Do Cerro Hotel

4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

6.5  / 10
(21 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
5
Good
6
Average
5
Poor
1
Awful
4

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 7.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Do Cerro Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
Hotel do Cerro, Hotel de Cerro, Albuferia, Portugal

"If you like CATS, go to this Hotel. They are everywhere, even in the Restaurant. I don't mind Cats but they should NOT be where you are eating...

The Hotel is quaint with lots of nice murals etc. but you will be charged for any extra...

Note: This is a 4 * Hotel, BUT, Towels are only changed every 3 Days except as an extra.

No supplied towels at pool except as an extra.

Pool Caps MUST be worn at indoor pool, extra if you don't have them.

Nearly ALL TripAdvisor reports say the Food is good|

We do not agree. It was bland and NOT up to a 4* Hotel.

Never known Bananas to be cut in half?

Maybe to stop you taking them for later.?

See note at restaurant door about removing food.

If you have paid extra for a sea view, check out your room. You could be looking at a wall.

This is not a hotel for the physically impaired.

As most rooms are accessed by steps, and the hotel is at the top of a hill above Albuferia.

With all this, we did enjoy our stay because we had good weather and there is a bus stop nearby.

Entertainment, as food, mediocre...

Sorry, won't be back...
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2014, booked with Jet2
  • Advice: None
  • Good For: Beach
by Colin1349
5 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Great Holiday

"We have just returned from 11 nights and cannot rate the hotel enough, having travelled out there with a trapped disc in my back and after having treatment which he rep organised the reception staff were brilliant as i had to have extra pillows under my legs and an ice pack every 2 hours on my back for 2 days.

The hills around the hotel are not a problem if you read the comments on trip advisor before you go.

We had a lovely room with a sea view

We found the food was good and there was always a good choice, we never went hungry overall we had a great time.

Thankyou to all the staff.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2012, booked with Thomson
by Bevmel
9 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

nice and relaxing, shame about the food!

"We had a lovely half term holiday staying in this hotel.We had a beautiful room which was very modern and clean with a nice balcony. Breakast was good with lots to chose from but the dinner was basic and a bit school-dinner-ish! Reception staff were not particularly friendly, but dining room staff were helpful.Cafe by the pool is not well staffed so it's a bit of a wait for any drinks or snacks. The pool was clean and well-maintained but there isn't that much room around it. The hotel is quite low-key which suited us and after seeing some of the busier areas of the resort we were very pleased we were here with the peace and quiet and relaxed attitude."

  • Holiday details: May 2010, half board, booked with Thomson
by dandelion1
7 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

25th Aug to 1st Sept 2009

"Fantastic holiday. Fantastic location. Fantastic Hotel. Miguel and Manuel Fantastic Staff

Arrival temp 29c very hot, to hot, infact it just got hotter all week.

On arrival we were meet by Miguel (Almeida) in reception. He was brill at giving us all the Hotel Info we needed. He gave us a lovely welcoming. I would highly recommend that he do reception duties all the time. He should be the Hotels front man. The rest of the reception staff were hit and miss, moody, and we soon learned that if we needed anything to wait until Miguel was about. The rest of the reception staff could do with taking a few lessons from Miguel.

Our room was the smallest in the whole hotel, room 101, very compact, with a small balcony but very clean and neat. Maids excellent. Air con was on a timer and kept our room lovely and cool. No safe in this room, it was at reception and you had to ask reception staff to let you in and out (this seemed to cause the staff some hassle except Miguel) Only down-side to the room was that there was no washing line on the balcony to dry beach towels etc. My saying is 'if you are complaining about your Hotel room then you are spending to much time in it!'

The Hotel pool was fab, very clean and the sun loungers class. The wee pool cafe was very short staff and you had to wait on your order. This would need to be looked at, it needs 2 members of staff at lunchtimes But the food excellent try the chicken salad sandwiches, yummy. The tv in the cafe is broke and kept switching itself of, very annoying for my hubby who could not get to watch his footie in peace. This tv needs replaced.

The Hotel bar was run by a lovely friendly wee man called Manuel, he always had a smile and was really cheerful. The Hotel bar had entertainment on every night, but to be honest there was only 2 nights of interest to us. The 2 nights of the singing guitarist need replaced, even bingo or pub quizes would be a massive improvement.

The Hotel breakfast is just the norm as in any hotel. The Hotel small fruit loaf is beautiful and the bread is lovely. Buffet Dinner I would give a miss, I recommend that you get a voucher at reception for the Hotel Steak House the food is 100% better than the buffet, and the voucher gives you 10% off.

The Hotel is approx 2 mins walk from a fantastic beach, and approx 8-10 min walk from the Old Town and The Square. It is down a slight hill and a few steps. You have to climb this hill back to the hotel it is steep but you are at the top before you realise, for those who are lazy a taxi back to the Hotel from the The Old Town is 5 euro, but you will have walked it quicker!!

The Square is a fab place, there was entertainment on every evening, the Square was massive and there was approx 3-4 entertainers on at the same time, you just moved from cafe to cafe and watched them all for free! The Square is surrounded by cafes and restaurants.

If you are a plain eater like my hubby we found a fab wee restaurant called The Shalom II

or The Shalom I all the same place, off a side street from The Square, easy found. We got Steak, chips, rice, saute onions&veg and sauce all for 9.95 euro (and the steak is cooked to your liking). Their Grandmas apple pie and fresh cream is to die for. We lived in this wee restaurant all week, lunch or dinner it was fab, not a bad meal once.

Would we go back....YES

Would we book same Hotel ....YES

Would we recommend this Holiday ....YES
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, Bed & Breakfast, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by h.christie
8 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

I stayed in Hotel do cerro for 7...

"I stayed in Hotel do cerro for 7 nights with 6 of my family a friends last week.

Weather... 10 out of 10, and am missing it already, but as for the hotel, awful.

The staff did not smile once during the whole week, they are all rude and miserable, they act like they are all doing you a huge favour by being there.

The food was vile with some pretty strange combinations, IE... french fries with boiled carrots, sliced beef in watery gravy, breakfast was the same all week, stodgy scrambled egg, beans, tinned hotdogs and a discusting excuse for bacon, it was like heated up ham, fish curry, rice with king prawns in but unpeeled prawns, with all the stringy pink bits in every mouthall that you had to spend 10 mins picking out. they had fresh rolls in the morning but hard ones in the evening. I basically lived on the rolls all week and did not eat in there as i really couldnt stomach it. Im not a fussy eater but it was just too discusting. the last straw was bread full of blue furry mould on, which Iv taken pictures of. Also the desserts didnt seem to have any sugar in them, so couldnt eat those either. The dinner tables are covered in ants.

you get no drink with dinner and if you get booked in on the 7.45pm meal (like we did) then all the fresh half decent food is gone and your left with the crap

We all went half board, but we all ended up eating out and spending our actual spending money on food, which I am very annoyed about so I am demanding all of our half board money back as this is not acceptable. I would go as far as to say this completely ruined our holiday, which like everybody else, we saved up hard earned cash to pay for and was looking forward to. we each paid £600, we got 2 rooms with 3 people in each, very crammed, dirty, no clean bedding or towels and even had to ask for more toilet rolls. The rep Jamie wasnt interested at all. we also didnt get given a meal on our departure day, even though we arrived late on the previous thursday so missed dinner, surely we should have been given dinner on the following thursday we left as that makes it 7 meals, 7 days, but we got told that our dinner was actually the sandwich and apple that was put in our rooms on arrival, which was half of a sandwich with just cheese in and no butter.

This hotel is NOT a 4* please dont anybody think it is. it is nothing short of a dirty old hostel and ill never understand how they can get away with rating it as that.

I must just add that, on the night of our checking in at the airport to come home, (10pm) we all got told by the rep that our plane was still in gatwick as there was a technical problem. and as faro airport was closing at midnight, we would all have to get put in a hotel untill further notice. you can imagine how everybody felt at being told that. we just wanted to go home.

So 4 hrs later we got put on a coach to a hotel 40 mins away.

Well, what can I say, the hotel was like the hilton or the ritz, it was a 5* BEAUTIFUL hotel. we got given a room per 2 people, dinner laid on downstairs, free wine everything. and breakfast the next morning was amazing. never had nothing like it. so how hotel do cerro state a 4* compared to that other 5* hotel I will never know.

It cost thompson thousands for us all to go there and im glad because they should tell people what these crappy hotels are really like before misleading people.

Our insurance states that we get £15 for every 12 hrs of a delay, ours was 16 hrs, but thomsons have informed us we wont get that because they put us up in a hotel for the night. WOW, BIG DEAL like we should be grateful, as much as that hotel was nice, we didnt want to stay, we all had work the next day, we didnt have a choice in the matter. Hence us all losing wages.

Just think twice about this hotel, overall, portugse people are miserable, stern faced, unfriendly people, and i feel terrible that I booked it and gave my family and friends the worse holiday theyve ever had, wish somebody warned me.
"

by banathewana
5 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Right where do i start! thsi hotel...

"Right where do i start! thsi hotel really was the holiday from hell!

after reading serveral reviews before we went myself and my husband where really lookingn forward to going to Portugal. Although on arrival to the hotel we could not believe it.... it was rated as a 4* hotel I would not even have given it 2*, i have travelled to many european countries and the service from this hotel was by far the worst i have ever experience.

Alongside the food that made me and my husband bed bound for 3 days - only in our early twenties. I was unable to leave the room from the morning after we got there until our 3rd day i had ionly eatern in our hotel. The food was a disgrace and to staff are all very miserble - the hotel is in desperate need of modernisation still cannot believe they rate it 4*.

There was major building work going on in the hotel that that no body was informed about. i was woken at 7am every morning by load banging and machine work - this holiday was a nightmare i could not wait to get home - i had to have 4 days sick leave of work when i returned from being so ill.

PLease do not go to this hotel unless you want seriously bad food poisoning and a crap holiday - the final touch was the plastic birds in the bird santury round the pool lovely!
"

by C Brown
1 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Have visited this family run hotel...

"Have visited this family run hotel several times and each time it simply is better. Quaint hotel with individual rooms. Hotel re-invests continually to improve facilities and looks after guests with genuine interest.

Food may not be to every one's tastes but the hotel offers customers what they want for a good relaxing and enjoyable stay. You are made to feel like a valued customer.

Booking independently is simple or book direct with the hotel for great discounts.

Certainly will be returning again in the near future.
"

by K Flannigan
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Okay hotel, good location

"Location of hotel is great, only ten minute walk to the old town. Probably not suitable if you have difficulty walking, as uphill to the hotel.

Our room (213) was smaller than we would have liked, seemed a bit like it had been an extra room which just happened to be turned into a bedroom! The bathroom did not have an opening window and the room had probably the smallest balcony I've ever seen. Saying that, it did serve it's purpose as we didn't spend lots of time in it anyway. It was kept clean and you get fresh towels every third day. Would have been nice if there had 's been a fridge/coffee making facilities within the room, but thats probably because we are more used to going self catering

Didn't like the fact that the air conditioning was on a timer, definitely would prefer to be able to control it ourselves as to when we wanted it to go on and off

We stayed B&B, the breakfast was ok, but just average, would have been better if the fruit salad had been fresh, not tinned mixed with some chopped banana or apple! No fresh juice either, only some sweetened stuff

The pool area was nice and there was always ample sunbeds. The pool bar was okay, nice salad, fries and icecream!

Nice touches included a complimentary welcome drink at the bar on the first night. A bottle of wine in a bucket of ice placed in the room on our 5th night (my birthday).

Any staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful.

Restaurants that we liked in the old town were Bank, Bravissimo/Bravo and Alfredos.

All in all we enjoyed our stay, but would possibly go to another hotel next time. Expected a little bit more from a 4 star
"

by alexis1
6 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

VFM Hotel

"Sept 07 1st to 14th. – 2 couples

This was the second year in succession we had stayed at the hotel so we knew where everything was from the off. Yes it’s up a hill from the centre of the old town so if you can’t walk don’t go.

We were staying on B&B and enjoyed the wide choice of breakfast food on offer, it is the same every morning but if you can’t find something to suit then you are a very fussy eater. We did hear people winging about the evening meal but I can’t comment as we always eat out

Maids are in you rooms every day to make up the beds and clean with towels changed every couple of days.

There are limited sun beds around the pool but rarely unable to get one, although you had the usual hogs who put towels on in the morning and don’t turn up till lunchtime and yes they were ‘British’.

The staff are friendly particularly Carol with her ‘dry’ Blackburn humour.

Overall this is a good clean family run small hotel, which at these prices you can’t be beaten on, as I said we have been twice and would go again.
"

by biffmakin
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Beware of Room 97

"Stayed here for two weeks, returning on Thursday 6/9/07. Having read previoius mixed reviews my husband and I went with an open mind. The hotel was quirky, decor a little tired and in need of a renovation. However our room 97 was acceptable, it was large with two beds, plenty of wardrobe drawer space and two arm chairs, with terrace which had a view to nothing. Infact, how the hotel was laid out I think our room was in the basement. We had to climb up our wall onto the lawn to look at what would have been our view (if we were higher up) and it was a school playground. Our room never got cleaned until 4.30 which was a bit of a problem when wanting to go back for a pm nap only to have the maids disturb you.

The food, especially breakfast was a little repetative, the same every day with not much choice. Evening meals were well cooked, but once again not much variety. Its so cheap to eat out that we had a few meals in town. If eating out can recommend the Tourists Menu at O Velerie, 4 courses with coffee and half bottle wine for 9 euros 50.

Pool area quite small, also needed cleaning daily, which obviously it wasnt as guests were clearing the leaves out of the pool. Sun beds pleantiful. Cafe bar ok, but service slow as only one person manning it and has to do everything.

Also location not good if you have mobility problems, every route is hills and more hills. It would have been nice to see the hotel provide a courtesy bus down to the old town and beach.

Albufeira itself is beautiful, the square comes alive at night with different street artists. Well worth the visit. But I would not come back to this hotel again.
"

by JanHNorthamptonshire
6 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Hotel was not 4 star standard, the...

"Hotel was not 4 star standard, the staff were unfriendly and not helpful.

The food was low budget and of low variety. Hotel situated on top of an hill therefore lots of walking to the town.

There were not enough sunbeds by the pool. We would not stay there again.
"

by David2704
2 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Hotel was not the standard of a UK 4...

"Hotel was not the standard of a UK 4 Star, food low budget and of little variety, not enough sun beds by the pool, most staff unhelpful and not friendly. Only one person working in coffee shop therefore a 30 minute wait to be served. Restaurant would only serve some drinks, the rest you had to walk into another bar in the hotel. Location on top of a hill, lots and lots of walking. We would not go back there again."

by D Ward
2 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Do Cerro Hotel Closest airport: Faro (FAO) 16.6 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Do Cerro Hotel
  • by dandelion1

    " good but not 4* standard "

  • by Bevmel

    " The hotel is in a quite location but only 10 mins from the old town "

Similar hotels around Albufeira

Hotels near Do Cerro Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Do Cerro Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Do Cerro Hotel? Share your insight.

Do Cerro Hotel is also called:

  • estalagem cerro
  • estalagem do cerro albufeira
  • Estalagem do Cerro Hotel
  • estalagem do cerro hotel albufeira

Address: Rua Samora Barros Cerro de Piedade, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal