lift for suitcases while you walk down the stairs and collect it at the bottom. The first thing that struck me when we got downstairs was the huge, clean and luxurious swimming pool and surrounding gardens, and tennis court! We stayed in a room on the ground floor, which opened on to the swimming pool. Very good size, very clean and very well equipped apartment which included a full range of cutlery, an electric hob, microwave, fridge and toaster. Everything you could possibly need! We brought our own kettle but I think they provided one as well. The maid service was second to none and the whole block was kept spotlessly clean. I felt that the staff were very attentive, nothing was too much trouble for them. The location of the hotel was ideal, about 5 minutes walk to the main strip with all the restaurants/boutiques/bars and nightclubs. It was about a 15/20 minute stroll into the old town and Fisherman's beach which was so pretty. We ate at some very nice restaurants, the most popular being The English Kitchen, it is a british run restaurant with seating inside and out. The owners and their family are very friendly and offer a warm welcome. They have an extensive choice of food on their menu and even said they would cook anything we requested (within reason). The quality of the food and service was excellent. This is a lovely restaurant to go to for some traditional British food and I would highly recommend going there when visiting Albufeira. The restuarant was situated off one of the side roads from the main strip. When you get to Linnaker's bar, cross over the road and follow on up the hill, and there is a quiet square just before you get to the top. There is an australian lady encouraging tourists to come in. Although, you don't have to leave the complex to find quality food, the snack bar offers breakfasts/lunch snacks and some bigger meals, all freshly prepared to order. Service as quick as you would expect. The Little Britain bar/restaurant is another good place for traditional home cooked british grub. A larger than life man welcomes you in and has a great sense of humour. This was quite a way off the beaten track and we only found it on our last night. If you find the Bull Ring, turn right and keep walking along that road - it is a long way up on the right hand side. If you want good british food on the doorstep, come out of the hotel and turn left, when you get to the bottom of the road turn left again and cross over the road. There you will find Fat Cats - very friendly waitress from Essex, excellent choice of food and fantastic service. The area of Albufeira was very clean, and everyone was polite and friendly. As a resort I could not fault it at all. Spectacular beaches, excellent food, great company and glorious sunshine, what more could you ask for in a week's holiday? Just one word of warning the evenings in the spring months were very cold - definitely a pair of trousers and a cardigan/jacket needed. I hope you enjoyed it as much as we did - we will definitely be returning and will almost certainly be going back to the Tropical Sol apartments.

  • Holiday details: Apr 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: see main review above
  • Activities: see main review above
  • Good For: Beach

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just arrived back from Tropical Sol... by  J DAVIES
10 / 10

Just arrived back from Tropical Sol Apartments just one word great. The location only a five minute walk from The Strip. so none of the noise that you get near The Strip. The apartments were spotlessly clean, well equipped apart from having no electric kettle, you wait a long time for a cup of tea. The staff were polite, friendly especially in the snack bar and the bar. Ladies dont take your high heels to this resort, the pavements are uneven and slippery but that is the only fault I can find. Good places to eat and drink are The Paradise Bar, great value food and drink. The Jade is a really good Chinese restaurant. Bit more upmarket is The Portofino, the seafood rice is to die for. Good night is Johnny Hoopers jazz bar, the entertainment is great but the food is a bit expensive and lacking organisation but the entertainment outweighed all that. This was our 5th trip to Sao Jao and it wont be our last and we will definetely be staying at The Tropical Sol again.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

just returned from tropical sol and... by  J Howells
9 / 10

just returned from tropical sol and will certainly be going back again we have stayed in the algarve many times but these have got to be the best apartments so far spacious clean and in a great area easily walkable to the strip in wedges or flat shoes do not attempt to wear heels as the pavements are badly in need of repair maid service 6 times a week clean towels every day pool big clean and freezing. kitchen has toaster microwave and two rings which we found ample but if you want to eat out try the pool bar good food and friendly staff also angelus bar is a must where mageurita gives you a terrific welcome and tom the best karaoke show on the island has you laughing till you ache we also found the golden gate chinese on the strip excellent brill food and good prices and if the guy outside doesnt bring a smile to your face you really shouldnt be on holiday entertainment in tropical sol a bit basic but give the guy on guitar a try and if you stay long enough he really is kinda funny all in all a great holiday

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

i enjoyed my stay at the Tropicla Sol... by D Powell
7 / 10

i enjoyed my stay at the Tropicla Sol but thw pool was frezzing but i will go back, becuase it was great overall

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We've stayed in his area on a number... by T Bancroft
8 / 10

We've stayed in his area on a number of occasions (Rodrimar, Valmangude, Alta Oura, etc.) but the Tropical Sol is the best. Clean well decorated rooms, well equipped kitchen area and comfy beds.

Nice pool area as mentioned earlier and handy pool side snack bar to get a tasty breakfast or mid-day meal at reasonable prices.

We noticed older reviews on this site and wondered about the comments about the strip club in the basement of the Oura Hotel across the street. I am pretty sure that this is now closed down. There were no information signs outside as in previous years, the entrance steps were always in darkness and we certainly heard no noises.

The Tropical Sol bar is reasonably priced and run by Marco and his partner Rosanna and they are two of the nicest people you could hope to meet.

As regards internet access, if they still haven't got it when you arrive, try the Valmangude Jardim down the street, they have it in the foyer and they will let anyone use it - you just swipe your credit card - it's not too costly.

We have stayed in the Brisa Sol nearby which is owned by the same people. This is also a great accommodation, but the Tropical is just as good and has cheaper brochure prices!

We are already thinking of returning in May 2008. Last May the weather was excellent with only two slightly cloudy days all fortnight. Also prices are cheaper in May, and as the hour has just been put forward again (both here and in Portugal) the nights are lighter longer.

I would seriously recommend the Tropical Sol Aparthotel.

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We have recently just come back from... by A Blyth
10 / 10

We have recently just come back from a 2 week stay at this hotel, and I must say its one of the nicest 'Self Catering' holidays we have ever been on!

After arriving at the hotel much later than expected (5 hour delay due to technical fault) we walked into the main entrance and were greeted by a very smart, modern reception area and were checked in by a friendly man on reception who gave us our key (or card as it was) and directed us to our room.

We were very pleasantly surprised at the standard of the 1 bedroom apartment, it was very clean, spacious and had everything we needed, and the decor was very nice too. All the rooms in this hotel have a pool view, and there is a games room with pool table (€5 euros), few arcade games and a tennis court (€8 euros per hour), there is a very nice pool bar with a small variety of meals and snacks and is run/owned by an extremely friendly Portuguese woman who was nothing but friendly and polite and always smiling which was great!

The hotel bar was good with again very friendly bar staff, and the odd live singer and karaoke session and reasonably priced. Only thing it lacked was more to do, maybe a bit more music on the nights there was no entertainment would of been good, especially as there was a few of us in our 20's in our group so would of liked that.

The hotel itself could of done with a few more facilities, one main one being internet access as you have to walk some way (either to the strip to Mary Ann’s bar or up to the centre near Mc D’s) to get to the nearest internet cafe. There is internet at the hotel for reception so would not be too hard to add a terminal for customers use!

The resort itself if great, this was the 3rd time we have been there so knew where everything was and if your looking for English grub go to Mary Ann’s at the bottom of the strip. Only problem with the strip like it always has been is old blokes asking us lads 'do you want to buy some hash' which is annoying as no one likes that kind of stuff threw in your face all the time (about 7 times to our friend when he walked down one night) apart from that its safe and friendly.

If you like water parks visit slide and splash its the best one, there is also aquashow which is fairly new/revamped but we didn’t go this time but I would AVOID Aqualand - big one as its utter rubbish, we went a few years ago when it was just the big one and its never changed, hardly any slides, and the ones they have are crap. No investment since Aqualand bought it, which is a shame as it could be so good. Zoo Marine is also good, we didn’t go this time but have been before and you can pay about £100 to swim with dolphins, which is def an experience!!

Overall this accommodation is excellent, no sign of the strip joint people have mentioned in the past there is nothing near it which could be this so I would not worry about that at all.

If there is one its obviously that discreet we never saw it in the 2 weeks we were there.

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Tropical Sol Apartments? Share your insight.

Tropical Sol Apartments also called

  • tropical sol
  • tropical sol albufeira
  • Tropical Sol Hotel
  • Address: Areias De S. Joao, P.O. Box 508, Albufeira 8200285, Portugal

Explore area

Map for Tropical Sol Apartments Closest airport: Faro (FAO) 15.2 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Tropical Sol Apartments
  • by SCOOTER BOY

    " Jinky's, The Kilt, Father Eds, The Norwegian bar, The beach, Old Albufeira "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " Great hotel in a great resort, ideal for couples and family's. "

Similar hotels around Albufeira

Hotels near Tropical Sol Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Tropical Sol Apartments?